Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel am Kastell 3 stars

Kastellstraße 64, 74080 Heilbronn, Germany

#14 of 19 hotels in Heilbronn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1100 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid 112 eur excl breakfast for a 4-person bedroop which in fact is a 2 person bedroom withete they added 2 beds. Indeed, it is mentioned on the site that the room is only 24m2 and we hooked the room in a hurry, but onze could assume that for this price one at least gets a decent room! Lessons learnt! Also the lady at the reception desk was not hospitalen at all. The breakfast was ok.

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit small for 4 people. It looks like double room converted into 4 persons room by adding 2 small beds. Rubbish laying on the corridor and staircase.

    Hotel located on the quiet street walking distance from old town. Good Wi-Fi. Tea sets in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it was mentioned that they have parking for free on the page, it would have been better to mention that they only had a few spots for free. If you could not find a spot for free, then you can either park your car in the garage for 9 euros per night, or you have to look for a parking spot in the street (we were lucky to have found one just close to the hotel)

    The restaurant was quite nice and convenient as we did not have to look for anything in town. All the equipment of the room was good, including internet, the small kitchen area, the baby bed and the bathroom. The Hotel is located in an industrial area therefore it is very quiet in the evening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception ladies could be friendlier. An unfriendly "welcome" to the hotel is definitely not what you expect from a long journey.

    Great restaurant and excellent attention from the waitress.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room key(electronic) did not work.

    The room was modern, spacious and well equipped. There was a baby bed prepared for us. We had room service for the dinner. The breakfast is excellent (9 euros per person: not included in the room charges). The staff is friendly. I left my jacket with my wallet inside in the hotel room. They sent it to me in Dresden in couple of days. It was very professional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood could be nicer.

    The breakfast was really delicious and with huge variety of choice, and the stuff is super nice. The mini bar in the room is a cool option for really exhausted travellers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our teenagers were put in the room in a separate building to us. We didn't feel we needed to ask for this to be changed but other families might want to be aware that this can happen. There were a lot of flies in the hotel lobby area. Not pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the prettiest location ever but as we were only stopping en route it really didn't matter

    Easy check in and great room with enough beds for all the family

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No smile from staff chewing bubblegum. Breakfast buffe dirty and not filled up, tables full of dirty plates,slow service. Bed mattress unable to sleep on. Full ashtrays in front off entrance and tabels at outdoor terrace. No fan in the bathroom.

    Worst hotel experience ever.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have traveled with an active 3-year old child. "Comfort" room was large enough and safe for him to move around, he was happy about balcony, and staff added a 3rd bed to the room even without our request, so we all were able to sleep comfortably.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice and cheap overnight stay. Polite staff, very friendly. Restaurant is open till 10pm, bar till 12am. Free wifi. Free parking. Tasty breakfast for 8eur/per.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress is a little hard

    Hotel is located near the highway, which makes it a perfect overnight hotel on our way to Austria. Clean room. Coffee / tea making facilities in the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in the room could have been cleaner,

    Friendly staff, useful parking garage We liked the interior of the breakfast room, and the ladies bathroom was well equipped

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Feel the description is slightly misleading as to the location of the hotel & parking (very limited free parking spaces, or 9euro for garage parking) the hotel is in an industrial estate.

    Comfy bed, clean room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location - in the middle of a housing & small business estate - nowhere to walk to or any alternative restaurants

    Rooms clean & comfortable. Nice terrace to sit on in the evening Breakfasts good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To access the free WiFi you have to get used to their login process which at first time is really horrible. My wife never managed to log in. Once I understood the process I could live with it, basically you have to log in every day or every few days on every device specifying your personal data, that meant for me going thru the login process 4 times every day (2 smartphones and 2 laptops for my spouse and me). Booking.com sold me a triple room with all the extras, what I really got was a standard room (at the price of the triple room). I´m already used to that, that´s the way booking.com works. Happened the same way on my previous booking in Frankfurt. Booking.com always got me a room, so I keep using it, but I NEVER got with booking.com what they promised. I always got a more or less accaptable accomodation but never what they promised. Worse was Foz de Iguacu. I hade a important medical bill after intoxication from their food. Don´t get me wrong, the Best Western Kastell is one of the best hotels I ever stayed at, the problem is booking.com.

    I slept very well! This place is so quiet, you can sleep with windows open, bed, linens and pillows are probably the best I ever had. Excellent Breakfast Buffett. For 5 Euros extra you can use the fantastic fitness center around the corner. There is public bus-service at two blocks which directly takes you to the center of Heilbronn. Taking a taxi is a quit affordable alternative. I think we´ll be back soon, just to enjoy the peace of this place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We literally had a sauna... Aircon was not properly working and kept switching off during the night.

    Quite convenient if you are stopping by during a trip. They accept pets which is a great plus. Room large and modern.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in a residential street which was not easy to get to if you miss the exit from the main road into town. However once found, we stayed in the refurbished building which was recently modernised with wood flooring, new fixtures and fittings, etc. The room was large with a balcony. Clean and comfortable with off street parking. It suited us as we were on an overnight stop over. Despite the name, it is not a castle so not ideal if on a romantic holiday. Breakfast was amazingly good value for €8 per person. Now we know where it is, would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it's not in the town, guests are forced either to eat in the restaurant or travel elsewhere by car. OK for a 1-2 night stay, but will prove a challenge for longer stays. Breakfast choice is a bit limited. Some staff spoke only German. Not an issue for me, but I saw some guests struggling. Heilbronn has a shortage of rooms, and so everywhere is expensive...

    Handy for my work location. Clean, well serviced rooms, and good business facilities. Food quality is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ground floor rooms are problematic as you cannot keep the window open as basically anyone can get in from the garden...

    The breakfast is lovely. Allowed us to change rooms after placing us at ground floor.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is in need for renovation (and seems that it's ongoing, partially). Sky TV advertised - not available. I had problems with internet connection - it worked for around 3 hours.

    The staff is very nice and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Price for parking in hotel garage - 9 Euro Less of parking places on the street Too big pillow (for me)

    Very rich breakfast Pleasant staff Quiet room

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate buffet,Dinner was great too.Good walk around after dinner.GREAT!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows only.

    Very clean. Quiet street. Room is spacious. There is a coffee and tea in the room. Breakfast is delicious. Fridge in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    peace and quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking lot is too small and sometimes parking was a problem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great staff always happy to help and spoke good English as my german is poor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was super!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the facilities are old, the location is not convenient

    Provide memory-form pillow

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    Breakfast good buffet selection

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We where there too short to have an honust opinion. Sorry

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Selection of bread at breakfast could have been more varied. Only prebacked rolls were on offer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound of airco during the night

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was difficult

    Rooms were nice, new, clean. Check In was possible later than as stated on booking (till 23:00)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad location.

    Restaurant service blows. More than 1 hour for a hamburger.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and large room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No enough place on the outside street parking, obligation to pay 9€ for the inside parking.

    The room was very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    + cleanly + comfortable + parking lot

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They told me on the phone they would add an extra bed for my kids and they did not do it

    Parking was ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Management is bad !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location (industrial area) and room cleaning (hairs found in the shower, bed and wc)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big TV screen

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is nothing special

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good stopover hotel. Clean and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cat in the restaurant!!!

    Beds very comfortable and room new.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not applicable

    Easy access to the biking and walking trails along the Neckar River. Away from the city center, so very quiet

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great!

    Very friendly personel, good breakfast, good price!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a message in the room that we could watch SKY channels, but I could not find any.

    Internet connection is perfect!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tip must be decided by the guest... not by the waiter.

    the breakfast , very good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good wifi and big tv. Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of parking and 3rd bed was too small

    Staff in restutant were excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My children's bedroom was in a different building.

    Good location if your going by car.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    uncomfortable bed

    quiet room, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The underground parking for 9 euros seems to be too expensive. Moreover, there were plenty of free parking slots outside, so if the receptionist would tell me that parking costs extra money, we would park on the street. The heating was completely off when we checked-in, so it took a while till it became warm.

    Rooms are very clean and look new. Tea/coffee facilities in the room. Good and large bed, so we could well sleep 3 of us with our 4.8 daughter. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was okay but not great.

    The room was large, comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly. The restuarant served nice food at a reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little bit noisy room, because main road was directly below my window Too less park space ( free price)

    Very nice staff Perfectly clean room Rich breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Like most European public areas the stairwells and entryways all smelled heavily of smoke. The room was fine.

    We used this hotel as a night stopover between Heidelberg and Rothenburg and it suited that purpose well. There isn't much around it and half of it is on the opposite side of the street from reception (not a busy street though). Breakfast was pretty standard but good. The beds were great and all four of us slept very well.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I made a reservation by knowing a 24hours per day opening. I received a mail 8 days before the reservation date informing that the reception will close at 11pm. Then when I arrived to the hotel, "winter opening" was supposed to begin a day later than annonced to me... Nevertheless Good hotel !

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's quite impersonal and located in a secondary road outside city center.

    Clean and easy to reach from the highway (although no specific indications). Very kind staff gave us good indications for a restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The AC in the provided room was not upto its best and was average, but everything else was nice and orderly.

    Staff was really courteous, were quite friendly and helpful. Above that, all spoke very good english.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There wasn't anything about the actual hotel which we did not like, but the cleaning staff all seem to have very bad body odour problems which resulted in us having to hold our breath when leaving our room to make our way to the elevator!! This is something which management need to address as it literally left a very bad taste!!

    We really enjoyed the breakfast which was plentiful and at 8.00 € was really good value for money! We also appreciated the fact that the staff regularly replenished the platters so that no matter what time you arrived for breakfast, the platters were full. The hotel is in an industrial area with not much around, but if you have a car, then that's really no problem. We were in the newer part of the hotel and the room was very nice with tea/coffee making facilities which is always a nice touch. Overall, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Expensive parking in the garage; fortunately we stayed there from Saturday evening till Sunday so there was ample costless parking space in the streets and parking lots of neighbouring businesses.

    Nice hotel, good facilities.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was surprised by the limited restaurant hours, Mo-Fr 1800-2200, but the bar was open 24/7 for drinks and snacks.

    The hotel is located about 1 mile from the city center, which provided a much quieter environment.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Couple

    Stayed twice there. Once everything ok. The second time Wifi was very weak. Did not work in the room. Worked only at the corridor outside the room!

    Personnel very friendly. Secure Parking available.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Area could be pretty busy in the night, no place to park outside, you will have to use the paid parking if space is still available. During Christmas/Year times (from 25/12 to 6/1), hotel was closing after 11PM nobody to speak with and/or to activate the internet account until the next morning. Double bed is actually 2 single beds closed to each other which is a little bit difficult to manage for couples. That is all what I didn't like, but they were not major issues as could be managed easily.

    Polite, nice and very helpful staff. Although, paid parking is available in their basement, there is also free parking around. Service is awesome, clean hotel, peaceful and quiet area, highly advisable for people who like quietness and would like to stay for short time in Heilbronn, perfect value for money. Near to main streets of Heilbronn, close somehow to shops and main outlets of the city.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Family with young children

    There was a little book with bedtime story for the kids in the room. It was a really nice touch :)

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    parking is free along the road but difficult to find a place at night ..

    room was modern and clean and big . good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    Very efficient check-in / check-out. Comfortable stop-over hotel. Pleasant breakfast area and good quality food.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    evrythink

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small bathroom, rather old decor, cleanless

    Comfortable big bad.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was an issue with the bill at the end of the stay.

    Great treatment at the hotel restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cat in Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean rooms, perfect for a night

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no parking space except in the parking garage for a fee

    nice small location

There are also 47 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Hotel am Kastell traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: