Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bei Weirich

Füssener Str. 108, 87645 Schwangau, Germany

#11 of 11 B&Bs and Inns in Schwangau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 558 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location for the castles 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a fab location easily walkable to town or the castles, with parking, the lady at the hotel was very informative and her husband advised us of another town to visit 😀 which we did, the hotel was clean but is a little dated but the welcome was very warm enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Castles view gesthaus
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv monitor was aged. Maybe the pilow - which is the normal in germany- would be more comfortable for a foreign visitor.

    Room and bathroom especially were big enough. Location between fussen and the castles. Plenty of parking space in the hotel ground

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    The location of the hotel was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel was good. It's close to Neuschwanstein and Fussen centre. Neuschwanstein is very crowded with a lot of tourists. So by staying at this hotel, you can be away of that hassle but also close to the main attractions. For the value of money, the room and the breakfast was OK. It's an old hotel, but the room was clean. So for a short trip, it's recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable rooms, GREAT shower, and nice breakfast.
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems to be run by a family and the owner person who let us in and served us breakfast was not overly conversational, but certainly polite. We were on the third floor and it was a lot of stairs.

    The outside of the place was disconcerting, entrance in the rear which was showing its age. We almost drove away. But then the door was answered and we were showed into a clean and comfortable room for the night, and the breakfast was in a charming, bright, big open dining area downstairs. Glad we didn't judge this book by its back cover, as it was a perfectly nice place to stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    The owner of the place is really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi usage is only limited to one device and only for 3 hours.

    The owner of the place is really nice. Helped us with early breakfast and transport to the castle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    6.7
    - the owner was very kind and he speaks English
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - room was cold when we entered (outside it was -6 degrees so we really wanted to warm up) - bathroom could be cleaner, especially tiles - WiFi had timer for 3 hours only, we didn't exceed it but it wasn't mentioned anywhere

    - the owner was very kind and he speaks English - view - we could enjoy view of the castle from our room window - room was spacious with balcony

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.4
    you get what you pay for I guess
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With -8° outside the heating system couldn't warm up the room, it was very cold inside. Internet works with codes that lasts three hours and you have to be asking for them.

    Good location. Fair price for the size of the room. Great to have your own bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    2.5
    They cannot provide the room for stay any more due to they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They cannot provide the room for stay any more due to they have water problem once we arrived. We had to be transferred to another Guesthouse. If they don't run business why booking.com still post Being Weirich on website to let us to choose.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    nice choice for couples and families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    we have to bring big suitcases from ground floor to 2nd floor. don't know if there are better ways to solve this improvement points.

    Mr. Weirich is very gentle and hospitality host. The availability of the parking slots is good. You can find still some slots after 7pm. The most bonus will be the beautiful balcony at room 10 and 11. I would highly recommend to stay a while at balcony during sunset and sunrise. You might see some balloons hanging on the blue sky luckily in the morning. very close to the newswanstein castle, 2~3 mins by driving

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    3.8
    wish they can do some renovation with this old vila, after that can be call guest house. thanks!
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i didn't like the room quite small and bathroom too noise, even the breakfast only two older people service. less food.

    i just like some view in this area nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Great place to stay! Will definitely come back!
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm not use to only having a sheet and just a blanket but the beds were comfortable and warm.

    The owners are very nice. Great room and service. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    The owners are incredibly nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if you arrive late in the night it might be a tricky walk to the place. but it's just 2km away from the train station.

    The owners are incredibly nice. we left our bags at the place during the second day to go to the castle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Charming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    This is a guest house! There is no elevator, it's basic but CHARMING. The couple who own/run it are charming. They speak perfect English. They know the area. We'd stay again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    2.9
    Really old hotel lacking facilities... Do not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is some kind of smell (mold?) in the hotel. Facilities in the rooms are really poor. The room was not cleaned well. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    2.9
    Would not recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, when we arrived at 5:15 there was a sign on the door that said be back at 5:30. Along with us there were others waiting. Bldg need major updating, parking is in dirt and it was raining so puddles everywhere. There is no front desk, no services, the bathroom had old towels, the shower was disgusting, beds unconfortsble, no TV in main sleeping room and there was a small 12" tube tv in the 2nd room. I would not recommend this place, This whole place needs a major makeover

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place! Totally recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat took a very long time to heat up the room. And I'm from Canada, so I know cold. If you turn the heat on early enough and give it a few hours, it does get warm eventually.

    The host was really personable and even add us breakfast after breakfast hours were closed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.4
    OK if you just want a place to sleep while checking out the castles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old and outdated building. Staff weren't the friendliest. Breakfast was extremely basic. OK for one night to check out the castles and surroundings.

    Great location, 2 minutes to bus stop, then 3 minutes by bus to castles, or a nice 30 minute walk down a bike/pedestrian road. Ample hot water and great water pressure in the shower. Fairly priced for what you get.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    A nice and economical stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room facility was a bit run down and could use some renovation. But this was reflected in the price therefore not too much to complain about.

    We stayed in Bei Weirich for 2 nights and used it as the base to explore Neuschwanstein and nearby area. The location was perfect. The owner was very friendly and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.8
    Too old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No breakfast for my 18-month old child as he maybe regarded too young to eat! - Breakfast is supposed to be served from 07:30. We were over there at 07:35 and we were waiting for 15 minutes for the pieces of bread to eat. - 2 pieces of bread 1 spoon of apricot jam (you do not choose) 1 30g nutella 1 drink 2 slices of salami 1/2 slice of cheese 1 piece of butter. This is the breakfast menu. No more. Not a buffet . Furthermore you must sit on a specific seat as the preparation for these has been made earlier. - Rooms need to be renovated . - There is a smell of naphthalene throughout the building.

    + Location. 3 min driving to the castles

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    A blast from the past
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent wifi - free and available in room as advertised. Hostess (from my hometown of Coventry:) and Host spoke excellent English and both were helpful and friendly. Very close to epic 'fairytale' Castles

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.1
    Value for the money - OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because the traffic jam on the way, I was late and I came at 1:00 am in the night. They are waited on me. Thanks. It is small place, but with all what I needed. Small room, standard breakfast. Good service for the money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    4.6
    The location is very good for visiting the castles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is old and dated, and in somewhat of a state of disrepair. The breakfast was meager. The bathroom was very small and modest, but the one excellent thing was ample hot water and great water pressure in the shower.

    The location is very good for visiting the castles.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    4.6
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place is very shabby and not very comfortable. I am usually a very flexible traveler and for the priceI certainly didn't expect anything special but this place was far below my expectations.

    Location is great. It made it very easy to get to Neuschwanstein first thing in the morning

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    The best to stay for going to the castles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't have electric kettle in the individual room.

    Can see Neuschwanstein castle from the home. Feel relax as we are at home. Really kind and friendly host.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    5.8
    Close to Castles
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were a lot firmer than I'm used to and the pillows are very soft to the point that your head is pretty much on the bed. Our breakfast was only of bread rolls, some meat and cheese and juice or milk. I think we were the only ones staying there so we weren't offered any thing else, and if were and I don't remember it, but we didn't want the elderly gentleman running the place have to mess up anything. Plus I don't like eggs.

    Easy to find and really close to Neuschawnstein. Check in was easy and not a problem. Private parking in back. Our room was big as it had two bedrooms and a private bathroom and it was clean. One had two singles pushed together for a "king" (more like a queen size) and the other with a single bed and a couch that probably could be pulled out as a sofa bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.1
    One night in Schwanstau
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Closed restaurant, smell of old age on corridor. House should be renovated.

    Room was acceptable, clean, beds comfortable. Breakfast good, prepared according to wishes (hot drinks, eggs, etc)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    3.8
    over priced and not worth it. Look elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dirty. Leftover items from the previous guest, including trash and a dirty towel that was hung to dry in the wardrobe closet. The room had radiators to keep the rooms warm, however, even at max, they were no match for the cold room. The hotel itself was a tad difficult to find at night. Poor lighting mixed with no number address on the building were of no help. Tried to call the number provided, and of coarse, it was the wrong number. If it weren't for my MIL, I would've looked elsewhere to stay and forego the cancellation/no show fee.

    Hot water in the shower.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    6.3
    Basic accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very basic (no fridge, no glasses etc.). No lift... our room was on the top floor... we had a big and heavy suitcase, so it wasn't easy. We stayed at the end of September and it was cold, but the heating didn't work. Breakfast was good, but we only got one serve of bread rolls and salami/cheese, so we had to ask for more, which was a bit embarrassing. Overall, the hotel wasn't too bad for a 1-night stay (although pricey), but more than that would be a pain for us.

    The property was very close to Neuschweinstein, which was what we needed after long day at the castles. The check in was very quick. We had a wonderful view from the balcony. Bread rolls that we had for breakfast were warm and crusty (absolutely delicious). There was a good choice of breakfast beverages (tea, coffee, hot choc) and all made to order.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Great stay near Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative was that I couldn't stay more than one night! Also, most cafes and guest houses closed by 9pm and late check in was 10pm. Understandable as the owner runs the entire hotel including breakfast, but made it a bit rushed for getting there after a long day of touring.

    Breakfast was homemade and somewhat made to order (choice of how my eggs were made, etc.). Owner was very friendly. The meal was included with the room price which made the stay very reasonable. The meal was kid friendly (included Nutella for the rolls). We had a 'family room', which included a balcony, on the top floor. The view of the Alps was amazing to wake up to! Really good coffee. The entire city was quiet all night, like sleeping in the woods.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.3
    Location was good, Man who was running the place was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    in my opinion a bit overpriced as the standard was quite low.

    Location was good, Man who was running the place was very helpfull . Place was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    A bit from the last century.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit from the last century.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Confortable & value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Washroom had some stink.

    The property looks & location & a very welcoming host.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Wonderfull stay near the castles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the hosts. They are a warm and friendly couple who made sure that we had a comfortable stay. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Easy to find, good location, nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes into mind.

    Easy to find, good location, nice people. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    The Hotel was traditionnal bavarian style , nothing fancy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel was traditionnal bavarian style , nothing fancy but simple and proper , the manager was friendly and we enjoyed our stay :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Spacious room, fits family comfortably, pretty view from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room, fits family comfortably, pretty view from the balcony and very close to the castle. The owner is also very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.0
    Very old house, but very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old house but too expensive

    Very old house, but very clean!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    A very sweet elderly couple run the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very sweet elderly couple run the place. Walt grew up there!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    all was good except bath room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    40

    160

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was minimal at best

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay with view of Neuschwanstein castle from tge window
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited options for breakfast

    Very good location and value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Friendly owner/staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly owner/staff. Very comfortable rooms!! Location is great. Very close to the Schloss Neuschwanstein!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    Good price for the location. Don’t get breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in the shower was awful, no toiletries, breakfast was stale bread and cold cuts.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location and friendly staff :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast would be better but it was fine. Room was a little bit cold (winter time).

    Perfect location and friendly staff :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.1
    Floor was dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Floor was dirty

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    A very nice vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very warm persons, very nice location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Sweet spot to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't take out our garbage in one day

    Close to neuschwanstein

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    It was ok for a one night stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was ok for a one night stop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Helpful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful host.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    Good localization, near castle and Fussen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good localization, near castle and Fussen. Clean room. Nice people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.3
    Minimal breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minimal breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice small Hotel in Schwangau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host catered to our breakfast wishes. It was quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.1
    proximity to castles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    restaurant was not open

    proximity to castles

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Excellent stay for one night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish breakfast have more options..

    Excellent rooms and amenities just as described...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.3
    Amazing breakfast and perfect hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing breakfast and perfect hosts

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    7.1
    great location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleaness

    wide and warm room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    4.2
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not at all comfortable. Rooms are old and very cold. Do not have much staff to support.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.5
    Simple and Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi not allways working

    Very friendly owner. Best coffee in the morning with great breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    If your American and love coffee, this is your place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the real American coffee and Walter our host. Everything was close and the bus stop was less than a block away

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    5.0
    Ok for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite weathered, less than modest breakfast, perceptible odor in the bathroom, overpriced.

    Close to the castle.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    8.3
    The staff was very friendly and tried to speak English as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were unable to access the wifi. We also had to climb a bunch of stairs with our luggage but it was expected for a small place like this. Not as much a complaint as just something we wish we had known in advance.

    The staff was very friendly and tried to speak English as best as possible with us. Breakfast was good. We were happy with the experience overall.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    5.4
    The elderly Weirich couple was sweet and did welcome us when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It makes me sad to write negatively about the Weirichs, but the pension is quite old and could use alot of maintenance. The food (wienerschnitzel + french fries) was not that good, and the cola/beer was flat and dull. It was very expensive spending one night (111 euro ~ 125$) considering what we got for our money. The beds were hard, but clean.

    The elderly Weirich couple was sweet and did welcome us when we arrived at 18:00. The room was with three beds and good space.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    8.8
    Herr Weirich is a very welcoming host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I could not pay for the evening snack (which was very tasty by the way) on my credit card or defer until main payment next morning, so that was a bit cumbersome in that I needed to use cash. Location is very good for the castles but we had a car to take us to the car parks.

    Herr Weirich is a very welcoming host.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    7.1
    Nice staff, and it is a 5min drive from Neuschwanstein...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room could do with some upgrade.

    Nice staff, and it is a 5min drive from Neuschwanstein Castle. Breakfast was nice. Bed was comfortable and the down duvet really nice and warm.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    3.3
    towels were shabby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    towels were shabby. Carpet was shabby. Room looked like it was from 2950. Owner/staff was borderline crabby. Room was cold. No wastebasket in room. Breakfast was meager.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    5.0
    The breakfast is nice, the room is big but gray-ish, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is nice, the room is big but gray-ish, the staff is cold and not willing to respond to any question, the only time we received a proper treatment is when checking out and paying. To the owener of this hotel: you're understaffed, the receptionist looked burnout and seriously stressed.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    6.3
    Close to Neuschwanstein castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The curtains don't stop daylight from flooding the room as soon as day breaks. The shower was inadequate. Breakfast was adequate, but no more than that.

    Close to Neuschwanstein castle.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    7.1
    The place is run by two ladies and a gentleman who all speak...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms could use some thorough cleaning. The breakfast lacked vegetables or fruit.

    The place is run by two ladies and a gentleman who all speak English and are very helpful. It's within walking distance from Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein castles. There's a lot of space to park your car.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    9.2
    Good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Good stay. Location is near o the castle, only a few minutes of driving distance. Upon arrival, the owner issued us a tourist card which we can get some discount when purchase of the castle entrance fee.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.3
    Location very close to castles and Fussen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioner as usual in Germany, we opened the window but it was very noisy because of traffic. The guesthouse is located next to road.So expect to hear some noise

    Location very close to castles and Fussen. The owner of guesthouse was very helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    5.8
    Very traditional feeling Gasthof/pension.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was between the towns of Fussen and Schwangau on the main, busy highway. We needed to keep the windows open and the sound of traffic was so loud.

    Very traditional feeling Gasthof/pension. Not a bad price considering the tourist location. Very friendly owners.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    2.5
    The worst experience we have had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The worst experience we have had. We arrived after 10:00 pm and the hotel was closed. There was a note with a phone number to call, but the number was not working as well as the phone number at the reservation. We knocked the front and the rear door for about an hour and nobody open. We had to sleep inside the car at the street. They opened the door until 8:00 am next day. But the hotel charged the complete night.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.2
    Run by a lovely elderly couple, the gentleman was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only that there was not an iron available to press clothes. Everything else was excellent

    Run by a lovely elderly couple, the gentleman was very competent with English and I heard him converse in French too. Excellent value for money, with breakfast and parking included. Not in the main Hoheschwangau tourist trap

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: