Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Residenz Begaswinkel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Genthiner Str. 30 A, Mitte, 10785 Berlin, Germany

#375 of 598 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 947 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay, nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    difficult to find, taxi driver called hotel and we still couldn't find it! be good if there was a visible street sign before turning through the gate

    nice little hotel, lovely set up, very clean - pleasant stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    very beautiful old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located on a street crowded every afternoon and night with lots of prostitutes. I did't feel very safe arriving after sunset at the hotel and therefore taxi costs rose the bill in Berlin.

    very beautiful old building

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    3.8
    Stayed there for berlin marathon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed there for berlin marathon. Staff did not speak English. Service is terrible. They give you the key of the hotel!? No reception 24 hours. Small rooms. 150€ per night ( that is what I paid) is a rip of for this property. Location terrible, Construction site in the same backyard and it was very noisy. BFK disaster. Fake photos on booking.com site. Dont go there. Waste of my money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key chain with the room number is very large so not convenient for taking out. But room and front door keys can be easily removed and carried in your wallet.

    Very friendly staff Great buffet breakfast Very large clean room and bathroom Really good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Hotel it’s located in beautiful old building with only 20...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building site close to hotel make the location not very attractive at the moment. Hopefully that won’t take long

    Hotel it’s located in beautiful old building with only 20 rooms, breakfast room with roof terrace, cosy rooms with comfy beds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    This is a lovely old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found this hotel hard to find, due to the construction site next door. The road leading to the hotel needs to be fixed as it is very rough and broken and it needs lighting as it is very dark. There are prostitutes working of a night time in this area, they do not annoy you.

    This is a lovely old hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    The room was clean and EXTREMELY spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is more old-fashioned than what you may expect ON AVERAGE. The biggest problem is the absence of air-conditioner - think twice before booking in July-August. The hotel is not easy to find in the inner yard, though it’s still quite close to U-bahn (this is the most important, I guess)

    The room was clean and EXTREMELY spacious All the staff is really friendly and helpful Also the breakfasts were simple but nice Great deal for its price!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How can it be a 4 star hotel without air conditioner in the room, safe deposit box, free water bottle, poor lighting, no power sockets near the bed, and paying 166 €per night , if the Sheraton is 200 meters away and 175 € per night.

    Good location, clean, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Good Location, nice and comfortable room and bed, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff a bit scatterbrained ;) they prepared room for one ( duvet, pillow) instead for two. Hotel is dog friendly but you can not take it into a dinning room for breakfast.. :(

    Good Location, nice and comfortable room and bed, good breakfast. Really like architecture of the building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.8
    4 Stars.. seriously?!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    How on earth is this rated as a 4 star hotel?? Situated between constructions sites and a main prostitute area i would hadly recommend this to anyone. In the hotel there were no options for eating (except for breakfast which was actually nice) and the only drinking options came from a vending machine. Also there's NO WiFi or phone signal pretty much anywhere except the breakfast area.

    the room was clean and the staff were nice (when they were there)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Charming hotel in a quiet street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming hotel in a quiet street. Peaceful place. Good communication with city center. Staff very helpful and polite. Breakfast was very nice! All recommendations...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Very spacious and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are currently having some construction works on the main road going on, unfortunately our room was facing that road. So we were awake from 7am that morning.

    Very spacious and clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel at a very reasonible price, its just a shame about the location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location! The hotel is within a very busy building site, it is in a courtyard just off the main street and access isn't very clear. As the night starts to get dark a number of Berlin street prostitutes begin work just round the corner. I didn't look at them and they didn't bother me, might make other feel uncomfortable..? Room - No AC, coffee making facilities or water!

    An old fashioned hotel experience, with friendly staff, clean and functional rooms. It is close to some good food places and only 10 minutes walk from Potsdamer Platz. I slept with the windows open and enjoyed a drink on the terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    Will never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is not a Hotel but rather a Bed and Breakfast. Area is all under construction. No receptionist available 24 hours. When we go to the building we could not get in. You needed a code to get the key due to door locked due to no receptionist after 7 P.M. We never received a code for the key box so we had to ask a construction worker to call the phone number to get the code to get our key to access the building and out room. The street out front is covered with prostitutes especially in the evenings.

    Nothing that sticks out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    We would stay there again!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Mattrasses must have been covered with a plastic under the bedsheets as we got very hot and sweated during the night. The room we stayed in (no. 9) should have better overall lighting when it is getting dark. The corner before the bath where I had my suitcase is not lit at all. There was only one floor lamp (on a stand) and the bed lamps.

    Cute hotel and nicely furnished rooms. Very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    The builder no itsef is beautiful and it has been nicely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is literally surrounded on all sides by major construction projects and there is very little pedestrian traffic. The cross streets are, however, teeming with prostitutes aggressively plying their trade. And not just late at night. I was accosted by at least 6 in the mid-afternoon. When I returned to the hotel at 11pm, I was besieged by a dozen and even followed back to the hote by one imploring me to let her “relax” me.

    The builder no itsef is beautiful and it has been nicely updated. The breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.3
    Good price for Berlin. Not the best area. Clean rooms. Nice staff. Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Metro and bus at 7 / 9 min walking distance. Only taxi were reaching us, not Uber. During the night it's really dark. Nevertheless, I never had the feeling I was unsafe. Lots of constructions around. In the morning was quite noisy.

    Clean room. Good shower. Good breakfast. Good price compared with other locations in the same period.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Good locality close to Tiergarten and city centre (20...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to find the accomodation, quite a lot of buidlings under construction nearby

    Good locality close to Tiergarten and city centre (20 minutes by walk) Very friendly staff, good breakfast included Very quiet place in spite of being close to a busy road

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    If we go to Berlin again, we'll stay in the same hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Sometimes they close the reception during the day. Some kids with their unpolite parents wake up early and make too much noise.

    Perfect location, near of Nollendorfplatz metro station in a quiet street. The room is big, with a comfortable bed. Bathroom is clean with a good shower and towels. Excellent breakfast. The lady who works in the breakfast is so talkative and kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.3
    The staff is nice. Not Great for kids
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To enter the hotel, you’ll need to take a stairs. There is no elevator. With a little baby, this can be quite a challange. Also, the restaurant is on the 2nd floor, which again is not as convenient with a little one. On the side of the street prostitues get their clients, so that gave a negative vibe and is uncomfortablo to walk. No refrigirator. The room was quite hot, you must open the entire window to get fresh air. The toilet didn’t flush with enough power. Breakfast is every day the same. No croissants for example.

    It’s clean, the staff is nice and they even allowed us to check-in way earlier then the regular time and allowed us to check-out later then planned. They gave us a water cooker after we asked for one, to make formula milk for out little one. A baby bed was placed, no questions asked there. They’re nice people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice boutique hotel with good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location is good in terms of public transport options and close to Tiergarten, but there are lots of street hookers roaming the streets close to the hotel which makes coming back at night not such a great experience.

    Very good breakfast with particularly friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    It is a very good hotel to be in Berlin, I recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sometimes they close the reception during the day and there is no way to talk to anyone. Some kids and their parents in the hotel were unpolite, screaming during breakfast, probably thinking they were at home.

    The location is great and there is no noise during the night. The staff is very kind. The bath is always well cleaned. The lady that works in the breakfast is talkative and so kind, I really liked her. The room size is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    2.5
    Location was poor, there were prostitutes in every corner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was poor, there were prostitutes in every corner outside of the hotel and a lot of construction sites around. I asked for cleaning service and they only made my bed and changed towels, but did not clean the room. Breakfast was good, however the personnel was not very friendly. The bed in my room was very old and not comfortable at all. Would not recommend it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was really good

    Staff was great, everyone is ready to help and answer all the questions. For breakfast choice was very good and if your diet meets special requirements, they are ready to help. Room was super pretty! It was very spacious and stylish, colours very smooth and nice, with good light. Place was also very good, easy and fast to reach the U-bahn.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    They were helpful in responding to my questions prior to my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing they can do about it - no lift

    They were helpful in responding to my questions prior to my arrival. They also accommodated my request to be on the main floor when I realized there was no lift

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.6
    Overall, I picked this place due to its walking distance to the gate but I am not satisfied at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff couldn`t speak English! Toilets did not work properly (I tried two different at the place). Breakfast poor and limited. Wireless internet very very poor and slow.

    Bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Location was great and had good access.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    Really comfy bed and pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were dirty glasses in the bathroom on arrival. No ceiling light in bedroom (just two bed side table lamps and a standing lamp) - this was an issue as we were in a basement room so the lighting was dark and we didn’t get much natural light.

    Really comfy bed and pillows. Breakfast had hot and cold options, very tasty. Staff were polite. Communication from staff was great as we were arriving after the hotel closed (great instructions on how to get in etc) Hotel was furnished well. Location was great, very close to a central underground station allowing you easy access around the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Awesome tidy Hotel Boutique
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel although is very close to several places, trying to get there is kind of hard since you gotta walk through and alley and there’s no signs of hotel.. so I kind of got there by guess.. I just recommend a sign outside so it’s easier to locate it.

    The style of the hotel is really nice, rooms where really tidy and comfortable, there’s smookers rooms available and breakfast is really good too. By mistake I brought with me the charger adapter the lady kindly borrowed me.. I’m trying to know how to give it back

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Great wee independent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No extras like room fridge, robes etc. There was a very noisy drinks vending machine in the hall outside our room which I had to unplug to get peace!

    Nice big room, great breakfast and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location to see Berlin,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 20 had slow internet access, no lift as lovely old building. Some construction work underway locally, but no major noise issue.

    Well run hotel, close to subway stations & local restaurants. Easy access to main sightseeing locations in city. Lovely breakfasts with enough choice over 4 nights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Interesting design, good breakfast, pleasant interior of the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located near the street with huge number of prostitutes. Several times they did their job at the hotel yard.

    Interesting design, good breakfast, pleasant interior of the rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    lovely residence in the heart of Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there’s an extremely noisy vending machine down the stairs in the hallway that leaded up to the room (garden level) Noise penetrated into our room, very annoying indeed

    Nice property with lots of original features, nicely tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city center but located very centrally with lots of options to explore the city. Room itself very spacious and comfy, lovely parquet flooring, super large and neat bathroom, we liked it a lot apart from the noisy vending machine out on the hallway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    City break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning was not brilliant, just basic basic attention. Small shower if you are large . We aren’t large , but think it would be a challenge if you were.

    Good location if you don’t mind walking ( we walk everywhere) Breakfast was good , but not varied, but usual continental selection with bread cheeses meats salmon cake fruit cereal eggs , so you never went hungry! Quiet location ( don’t be put off by the ridiculous comments about the prostitution, they are hardly knocking on your door!!!! ). We asked for tea coffee making facilities and they were more than happy to oblige.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    Hotel de charme conveniently located near Tiergarten and quite allright for business trips.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator to the floors, so you have to drag your luggage up the steep stairs. No water nor tea or coffee facilities in room. Hotel guide only in German. Difficult to find the hotel because the access to their entrance door is hidden behind some scaffolding. The area surrounding the hotel is a bit dubious and probably not the best at night.

    The room very spacious, quiet, clean and very good comfy bed. Lots of light, big windows looking out on a quaint little lane off the main road.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Very convenient location. I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no cafes, bars, or restaurants in the immediate area.

    There is a great Underground stop within a 5-10 minute walk from the property. You can access most areas of Berlin without having to transfer as the different lines allow for direct connections. Also, the nice lady in the breakfast room did my laundry for free, as I stayed for six nights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, friendly staff and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very squeaky and made a lot of noise and the area around the hotel isn’t the nicest. However, it’s easy commutable to everywhere else.

    Lovely hotel, friendly staff and great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    good breakfast, nice staff, quiet, friendly individual rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the vending machine for drinks in the basement should get a service, it is really loud and you can here it to the rooms

    good breakfast, nice staff, quiet, friendly individual rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    2.9
    Noisy, also in the most expensive room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slept one night in the more expensive room (96). Looks great but just as noisy as the rest of the hotel.

    Breakfastlady took pride in her job (as only one).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    2.9
    Noisy, first time in all my travels I slept so bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -Lots of noise. Some sodamachine in the hallway that makes a lot of noise heard in the whole hotel. The sound can only be blocked by closing a door inbetween that makes a loud slamming sound everytime somebody passes unaware. - Talking about it with staff doesn't help finding a solution (most speak non-understandable german and no english). They say sorry and look like you are crazy:) - curtains hardly fit the window. 80 euros a night is a bit much for such a hotel. - They are building something next to the hotel so wake up call at 07:00. Not mentioned on the website of course.

    Breakfast lady took (as the only one) pride in her job.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful scenic little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit hard to find with the construction on the road and as it was hot, air conditioning would have been nice.

    Great location close to the Tiergarden and really scenic and quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.3
    Rather disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked a single room for 4 nights. It was depressingly small, probably about 12 sqm, e.g. 25cm between the bed and the bathroom wall/door (!) I attached a few photos. The bed is very soft and the pillow even softer, both have the 'quality' of creating and maintaining heat. No air conditioned. Close by is a big construction area, where work starts at 6:30-7 AM and stops at 7 PM. Noise is therefore high, even with closed windows. Considering the status of the works I foresee a duration of at least 1-year from now on (Aug '17). From the main street (where the address is) to the 'actual' hotel there is a 50m side street. The driver might miss the address because of that. Anyhow, the entire area around seems to be under ongoing construction/refurbishing works and looks a bit deserted, while after 18:00 one can see the 'ladies' at work here and there, on the streets close by...

    Staff is very helpful, competent and genuinely kind! I'd say they are the biggest asset of the hotel. Breakfast rich enough, prepared with care and diverse.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.8
    Noisy surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nearest neighbour was a construction site, and they weee demolishing houses while we were there. Very noisy and dusty from early morning, even Saturday.

    The bed was comfy, sheets clean and everything fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel, clean room, good breakfast, nice stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was dirty and looked not safe, but everything was ok. On a next street lots of girls working and that's one of reasons why it does not look safe.

    Nice hotel, clean room, good breakfast, nice stuff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Great value for the price, close to city center!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was within walking distance to the city center with Metro stations near too, but the neiborhood was was a bit rough with lots of prostitutes on the streets, etc. Luckily hotel is inside of a nice building block so its kind of separated from the street.

    Comfy & clean rooms, superior breakfast, friendly staff and close to city center!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Charming and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately it was a bit difficult to find at first as it is surrounded by a building site

    The building in itself is very charming and full of character

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    Small and friendly hotel within easy reach of shopping areas and U-Bahn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a "red-light" district. I didn't find the area threatening but maybe some wouldn't feel comfortable coming home alone as a single female late at night. Otherwise good.

    Good staff and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    One of the best hotel where we stayed. Small, a bit vintage hotel, large room, breakfast on mansard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed mattress was a bit too soft, but maybe that's only for us

    Breakfast was good, on mansard and roof. Room space was huge, which was perfect for a 3 night stay. Generally - small hotel, a bit vintage style, very nice atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    4.6
    Very impolite staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The owner of the hotel and the staff were impolite and rude. The last evening we came back at the hotel room and the airconditioning made a loud noise. Because it didn't stop and it was unable to sleep, we phoned the owner. He said that he couldn't come to the hotel, because it was 20 minutes by car, and that he didn't had a solution. He said to try out some buttons on the display, but that didn't work either. By calling again after midnight when the noise started to make us crazy he said he might had another room left, but when calling him again after waiting for an hour, he didn't answer the phone. After not sleeping, we went checking out in the morning. The staff accused us for damaging the airco. We were very upset. We will not go to this hotel again even though the room itself was good.

    There were two woman serving breakfast. One of them was very kind en enthusiastic. The sleeping room and bathroom were big.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor overall facilities, lack of mini-bar and disposable bathroom accessories (slippers, for instance). Lighting and drains were not that good. So, basically all there is to be found: TV, hair dryer, shower gel, towels and toilet paper, and naturally the furniture, a bit old but interesting (bed was modern and comfy). At least there's a vending machine in the building, and one has the option to acquire accessories such as toothpaste and fixative spray and so on. In conclusion: Fine but sadly overpriced.

    The location is in between, good as it's relatively near train stations and center, bad at night due to hookers near gang entrance, but haven't encountered any real inconvenient whatsoever. Pretty good food and terrace for breakfast + staff. Nicely decorated hotel and peaceful premises overall. Good WiFi reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    An excellent gem in the middle of Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A few of the plug sockets didn't work, but it wasn't a problem as there were many others for us to plug in our laptop etc. Perhaps the biggest negative was that the hotel is very close to the city's red light district, which is between the Nollendorfplatz (nearest tube) and the hotel, but the hotel can't help that!

    Breakfast was excellent, and they catered extremely well to the dietary requirements we requested in advance. The room was extremely spacious, and they provided us with a fan for the hot weather. The bathroom was on the small side, but was perfectly adequate. They were helpful in recommending restaurants to visit, and the best way to travel around the city. An excellent hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Signage from Gethiner Strasse was not clear. Took a little while to find the courtyard entrance.

    Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.5
    The hotel was very nice and nicely decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tha parking was absolutely disgusting and the hotel charge money for it. I was not satisfied with it at all.

    The hotel was very nice and nicely decorated. The breakfast was very delicious, beautiful place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel but overpriced. Bad neighborhood, lots of hookers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad neighboorhood, lots of hookers. 228 euro for 3 nights is way overpriced. Dont get me wrong, its a nice hotel, but definitly not worth 75 euro per night.

    Good wifi. Good breakfast. Friendly personel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    Very quiet hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet hotel! Love that at night it doesnt feel you are in Berlin. Good location, although it's a bit far away from the "hype", but it is close to two different ubahn stations.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    8.8
    Hidden gem!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited hot breakfast options; would have preferred skinny sausages to the chunky fatty bacon cuts. TV reception poor. Other reviews have mentioned that its in a redlight district, there are odd women hanging about but not a problem, didn't feel seedy or dangerous and the hotel is in a small square off the main road where they hang out sometimes

    Very quiet location. Arrived late (airport strike..) so keys were left in safe box and staff were unobtrusive throughout. Lovely peaceful atmosphere. 25 minute walk to the heart of tourist Berlin. Breakfast had good range of cold meats, cheeses, breads, lovely big coffee jug each! Good shower and bathroom.Room service excellent, room left spotless and bed remade evey day. Stylish boutique style hotel with a down-to-earth feel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel but the neighborhood is not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is OK. The subway is 10 Mins away and it is well conceded however the walk from the subway to the hotel is quite dark and empty at night and the street next to the hotel is full of prostitutes which didn't make us feel very comfortable.

    The beds are very comfortable and the room and the bathroom are quite big! Also the people were very accommodating and helpful!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    6.7
    Big room, very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not understand while booking it was a "residence" and not a "hotel". Reception not open 24h/24. Not very adapted to business travelers.

    Big room, very clean. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Metro station 5 min from the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    6.7
    The receptionist was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not value for money at €175 for the night without cooked breakfast and a tiny bathroom.

    The receptionist was very friendly. And the bed was super comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.6
    Quiet and close to evertying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only bad was the TV in our room was pretty much broken...sound kept stopping and starting...seemed like very bad reception.

    Clean. very quiet, friendly staff and great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.2
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place! One thing... you have to be ok with the alternative nightlife 1 block away from the front door. Just keep walking and be strong. Unless you are into that thing... I mean.. it's Berlin. Anything goes lol

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    6.3
    Mehhh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff were rude, as we were having our breakfast on new years day and she thought it was funny to come over and make political jokes referring to Brexit, which wasn't welcomed at all and made us feel uncomfortable. On our second day, mid breakfast the staff member decided to turn off the lights in the dining hall because she was done tidying up despite there being 3 couples still eating and drinking coffee. Made us feel like we were in her way! The hotel is hidden behind some awful office blocks so the pictures are a bit misleading. On the road from about 1pm you'll see several prostitutes on the road trying to pick up punters which was very seedy and there always men hanging about on street corners or pulling up in the cars which is not very pleasant to see every time you leave the hotel. The lighting in the bedroom was beyond poor, no ceiling light, just a standing lamp and two small wall lights either side of the bed. No tea or coffee facilities in the bedroom. Hotel could of done with a little reception/lounge room and more facilities to get some food, only a drinks vending machine is available in the basement.

    Front of house reception staff was friendly and welcoming despite not knowing much English. She was very helpful in telling us where to go and other little pieces of info. The bed and duvet were very comfy along with a good powerful shower. Reaching the hotel from the local U bahn was straightforward. Continental breakfast was nice. Easy to access potsdamer platz if you don't mind a 10-15 minute walk.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    5.4
    Would not choose this area again for my next visit to Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the hotel, I tried to pay cash for the booking (a large bill) and I encountered problems with that. At the reception, 2 days- 2 diferent receptiontists - none spoke any English. The location is not the best. At night Nollendorf Platz area becomes remote, weirdly quiet and the only people on the street are girls trying to make some money.

    Wonderful breakfast. The lady who serves breakfast is really nice and the only one who speaks good English in the entire hotel. The room is clean and the bed is dreamy in room number 2.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very nice, our room and public spaces were clean and organized. The location is quiet and just a few blocks from de subway station. The breakfast had great options, including fruits, breads, eggs, jams, cheese, cereal and others. We recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.1
    Great location and quiet area, good breakfast and nice staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Uncomfortable mattress and squeaky bed; one of the walls in the room was dirty.

    Great location and quiet area, good breakfast and nice staff! Nice design of the room and small terrace.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    8.3
    A hidden gem in the heart of Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to initially find and the walk to the stations takes you past local streetwalkers though they left us alone.

    Great hotel in a good location for transport links. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    6.3
    Nice accommodation, horrible location, filthy car park
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation is situation in a dingy location lined with street prostitutes. Not a pleasant place to be living with a young family. Also the car park is littered with condoms, feaces and kleenex as it seems to be used as a preferred hidden spot for the thrill seekers. And you get charged daily for the parking facility.

    The room and accommodation was refurbished and comfortably furnished. Bear in mind, it's more of a pension than a hotel as the services aren't always available which isn't necessarily a bad thing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.2
    The Manager is lovely!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Manager is lovely!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.2
    Great Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    Great Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Very good . Taxi cost around 11 euros to get to residenze
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find due to buildingprocess so the hotel sign was easy to overlook.

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.0
    Ia like motel no hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ...... ..... ...

    Bathroom,Balcony and breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.2
    If you want to stay in the middle of a construction site this is the hotel for you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Souterrain Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and unfriendly staff

    Nothing would never go back

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a construction site in this moment near the hotel

    The staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    its not 4 star its 2 star without lift, athough every thing clean,
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cleaning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    It was just two days and I did not stay much in the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is big, clean and the balcony add some charm to the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Interesting style
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interesting style

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Residenz Begaswinkel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: