Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Romantik Hotel Bergström This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Bei der Lüner Mühle, Altstadt, 21335 Lüneburg, Germany

#6 of 15 hotels in Lüneburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1336 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Stunning property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a two night stay, no replenishment of toilet paper or water. Limited coffee sachets, a bit stingy.

    Stunning property. Great bed and linens. Efficient front desk service. Would highly recommend as the only place to stay in Lüneburg

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Messy Internet connection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Messy Internet connection. First it did not work at all (one MacBook, one iPad and two iPhones - same problem). I called the reception to ask about the problem but a lady just told me to come down to them and they would fix it). Sounded strange to me after some 30 years of experience of writing just communication software. Trying to interrupt her with a couple of questions was met with just the answer - come down to reception. I did and got a funny explanation from the receptionist that Apple equipment had problems connecting to the Internet via their network. The lady who insisted that if I just should come down to the reception could of course not do or explain anything. I went back to the room and set up our own network. (Later that evening I managed to get out to the Internet through their network over another router)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Great location and decent hotel marred by poor staffing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Surly staff. A double room was booked but only had bedding and towels for one; when alerted staff were at best indifferent - no apology. Breakfast had a great choice but too few staff so coffee machines not being monitored so stopped functioning - pretty chaotic to be honest.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    You dreams- come- true - staying. Wish we had more time to spend here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    High parking fee.

    A very nice hotel with old charm and still modern and comfortable feeling. We could easily have stayed a few days. Really relaxing, even the surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.4
    Location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A large part of carpet was dirty in my deluxe double room and there was no extra large bed. I complained about the carpet to staff the following morning as I staying two nights however nothing was done nor was I offered another room. I followed up upon by email & again no apology just generic response. This,was unfortunate as staff were v nice otherwise and the hotel location is very special.

    Location and facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant hotel, centrally located, in a beautiful old town with plenty of shops & eateries!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Receptionist at check-in was not very welcoming. We had driven 9 hours to arrive at the hotel and the young receptionist on duty at our arrival was a little "cold" and "brusque", and not really interested in informing us properly on where all of the facilities could be found. This would have saved us a little bit of time, because rooms and facilities are spread out. The fitness and indoor pool were in a different building to our bedrooms, and the sauna facilities were in a different building again. All are close by to each other, but when you arrive somewhere for the first time, you need assistance to find them. The receptionist, if she had done her job efficiently, should have marked all of these out on the hotel map - with a smile!

    Comfy beds and very clean rooms/bathrooms. Discreet cleaners. Coffee and tea facilities in the room were appreciated. Bathrobes available for use, as well as extra bath towels should you decide to use the indoor pool and sauna. Indoor pool is very small - ideal for little kids. The hotel has, however, excellent sauna and steam room facilities with a sizeable rest room for afterwards. Location of hotel is fantastic, very central, with views from the restaurant over the little river Illenau - beautiful! We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay and would stay there again if ever in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi service didn't work for 1 1/2 days. Cleaning lady did not clean my coffee cup? The parking garage gate was broken which meant you had to back up park go in the office to get them to open the gate. 4 times doing this and they finally acknowledge it was broken. Very annoying and inconvenient.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    as it is in a small city, i was expecting a normal hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was for 19 € per person.. i think it is expensive

    as it is in a small city, i was expecting a normal hotel. but this hotel is super everything was perfect , clean, and everybody is smiling ... the city and the river weas just like the photo ...RECOMENDED

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    In the heart of Luneburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel had several different restaurants, in some of them the service was not really good or efficient

    Room was clean and spacious, bed was good. Worth the money. Location could not have been better.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice location in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good with available parking, but beware that the garage is tight.

    Nice location in the city. Sizeable room with a HUGE flatscreen TV if you need one of those. We only stayed as transport leg towards Denmark but would recommend both the city and hotel, even though we didn't have much time there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.7
    Good but not up to 4 star standard reception.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite being a 4 star hotel the reception on arrival at 4.00 pm was inadequately understaffed with only one on reception doing his best. He had to shut reception for a few minutes as I arrived to do something. It then took 15 mins to find my booking as they had wrongly used my first name, despite having my ref number to check. I was unaware the block we were in would have no lift and was up in effect 6 steep flights. The reception now had a queue and noone except the receptionist was there to take up my case. After half an hour I had to ring to remind reception and then 20 mins later go over to again remind (a walk outside of hotel) as I was wasting limited time unable to change after a very hot journey form London that morning. The receptionist could not have been more apologetic but the hotel system should not expect this of its staff or inconvenience guests.

    Interesting location around the canal/river. with large peaceful outside terrace.Good breakfast and dinner. Room was reasonable size quiet with river view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice location in a beatiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location in a beatiful town. We stayed in the old mill, rebuilt to hotel. Rooms were ok and clean. Good bathroom. Not very much amenities - for example no conditioner. The hairdryer could benefit an upgrade. Service in the reception was unengaged, almost unwillingly to answer questions. Breakfast was not included and rather pricy (19,90 Euro). We strolled up town and had a great and large breakfast for half that price. All in all - ok for a short stay, but a little bit pricy in relation to what you get.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Too busy in the breakfast area all morning to be able to give service by the table.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcoming staff did not rate up to very friendly. Looks like they welcome Norwegian differently from German guests. For making reservation for dinner in the restaurant we were told all table was taken. Coming back from outside restaurant I noticed the restaurant was just a bit more than half full. The answer I received was that booking taken did not appear at all. (booking from locals). I can not see this be of any good to hotel guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location for us, several eating establishments in walking distance.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    There wasn't anywhere to put our clothes. The closet only had about 3' to hang up clothes and one 3 small drawer dresser...that was for 2 people staying 2 weeks. Bathroom so confined, could not get past the other person, one had to leave for the other to enter.

    Employees at front desk and room care were excellent, went way out of their way to assist us and meet our needs. Loved the large flat screen TV.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were way too soft and the neighbourhood was surprisingly noisy, but maybe that was just some weird neighbours. The breakfast area was a bit too crowded.

    As promised the room had a fabulous view on the river and the great church tower. The suite was lovely, but a bit old fashioned. It had two bathrooms and the wifi was usable. The breakfast was good with a nice variety of foods. The location was very close to the city center and the pool was neat!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows were not so comfortable (too low for me personally). Also didn't like the toiletries offered - only a "general" liquid hair and body soap (whatever that is). It is fine but they should advise this before had as I would have brought my own. Instead I had to run to a nearby drugstore to get mine.

    Hotel was very nice and elegant, excellent location, close to everything in town. The whole structure of the hotel is really good (all the buildings / restaurants in the complex). Room was a good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Didn`t live up to my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel doesn´'t trust its guests. They demand an advance reserv of 50 € on your credit card. The room and the bathroom are very small. The breakfast and parking are very expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    One of the most spectacular hotels we have stayed in, great experience and beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a fantastic grouping of old buildings in the centre of a 1500 century city, located on both sites of stream with an old water mill, one of the most spectacular places we have stayed. Great facilities. The city of Luneburg is a must with a large completely intact 13-1500 century city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful location, comfortable bar, parking.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator in certain parts of the hotel and this wasn’t mentioned. Rooms are spacious, but tatty armchairs do let it down.. Breakfast was good but at 200 euros a night I expected more.

    Beautiful location, comfortable bar, parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful room with great views and comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our check out person at the front desk was very business-like. Could have said “Thank you for staying with us” or “Hope to see you again” - anything that had a personal feel to it.

    Room 282 was fabulous - in Historic building - no elevator. It had two windows - one looking across the inlet to a row of gabled houses; the other overlooking a tiny Christmas Market. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    A plesant evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit hard to find your way into the hotel as the picture on the Booking.com website is actually there restaurant next door! We booked a room with a view of the river so that we could see the pretty lights on it as per the picture on the website but as far as i know they didn't come on.

    Right in the middle of Luneburg the location was great. Room was large, comfortable and spotless. Nice piano bar for a couple of nightcaps and plenty of choice to eat in the immediate area. Not the cheapest hotel but good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    Despite breakfast the hotel is nice and location superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather rude waitress at breakfast. Arriving at 10.10 she informed us we only had ten minutes even though breakfast was until 10.30. She was subsequently unhelpful in service. Disappointing when one pays 190 euros per night

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast needs a rethink.... not a 4 star experience right now
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad logistics at breakfast and very unexperienced staff running all over the place. Irritating to have them stressing around.

    Good choices for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    The multi-faceted Bergstrom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All aspects of the hotel that affected us were fine..

    I liked the accommodating staff, the views across the river and the room was excellent following a change from our original choice..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.8
    Best hotel in Lündeburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For some reason we both struggled with the bed. One of us got used to the bed, so it might just be because the mattress is harder than what we are used to. I am sure the staff would have moved us to another room if we had mentioned it, but we did not mention it, because it really was a minor issue.

    Very nice location close to city center, but also very quiet area. The room where very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was in very good condition. Breakfast is excellent and the hotel has a very nice piano bar where you can enjoy cocktails. The staff is very service minded. This is our fourth stay and we will for sure be back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.2
    Luxury stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel and location! Luxury but with a cozy atmosphere! Very nice breakfast (omelette freshly made if wanted) and view of the water.Perfect location for walks in the old town. Good parking in garage. Recommended!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.1
    Great location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was chaos. Too many guests and not enough tables. Ended up in the lounge with slow service for drinks. The hotel does advise you that certain times are busy but who wants to get up at 06.30 to avoid the crowd?? Some staff poorly trained (probably students) - our napkins were simply thrown on the table when we went for an evening meal.

    Great location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.2
    Looneyburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    first they stuck me in really tight room with no tv and no working telephone (couldn't call front desk). Then since they could not fix the phone, they moved me to a better and bigger room where everything worked!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    8.8
    Great friendly hotel for an overnight stay. Good location friendly, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels rag like No comfortable seating Noisy in the front of the house

    Helpful and pleasant staff Beds comfortable Great for a quick overnight stay Breakfast average

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Not so new but very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so new but very clean. And best location in Lüneburg. The breakfast was very very excellent. I could feel Lüneburger- and German history there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Good,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is located near the station and in the beautiful old town. Around the hotel we enjoyed sightseeing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    2.5
    Customer Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Customer Service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Clean, comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Great town and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected to go into Salt mine...that is not an option

    Everything about town and elevator trip to top of water tower...perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Will be back....
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable hotel with everything "at hand"

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Unique location in a picturesque setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unique location in a picturesque setting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Waiting too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too busy

    Waiting too much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets on ground floor not cleaned. Bedroom very small and intended for one.

    The View.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor room service u have to get everything by ur self from resption desk

    Excellent location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    The view of the river and the houses along the river was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view of the river and the houses along the river was fantastic, so I took photos !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Great choice for a stay in this area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was not working

    This hotel is the nicest in the area and has great location to the main city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Absolutly wonderful night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt get on wifi

    Room was absolutely beautiful. Shower was huge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Very good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good breakfast! Nice room! Good location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    nice staff and clean room
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no elevator in the old building but the staff offered his help to carry the luggages for us

    nice staff and clean room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    LOcation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    The rooms were spacy and comfortable,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were spacy and comfortable,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Nearly everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice of different pillows types would have been nice and more staff on breakfast duty as the cooking stations were not attended

    Nearly everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.3
    staff, very bad
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff, very bad

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    Very traditional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very traditional...almost fairytale setting within the Altstadt. After a long day on the road, met by cheery staff and informed that we had been up graded to a junior suite! The view from the room was stunning and every comfort was available to us. Great cocktails in the piano bar! A very wide choice for a sumptuous breakfast. A memorable stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    7.1
    Location, Staff, SPA, the bar - everything well taken care of
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room with "water view" -- careful that does not mean view on Stint! in room condiments not filled -- attention should be there at this price level

    Location, Staff, SPA, the bar - everything well taken care of

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    The friendly and helpful personnel, fabulous breakfasts and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly and helpful personnel, fabulous breakfasts and stunning location.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dining room seats were always dirty, had crumbs and needed cleaning

    Location

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.2
    Location and hotel ammenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and hotel ammenities

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    Super Lage, bester Komfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super Lage, bester Komfort.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Everything

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Romantik Hotel Bergström traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: