Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel Jena This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Rudolstädter Straße 82, 07745 Jena, Germany

#25 of 32 hotels in Jena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 774 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel for a short stay
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit obsolete.

    We just stayed one night when over crossing Germany. Very good location near the highway but calm to sleep. We were traveling with a baby and this was the only hotel that was willing to accommodate us at 1 am and provide us with a baby bed. Staff was super friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    It’s a hotel room not a house or flat, so if that’s what you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saturday night lobby bar was popular. Lots of smokers. Good if you smoke, not so otherwise.

    It’s a hotel room not a house or flat, so if that’s what you are looking for, it’s perfect at a good price. It’s not new but in good shape. Staff exceptional. Fluent English. Ample parking. Choose not to have breakfast there and opted for lighter fare from gas station 200 m down the road. I was quickly passing through Jena and did not need to be in hotel except to sleep. Perfect and safe for that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Peaceful nights and great view to city
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say anything against the hotel - as detailed below it's not a new building but is perfectly renovated and the employees keep the whole place clean.

    Everything was perfect - we didn't have any problems or complaints about the hotel or its employees. The hotel itself isn't new - I think it was finished around 1995 according to some text but the property is in a very good shape! Everything is clean and the place itself is quiet. The television has a USB port that we consider as a plus as non-native speakers. The bathroom has been renovated and looked new. The hotel has a parking place outside with a lot of slots. The restaurant also is superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Highly recommand!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's perfect! I have nothing to complain about.

    The environment was soothing; I felt relaxed and comfortable to stay there. The staffs were helpful and friendly. And the internet is one of the best among all the other hotels I have stayed in Jena.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    A good hotel in Jena, 10 minutes from the city centre (with public transport).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no fridge in the room, which is for a 4* hotel not adequate. The free wifi has a limited reach in some rooms.

    Nice hotel in a rather suburb area, however with tram you are in the city centre in 10 minutes. The staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    Lovely little Jena
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No safe, No minibar in the room, My room, located at back side was a little noisy in early morning when the staff were moving and taking the boxes from trucks.Upon arrival I went for massage service but the old lady masseur who could hardly speak English told me she does not have time till tomorrow evening which was useless for my one day stay. I was wondering why don they ask for more masseurs? Despite of banner installed at entrance regarding massage and gym .

    Hotel is a bit far from city center but in a calm neighborhood for a good sleep at night,without any noise from street ( Which I experienced during my previous stays in Hotel ibis in city center). Tram ticket provided by hotel is good option. Breakfast was OK !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    Overall good but value for money could be better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wireless is rather slow, and the water changed temperature on its own accord, which was quite surprising given the high general quality. It was not insufferable, and I only stayed for two nights so did not ask to fix that.

    The room was very quiet, neat, clean, bright and private, with all the necessary facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.8
    My default hotel in Jena
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi is slow, but enough to check up on e-mails.

    The restaurant serves surprisingly good meals. Breakfast allows for many choices. Very friendly staff, eager to help.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi coverage slightly poor in rooms, but in lobby very strong. Breakfast slightly expensive compared with what's offered.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. They provided me with free shuttle to the conference venue everyday although not usually offered. Beautiful scenery around. Calm place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    9.6
    Great value for money and excellent staff.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the breakfast was very bad and in very stark contrast to the excellent dinner.

    The dinner menu as well as the quality of the food was very good and at very reasonable prices.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    The best hotel in Germany that I have visited!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff is extremly pleasant. They had helped me a lot, I had a lot of changes in my trip and several times warned them, also I have cancelled a few days and they didn`t take any extra fee cause of that. I was really impressed by their attitude. I love this hotel ;) You can find everything you need there. Of course it is not in the city center, but it takes less then 5 minutes to get to nearest tram stop and approximately 16 minutes to get to the center by tram. Just because it is situated not on the center you can admire wonderful nature around, the view from my window was really nice!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    6.7
    Priceworthy option in the outskirt of town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was so bad so using it for ordinary work activities was out of the question. The corridors had a distinct smell of cigarett smoke. The hotels public spaces are a bit run down.

    The room and breakfast was ok, good price performance. Friendly staff and reasonable bar prices.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.3
    It is more a 3 star hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from the city center. There was no fridge in the room! No air-conditioning, during our stay it was too hot inside.

    Staff at the breakfast room were excellent, can not say the same for the reception.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    It was nice to stay there.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice family room, hotel provided beds for children,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice family room, hotel provided beds for children, forthcoming staff, comfortable stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite "old-style" heaters.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    The internet in the room is really bad
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet in the room is really bad

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    4.2
    Walls were so thin you can hear the people in the next rooms.
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were so thin you can hear the people in the next rooms. Sheets and pillow are cheap and uncomfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.9
    A plesant stay, will definately stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi was very poor in room but ok in public areas.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly, also spoke excellent English which was a bonus for me.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.2
    Old furniture, poor offers at breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, poor offers at breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    the wifi signal was weak in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    the wifi signal was weak in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Staff was kind and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries were poor. Second time, I was charged 13€ for breakfast instead of 6€.

    Staff was kind and helpful. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.0
    there was no stable internet connection at all and they got...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no stable internet connection at all and they got used to offer their room in this way. No more word is needed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.7
    No wifi in the room due to the reuter problem.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wifi in the room due to the reuter problem. I have to work in the lobby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Comfortable, cosy.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable, clean, good breakfast. Good sauna.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.8
    Wifi was not available in room and the staff was not able to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not available in room and the staff was not able to resolve the problem

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.8
    No Gym
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Gym

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.1
    Ok food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet speed is a joke

    Ok food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.5
    Very good and nice price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    We liked most everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi could have been better in our room.

    We liked most everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    5.8
    Location close to the motor way
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bad Wifi, almost no internet access Please do something about this if you want to have business travelers

    Location close to the motor way

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Everything OK as always

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.9
    WiFI some times very slow (depending on booking status?)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFI some times very slow (depending on booking status?)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good quality food and drink at all times, comfy spacious room, nice shower, comfy beds

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.9
    The location close to the highway is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are relatively old; need some renovation.

    The location close to the highway is very good. The breakfast selection is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not really nice expected a higher standard

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    8.8
    wifi could be somewhat faster
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    wifi could be somewhat faster

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    7.5
    The room was clean, the staff friendly, and easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no WiFi signal in my room, so the wifi access code I was given was useless. There was also no reading light next to the bed -- the ceiling lights were industrially bright and useless for reading in bed. Overall the room felt a bit sterile and not particularly cozy. The hotel's location is, for anybody without a car, probably not the greatest -- a 7-10 minute walk from public transit that takes you to the city center and train station in 15 minutes.

    The room was clean, the staff friendly, and easy to find. Plus it happens to be a short two minute walk from friends who live in the area.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    6.3
    The parking was easy and the cleanliness was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The air conditioning in several rooms were not working and they are very old style of units and are obviously not being replaces or repaired as they go out. A main reason to stay was air conditioning and this advertised as present but is actually a hit and miss affair. Not really many amenities.

    The parking was easy and the cleanliness was good. Breakfast was also good and the kitchen decent for late dinners. The staff was generally friendly.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.2
    Hotel is quiet and relaxing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a bit outside from downtown. You need a car or public transportation to go downtown.

    Hotel is quiet and relaxing. Nice little bar and very friendly staff. The bottle of water was appreciated. Free parking was also nice. Internet worked fine everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    5.4
    Mein Zimmer hatte sogar eine Steckdose "PC-Modem...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mein Zimmer hatte sogar eine Steckdose "PC-Modem (analog)"! Leider hatte ich meinen LapTop mit PC-anlaog-Modem aber schon 1995 ausgemustert. Also - Nostalgiefans, ab nach Jena.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    6.7
    Spacious rooms, quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cold room, heating is a old fashioned blower that has to be turned off when you want to sleep, even if you're cold in the night. The blanket doesn't help much either, its length is too short to cover your feet and body simultaneously. A bit of a disappointment. And there is no water cooker for tea or coffee, also no free water bottle, the tapwater tastes horrible.

    Spacious rooms, quiet.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    7.1
    They do have a very good restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Distance to city center too far.

    They do have a very good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    10
    We had double room, which was great with older children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no free breakfast

    We had double room, which was great with older children

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    4.2
    good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    very rude receptionist . I have never met a similar behavior

    good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.5
    Stairs on the way to the room, problematic with heavy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stairs on the way to the room, problematic with heavy luggage.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    8.8
    Very good menu
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lifts a bit dodgey.

    Very good menu

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    10
    Close to the autobahn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to the autobahn. Breakfast is great!

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    7.5
    good restrant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    somewhat far from the city center

    good restrant

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    10
    Great value for price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bit slow wifi this time. Thin duvet... all rest great!

    Great value for price

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Best Western Hotel Jena traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: