Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Premier Parkhotel Engelsburg This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Augustinessenstraße 10, 45657 Recklinghausen, Germany

#1 of 5 hotels in Recklinghausen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 320 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location to the historic part of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small and the tub was plugged up. A bit pricey for what you get.

    Great location to the historic part of town. Room was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Delightful hotel - visit in winter, spring or autumn, not summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning! With the temperature in the very high 80s, this was a major drawback

    Delightful and helpful staff, excellent breakfast, and a very good dinner. The hotel itself is an old building nicely modernised but with very attractive original features

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Clean, modern, spacious hotel in the centre of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much really

    Clean, modern, spacious hotel in the centre of Recklinghausen, good internet, nice sauna and finish steam room area, very nice accommodating staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Perfect. Clean, spacious, smiley staff. Great location and comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect! There was nothing we disliked. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, so i cannot rate that. But i have a feeling it would have been good! I just wish we had more time there.

    Loved everything about this hotel. It was a relaxed and speedy check in. The staff were polite, friendly and had great English. I note this as my German was embarrassingly non-existent. The room (a twin) was spacious, clean, bright and comfortable. We loved the bells that we could hear with the windows open. The view of the garden was lovely. The bathroom was perfect. clean, spacious and well equipped. We had additional requests such as ironing board and milk and these were delivered without any hassle and with a great big smile. The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the centre, but feels secluded when inside the courtyard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Grand room but sweaty bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is minimal parking out front, and most of it seemed to be reserved. Why didn't we get that option? We needed to park in a close by garage, which was o.k but we had to pay €7 even with discount. The restaurant was so full that unfortunately we couldn't make dinner reservations for that evening. We had no idea things would be so full in early December. The breakfast room is a bit too small and too crowded for the number of guests as people were sent away to wait somewhere else for a table to become available. Also, the way the buffet is set up causes queues. Guests need to be able to walk around a table, and not into a corner. But my main reason for the downside of my review is the bedding. The beds were large and comfortable BUT the one thing I DETEST is a plastic layer under the bedsheet. This makes a nights rest totally uncomfortable and sweaty. And in the end, what you most want in a hotel is a good nights sleep. I understand the hygiene issue, but I am glad there are still many hotels out there who tackle this issue in a different way and do not put plastic under my bed sheet.

    This is a lovely, warm and inviting building, just off the main shopping area in Recklinghausen. Our room was very large and stylish and had comfortable seating and desk area. The breakfast was very good. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    wifi, breakfast although last time more possibilities (baked...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast compared to last time, Breakfast not included in price.

    wifi, breakfast although last time more possibilities (baked eggs) and better and more fruit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel & restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The gym is very small. That was the only thing I can come up with that I did not like.

    Lovely breakfast buffet, very clean and spacious room. Excellent location, lots of restaurants and bars closeby. The restaurant at the hotel was also very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.2
    Friendly welcome and an upgrade.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was far too hot but imaginative use of open windows and thermostat solved the problem.

    Friendly welcome and an upgrade. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The restaurant offered top class food and the breakfast was varied and good quality. Our cases were safely stored until our afternoon departure.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Recklinghausen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking spaces are very few, but hotel has arrangement with Parking garage 20m across (convenient and inexpensive - so not really a big issue)

    Excellent hotel property, very friendly staff, clean and spacious room, good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Great garden .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neddedfans put in the room as it was too hot . Same as last year .

    Great garden . Great duvets . Wonderful town. Big rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    It’s the perfect location, spotless and confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s the perfect location, spotless and confortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Super friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff!!! Huge beds and room. The best place to stay in Recklinghausen. Very child friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Very convenient and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very comfortable bed. Excellent location en route to central Germany.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Klasse!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!!! it was first class!!!

    Everything....the Koenig Pilsner beer especially!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    sehr ruhig and angenehm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    sehr ruhig and angenehm. central location. free water in room daily. in reception area the coffee and cake in the afternoon

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    My only complaint is that the Wifi-signal was weak
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is that the Wifi-signal was weak

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, clean comfortable room. Good breakfast. Less than 10 minutes walk to railway station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    9.6
    Nice bed, famous bathroom, pleasant staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice bed, famous bathroom, pleasant staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Schon hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out so early

    Schon hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    A place to stay and a town to see
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and backgarden for the dog /and us) were very nice. The restaurant staff extraordinary accommodating and food excellent at deacent prices.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.2
    Excellent in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The atmosphere, comfort of the room ambience

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    8.3
    Quiet, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet places. We had very good rest on our way

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    8.8
    Good location, easy access to public parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Service from the staff vary. On arrive, the receptionist was not nice and obviously there is error he or his colleague made that it seems we booked two rooms not one. He claim he should charge us for that too though no one mentioned that again when checked out. Apart from that accident, other staff are very nice and helpful.

    Good location, easy access to public parking. the restaurant is excellent! Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.2
    The location is perfect in the center of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The quilt was a little bit to short but that's not really a problem.

    The location is perfect in the center of the town. The room was quiet and large and we even get an upgrade to a better room.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    8.8
    Great location, huge room,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast average, room near loads of bins in back, so early, noisy wake up call on Tues and Wednesday morning when the bin Lorry arrived at 6am

    Great location, huge room,

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    8.8
    staff were very friendly and very helpful, we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    terribly noisy on Saturday night as our room was directly opposite a very busy nightclub - it felt like dance-floor was at the bottom of the bed - after a call to reception we got transferred to another room in the middle of the night but this dented the overall great stay somewhat

    staff were very friendly and very helpful, we had a beautiful and spacious room and really enjoyed the sauna and steam room that had been fired up for us on request

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.2
    The restaurant food was excellent and imaginative
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The renovation truck right outside the suite window twice between 6 am and 7 am :-( We were not amused

    The restaurant food was excellent and imaginative

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Friendly helpful staff, comfortable bed and pillows, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly helpful staff, comfortable bed and pillows, clean room and hotel Less than 10 minutes walk through city centre to rail and bus station. Good selection of hot and cold breakfast foods.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    9.2
    Great location, car park in front of hotel, charming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows could have been softer and church bells were very close by and at times never ending Had wedding on arrival day and Sunday mass following day.

    Great location, car park in front of hotel, charming atmosphere, really friendly helpful staff, nice room with lovely good view of gardens.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    i stayed only one night, but it was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    i stayed only one night, but it was excellent. I especially enjoying the quietness of the hotel and area and the friendly staff. Also had a fine dinner at the hotel restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.8
    quiet;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a bit old-fashioned; forgetting the wake-up call should not happen

    quiet; good beds; good breakfast, although the cheese selection could be improved

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    9.6
    Nice and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice and helpful staff. Comfortable room. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    9.6
    Close to the centre of town and only a few minutes walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to the centre of town and only a few minutes walk from the station. Good breakfast choice

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    8.8
    The location is perfect in the center of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The location is perfect in the center of the town. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms very clean.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    9.6
    Staff and location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food option in restaurant

    Staff and location

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    No air conditioning in the bedrooms, which could make things...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No air conditioning in the bedrooms, which could make things uncomfortable in hot weather.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    9.6
    We liked the comfort, cleanliness and friendliness of all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the comfort, cleanliness and friendliness of all the staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Perfect stop.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Perfect stop. Easy parking, very comfortable, pleasant to stroll through pretty town.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    7.5
    General architecture, nice personnel, great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no air conditioning in the room (or just out of order), wifi does not work everywhere

    General architecture, nice personnel, great breakfast

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: