Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Berg This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Karl-Schurz-Strasse 16, Stuttgart-Ost, 70190 Stuttgart, Germany

#7 of 29 B&Bs and Inns in Stuttgart

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 283 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem was the room did not have some types of blinds for privacy. The curtain was light and could let in light and therefore if you like sleeping with no light disturbance, this can be an issue. I would recommend having some type of curtain to block light at night and also during dressing up.

    The staff was very friendly and courteous. The breakfast was good comparing the rate of the hotel. I will recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was on the street. Not necessarily a bad thing, but it was difficult to find a spot, especially after about 1800 when all the residents have parked for the evening. The hotel description says free parking, which is true, but fails to mention it's on the street with all the residents. The hotel room is fairly spartan, which is okay since we were there just to attend the festival and visit local attractions. The shower was very small with barely enough room to turn around. No air conditioning, but there was a fan available in the armoire. The breakfast is fairly simple, but okay. Also, they advertise free wireless, but it really doesn't work any other place than the ground floor, so no wireless in the room.

    The hotel was very close to the festival we were attending at the Cannstatter fest area. Easy walking distance, about 8 minutes. Even though the front desk wasn't manned at the time we arrived (around 2030), they had a great way of keeping the key available. It was done by an electronic safe box on the exterior of the hotel which was accessible through code that was shared via e-mail. Also, very close to the Leuze Mineralbad pool and spa - about a 4 minute walk. Room was clean, if very basic. Hotel staff is only there in the morning during weekends. There was a key to armoire, which we used to help secure our luggage while we weren't there. Probably didn't make our belongings truly safe, but gave us a little peace of mind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking at all right near the building but parking structure two blocks away

    Close proximity to the concert, extremely professional and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi a little hit and miss. Same everywhere these days.

    Great little hotel, very good breakfast, clean and perfectly adequate rooms , very close to Mineralbader U bahn station on the U1, U2 and U14 lines, 10 mins from city centre, 35 from airport with one change in the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wi-Fi network does not use a password, thus unprotected.

    The hotel is in a quite residential area, a 5 minute walk to a tram (U) stop with 4 lines. From there 7 minutes to the main station. There are 2 parks some 300 meters from the hotel. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly off the beaten path, so if travelling with cases could be an issue.

    Good communication about my late arrival and easy access to getting the key. Great selection at breakfast as well!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a very comfortable stay in this family run hotel...the staff was very accomodating, personable and friendly- it was our best stay in Stuttgart yet. The location of the hotel is also very convenient as it is close to the park areas and a short 5 minute Ubahn trip into downtown. Overall, a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator in this hotel.

    I stayed in Hotel Berg for one night. I arrived by train at night time. Hotel is very close to train station "Bad Cannstatt". Reception at night time is closed so I got my keys from the key box outside the hotel. I stayed in single room which wasn't so big, but there was all necessary facilities - large and very comfortable bed, big TV with many channels and big bathroom. Breakfast was decent (wide variety of bread, cheese and chocolate spreads, scrumbled eggs, yogurth with muesli and fresh fruits). If you are staying in this hotel you should defenitely go to Mineral Sauna which is 5 minutes walk away from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was weak, you have to log in everytime you wanted to access internet.

    The room was very clean, staff friendly and willing. Beds were comfortable and breakfast was really nice for such small hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic room but very clean and confortable. I was lucky to have the balcony too! Very good bed. No noise from other guests, quiet neighborhood. Easy to reach by U-bahn. Recommended.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly welcome, room was clean and modest. Shower and wash were tight but still okay. Breakfast had plenty of selection. Even for those who don't like sausage. Wide variety of breads and buns to choose from. We were one stop away from the zoo. Could have walked through the parks but a lot of road work at the moment.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and room is Not Comfortable. Breakfast is Not enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small, simple and comfortable hotel. Nice service, fine breakfast, quiet location, U-Bahn station within few minutes on foot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    internet not working and no one try to solve problem. I mentioned it two times

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top floor location with no elevator.

    Great breakfast. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes reception is empty

    very friendly staff, not far from subway station, very clean house

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean, nice room and great staff. It was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's more limited in space, both in the (single) room itself (but no problem) and more so in the breakfast area.

    Nice and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room space was ok but the bed was not comfortable....the breakfast was ok a good score for that..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air condition, small room

    comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    so far to the center

    very bad they took for reservation 99euros and they took plus thier money 233 euros i dont khow why till now.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were vegan options available for breakfast, including vegan spreads.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice reception good location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Local neighbourhood is not very exciting

    Handy for the Wasen. Friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find parking.

    Very quiet clean room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wardrobe

    Every

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had no coffee or tea facilities in rooms. The staff did bring tea trays to the room but as they had all gone by late evening we had no bedtime drinks. Also found the pillows rather flat and asked for extra on booking but this was missed out and we had to ask again. A small problem with pushchairs as no lift to upper rooms and stairs rather steep for little legs .

    The hotel was very clean and quiet ,our rooms were on the front of the hotel and we had no road noise whatever. Staff very helpful and spoke English as well as German/Spanish. We booked an second room in this hotel for extra family for one night without trouble . The location was perfect for us and the tram easy to walk to. The smell of fresh linen and polish was in all rooms , also an amazing hot shower for all twice a day .

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wlan didn`t seem to work or was very weak. We followed the instructions, seemed to have Wlan, but could not do anything. But since we were not in the room for long we did not complain and therefore don`t know if the problem could have been solved.

    Uncomplicated check-in, respectively although we were on time they were not there anymore, but left the key in the box, which was okay as well. Breakfast was just great, a very good variety. Room was normal and had all we needed, very clean, matresses comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small single room was a bit stuffy. Bathroom couldn't have been smaller, but still functional. Housekeeping disturbed prior to checkout.

    Great location. Very good breakfast buffet. Spotless.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was really bad we had trouble registering and when we did get on it was really slow.

    We had room 13 which had a huge balcony with furniture to sit outside. The room was a good size and breakfast was delicious. Free parking on the street and an easy tram ride into the city.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    To reach Wi-Fi it was necessary to ask for a new login and password every day, which wasn't much comfortable.

    The hotel's location is close to the centre and also easily accessible with a public transportation. The room and the bathroom were clean and well furnished. The staff was very nice and kind. They were really helpful in questions regarding the sightseeings. At the reception three-days-tickets for the public transportation are sold, which is advantageous for tourists.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    There was no receptionist when we arrived and we had to get our room key through a phone call but the instruction for the phone call was only in German so it took some time to figure the situation. Room has no air condition.

    breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The WiFi shut down on the second day and didn't turn back on. Maybe just my bad luck.

    The staff was extremely friendly to me, a tired American traveler who struggles with German. The room, while small, was very cozy. The U-Bahn station is extremely close and the S-Bahn station is about 15 minutes walk away. Both will get you to the Hauptbahnhof, where you can go anywhere in the city. Overall excellent hotel und es ist preiswert.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was very slow. Unfortunately it was a very hot night and there was no air conditioning. We were able to open the window and leave the curtains open to get some relief from the heat. No lift but luckily we were only on the first floor.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful. Offered help to carry our cases upstairs and had lots of good advice to help us plan our trips to both car museums. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Hotel position, 100m from train to city centre, walking distance to Mercedes arena, comfortable bed, nice breakfast and very helpful and polite staff

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    dirty carpets

    location,

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    facilities does not reflect the rate

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was really poor and my room was a little bit too small.

    Location and staff was superb and really helpful. Mercedes museum within walking distance

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The first day was a small problem with the WIFI

    The breakfast was wonderful

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slow internet

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good Breakfast. Very Clean.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    curtains ripped, and carpet no very clean. Very unfriendly wifi, had to leave all my info online.

    nice breakfast, very friendly staff and clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi wasn't really usable.

    Everything except the wifi was very good for the price.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very slow wifi, no air-condition (if you travel on a day +35)

    Nice people, free parking, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As usual Hotel Berg was great value, close to the Mineralbad, restaurants and Ubuntu. I will definitely stay again.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Hotel Berg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: