Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Eckstein 2 stars

Schildhornstr. 72, Steglitz-Zehlendorf, 12163 Berlin, Germany

#567 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 529 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    6.7

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Paid WiFi

    3.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible bad smel. Awful bed. Ridiculous Bathroom. No need to visit the communist museum, this hotel will bring you back to East Berlin in the 80s. Second time on Booking.com and second bad experience, i guess decent hotels don't need this site to full their rooms.

    Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel had some sort of an emergency, and couldn't provide us demanded separate rooms. Should've contacted in advance us so we can rebook something else, when we arrived it was already too late.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very basic, felt more like a hostel then a hotel. The people who greeted us looked at us like we were not supposed to be there. Not very friendly. It is on a very busy road so dont expect to get much sleep as there is a tonne of trucks, buses, and noise all night long. If you are on a super tight budget then I would say it is bearable.

    Clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was hard to find the hotel no proper signs to say where it is. Compared to the pics the rooms were ok, abit over the price if u ask me for what is provided.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I certainly did not expect this bad experience for this hotel is not cheap (price of the room was 90€). The guy at the reception was very unprofessional, I have never experienced that.. making stupid jokes within the payment process, e.g. he didn't give me a pen to sign after asking (he thought it funny, I did not laugh..) and also did not provide me with something to iron my clothes after asking him for it. I needed it right away, had to leave quickly and told him. The room was tidy and clean, but need some modernization & the wallpaper needs to be repainted urgently - it gave me the impression of a low quality hotel and doesn't correspond to the price per night. I did not have breakfast there, since at 11 am there was still ham in the breakfast room uncooled.. TV was very small and blurry vision..

    I appreciated the spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no free wifi at the property. Reception was closed at 7am when we wanted to check out. Breakfast started a bit late which was an inconvenience. Overall, the hotel is functional for a short stay and could be cheaper for what is being offered.

    Relatively close to subway stations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a bus stop very near and it takes you to a shop street very close to the hotel, and from that street you can take a train or a subway and it'll take you to the center or everywhere you want to go.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine. The only issue I had was that I was charged in my credit card even though on the website I was told that payment would happen only at the hotel. However the receptionist promptly supported me and refund the credit card charge, since I wanted to pay with cash.

    Relatively close to two subway stations, and close to a commercial street. Also the price was very competitive for the given date.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi did not work. Staff did not take complain serious. No staff after 8pm No facilities on the room. Just a soap bottle and towel.

    Breakfast was simple but also tasteful and fresh

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The wifi wasn't working, which made travelling for business a bit difficult. Also, the TV and hairdryer didn't work for the first half of my stay.

    The staff were excellent and extremely helpful. The breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy dump dirty no Internet you don't get any thing the hotel promises.

    rip off. redicioulsly expensive old run down Internet doesn't work . the worst hotel I ever had in berlin . stay as far from it as you can. noisy rooms on main road and toilet also make never ending noise.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Understaffed, reception desk with very limited opening hours. Staff could not spell wifi password over the telephone. Wifi signal too weak. Rooms facing street very noisy.

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not a fancy hotel, but for the price we were pleased.

    The hotel was just what we needed; we were in town to attend a particular church and this was nearby. Beds were comfortable, room clean, breakfast delicious!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Contrary to what the hotel page on booking.com states, the wi-fi and breakfast were extra.

    Clean room and bathroom; comfortable bed; good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    thanks to the nice lady for serving the breakfasts :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were stains on the carpet. The room was not clean.

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned daily Towels not changed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The state of the hotel is quite old and needs renovation.

    The hotel personal was very friendly. The hotel is located close to the center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to Travel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Drinking water was bad

    Was good generally

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi and parking should have been free

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception closed after 8pm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower - heat regulation

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive for what I get.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in rooms and staff don't smile

    Quiet

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower and bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad wi-fi.

    location. normal budget hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi doesn't work at the room. It is difficult without german speaking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked very run down

    Breakfast was really good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked this hotel, because I needed a hotel on quite short notice, otherwise I probably would have booked elsewhere. The bathroom was tiny and extremely smelly. The shower cabin was moldy. The TV set was a bad joke (old, small, snowy on every channel) and obviously only put there, so the hotel can claim there's a TV in every room. The indication that I am on a business trip, didn't seem to suggest that I actually might need WLAN. I was put on the 4th floor out of WLAN reach. This was probably, because I wanted a quiet room and in this hotel you can probably only have "quiet" OR "WLAN", not both.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    The lady she checked me in was unprofessional she put me in a room first time like a prison cell I was so unhappy then she put me in anther room i wasn't happy either then she said very rude tell you want to stay or not and she left i have no choice i have to stay iam not familiar with the area Olso I just arrived from long trip any way iam going back in August i will not ever stay there again

    The lady who serve me breakfast her name is mily I hope I said correct she was very nice polite helpful she is a great asset to the hotel owner

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedding and towels not changed enough.

    Perfect location for U and S stations. Plenty of shops, bars and restaurants near by. Hotel included breakfast which was fine. Room was very warm.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They do not speak English very well. I have had a lot of problems with the communication. Some times I needed to type on Google translator...

    Near the bus stop.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Heater didnt work properly, a tiny TV, no phone in the room, shared toilet and there was no Internet in the room, only available at the reception, so I had to do my work in the reception and when it was time for the reception to close I was asked to sit in the staircase to use the Internet!!!! there was no milk for the brakefast and only had a bread and some jam.

    The staff were polite, nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfort could be a bit better: only one very soft pillow, not very opaque curtains with a spotlight outside, one only not very big cover.

    Good staff and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom was not in the room, but out on the corridor - although in the description they stated "en suite bathroom".

    The staff is very kind and the breakfast is good.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    No Wi-Fi connection in the room No kettle or hot water facility in the room

    Spacious room and convenient location Helpful staff, but with limited English communication

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The internet connection was a bit weak.

    The staff was really friendly, even though I didn't speak German at all. The receptionist is a very nice gentleman who helped me to find my meeting place. The view from the window was nice, the room quite spacious even for two. Ah the most important... there was a hair dryer in the room.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi was not good at all just on the first floor which was not so good there as well, also the building was very old, the entrance of the hotel is not welcoming at all, the elevator is very small, no balcony, no facilities for having tea or coffee in the room, reception was mostly close after breakfast, the staff were not able to speak english which makes it difficult, the view is to the noisy street, and 10 min walking to the subway station

    it is close to the shopping center and the resturants, the staff helped me to change the room because of the poor wifi, although their english was not good but they tried to help me as much as possible, breakfast was good, room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking is very complicated (and not fair that you can't park in the yard, your car is lifted in an another place in another garage, or a parking day ticket is only 3,5 euros /day at the Scloss str. parking house, but here you must pay 8,5).No fridge.

    Breakfast, the position of the apartement.The service is friendly, the meal is OK, Bus 1 min,, U-Bahn 5 minutes from the hotel.(Schloss strasse station).

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    I didn't like everything . Starting from the women in the reception , shy was so rude . The cleanliness of the halls is bad but for the rooms is ok . I used so many keys for the room and that so bad when i hold something . The lights were so poor , the left was another story !

    I like mark , the reception guy , that's all.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The only shortcoming I can mention is the absence of a free wifi connection.

    Hotel Eckstein is definitely oneof the best hotels in Germany, with a very friendly and helpful staff and with the best services you could ever imagine.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The place is little far from HBF. The room was little small for us. We were 4 in the room but there were only one cupboard. The breakfast was very good. The owner was very nice and helpful. There were no internet facility in the room so we had to come to the reception which is closed after evening.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was dropping all the time during 4 days, I had to use my roaming, which was not a pleasant experience.

    Breakfast was decent, however no replenishments (wake up late, no more to taste)

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no wifi in the room, checkout too early

    clean

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hotelstandard

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very old building, no wi-fi

    Helpful staff, breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Apartment was spacious, clean and good bedding.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Hotel Eckstein traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: