Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel Helmstedt This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Chardstraße 2, 38350 Helmstedt, Germany

#1 of 3 hotels in Helmstedt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 843 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sliding door to the toilet with no lock and ventilation, no place to eat in late evening

    Very comfortable place to stay for transit travellers, excellent breakfast, the room is clean and the staff is very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    SEE ABOVE.

    You have all of the information in great detail in the form of a multitude of phone calls, e-mails and personal contact. The PA to your UK CEO is in full possession of all of the facts but she and her boss along with the Manager at Helmstedt evidently do not care as is clear from the lack of response from any of them despite my pleading BY E-MAIL to resolve the matter. None of the compensation offers which accompanied the apologies have materialised despite me requesting them to be available at Helmstedt on 23/24 March and I am still owed money for the overcharge. In the midst of this shameful shambles, there has been only one person who has been kind, helpful, sympathetic and understanding - that person was a young lady at Helmstedt named Jamie.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was there on business trip. It is not too far from Wolfsburg. It was very kind when there was a Santa Claus chocolate in front of my door on the 6th of December.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered some food from restaurant to our room. Food arrived cold and not all of it in the same time, taste was quite poor considering the price.

    Comfortable and very clean room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything

    Very efficiently ran hotel. It was a last-minute booking (we missed our original booking due to a breakdown of our car). The hotel was very busy and no places in the dining room. the receptionist exceeded our expectations by arranging a small table for my husband and I. We are really grateful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ...reception was very bad..just one girl of reception was good...an cleaners of rooms are very bad..when i ask something to reception; she says "wait ı am on phone" and never talks to you...and when housekeeping opens your room directly and says go out for 5 minutes...they are not polite...not kind...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The hotel had everything we needed for a one night stop without leaving the premises. The staff were pleasant and spoke good English. Rooms were spacious & very clean. The restaurant served a wide variety of excellent food. Breakfast too was of a high standard. Ample parking. The location was close to the Autobahn but the hotel was set in peaceful surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Fantastically convenient just off the A2. Excellent large room with superb bathroom and very comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very good standard breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a constant buzzing in the room, you only hear it when it's quiet. It's like a waterpipe or something?

    Nice dinner (fast!), friendly staff (even playing with our 2 year old child), nice breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is a little away from the centre of town.

    Staff where very helpful and friendly most speak very good English. Very nice breakfast and a comfortable stay. All meals I found to be very tasty. Would recommend..

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pancakes (and sauces to go with them) at breakfast were cold. Would've been nice if these were warm like the eggs, sausages etc.

    Hotel was very quiet and peaceful. Good breakfast selection. Staff were helpful - particularly Rudi (I think his name was). Nice touches, such as sweets in the hotel room and some treats and a dog bowl for the dog.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet connection could be better. I use this hotel regularly as a convenient stop when traveling between Warsaw and Paris. I am always puzzled by how complicated it is to get an internet connection in that hotel. Sometimes I use it, sometimes I give up and stay internet-free for a day. However, I think this may be an inconvenience for business travelers.

    The location is great - very quiet residential area, one does not feel the (very convenient) proximity of the Berlin-Hannover motorway. Friendly and efficient staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Assumption is everyone drinks coffee, so only a coffee maker in room (no kettle - staff quickly sorted one out for us though, when asked !)

    Really dog friendly and excellent breakfast (hot and cold foods available). Staff super-attentive (will definitely stay there with Roxxie (the dog) again !)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only cofee in the room, no tea, no water. The rest great.

    Breakfest, kindness at reception, quality of sleep (quiet, good matress), clean. Internet good, reliable. Located close to highway, but quiet. Its our second stay and probably not the last one.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a few vegetables and salad for breakfast, it should be richer.

    Nice small hotel near to the highway, so if you travel across Germany, it's good value for money. The room is clean, the staff is nice, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated in one of Helmstedt's residential areas, this makes the stay feel a bit cramped-in. Secondary Helmstedt is a town with close to none activities.

    Lovely rooms with fine facilities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All OK !!!

    It's a very nice place to stay in. Good parking Very professional receptionist manners (Good English!) Realistic friendly. Go ahead!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was our second time in this hotel. I was delighted of stay for the first time and the second we got another room which was much worst. Spider web was everywhere on the wall, included one spider on them, really uncomfortable bed, quite bad bathroom. We came back here with certain of the quality and we check out I little bit dissapointed.

    Tasty brekfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and friendly staff. Hotel is on walking distance (3 min.) from the gas station and highway restaurant/shop at the A2.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and perfectly suited rooms, gentle and helpful staff. Good walk to the historical center of town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pancakes are dry and cold

    Friendly, helpfull, very nice dinner

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bus obstructing our entrance on arrival.

    We were concerned about possible traffic noise from the Autobahn but it was very peaceful and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely & the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff

    Ideal stop over

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room. Nice breakfast. Nice stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smell from the bathroom

    Clean and comfortable hotel close to the higway. Excellent breakfast and very good Wi-Fi. Coffee to go :-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing; no complaints what so ever.

    Excellent (bath)room, comfortable beds, friendly staff and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel nice location very very friendly staff and I will be back when I pass try Helmstetd.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    better breakfast

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Snel in- en uitchecken.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    I love this hotel and German breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Language barrier but that is my problem not the hotel workers!

    New modern hotel in good location for access to the autobahn .. facilities excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that I didn't like

    Room was very comfortable and clean with high standard of bathroom facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    It's my favourite hotel on the way! It never fails! I love location, facilities, breakfast, everything really!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very comfortable bed and a fab breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visited autostadt on our Way to Switzerland and used this hotel. Very kind staff, nice and big rooms and a great breakfast. Great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to the highway, but also very quiet. Good breakfast, comfortable room. Nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    close to highway / comfortable rooms / nice & helpfull reception /

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bath thub...

    Good room, good location, good price for germany

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All perfect

    Eccellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no bath and location (long distance to the town center.

    Very good room, luxury bath room and excellent bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very close to the Autobahn which was great for us as we were just travelling through Germany.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed wasn't as comfortable as you would like it to be

    Great room, great stuff, really good breakfest with huge choice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to motorway but very quite place. Clean very comfortable hotel with helpful staff. I recommend that hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food, dirt behind the furniture - discovered when i had to move bed side table to connect phone line myself to call the reception.

    location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect for us. It is second time we stayed there while traveling.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very good welcoming, beds very comfortable and amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stinky room for smokers - you can't choose what type of room will you get

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel nice oeople clean good food and service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 3rd bed is small for teenage

    Nice overnight stay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had the biggest room in all my live! There was a cofee mashine in the room - with perfect cofee on the morning

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is sauna free off charge.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location to the A2 motorway. Only 10 min walk to town. Very nice and comfortable place to take a brake in your journey.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the bed could stay in it all day. Friendly staff and fantastic breakfast. Would recommend to everybody

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast ok

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Business Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very beautiful and nice business hotel with very good location (near highway) and tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room locatet over reception , lot of noice , meaning a poor nights sleep. If you do not sleep during the stay the overall impression it not good

    Hotel staff and facilities

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Family with young children

    Staff was very nice and helpful hotel was very clean as most places in Germany but wen we get there room was very cold not handy with 4 months old baby there were 2 single beds stick together which is not good at all I wouldn't go back food was very good for

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Couple

    I stopped by for just one night on my journey from Poland to Belgium but I must say I couldn't have made a better choice. This is a place you wish to check in at when you arrive after a tiresome journey: very nice, fully professional staff, a cozy, clean room with a comfortable bed and fresh bathroom, very silent place although so close to the motorway. Tasty breakfast! Back on the road the following day I was called by a lady from the reception: it turned out that I left behind my e-book. I was already too far to drive back but the lady was so nice as to arrange for the e-book to be sent to my address. This is what I call service and I wish it were a standard everywhere... Danke schoen!

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    First day's breakfast was very poor (almost none).

    Good location for travelers by car (it's near autobahn nr. 2). Nice and clean hotel. Breakfast was deliciuos, but only in the second day of my stay...

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean & comfortable place. Requested disabled access & we were given the nearest possible room on the ground floor. Wifi works perfect. Breakfast was very nice too. We will be using this hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very strange heating in the room, which works only when the window is closed. So, you have cold fresh air when window is open or warm stinky air when window is closed. Furthremore heating it is in fact a blower so there is milions of fungus in the room. For people with allergy it's a disaster. I know such a heating solution from low-cost hostels but in 4-star hotel it is a shame.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Asked for antiallergenic bedding as the standard bedding was feather and was told they did not have any (despite a sign in the room saying antiallergenic pillows were available). Breakfast was busy and a bit chaotic. Had to ask twice to get coffee and lots of items were running low.

    Comfortable room. Good location in a nice town near the main autobahn. Free WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Because we were a large (13) party we were asked to pay in advance.

    The hotel is very conveniently situated just off the motorway, it is modern, very clean and comfortable with a good restaurant and excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    However they need to replace their madras they so soft that you often feel that you are sliding of. me and my wife are not heavy for our height both normal. But really very bad beds, the only reason we keep coming bad is restaurant, location, and staff. But the sleep is not as comfortable as one could hope for, we have therefore lately only stopped there if we felt to tired to go further.

    great location when traveling to the south east of Germany, Czech that direction. especially if you are coming from far away and need to take one night break. quit good restaurant for such a hotel, good breakfast and nice friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - breakfast was good but quite simple - no negative remarks, hotel is an easy stay if you are travelling accross Germany.

    - easy access from the highway - free parking - room was quiet and comfortable - free take away coffee at reception and nespresso machine in the room

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Evening dining was a disaster again. The chef and kitchen cannot cope with a full restaurant, the simple meals we ordered took over an hour to serve and then arrived overcooked and partially inedible. It was the same on our last stay.

    The staff are great and very helpful, the rooms are always well prepared and nothing is too much trouble. Very good if travelling with young children, have stayed here before and will stay again.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Noisy! There was a b-day party downstairs and it was really hard to get asleep till 2am.

    Nice room, great breakfast, good location (close to motorway but no noise from traffic)

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    After a long travel, we finally arrived. Unfortunately there was a party in the evening, loud music and people partying outside under our window. We mentioned it to the staff and they said they would turn down the volume at 22.00 and they wouldn't be outside anymore. We heard people from the staff trying to get them inside, but the music and party went on until 1am.

    Great breakfast, nice room!

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Felt a bit outside the center, but then we only arrived late and left early, so we did not walk to the center.

    Great rooms and beds. Quite new or newly renovated. Nice restaurant with good food. Breakfast really great. Nice people working there. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We use this hotel twice a year travelling to Poland with our dog. Pet friendliness was obviously the reason for our hotel selection the first time. Now we must have stayed there 10 times or so, enjoying quiet small town in Germany, not feeling that the motorway is just around the corner, good and efficient service, good dinner even when arriving latish at night and an excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Couple

    We were travelling on Germany's A2 motorway and wanted to rest for the night. We found this hotel on booking.com and it turned out to be the perfect match. Excellent staff, nice renovated rooms, a super good breakfast, close location to the highway but 0 noise. We were extremely positively surprised!

There are also 48 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Hotel Helmstedt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: