Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bayerischer Hof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schuhstraße 31, 91052 Erlangen, Germany

#13 of 23 hotels in Erlangen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 478 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Great stay! Convenient and comfortable in Erlangen.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was good.

    Breakfast was outstanding. Excellent quality and selection. Hotel is centrally located near the pedestrian area in Erlangen, which makes it a great "home base" for exploring the city. And, it was very walkable from the Erlangen Bergkirchweih, which was important to me. When I arrived, it was pouring rain, and they loaned me an umbrella. Nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    2.9
    A big disappointment
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Even I paid 159 EUR per night per room for a period of 6 nights (954 EUR) I received a room that was not safe due to the fact that the ceiling was coming to low and I was very close to hurt myself very bad. I had an option to move in a room in the ground floor near the garden but was too noisy and I couldn't open the window (no air conditioning in this amount of money). After I told to the clerk from the front office that I might cancel my staying due to the fact that the room is not suitable from safety issues she threat me that if I cancel I would loose 90% of the whole payment. The shower was so small that I hardly could enter inside. At the check-out when I asked for late check-out at 5 pm the same reception lady was ready to charge me with 120 EUR like a full day because the was no cleaning available. I understand that but why to charge an amount that included the breakfast also. That was something that I really could not understand. She charged me with 50 Eur until 4 pm and I strongly believe that her behavior from check-in and check-out (was unfortunately the same lady) was a discrimination since I felt a lot of hate from her voice just because I was coming from Romania.

    The breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast variety and quality are superb. Room is spacious and comfortable. Location of hotel is exquisite. Also, staff is very helpful, profeesional and housekeeping service is timely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    Good location, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dramatic increase in price requested (almost double) for the room when I extended the stay. Re-booked through a company agency and got a much more reasonable price (better than Booking.com).

    Convenient for the town centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and relaxing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower tray didn’t cover all the bath tub, so it was tricky to take a shower without splashing the whole floor.

    Only was there for breakfast. It was vary tasty

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is conveniently located close to the center and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was ok. The hotel could do with a little more character, but otherwise we had everything we needed and we would stay again.

    The hotel is conveniently located close to the center and the S-Bahn station. The staff were willing to help with all queries and small requests . The breakfast offered enough choice and was of high quality. We found a place to park for free nearby, but that was over a weekend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    We were staying very close to where my daughter lives so it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I am in a wheelchair and access to the bathroom was difficult; ii couldn't use the shower.

    We were staying very close to where my daughter lives so it was ideal location.The breakfast was very good it set us up for the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    A charming bavarian hotel in a small university city.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I do not have any criticism to make.

    A very nice Hotel from all point of views: localization, room, bed, bath-room, WiFi, staff, cleanness, breakfast (with german food), bar, restaurant. A nice and friendly people with the guests.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Best option to stay in Erlangen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are dated, and in my case had a very loud mobile air-conditioning unit installed. Pillows are also very, very soft.

    Hotel is conveniently located, very close to the city center of Erlangen. Rooms are spacious and provide all the facilities you need for a pleasant stay. Breakfast is in one word; excellent!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Highly recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had trouble sleeping, but I'm not exactly sure why... probably because of the bed, which was nothing out of the ordinary, just a bit softer than I am used to.

    The breakfast was extremely delicious

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    Really nice stay ....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit basic ...

    Staff extremely friendly. Really enjoyed the breakfast Bar lounge food was excellent Rooms were more on the basic side but clean. Parking was great to have.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast was excellent, wide selection & bed was...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was facing the terrace of hotel restaurant. So I closed the curtain most of the time..

    Breakfast was excellent, wide selection & bed was comfortable and slept well,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.1
    Pleasant stay, very close to the center of Erlangen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Looking at value for money, room prices are a bit too high.

    The hotel is located very close to the center of Erlangen, with limited parking facilities available on the hotel location. The hotel provides spacious, comfortable rooms, and doesn't look like your typical business hotel. Rooms are a bit dated, but provide you all the facilities and comfort you need for a good nights rest. Breakfast is good and complete.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    I have stayed in far nicer hotels with better facilities for a lot less.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no air conditioning, bar left unattended, hotel in need of updating

    Friendly helpful staff, good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.6
    No!
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dishonesty Room No AC Cleaning is not existe

    A big No no Very not nice place nor people ...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast, silence, style, restaurant, live music, price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast, silence, style, restaurant, live music, price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit aged appearence but all together ok

    Nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Very good breafast, clean room and the personnel was polite...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms need to be renovated

    Very good breafast, clean room and the personnel was polite and helpfull.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet . In general the hotel has an older look and feel

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    great location, easy parking, good breakfast
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price for parking €16/day was unexpected

    great location, easy parking, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Very good experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner

    Great location, Clean and good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Very good experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner

    Very Friendly staff, very good breakfast , very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Wifi was extremely slow and unreliable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was extremely slow and unreliable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    I like erlangen
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We don’t like a bath Shower is much better gor young and old

    Good for this Price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.1
    I will stay this hotel again for my next business strip.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No!

    Location is nice. It's not like big cities' hotel which are always busy and crowded. I stay here just like at home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Great atmosphere, wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great atmosphere, wonderful location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    SIEMENS , quiet,AAA breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ameesome breakfast incl. newspaper!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    4.2
    Very noisy room near the bar was allocated to me so that I...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy room near the bar was allocated to me so that I could not sleep well in the night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay if you're in Erlangen.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator on the far side is too small and slow.

    The breakfast is awesome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Kindness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old facilites

    Kindness.Location .parking &breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Amazing breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra fee for parking.

    Amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath boosth

    Great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is expensive.

    Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Great Place, great breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location and very good facilities. Breakfast was excellent, good value for money!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Very nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Very nice place to stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    A warm welcoming place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not changed for years. Rooms warm. Escalated prices during exhibition weeks.

    Position, people (barman exceptional) breakfast area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Great location and very clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, breakfast and clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Good location, clean with a bright bar & reception area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Outdoor eating facility (BBQ) Location, close to town but quiet area. Live music one evening...very good breakfast offering.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Enjoy breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms have not been refurbished, yet.

    Lobby floor and breakfast hall have been refurbished. Wide variety of buffet breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    easy access to the beer festival
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great central location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.3
    Traditional style German Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No Aircon in rooms, Car Park tight (I grazed the hire car against a pillar)

    Location was excellent, Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Good value for your money and a great location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air conditioning Pillows were flat even with 2

    The breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel and well located for business traveller
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a little hot and unclear how coolers operate.

    Very nice hotel, well located for business traveller.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    interesting place to stay, more character than a new hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not enough staff on reception at busy times

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel conveniently located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very cramped for a midsize car (E-class Merc)

    Selection of breakfast buffet with stations to get eggs, omelettes, etc. made to order

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic breakfast. Very good position.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.1
    A very expensive overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The excessive price!!

    Large comfortable,if rather old fashioned, room. Good breakfast. Walking distance to old town. Helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.5
    If my business takes me back to Erlangen again this would be my hotel of choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing was a problem for the friendly, and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.2
    Good business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast, parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.8
    Nice, comfortable room, with good-size bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When we came down to breakfast, we weren't greeted by a member of staff, so it was unclear whether we first needed to sit down to order tea/coffee, before going up to buffet.

    Nice, comfortable room, with good-size bathroom. Very clean. Good breakfast selection.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    9.2
    excellent breakfast, great choice and plenty of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    room a little small and pillows to flat, my husband has allergy to feathers and only found non feather pillow on second night ,when I got to almost last page of Hotel info in room.

    excellent breakfast, great choice and plenty of it.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    6.7
    The staff are courteous and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is old and dated. It made me feel like I was back in the 70's. The pillow provided was too soft and uncomfortable that I had a sore neck when I woke up.

    The staff are courteous and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The decor sometimes was a bit tacky (see giant birds at the entrance of the breakfast room).

    Comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet was excellent both in terms of offer and quality.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    8.3
    I really like position, friendly staff, and the whole setup...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Didn't like the new interior and foyer, bar etc

    I really like position, friendly staff, and the whole setup except I miss the old foyer, and bar in the entrance

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    10
    A real hotel the way hotels use to be and should be, the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A real hotel the way hotels use to be and should be, the staff are friendly and helpful the way staff use to be and should be! The hotel is within walking distance to the town center it has it's own car park and a very nice bar and restaurant!

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    Awesome breakfast, newspapers, very friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Obviously a little seasoned hotel, but very good performance. I was surprised!

    Awesome breakfast, newspapers, very friendly and accommodating staff! They stick out!

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    5.8
    A lot of choices of breakfast buffet.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Rather expensive.

    A lot of choices of breakfast buffet. This is the main reason that I stay at this hotel for my business trips whenever possible. It is near the center of Erlangen, which is good, too.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    7.9
    Fantastic breakfast, possibly the best I've ever had.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    In at least 10 years of using Booking.com to travel the entire world...I've never had an Hotel BLOCKING 500 Euros on my credit card to check my solvency (apprently because we reserved more than 6 rooms) for 10 days and then checking AGAIN my solvency by BLOCKING AGAIN 500 Euros on my credit card for 10 days 1 week before the scheduled arrival. VERY UNUSUAL,VERY ANNOYING. If this is their policy they should state it clear. The parking is absolutely inadequate, with limited space in the one above ground and tiny the one available underground. The neighborhood offers limited to non existing parking space.

    Fantastic breakfast, possibly the best I've ever had.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    7.5
    breakfast and bistro good, front of house staff good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    thought the room was very basic, could do with a makever, I thought this two years ago when I stayed there

    breakfast and bistro good, front of house staff good

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    6.3
    Centrally placed and relatively comfortable rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi did not work for the first few days. The desk and the info said room service was available till 11.30, but when I called they took forever to answer and then said it closed at 10.

    Centrally placed and relatively comfortable rooms. The breakfast buffet was large and good quality.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    10
    Very quiet place.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Same meal for breakfast for 5 days. No variation in menu.

    Very quiet place. Close to the city center.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.6
    the shoe cleaner machine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the shoe cleaner machine

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.5
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    cant drink on deck or outside after 10 or 11pm

    everything

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    6.3
    Very good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sober rooms, didn't sleep well, one small soft pillow and to small sheet (no extra blankets in the room available)

    Very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.8
    We liked the sauna, but it was an infrared sauna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the sauna, but it was an infrared sauna. Not a problem for us, but this prevents the best grade.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    7.9
    Big room, clean bathroom, nice dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big room, clean bathroom, nice dinner

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    7.1
    Safe parking, good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Safe parking, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    10
    Great big and spacious room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great big and spacious room

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    Very friendly professional stuff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly professional stuff. Central location. Nice and comfortable room. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    7.9
    gorgeous and antique-like room is confortable for me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    it is hot in an August's night due to no air conditioner.

    gorgeous and antique-like room is confortable for me. Hotel's outdoor bar is good.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.3
    Outstanding breakfast, and overall very nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Outstanding breakfast, and overall very nice staff. Great location and clean, comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.9
    Very nice building in good location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Evening food was limited and quite expensive.

    Very nice building in good location. Staff were very attentive.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    7.5
    Nice location and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice location and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Everything, the room was larger than in other hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything, the room was larger than in other hotels

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: