Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Berliner Hof This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Ellerstr. 110, Oberbilk, 40227 Düsseldorf, Germany

Review score

Based on 430 hotel reviews

5.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.6

  • Comfort

    4.8

  • Location

    6.5

  • Facilities

    4.8

  • Staff

    6.3

  • Value for money

    5.5

  • Paid WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The WiFi in the rooms doesn't work at all. Had to work from lobby a few times, which kept disconnecting as well. 2. Breakfast was not worth 7 Euro's compared to some other hotels in same vicinity

    1. Location was good, train station is walking distance 2. Rooms were spacious 3. Staff is accommodating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bad was horrible the bathroom was outside the room the room was too small the facilities were old and bad No Closet

    Hugh-Jin was extra nice, helpfull and carring.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 3 nights

    200 euro per night very expensive. The room was only for sleeping, not relaxing. Shower was too hot and could not control. Radiator in bathroom did not work.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities and the room itself weren't so clean. I had to listen to pervered sex all night behind the wall. Generally the room was old and dirty.

    The staff are friendly and helpful. Got the room earlier than the check-in time. I was ill and the personel was carying and nice. Location is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathroom and generally old building. Last renovation was maybe 20 years ago.. Internet password has not been provided on the room and since I arrived late, I could not ask anybody. Anyhow, WiFi was NOT free, which is like really poor standard. Also for a phone call, the staff was not really able to speak German. Poor grammar and hard to understand due to his "gangster-like" pronunciation. Accent would be fine. But that was definetly not caused by an accent. Not really understandable. For me: absolute no-go

    Well located, close to the train station. Lady at receiption was really polite

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty and stinky for smoke. The pillows and The blankets were so thin. We had It very Cold. There was no possibility for breakfast. The room was dusty. No way i Come back there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is too high. I did not notice that l book the hotel two night at 325 euro each night. And l can not cancel it.l know it is expensive during Medica.But lt is the skyhigh price. And the bed is small.

    Most of the hotels are very easy to find. It is near the Düsseldorf HBF .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is catering to very low budgets. I booked it during a very busy period in Duesseldorf where all prices are 3 to 4 times the usual hotel price on all hotels - hence its difficult to rate on Preis Leistung The breakfast was good - very good coffee. The rooms where totally simple, however, very very clean! I usually stay in 5 star hotels - so this was far from 5 stars, but very clean, very friendly and helpful staff and I would actually stay there again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we couldn't find anywhere to tell you what time breakfast is served. we went down at 9.00 and there wasn't much left

    24 Hour receptionist was waiting for us,even though we booked at short notice. Pleasant location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very unpleasant with the staff during check out. can I leave laptop and come back after three hours. No its not safe better carry it out with you. Ok, no problem its not so heavy and I could understand but the attitude and uninterested to help was bit unexpected. However the winner was when I got back after the walk from the city. Can I use your toilet before I go on my trip? Answer: NO! Ok. Sorry I asked. I shouldn't checked out so early if I knew :))). They have additional charge for internet. I dont need it, also tv in the room is not working so dont expect anything additional from the room and stay.

    I had just need to sleep over before my flights back home. I took cheap accommodation because I didn't need nothing else beside the bad. Check in was ok, but check out was very unplesent. Its cheap and relatively clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room no. 15, Size is very small, bathroom not attached with Room. Although, it is private but outside the Room. Television belongs from stone age, wifi is not free. only this room is having non attach bathroom.

    The Location is just behind the Central Station, just 10 minute walk. Cheap just Eu35 for 2. Clean Room. For free wifi go to traingular waterfall (Heinz Mack - Brunnen) some 100 meter from Central Station towards Rhine River you will get free wifi (unitymedia public free wifi).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free Wi-Fi. Beds were small. Average Cleanliness

    The staff insisted on given us a room with private bathroom, in spite of not having booked such a room, and they eventually did it for free.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The beds were terrible, the room was awfully small, all is very old, the staff was not quite polite and was very little professional.

    I did not like anything.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled overwhelmingly of cigarette smoke. Including the beddings.

    It is near the main station of Düsseldorf. Bus to airport passes right outside the hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a trade fair in Dusseldorf so hotel room prices were astronomical. We paid €540 for two nights because there was nothing else and we were stranded in Dusseldorf because of a late incoming flight. If the room had cost €100 for two nights during a "normal" period that would still have been expensive.

    The room had a bed and a shower.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst commodity can exist, i think prision is better than this, at the time hotels was full, we have no option to stay one night, paid for a 4 stars hotel and hotel not only have any stars but ANY STONES !!!!! No air conditioning ..... Not clean .... No space , only one person can move in the room..... No bar and even a bottle of water No even any light , only a small light that webed ... Suppose this hell in dusseldorf .....

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we arrived at 18:00 and found the window WIDE OPEN, the heating was off, i had to switch on the heating myself, which was difficult because it was behind the small tv table, even with the heating on the room is very cold! it's not far away from the train station but in a "not so nice" neighborhood, hotel it's very old, the lift is as small as it gets, there was no socket near my bed (only near the other bed) the television remote was not able to switch on the tv (it changed the program though), the small table was repaired with grey tape, i had no room for my legs while sitting on the toilet, there was a very old mini bar but it was empy and switched off

    staff was friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bunk beds were horrible! Plus the toilet in the hallway was not a nice arrangement! The room was shabby and it did not look clean at all

    wifi signal was good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big holes between frame window and windowsill. Very cold even the heat radiator was fully work. All appliances was fixed by duct tape or nails.

    Location is OK, not far away from rail station max 10min. by walk.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst stay of my life so far. For the price of the room that I paid (which is extraordinary overpriced) I should normally recieve almost a luxury room. Instead we stayed in the room which is worst then an average college dorm room. Tinny beds with almost no cushion. Beds look like a deckchair with a cushion. Broken furniture. And on top of this unfreindly staff. Horrible!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been travelling with work for 15 years and this hotel is the worst I've ever stayed in. Filthy room with an uncomfortable bed. A hostel would have been better.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    200€ for a room where the wifi did not work, the TV did not work, the shower would become very hot every 30', and there were no breakfast in the morning because "nobody told us he would have one" is outrageous. This hotel took advantage of a shortage due to a fair in Dusseldorf.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets was very dirty

    Close to the train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miserably cold

    Location is ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does not meet a hotel standart

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely, helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    offering-all of it

    no value in that breakfast offering

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    No facilities and No comfort

    location. I visited during the trade fare time. I paid huge amount (175euro) not at all worth for it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very basic, didnt think it was value for money

    Staff very friendly and helpful with general knowledge on getting about re transport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing even the bed was bad

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything good

    Hotel very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was uncomfortable and room was very hot. And very small room...

    Personel was kindly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were very poot

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old hotel, terrible sound-proof, rooms very out-dated, comfort OK-ish.

    Close to the city center, neat Arabic places nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Less facilities

    Good and cheap

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy elevator, Very small bed , internet wasn't working for one day , not nice smell in the room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old

    Noting

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior. Bed. Smell. Furnitures. Pricing.

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were comfortable and we were able to do an early check-in which was nice, so we could drop our bags and go explore the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's better than my expectatives... very great place

    Staff very friendly, room very shine, big and confortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room stank of stale smoke, bathroom old, carpet worn and dirty - the place is a dive!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Expensive but poor.....not a great combination !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi doesnt reach the rooms. Heater wasnt warm. Bit dirty/ dusty and old.

    Distance from central station and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner room

    Near the metro 5 minutes walk

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was really cold in the room and no free wifi.

    Good value for money, good location 15 mins walk from central station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities is zero. Except location no better advantage

    Some staff is really helpful but ..... I.e not enough.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    this room not worth for.this.price.

    Near the.station, the stuff is very good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    No internet, 5 euro per night

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could even hear the snoring from next door. Very loud.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    the area, not good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    Payable wifi in a hotel in the 21th century!?!

    Parking

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staff had a mask face. They don't know anything about the rooms.The room should have a refrigerator. When I asked a personal staff, he just said really?? May be it's in repair. Later it didn't come too. The room was so ugly and dirty. The bed linen was very dirty. They have just covered them with a clean sheet. The Elevator is too old and makes always sound all the day. The view of my room was on stairs behind the hotel. It can't be a 3-Star-Hotel. It's too expensive for a really bad hotel.

    Nothing at all.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    old furniture, the blankets were smelling awfully, the receptionist was very bored to give some information we needed, the bathroom was not comfortable, the price was very much for the room without breakfast for two persons (60 euros).

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    My blanket was so thin It caused me to have to sleep with my jacket on. I went downstairs at 3 am and rang the bell severL times to get warmer duvet but the manager never came to help me.

    Good price and near Bahnhof

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Safe didn't work. Fridge didn't work. Room wasn't ready on arrival. Requested non smoking room, room smelt of smoke. At breakfast waiter tried to get rid of us prior to official closing time by deliberately banging into the back of my chair. Once OK, its just an accident , twice bit of a clumsey waiter, three times now that's taking the p**s.

    It had its own parking.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The person who helped us at first was really weird, slow and not friendly. But the rest of the people were great

    The room was clean and the beds were great

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Value for money was poor, but probably because some massive medical conference was on pushing prices up (biggest medical conference in the world according to many people i spoke to!)

    was good for a should-be-cheap place, good location close enough to main train station. everything else just fine - beds, staff etc.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything - it was dirty, old, a ridiculous price for having no bathroom in your room, the carpets were worn and torn and ripping from against the walls, there was no wardrobe and the chest of drawers was on the balcony in the rain. The staff member there (the only one) was also very grumpy but I don't blame him as he worked in such an awful place.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Couple

    quite used furniture, mattress too soft, bed-leg with rolls so if you turn the bed rolls away; currently there is a construction site next to the hotel

    24hours reception not far away from the railway station - that's good for connections but also bad because the area around the station is shabby

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the worst hotel I ever stayed in.. the room smelled very bad.. private bathroom is outside with a key ..not in the room.. internet is not free.. 5 euros to add to the price of the room which is already very expensive according to its quality..a place you cannot absolutely stay in

    the location is not bad... not far from düsseldorf main station

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was kind of rude, we couldn't pay with credit card, there weren't free wi-fi, and there is not staff during the night nor the check out.

    the room was comfortable enough.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I requested a quiet room and got the room next to the very noisy elevator (and still 'Zimmer frei' sign outside...). Room had no bathroom, had to cross the corridor. Parking is very narrow. Breakfast is no good value for money even @ €7

    Low price

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In one word: it is lousy! Very noisy area (people shouting outside the street, it is in a bad neighbor). The noises from other rooms won't let you sleep well, specially if someone is taking a bath! Very small bed for 2 people. Finding a parking is difficult. TV & refrigerator are not working!! Choose this if you have absolutely no other option.

    Very close to the city central transport.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel makes me on the German rigorous price for sit up and take notice, too, in our luggage case. Began to say that free hosting, but lost not responsible, over a second to open the mouth to 10 Europe, will not come again, do not recommend to.

    The bed is comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Elevator to the floors is extremly small, its suitable for just 4 kids or 1 adult with 1 luggage, staff untrained of their job, by calling 3-4x they just say "Hello" instead of Name of Hotel, their name and how can i help...though in a YHA u get a better service. The Minibar Fridge was plugged out. Light by the Bed wasnt working. By asking for a extended stay we get told to check out immedeantly insead of getting offer of paying extra for our late train departure. Broken glas inside bathroom for drinking.

    Soap in the Bathroom & the departure !!! The Bed was okay but very soft matress !!!

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    There no closet in the room! The blanket was to small for me (I'm 185cm). The pillow is really uncomfortable and they don't give you a second one...

    the cost is ok

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Its was a desaster:::: bad lokation: n parking posibilitys: poor rooms: not clean: full from people of nigeria and another poor countrys: they smoke there where they want; cook food: you can hear in the room everything what is going on in the next room: the stuff is unfriendly: we ask to change the hotel they didint accept it: inter net is with payment to get : everyday cost 5 europarking- 8 euro per day:the badest trip in my life:and booking :com team didnt helpnus at all to clear this situation!

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was reaaaally cold :(

    Great place for nice price ,helpfull staff and clean.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed had bugs

    Nothing I can really think of

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower temperature was not adjustable - too hot water!! Moquette looking quite dirty

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dirty room. bathroom and toilet separated.

    Very helpful personnel

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    room was very cold, window was open when we arrived

    Location is go

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was cold and bedding was poor, breakfast selection was poor.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Berliner Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: