Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel City Ost This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Frankfurter Allee 57-59, Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg, 10247 Berlin, Germany

#332 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2154 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Rooms are big and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet doesn’t work at all, during night WiFi is turned off.

    Rooms are big and clean. Beds are comfortable and the staff is very helpful. The location is excellent (there is a u bahn right in front of the hotel)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfekt location literally next to U-bahn station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal was very week but to be honest they offer a solution but i discovered it very late

    Perfekt location literally next to U-bahn station. Friendly and nice staff , clean room with good facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    A great place to stay if you're visiting Berlin.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to say here.

    It was wonderful I will stay there again for sure I really loved the location of the place and the room was very spacious. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. I also liked the homely feel of the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location Very comfortable Refrigerator Grocery store next door Pharmacy next door Restaurante next door Easy public transportation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like.

    The property was spotless and very clean. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. When the cleaners came in to get our towels they even folded up any clothes I had sitting around. Great service and more than I'm sure they need to do. Great location for nearby restaurants and attractions etc. Just perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Meets all the basic needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We hired some bikes through the hotel but they were a bit overpriced for the condition they were in.

    It was in a good location. The breakfast was great but not included in the tariff. There were heaps of good places to eat just off Frankfurter Allee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.0
    Money not worth the value, but great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work at all. Room were not clean enough, you can find crumbs on the flour, walls where painted, they don't put bags in dustbin, curtains where very dirty. Everyday cleaning was very superficial.

    Perfect location, right before U-bahn, which goes quite often.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.2
    It was worth the value for the money being book on their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was worth the value for the money being book on their sale price so expect what it's worth. Expectation was way below zero. Smelly, carpets are dirty . Internet was wayyyyyyyyy bad. Being away from home expect customers needed an internet to contact family especially that our cellphone doesn't work. Frusssstrrrratttting....!!!!! 😬😬😬😬😬😬😬😬😤😤😤😤😤. Receptionist upon our check in was very very nice, the second day was bad, asked direction didn't explain to us to ride the train, how will I know to go here and there, u will have to ride a train and this and that, but looks irritated of all my questioning. You know what we asked the guy whom we met when we ate at his restaurant and he pretty much explained to us on what to do to reach this destination. The location has a lot of noise since it is in the middle of the city wherein ambulance has been going around almost the whole night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    There was supposed to be wifi in all the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was supposed to be wifi in all the rooms. Witch tere were not. At all! You could rent a router for your room - fine - but then don't say up front that it is included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.6
    An expensive hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows were ridiculous. Bed was dirty. There were men's body hair stuck to the linen. It seemed that the quilt has never been washed. It was yellow because of the dirt. Bathroom sink clogged most of the time. They only gave one tea/coffee bag for each day you stay. No fridge. Way too expensive for a place just to sleep in.

    Metro station just in front. Plenty of restaurants and supermarkets around. Recommend the pizza/pasta restaurant just next to it. Not fancy but tasty and cheap. Luggage storage was handy. Wifi worked well. Staff was helpful. Shower was okay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Week stay in Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a fridge available in the room which would have helped us to reduce costs on food. Facilities available were OK, but room service options would have been a plus.

    The pillows were amazing and a lot of focus was made for a good nights sleep I.e. there was a laminate with a guide on which stretches to do before sleep. The mattress was very comfortable and the pillows really supported my neck and back. Breakfast was vast and tasty.. But for budget travellers spending a tenner every morning pp is a bit excessive especially if you are a vegan.. The options would just be cereal, fruit and bread. Plenty of places to catch a bite from the hotel and Berlin is great for having vegetarian and vegan restaurants. Tea and coffee facilities ftw, and the shower was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.3
    Good service but lacking AC.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They said it has air conditioner however it doesn't work. I called the reception and they said it doesn't during the winter. So opening the window was not comfortable because of the noise outside.

    It had shops around and its well connected to transportation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.3
    Could hear each word my neighbors said
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The wall between rooms is made of some kind of board or carton. I could hear each word my neighbors said, and couldn't sleep at all during the night because of neighbors' hours long conversations, and they were only talking with normal volume, not shouting. However, after talking to the staff, I got to move to a quieter room without neighbors, free of charge. I understood from the staff that all rooms have this kind of wall. - Cleaness is so-so. There was hair on the towel and on the wall inside the shower when I arrived. - Comfort of the bed is only okay-ish. Pillows were uncomfortable despite of the claim on the note on the bed that they are.

    Pleasant room temperature; nice staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Almost everything was perfect, just one issue was that the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost everything was perfect, just one issue was that the Ubahn station nearest to the hotel it was running just in one direction. Then you don´t have a good connection to the city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was brilliant, the subway station is right outside and the train station is a five minute walk. The hotel itself was beautifully clean and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    It was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a bit too expensive and there weren't many vegan options.

    The bed was definitely extra comfy and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The U Bahn is right in front of the hotel, which is also very convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    Meet your expectations. Ok for business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is located in mansard (it wasn't mentioned in description). It's really warm and even hot in winter too. Actually I liked it, but my husband felt uncomfortable. Wi-fi can be better.

    Good ratio price/quality

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel especially for the pro e
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was uncomfortably hot. Although this seems to be a thing in Germany since shops and cafes are also really warm. The instructions for the lock of the door (room) and the instructions for the thermostat where a little difficult

    It was fine. Clean and the location was central and good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Very good city centre hotel for work or city break. No frills, but everything you need.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location for me was perfect as close to our facility in Berlin, but in terms of general location: - u Bahn entrance directly in front of hotel, just 5 stops to Alexanderplatz and all lines; - many shops and restaurants in area, dm and Netto stores next to hotel on one side, fast food on the other; - breakfast room large, comfortable and one of the best breakfasts I've had in Germany. Very good selection, great choice of hot and cold drinks, fruit, pastries and cooked selection. - rooms functional and comfortable, free bottle of water on first night. Good size bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location, above expectation room size and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no users manual for the safe which led to us locking it without being able to open it again. Wifi was slow so we got an additional plug-in router. Stadd should have informed of of it right away.

    Great location a few walking minutes away from either Frankfurter Tour or Frankfurter Allee and right at U Samariterstr. Our room was equipt with free instant coffee, a hot water maker, and we got a free bottle of sparkling water every day. The room was larger than at most Ibis hotels, so was the bathroom. Staff was friendly, but often it felt they were overwoked (which was ok for us since we had few questions).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.8
    Room was comfortable.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Receptionist was arrogant. He could not help me with stupid Wi-fi connection technique. When i just said that i could not understand then he replied to me “Than you won’t have any connection”.

    Room was comfortable. Price was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They haven't got a double bed, they are two single beds joined together which is not ideal and makes it quite uncomfortable for couples.

    Very good location and extra clean!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.8
    Shower was powerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms needed touch ups, and order a double room, got two singles pushed together and we had separate single duvets. When we requested a double duvet - staff mentioned they did not have any. Breakfast was pretty average.

    Shower was powerful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Still, over all, it is a totally ok place to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was too hot and you could not change the temperature. Really stuffy and hot in the room! It made us sleep so poorly. A VERY BAD smell from the bathroom/ from thedrain. They tried to hide the smell with chemicals when we arrived, which was almost as bad. Poor wifi. The phone did not work so we had to go down to the reception when we wanted something (a new wifi-password). Have stayed there before, better then- except the wifi which is always hopeless.

    The location is great + very clean. Quiet!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    too little vegan options for breakfast no minifridge for bringing my own breadspread then the heating in the room blows all the time. too loud for sleeping while its on... the heating in the bathroom was too complicated to operate... at least we didnt succeed..

    staff was very friendly and helpful. nice beds. comfortable. options for cushions were nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Normal hotel, very quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both Wifi netwoks were absolutely non - working To contact the Hotel via phone for the parking lot reservation was very complicated (after 2 hours and 7 tries finally sucessful)

    Bed was comfortable, lady at the check- in was very polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillow were quite uncomfortable and the wifi wasn’t working all the time. A mini fridge in the room would have been also nice.

    Great location and nice staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Good location next to underground takes around 15 mins to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was given 2 singles bedded room instead of a double. They moved us to a double room but said we have to use single size sheets as the hotel doesn't have double sized bed sheets. We was there for 5 days we asked a few times for double bedding but they insisted it's something that they simply don't have.the Wi-Fi was not great very slow, best of without

    Good location next to underground takes around 15 mins to get to Berlin very easy to use, plenty shops and fast food. The showers we're excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was right beside the metro stop, and funky area with restaurants and bars, makes the city visit so much easier. Staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    This is our second visit to Berlin and the Best Western Hotel. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bottle of water in the room for 2 euros 50 cents can be bought in Netto downstairs, literally 10 yards away, for 59 cents.

    Little extras like tissues in the bathroom, make-up mirror, extra loo rolls. Beds comfy, rooms cleaned every day. Good shower. Extra glasses in the room as well as bathroom. Tea, coffee facilities. Helpful, knowledgeable staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    3.8
    Worst service and accommodations ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very difficult to find in all the traffic and busyness around it. Parking is limited to TEN SPOTS on site. You have to park offsite at the parking garage 100 meters away. Not a big deal but for the deluge of rain all weekend. The staff were very rude, claimed they gave us a free upgrade to a comfort room only when we went back to speak to the next shift, he said the room was definitely not a comfort room and it was one of their smallest doubles available. Absolutely disappointed in this hotel. We'd stayed at an amazing Best western (Best Western Seehotel Frankenhorst) the night before so we thought we'd get similar amazing service and facilities in this one, could not have been more wrong. Internet didn't work and it reset while we were sleeping so it didn't work at all the second day. I was unable to shut the heat off so it was unbearably hot all night. If you want to enjoy your hotel stay in Berlin, stay far, far away from this place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls in the room were dirty. There was so much dust in the corridor (probably from the carpets) that it was hard for me to breathe. For people with allergy to dust this could be a killer.

    Location is really good, very close to U-Bahn station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed the comfortable room with easy access to U station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water for tea was not hot enough. Internet didn't work. Only on last day was I given alternative wifi site and password. Television had no English speaking channels.

    Good choice of food coffee was good baguettes were crisp and warm. Four types of cereal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    Basic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't work and we had to get an addition router for a 20eur deposit. There was construction happening outside which was quite loud.

    This was a very basic place to stay. There's a bed, a kettle, a small television. Our favourite thing was probably the way the window could open from the top or from the side. The location is also great, the train station is right outside the hotel. Around the corner is also a great little resturafnt with delicious empanadas and Yerba mate! Very cosy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.8
    very rude! they had me wait for 2 hours before check in for no reason at 4:30 AM!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I orderred the hotel through Booking.com on 1:30 AM (for that night) and came to do check in on 4:30 AM but they didnt let me in because the "system is down at this hour". they had me wait there for 2 hours! And were rude by doing it stating that "it is not their problem". will not come back.

    Location was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location, hotel very acceptable with some handy extras so a good 3 * in my opinion
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air con needs some attention also the cable TV channels only included news from the USA in English and Australian economics!

    This hotel is very well positioned on Frankfurter Allee right next to a tube station so perfect for exploring East Berlin. It is not a luxury hotel and the room was v warm at night with air con not v efficient and being situated on a noisy main street it was not practical to leave the windows open. The beds were clean and comfy and the bathroom was clean and modern. There was a kettle and some sachets of coffee etc There was also a fridge for a minibar which was v handy. I would consider staying here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    4.2
    Poor value, not welcoming, poor wi fi, room unpleasantly hot.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High levels of noise on a main, busy road. Staff at reception desk unhelpful. Everything is too much trouble. Aircon doesn't work, opening windows noisy, fridge heats rather than cools pouring heat into a room making it impossible to sleep, wi fi just crazy . Unreliable, you have to keep ringing reception for a code, it lasts no time at all, but reception staff clearly do not want to be bothered. The worst Best Western we have ever stayed in, not of their usual standard at all. Hotel wants to charge for everything including bottle of water in the room for 2.5euros

    The rooms were clean, cleaner friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    good value for money and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location of the hotel is great, U bahn station is just in front so it was very easy to get around. hotel is nothing fancy, just your average hotel, but everything was nice and clean. room was a decent size, comfortable bed. breakfast was very nice, didn't expect them to serve salmon too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    We got what we expected, also found location more convenient than expected. May well stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast just offering sufficient choice but not by much; very limited fruit juices, poor choice of bread and rolls and of cereals.

    Clean, crisp rooms. Very big breakfast room with immaculate place settings though hotel was not busy during our stay it seemed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay, good and clean rooms, easy to reach location, nice neighbourhood,internet could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff was friendly when approached, though they seemed to ignore everybody if not directly spoken to. Even the "hellos" and "byes" were mostly just ignored. One night we woke up at around 4:00 because somebody started knocking on somebody's door in the corridor and screaming his name, which went as long as around 30 mins. The WiFi is actually close to non-existant: there is close to no reception in the rooms (we couldn't actually use it), so the staff offers "private routers" to connect directly in your room for a deposit of 20€, which you get back in the end. Unfortunately for us, all router devices were already occupied, so the staff proposed to give us the password of one of the "private networks" of other users we had receptions of in our room. It was nice from them and it worked well in the end, but then the "private networks" weren't that "private" anymore... :)

    In front of the U-Bahn-Station "Samariterstraße", the location is easy to reach. The neighbourhood has a lot of little stores, second-hand shops, little cafés and cheap but nice restaurants. The room was always very well cleaned. The bed was comfortable and the toilettes well equipped.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.4
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No showercap, no minibar, instead of seperate toilettries like shampoo, showergel, conditioner there is just one funky smelling soap dispenser. No extra bedding, not enough staff during evenings to forfil guests needs.

    Amazing location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    Location is one of the strongest point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Problem with Wi-Fi. Poor quality or lack of internet, even after personel reaction.

    Location is one of the strongest point. Heart of Friedrichshain district with lots of restaurants and cafes is with few minutes walk. U-bahn Samariterstr station is just in "front" of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    Very pleased for a last-minute booking.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weekend prices are quite high for what you get, but that's mostly due to demand.

    The room was comfortable and well-equipped. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.0
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room for the price. Room 428 was located at the end of the hallway where the free wifi could not reach even with router (deposit 20euros).

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Fair (not bad. not excellent)
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some facilities stopped working when I was there (like the air conditioning) And one day we didn't have hot water!! It was a bit pricey for what it offered

    Overall it was good (I wanted a place for staying at nights. The service staff were very good. It was so close both to the city center and to the place I was visiting everyday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    very close to the metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Air conditioner didn't work. It was quite a problem , because with an open window you could hear the noises of the street.

    very close to the metro station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice location in Friedrichshain, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good value for money. We were on the street side of the hotel, but with the windows closed, you could hardly hear the traffic (which can be quite intense during rush hour). Air conditioning is available to give you fresh air. You can also rent bikes at the hotel (12euro/day), quite convenient for exploring the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    A bit fraut in Friedrichshain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not working. Unbearable traffic noise with the window open. Lift temperamental - could not be summoned from our floor for two days.

    Near public transport, bike hire, huge choice of restaurants/cafes. Reasonable pricing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Great value for money in a great part of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really close to the station - right in front of it! So excellent transport links and really easy to navigate around. The local area was stunning also, excellent food choices and lots of bars within a 7 minute ish walk! The room was exactly as we would expect for this price. Clean and tidy with a good size bathroom and nice and powerful shower!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.5
    Decent hotel on a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In overall, I'm not unsatisfied with my stay due to the cheap price. However, I wouldn't book here again if I'm staying in Berlin because the check-in/out felt very dry and not welcoming at all for my expectations of a 3-star hotel.

    First of all, the location was perfect, you are in a fun area if you want to enjoy the nightlife a of Berlin and there is a public transportation right in front of the hotel. Secondly, the facilities were fine, the shower had a good water pressure and there were hardly any noises from the outside. Third and last, the staff were decent, except for the friendly guy at the reception desk during the night shift - he was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.5
    Ok but could be much more better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Receptionists were quite grumpy, but after few days in Berlin I realized that most of Germans working in service industry are very serious and unkind. We booked double bed room which had two separete mattresses in bed frame - uncomfortable to sleep .

    Hotel is located just few steps from metro. The best area for eating in Berlin.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Air con was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in 2 of the 5 rooms we booked. Hotel bar was just a fridge behind the reception desk.

    Air con was very good. Quick check in. Very good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.4
    For the price I could have got a similar experience in a hostel. Not much made the hotel stand out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tea and coffee in the room was not replenished at all for the whole five-day stay, even after asking staff to refill supplies.

    Room was tidy, cleaned often and had no obvious problems.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very weak signal of normal wifi. Once repeater was installed it is fine. Should be by default. room facing to the street is very noisy if the window is open.

    Close to public transportation. good isolating windows clean bike rent available

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and efficient!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dual Lift was slow !

    A bed for the night, comfort, excellent bathroom facilities ( shower) Perfect basic effective accommodation for the trip where I spent most of my time out sightseeing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room, had to step out in the hallway. Grumpy personell, not at all serviceminded. Hard pillows.

    Great location, in a nice area with sone good restaurants. Next to a subwaystation. Quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    Good but some blemishes
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception was severly stressed and you felt like a bother for the most standard tasks like checking in or out. Parking not available, "sold out" in a residential area (leading to a parking tickett)

    good beds, decent location, decent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    3.3
    Worst Western hotel ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wrote in booking.com that I need a parking space, but it wasn't reserved. Everywhere in the hotel there were these adittions (like advertisements) only avaiable for money. I could go on and on, but overall irlt was an awefull experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    A good hotel, everything is within walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was overlooking the main street. When you open the window noisy, lively street, cars. If the window is closed, the sound does not interfere.

    The location of the hotel is good. Near the metro, 10 minutes to the center (5 station)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location, metro stop in front of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning did not work well, room was unpleasantly hot. The suggestion of the staff to turn down the airco and sleep with open window was a joke.

    Perfect location, metro stop in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Clean value for money hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whilst the spec for the room promised city views my room overlooked the courtyard at the back of the hotel. I was there over the first holiday weekend in May arriving extremely late on the Saturday night. Saturday and Sunday nights were peaceful but I was awakened around 7a.m. on the Tuesday morning by the thoughtless shouting of building workers at the rear of the hotel.

    The location is excellent, just 5 stops from Alexandraplatz, the station is so close to the hotel.The breakfast room is spacious and there is more than enough in the way of choice. There is a small bar at the end of the reception and whilst lacking the atmosphere of a bigger bar/lounge the cost of a beer equated with what one might pay in a bar outside. The room was very clean and the housekeeping was of a high standard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.1
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds - we were a couple and our double bed was like two twin beds joined together - it had a huge gap in between the two mattress!! Head Pillows - were really super uncomfortable and gave neck pain. Head pillows were like these two huge gigantic cushions; we asked for neck comfort pillows and they were horrible too!!

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Near the Metro and good rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar was a nice addition but could be a bit more of a bar rather than just the reception.

    Not in the centre of Berlin, but very accessible as the metro is just outside the door - just make sure you have change for the ticket machine. The staff were great at ordering taxis too for the 9 of us on our trip. Nice rooms, good selection of breakfast that was included in our room price which made it good value for money. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    Feeling like in a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask for permission and keys to go to the toilet after we have checked out, couse the girl on the reception was alone at the hotel. Wc was locked and she asked me to leave my id or phone, while going there!!! Wich was not acceptable! I am a guest of the hotel, they have information as adress and etc! Not acceptable attitude!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi signal in the room is not great but for a 20 euro deposit you can have a router for the room .Nothing else not to like.

    location is excellent.I have stayed here around 25 times.never disappoints especially now there is a kettle in the room.Bathroom is great,shower very powerful.Bed is firm,not to everyones taste,but great for me.Pillows are soft,as in every hotel in Germany,but extra ones are available.I miss the bakery next door for a coffee and pastry for breakfast.Italian restaurant next door is great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Good location for a comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked one double bed for a family couple and were offered 2 single beds near each other. Reception staff did not solve this matter.

    Location of the hotel is very hood near S line and hypermarket. The room is spacious enough for a couple and very clean. It has no fridge, but offers a kettle for tea or Nescafe. Though located near the man road, it is quite well noise isolated. I would recommend this hotel for a next stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Cool Hotel with excellent breakfast!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Prices have gone up since i was there three years ago but i guess that happens anyways...

    Excellent breakfast and location to the tube plus lovely Pizza place next door very good pricing...near the airport too (40min on S Bahn)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    5.4
    Very disappointed in Best Western
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very disappointed as booked knowing it was a Best Western so would be of a certain standard. The hotel was oldish but ok given the price. The reason for the disappointment was that we were put in a room right on top of construction work which was being done to a house next door. The workers started around 6am and didn't stop. I understand that construction work has to be done but I was disappointed that we were not informed of this in advance and moved to a different room. When we complained on check out we were told we should have called when the work started so they could have got the work delayed until 7.30/8am, even if this had happened it still ruined our morning. We had been travelling for a long time so was looking forward to the sleep in. Next time I would spend a bit more and stay somewhere I can rest!

    It was clean and near a 'U Bahn'

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    Value for money at its best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem (not so serious btw). The WiFi signal was not very strong. You could connect only if you were nearly the reception.

    We really liked the welcome of the Spanish receptionist (Kaless I think was his name). Very helpful and pleasant. Also the ubahn station is literally at the front door of the hotel and the area is full of bars, bistros and some 24/7 mini markets.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.5
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was far too hot. Given wrong Wifi code for our room when we checked in. We had paid for breakfast in advance but this was not on their system.

    Convenient location. Reception staff spoke good English. Plenty of space in dining room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.6
    Great stay for the value.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi did not work inside the room. We had to open the door and stay at corridor for that.

    Everything was gut, friendly reception and very confortable room with tea and coffee and a cattle. Great shower!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    6.3
    Basic needs covered for a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillow is a shapeless sack of fluff, the wall-to-wall carpet seemed dirty, and WiFi was spotty. No fridge/minibar and only the tiniest of safes. The shower was ok, but a part fell off immediately.

    The location isn't bad, and there are cool places to check out within a short walking distance to the south, like the market at Boxhagener platz on Saturday, and the cafés and restaurants around it. The hotel has seen better days, but in the end it was just fine for the price. We had a room facing the street on the third floor, but didn't have a problem with noise. All in all it seemed pretty quiet, and we didn't see many guests around. On the way out we noticed that you can borrow a WiFi repeater from the reception. That would probably helped with the network problems we had.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.1
    The location is not central, but the metro station just in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is on one of the most busy streets in Berlin, so don't be surprised if you hear sirens every now and then. There are some good restaurants and caffes nearby, but not much of a choice

    The location is not central, but the metro station just in front of the entrance makes it extremely easy to reach the city center. And it is much more quiet! Which was a bonus.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    6.7
    Good for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roomes were very very warm (in the middle of the winter) and the air conditioning blew only hot air. So you had to keep the window open for the whole day (and first nights). And if you have a room on the street side than there is a lot of traffic and sirens noice (only when the window is open). That's the only negative experience we had.

    Average hotel with good roomes and facilities. Breakfast was good for the money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.5
    Good Location for Travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We went down to breakfast at 10.15 and asked if it was ok as the breakfast closes at 10.30 one man said yes no problem he was from Canada, the other server was not happy we were there late and had a grumpy attitude.

    Nice hotel near a train station which enables us to travel, clean hotel with basic facilities.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Hotel City Ost traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: