Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Angleterre Hotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Friedrichstr. 31, Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg, 10969 Berlin, Germany

#271 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2108 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Efficient and quiet, with great public transport links
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area in general was not that great, but it was ok.

    The place was clean and accomodating. Standard hotel facilities. Very friendly bartender. The location is very close to Checkpoint Charlie but a bit dead in the evening: not that many restaurants and most close early. Free street parking in the immediate area. Great public transport links.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.0
    Loved it - would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location as a base to explore from -close to the tube, comfortable beds. clean facilities,, knowledgeable and helpful staff and excellent breakfasts which are cheaper if you purchase them there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Fine
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not nice. The eggs looked artificial and the quality of the food did not look that good

    The staff was very friendly, location very good and cleaness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Good value for the central location , I would recommend !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Separated beds, the beds are bit too soft ... Almost no English speaking TV channels available ...but they have even the Cuba TV channel and quite many Russians TV channels and that is also good..

    Excellent location and very quite place !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Amenities, WIFI and customer service could be better but great location and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No shower gel or shower cream in bathroom Wifi connection was very slow most of the time View from the room was poor Room wasn't cleaned every day Staff could have been more accommodating

    Great location Large and comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    The location is amazing is walking distance to Jewish museum...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is amazing is walking distance to Jewish museum and the wall museum. As well as, so many restaurants are all over the place. The main shops are around 10 minutes walking distance. I highly recommend it for first visit to Berlin

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Good location, clean and confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s expensive and they don’t have any bottle of water of cortesy and WIFI is slow and if you want it a little more speed you need to pay extra!

    Good location, clean and confortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    3.3
    I'd skip this hotel. There has to be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were dirty. There were stains on the carpet, and bugs in the lamps. We'd asked for a non-smoking room but it still wreaked of smoke. Honestly this was the first time we'd used booking and how this hotel had a 4/5 rating was hard to fathom. It was sub-par at best. And not only will we not stay here again, it makes us question whether we can trust booking and its rating when looking for a hotel. Disappointing to say the least.

    I suppose the one good thing was that it was centrally located. But that would not be enough to recommend this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Lighting in room needs to be brighter hotel good would certainly use again staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room although did ask at reception and got it but no English breakfast tea just scented tea bags and no milk.

    Breakfast was good plenty to choose from

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff was very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free WLAN has only limited speed; normal speed of internet connection has to be paid Breakfast directly booked over the hotel is much more expensiv than directly paid at the restaurant

    Staff was very friendly Location nearby "Checkpoint Charly" and near the center of Berlin is for tourists quite well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.9
    I like the location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very cross about the price of the breakfast. When I did the booking with booking.com you charge £17 per breakfast for each person. When we got to the hotel they were charging ONLY 9,50 euros per breakfast. I feel so angry.

    I like the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is rated as 4 stars, but based on comparison it is not. Could be considered a very good 3 stars. Bathroom is clean, but gets competent wet every time you have a shower and the bathroom curtains ate disgusting.

    The room size is great, it is clean and comfortable. Location is amazing, right in front of a subway station and close to a bus stop. Check point Charlie one block ahead.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in a strategic point of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We missed the small gadgets in the bathroom (shampoo, shower gel).

    Good location; most interesting districts or attractions were relatively close (you cannot be close to everything in Berlin). Very nice staff, we could have our room ready even a little earlier without any problem. Quick checkin and checkout process.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    I had lovely windows on the top floor good sized room with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They took an extra £100 this is apparently a deposit but I am yet to get anything back. So add £100 to how much you are paying, it’s not that good value. The hotel design is a little dated but still lovely. For a four star hotel however you would expect better shampoo/body wash etc.

    I had lovely windows on the top floor good sized room with a comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Perfectly pleasant and convenient, but I would look elsewhere next time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was less beautiful and glamorous than the photos on the internet led one to believe. A bit of false advertising... Also there was no breakfast, which would have been great. Most German hotels in my experience have excellent breakfast included. It was also a weird design to get to and from the elevator to all rooms by walking through a closed Italian restaurant? Felt “sketchy.” A full lobby and reception redesign would be a very good idea.

    Friendly staff and the sauna/exercise room was nice. The rooms and bathrooms were modest but very comfortable and in perfect condition.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Best value for low price! I will come again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is a little old.

    My room was spacious. There‘s a well eqipped fitness room. It‘s calm and cleam. Check-in and check-out were easy and quick. Super price!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    The location is great and even though the view from our room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No amenities, which was quite sad for a 4* hotel - like no regular shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, soap, cream... Just one big bottle of blue soap on the shower wall.

    The location is great and even though the view from our room on the 8th floor wasn't the best, it was at least very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    A worthy, solid and perfectly located hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It may be the famous German rationality, but for such price, I was surprised not to find practically any “nice small things” in the room, like the dental kit, slippers, bathrobe, sweets, tea/coffee etc. I understand that it may not be that important for a business traveler (which is true), but still, the general atmosphere would greatly benefit from them: it’s a bit too formal now, so the guest's sense of comfort is a bit limited.

    Great location, just a perfect one. Clean and quiet rooms, large TV, comfy beds, a solid desk for work with writing implements.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Decent 4 star hotel in very central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was the same stain from a chewing gum or sweet on one of the bedside tables for the whole duration of my 4 night stay. There weren't really any toiletries/soaps in the bathroom, only a shampoo/shower gel dispenser and a soap dispenser by the sink. There was a large stain on the carpet.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room a very good size on the 8th floor of the building, so also very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.0
    The airconditioning was extremely noisy, making it hard to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The airconditioning was extremely noisy, making it hard to get a good night sleep. Opening the window wasn't a solution either, since you would hear the sound of the airco systems on the roof instead (my room was on the upper floor).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Really beautiful hotel, amazingly well located, good value...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was not working for me. But to be fair to the hotel, I didn't spend so long in the hotel besides sleeping and did not try to get it fixed!

    Really beautiful hotel, amazingly well located, good value for money, super comfortable bed, really nice bathroom. It almost felt too luxurious for me. I wish I could have spent a bit more time enjoying the hotel itself, but alas there was so much to do in Berlin itself!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    All clean, nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view as described :(

    All clean, nice and comfortable. Room was a bit dark. Internet was totally slow, but I’ve heard it’s a common problem in Berlin

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a double bed and host said they would organise it before my stay. upon arrival i was told that only 2 single beds can be put together which meant that my sleep was uncomfortable across 2 beds

    Service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    4.6
    Rooms should be refurbished
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was rated 4 stars but felt more like a 2/3 star hotel. The room should be refurbished - there were multiple stains on the carpets and the bath tub was not clean.

    The location was close to the metro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    It’s what you’d expect for 80€ a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and interior in general lacks character, decor is tired and in desperate need of a revamp. Also there was a function on Sunday night on the ground floor where loud music was playing until midnight. I don’t expect much from a hotel where I’m paying 80€ a night but I absolutely should not have to put up with that. Could hear very clearly from my room. Ruined the stay. No warning from staff and no apology or offer of compensation. Not a 4 star experience

    The bed was reasonably comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money, very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was made out of two single beds; I expected regular king-size bed in the hotel of such level

    Excellent location in the centre of Berlin; great connections to public transportation, easy to get from any airport. Nice old building, great and modern infrastructure. A lot of restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    3.8
    Boring place , boring area it was better and cheaper in Airbnb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean service was really bad whan I ask from some Asian women , please don’t come into my room she’ said “yes yes “.damd she ignore me and came my Room and she sew me naked 2 time it was not right for me

    The guy from the desk service was really nice, and the quite in this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel for nearby conference venue.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception staff were not always around.

    Location near Checkpoint Charlie was excellent. Subway entrance was a block away. Da Vinci restaurant in the hotel was convenient and great for informal meetings with my group. Staff were very accommodating. Rooms were old world and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view. I think the place is being renovated.. but the room they put me in was pretty out dated and just felt old.. but not in a charming way.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Really big room, absolutely spotless, very comfortable beds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have been able to have the room for slightly longer on the day we checked out

    Really big room, absolutely spotless, very comfortable beds and an absolutely ideal location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Good base to stay, friendly staff, near sub-stations and other surrounding attractions, enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was basic which we upgraded from a standard and could have done with a lounger chair as enough room to put one in. The Coffee machine had no instructions which was a waste of time as the water came out slow. No Tea bags only Coffee if you like strong coffee and would prefer UHT milk rather than powdered milk in the room. The handle on the bath was loose, so be careful. There was a slight draft from the large patio doors even though it was double doors. The cleaner didn't change the cups on the 2nd day and left one with coffee in and the sugar and milk wrappers were still there. Not enough pillows in the room. Disappointed that we couldn't use the sauna as it was 7.50 Euro each would have thought that the facilities in the hotel would be part of your stay to use.

    Very clean room, spacious and warm. We had a balcony with the view of the police station. Good location for Checkpoint Charlie as just up the road and not far from the Shopping Mall. The beds were comfy. The breakfast was ok and plenty of variety but not worth the money. The Italian Restaurant was excellent as the waiter in the evening was attentive, friendly and pleasant to talk to.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.1
    I enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in 814 did seem to have hollows. I think it is 2 single bed linked. It may have been that I prefer a firmer bed. The room was 20dC (too warm for me) even with the air conditioning at full and set to 17dC.

    Perfect location for starting the sightseeing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.4
    Very low quality hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is really outdated. There are no complimentary toiletries in the room! The room was not properly cleaned as I found used tissue packaging on the floor of the room. I was located on the 1st floor which opened to a patio that was covered in cigarette butts. This is not a four star hotel! The breakfast was lackluster.

    The location is really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.6
    The worst hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is really bad. Now 23.00 and all guest can't sleep because very loud music are playing in their restaurant. Reception don't want to solve this problem. The room is really dark and small and doesn't clean enough. The hotel withdrew from the card the amount of 100 euros more than the price on booking.com. Why?

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.8
    Convenient enough and close to shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea/coffee service in the room. Beds were not that comfortable for my daughter, but I was OK – though the duvets were tiny. I never was able to get the room to the hotel gym to open with our door key. Sauna was an extra cost.

    Close to the U-Bahn. Late night friendly bar next door. TV was huge and good quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.1
    Good for a simple trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for double bed and had to push two singles together which was uncomfortable, bedding was cheap and pillows were too thin

    Staff were very good and location was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Great location, very nice hotel, comfortable beds and nice...
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would be nice to have shampoo, conditioner, normal soap and body lotion, especially in this type of hotel, but I usually bring it with me so no big deal. Wi-fi was a little bit poor.

    Great location, very nice hotel, comfortable beds and nice and helpfull staff. Would come back again for sure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, many tourist attractions are within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Excellent location, many tourist attractions are within walking distance, including Checkpoint Charlie. The hotel is easy to get to from the airport and the u-bahn station is just two minutes away from the hotel. Breakfast is plenty. The room is a good size with a very comfy bed. Staff is friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend it and stay there again. Outstanding value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    2.5
    Horrible service at reception
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A red haired woman at the reception gave the worst service I have ever had - really rude person towards customer! Definitely not suitable to interact with hotel guests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location for attractions and travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel was amazing. Right outside of a U-BAHN that connects you all around the city. Also really close to tourist attractions like checkpoint Charlie, Jewish museum and lots of others.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Awesome place for citybreak
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for a city break. It's 3 minutes away from Checkpoint Charlie and like 20m away from the metro station. You can get anywhere so easily from here. You can find caffes and small breakfast places around on the way toc Checkpoint Charlie. The hotel is very confortable and the staff is really nice. Our room had athe window to the inside garden so it was super quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Luxury hotel by Checkpoint Charlie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The money was automatically blocked on the account upon arrival, thing that we were not informed about.

    The bed was extremely large and very comfortable. The bathroom looked luxurious. We had everything we might have needed: towels (replaced every day), toiletries, shower caps, mini bar, safe, TV.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Verry good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is overpriced (17 Euro pp), compared with other hotels in the area.

    Verry good location. The subway station is at 1 minute walking. Excellent clean rooms with a large bath.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.7
    Won't stay again in spite of fantastic location - awful beds spoilt the weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were really soft and gave no support. We were given a twin bed room even though we'd requested and had confirmed a double room. We arrived at 11am to leave our luggage. When we came back at about 4pm, we were told there were no double rooms left and our room could have been made into a double room but housekeeping had gone home. This really spoilt the beginning of a romantic weekend away for my partner's birthday. And the fact that the beds were so awful meant neither of us slept well for the two nights we were there. Tea was twice served with luke warm water (I could stick my finger into the water!)

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Location was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.7
    The location is great for tourists.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gym (on 7th floor) was not as on pictures, you needed to get the safety key from reception to use some equipment which they didnt tell me at reception when I asked for the access card. No cross trainer, no paper tissues for cleaning, no frills. You don't need to go there if you want a gym. I travelled on business and made staff aware of the deduction of the Berlin City tax from the bill. It was not deducted when I paid the bill although I discussed this. It happened twice in this hotel but not in others. The staff should be informed/trained in this matter. I could change from the smoking to a non-smoking room when I asked the second time, but then it was done swiftly.

    The location is great for tourists. The rooms are quite clean. It was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    A gem of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff were very kind about letting me check in as soon as the room was ready, earlier than specified. They were helpful and friendly, and spoke perfect English. I loved this hotel, and will be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    the bed was very comfortable and my room had a bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lots of extra charges for things-i.e sauna and spa are, also theres a free coffee machine in the lobby but you need to buy a cup and they dont provide any-takeaway or mugs

    the bed was very comfortable and my room had a bath

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were too short for us and there wasn’t shampoo. But this was a minor thing...

    The location is great! 2 blocks from checkpoint Charlie and the train station is so close and connected to everywhere! Brandenburg gate: 25 minutes by walking People at the reception were very nice and helpful! They showed us how to get to different places and to the bus station to go to our next stop in our eurotrip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is in a very good location and the room was clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The twin room had 2 smaller than average single beds which were quite uncomfortable. The decor in the communal areas is a bit tired, the curtains in our room were in 4 mismatched sections which didn't close properly. The hotel was also quite noisey, to be fair we stayed over new year but even so we could still hear our neighbours tv and other guests stomping around their rooms. Compared to other 4 star hotels I've stayed in when visiting Berlin this felt more like 3 stars.

    The hotel is in a very good location and the room was clean and large enough for 2 friends sharing. Our room was also cleaned daily and fresh towels provided.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Really good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower curtain didn’t work and didn’t reach all the way to the floor. Meaning the whole bathroom got very wet when showering and felt very claustrophobic when in the shower as it was quite small once the shower curtain was drawn

    Really good location. So close to the subway station! Really helpful staff that provided lots of guidance! Very comfortable and clean!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    The location was simply great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Pretty fair considering the price and the excellent location.

    The location was simply great! The hotel is located just "inside" the checkpoint charlie, and it's possible to walk between the main touristic points of the center of Berlin. The breakfast it's simply, fair and tasteful, and it's provided for the italian restaurant inside/next the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    So clean and nice room in a central location but the parking costs could be little cheaper than 19e
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4 Star hotel I think it’s inappropriate not to have personal sower and shampoo bottles at least.

    The location and the room were perfect as also very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    Location was perfect , overall it’s a good value for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect , overall it’s a good value for the money , but it will be more better , f they have some complementary drinks in rooms , iron , just to improve the service, otherwise, i enjoyed my stay there . Thank u

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Perfect location. Great hotel and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked mugs instead of little tea cups in the room but that was a very minor point.

    Good sized room with big comfy bed. Facilities in the room were good including a kettle & tea & coffee. Our room had a bath with a shower over it. The staff were lovely and very helpful. We chose to have breakfast in the hotel for €10 each. No need to book, just turn up and pay so no figuring out in advance if we wanted it or not. Good continental style breakfast- buffet style so eat as much as you need. Hotel right in the centre of town so perfect for sightseeing literally 2 mins walk from checkpoint Charlie. And the underground station was right there too for easy travel back to the airport. Public transport is brilliant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable bed, fast Internet connection with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive breakfast buffet.

    Very comfortable bed, fast Internet connection with Ethernet option and WiFi, spacious bathroom, wide TV with numerous channels

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.3
    It was a decent hotel, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night there was very loud music inside the hotel, a party I guess, with extreme bass that made it impossible to sleep until 1am

    It was a decent hotel, good value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.7
    Good location, noise from function room travels so if function room busy you wont sleep!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was asked if I wanted a quite room when I booked. I was on the 3rd floor but could still hear the disco from the function room plus all the people in it, way past mid night on Sunday night when I had to get up early for a business meeting the next day. This hotel has 4 stars printed on its flag outside, not sure who gave them these 4 stars as this is not a 4 star hotel. The skirting boards are chipped and need re painting, the rooms are ok but not 4 star level, no soaps in the bathroom etc. This hotel claims to be based on English hotels but no kettle and tea etc in the room. Air con smelled of cigarette smoke. It is fine as a 3 star sleep in it base on a business trip but I wouldn't come here on holiday and would recommend checking if there are any functions booked during your stay if you would like some sleep.

    Good location, easy to get to on public transport

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Very good. Plenty to see and do near the Hotel. Pity about the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel bar (which is open to the public) allows smoking, it also closes on Sunday and Monday. Worse, on Saturday the Bar was closed for a private function. That meant Hotel guests couldn’t get a drink at all in the Hotel.

    Free wi-fi was very good. Location was very good for connection to U-Bahn.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Great hotel in the right place. Great public transport links (U-Bahn 50m from hotel)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar closes on a Sunday & Monday. Considering that it is in a capital city, no BBC World and only one English language channel on the TV.

    Very comfy beds, air conditioning easy to operate and worked efficiently. Lovely warm bathroom. Clean throughout. Excellent bar in the basement with friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    4.2
    Good position, however not a 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs some refurbishment; we asked towels to be changed, they refused, a bit disappointing given it's a 4 star hotel; complementary water in the room hasn't killed any hotel that asks 100 bucks a night.

    Great position

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Excellent location, very close to metro station, but in fact...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast option at 17/ per person per night does not seem reasonable, but we could have very good breakfast in nearby cafes for much cheaper. I think it is not fair to charge extra for use of sauna.

    Excellent location, very close to metro station, but in fact we hardly had to use the metro at all, could walk to almost any sight. Good value for money. Room was quite OK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    3.8
    I felt completely unsafe in the hotel with only one person on staff during the night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I asked the desk for the amenities that were supposed to be in the room, like water and a tea kettle, I was told he was the only person on staff at the time and I would have to wait til morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice and clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom was a bit small and we only got soap and didn't receive other washing products. we had the standard double room

    .Great location - very close to check point Charlie and there is a subway station nearby .Room was very clean and the bed was large .(Staff was friendly and there was no noise (we were on the 8th floor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    OK, but nothing fancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet in the room and in the corridor was not really clean. Price for breakfast is way too expensive. Also, the restaurant website says breakfast price is 9€, but hotel guests pay 17€ (sic!). It's much better to just go to a coffee place which is just next to the hotel. Also, it's not clear how to get to the parking spot. This information should be available on the website. It looks like the hotel tries to upsell wherever it's possible. For example, there's a coffee machine in the lobby, but to make one, you have to buy a special hotel mug for ~10€.

    Great location. Close to the U-Bahn which takes you everywhere you need.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    worth for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While we stay, the close-by metro station is under construction, so it was not convenient to get around the city.

    Room is comfortable; staff are very helpful; Not far away from attractions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.6
    Awful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel restaurant had party midnight to AM3:00. Loud music and bass made me difficult to sleep. It was as noisy as backpacker hostels in Khaosan road in Bangkok, Thailand . The hotel staff is very polite and kind, told me "We ask them to reduce volume. It is legal to have party midnight. Nothing more to do". I had business meeting next morning, being in very fresh mind and humor. Thank you for the excellent hospitality. I work much harder to get more money in order to stay with 5 star hotels that guarantee better environment.

    All of the good points were wiped off due to negative point.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location in Berlin but fairly touristy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of a night stay is rather high considering that breakfast is not included (extra 17€) and the room does not include coffee self-service.

    Angleterre Hotel is located right next to public transportation, shops, and restaurants, but it's a very touristy area so it might be a better deal to wander away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't too comfortable and had an elevated bit in the middle. No coffee/tea making facilities in the room. On the last night before my flight there was a wedding which I wasn't informed about when booking...it was incredibly noisy until around midnight when the music stopped but the party continued however and in the early hours of the morning the wedding guests were slamming doors and were talking and laughing loudly...not what you want the night before a flight. For a 4 ⭐️ hotel I was very disappointed. I wouldn't stay there again.

    The staff were friendly and the hotel was in a good area. The police station was across the road so I felt very safe at night and being on my own.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful discounted stay in Berlon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was beautiful and nice but quite basic, this level of comfort could be found at an Ibis hotel for example. The rooms are bigger but that's about it. The full price they actually charge for a room is way too high in my opinion (since you still have to pay for the sauna, bathrobes, any extras...), since for the same price you can probably find another 4* hotel with a lot more amenities. The location next to checkpoint Charlie (biggest letdown in Berlin by the way) is probably the reason they charge so much.

    Big, spacious rooms, nice and big bathroom (although I personally don't like the shower in the bathtub, I prefer a regular shower). You should know we had about a 40% discount, if we'd paid full price I think we'd have been a little disappointed. Great location next to metro station and bus stops to get everywhere you need to go.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    The hotel was clean and the stass was really helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Car park too expensive and with only 6 park lots for all the hotel. The hotel is a little bit old and I think that 4 stars are too much for a such kind of structure

    The hotel was clean and the stass was really helpful and nice. There is a car parking. The metro station is 2 mintues from the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    The bed was great, shame about there being not enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were not enough pillows for the beds, the shower head was leaking and the beds were not changed during the stay.

    The bed was great, shame about there being not enough pillows. Location is superb and the hotel whilst classic in style, not an option Booking.com and should be, we would certainly stay there again in our frequent trips to Berlin. Connections and bus links are also well located.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People in the reception were quite young and inexperienced. Could be more service minded, although service was not bad but it was not outstanding.

    Splendid location on Friedrichstrasse. Perfect starting point for walking to several important locations in central Berlin. U-bahn station Kochstrasse is also really close. Perfect location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Good location but be research your airport transfer options early
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The journey to and from Berlin Schonefeld aiport is horrendous. Had to look up Citymapper constantly to see the quickest way which changes all the time. Train schedules and lines are extremely difficult to navigate and I ended up taking 3 separate trains to get to and from the property.

    Situated close to Checkpoint Charlie and walking distance to most of central Berlin. Hotel staff were generally friendly and helpful, and we were allowed to store our luggage at the front desk using a cloakroom ticketing system.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.6
    The location
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The air conditioner was broken and it didn't work. The staff was not cooperative rather has attitude problems, there were mosquitoes in the room, very difficult to feel peacefully.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    A pleasant hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not really a 4-star hotel. The furniture was tired, the pillows were very uncomfortable, no in-room tea/ coffee facilities and we couldn't even get a cup of boiling water after 10pm. No toiletries, shampoo/ soap.

    Great location, decent breakfast, and friendly staff. Very close to many attraction and well connected to transportation.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Angleterre Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: