Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Victor's Residenz-Hotel Rodenhof 4 stars

Kálmánstraße 47-51, 66113 Saarbrücken, Germany

#11 of 48 hotels in Saarbrücken

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 629 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning would have been great, as the windows were big and opened wide, but in the heavy rain we could not leave it open at night, as the carpet was getting wet!

    Very nice hotel, clean, comfortable and the staff were helpful. Good sized rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has very poor fitness room, not even a treadmill. Breakfast was average - low. You have a hard time when not being a german speaker

    Big and clean room, comfortable bed, cozy furniture

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast - if there is empty bottle of juice, personel not interest. If there is no bagette, personel not interest. No food for choice, no sweet (only croasant). I never seen this service. Room service - if you need something from minibar, you must go to reception. Minibar is not located in the room. If you need ear stick, you must go to reception. There is only nailfile in the room.

    large room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    good rooms, nice bed. Excellent Spa facilities which is the main reason I booked the hotel. Food in restaurant very good, excellent bottle of wine off the menu. The staff were very accommodating to my special requests of extra check out time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great pool but the gym definitely might need some attention & investment the rooms were not soundproof

    great price quality! i loved the pool & sauna spacious room! great bed & friendly helpful staff great breakfast & restaurant overall

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no courtesy set. when I remaindered to the reception that I asked for a quite room (option available during the booking) the staff answered that with my low rate room it was not possible to satisfy this request... I would like just to underline that the cost of this room was 119 euro... to define it "low rate" I think is a bit inopportune and unfair, especially if we consider that the hotel is not located in the city center...

    Comfortable room, very good bed, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The reception lady when we arrived and evening waiter were brilliant. Polite friendly professional so welcoming. An absolute credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!!

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Made our stay exceptional. Rooms were spacious and the bathroom was to die for. The breakfast was abundant and delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself is nice with very exspansive rooms. The breakfast layed out is quite substancial with even the addition of vitimins. The price of drinks is very reasonable. Cheap underground parking is always a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything the other reviews criticised is true. It was blazing hot in the room and also in the breakfast area. They served old sausages from previous days.

    The wellness area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was exceptionally hot the day we arrived and unfortunately there was no air conditioning in the bedroom so we did not sleep well through the night.The meal in the restaurant was we felt was over priced and the waiter who served us was a little abrupt and made no conversation with us.

    The rooms were large and clean. The tea/coffee in the room was very welcome. Nice quiet location and great facilities. The swimming pool was large and the surrounding area clean, Made full use of the sauna and steam room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price/night is too high There is no AC in the rooms and some rooms have big windows. It was very hot in the room, even at night.

    Room was big, clean and bright. Beautiful terrace for breakfast and lunch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located at the top of a hill in a residential area. The town is a little tricky to navigate round, but that won't stop us from using the hotel again for a similar trip.

    We were travelling home to UK after a skiing holiday, and arrived late at night with 2 tired kids. The staff were very helpful and were quick to sort out a few requests. Swimming pool and sauna etc were great for a bit of exercise before getting back in the car.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints!

    Spacious room, lovely and helpful staff, great selection for breakfast. Relaxing atmosphere around swimming pool/sauna. Quiet and convenient location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was just too hot and whilst there were armchairs in the room which was a plus, they seemed to have been selected more for appearance than comfort so not much good to us. Hotel felt as though it largely has elderly guests to stay making it seem a little too formal.

    Breakfast was an absolute treat and the food in the restaurant was excellent and very good value. Our room was very big and nicely decorated, Bed linen was crisp and white and the bed was very comfortable. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Hotel on a quiet street so very safe and no noise.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con & it was very hot when we arrived. Evening meal service slow (45 min wait)

    Hotel was clean & comfortable. Staff helpful & friendly. The original room had the heating on so staff moved us. Food wonderful esp breakfast Swimming pool lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no airconditioning in the rooms ... during summer - which is now...- really hot in the rooms, and this really influences the quality of the sleep

    great bed , nice place overall

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A la carte dining at the hotel restaurant with rather limited choice, but the food was good.

    Staff (receptionist and waiters alike) were very kind and helpful. Good location: 15 minutes walk from city center in a residental area, easy parking. Relaxing swimming pool and wellness facilities.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a stopping point for our travels but it was an amazing hotel! Breakfast and dinner were great and the staff was awesome! I accidentally got locked out of my room with my two kids inside the room and the lady with the short bleach blonde hair and glasses came to help me get back in. She was also very nice and has great people skills! Very nice hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No safe in the room. Location is outside and the Name misleading because there are 2 Victor-Residenz Hotels and the cap driver takes advantage of you if you do not specifically mention Best Western.

    Very clean rooms and bathrooms!!! Furniture nice and functional.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning As the room was very hot but it was a very hot day

    Good clean hotel with pleasant staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opposite side of city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal of course but bed too hard for us

    Everything. Room.sauna.pool.etc.ex.restaurant. very relaxing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff. Only 20 minute walk to downtown.Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was great, and there was a storage for our bikes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    terrible noise of people teenagers in the night at 4.30 am

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance to city-center (but bus stops in front of hotel)

    Room, staff (except some restaurant), pool, breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old hotel.

    Friendly stuff and helpful. Good location Good bedroom. Gorgeous garden for the hotel !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Very good, spacious rooms - Very comfortable nice beds - Good variation in breakfast - Nice wellness accomodation

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been given a single bed room although we booked for double.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not all restaurant facilities were opened in the evening. Only the 2 rooms out of 3.

    Nice large room, friendly staff. Sauna, fast wifi.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very good, we've had an upgrade to a very nice room because of our 20th weddingday

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location a little bit out of the middle

    very nice hotel with a pool and sauna.. that was great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    paying for parking

    Extra large and comfy bed, generous breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind reception and very clean room and scenary

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Really everything, the reception, the people, accommodation, swimming pool, really amazing friendly employee. Perfect restaurant, great breakfast, wonderful diner.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely staff and unique and comfortable facilities with nostalgic atmosphere. Great swimming pool!The location is quiet and in walking distance to the town centre. I loved the design of our room. Would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a ten or fifteen minute walk out of the town centre, but it is not an unpleasant walk. I could not not fault the hotel itself.

    We had a room spread over two floors with a spiral staircase to link the levels, which gave us a separate lounge area and an amazingly large amount of space in a very stylish setting. The pool and sauna are excellent, and the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. The beds are firm and comfortable. It was my second stay, and it will not be my last!

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked for two nights. I wanted to extend my stay for more 3 nights! i was assured this would be ok! on the morning I was asked to take another room which was not as comfortable as the one i was staying in. Then I had to move to another hotel! This was very disruptive as I was there for a conference and I was unable to attend the conference on that day!

    friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!!!!!

    Everything!!! Great hotel. On arrival offered a soft drink or a glass of sherry whilst checking in!! Then advised that the restaurant was closed that evening :( BUT)there was a BBQ that evening for guests at a charge (19e pp I think each) :) :) and it was great. Breakfast also.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although booking.com had confirmed our stay, when we arrived the hotel staff could find no record of the booking, even after giving them all the paperwork. This took quite a time to sort out.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception staff gave us another customers name and booking paperwork and thought it was amusing when we corrected them. It then took quite a time to correct.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bathroom although good, in my point of view, was not at the level of the bedroom.

    I've liked the comfortable room. The bed was big and extremely comfortable. The poll area was nice, with a good ambiance.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad experience as such, very hot weather and hotel has no air-con in the rooms, sweltering.

    A very nice hotel in a handy location. Secure underground parking.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The lack of A/C or fans. It would have been nice if there were two chairs on the balcony.

    The hotel is located in a safe and quiet neighborhood with plenty of street parking. Easy to walk to downtown area and to concert arena. Spacious room with a great balcony. Breakfast was fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This time, the reception at least could retrieve our Booking.com-booking in their system. However, they did not have a room with twin-beds; only double ..... Although I booked more than a month in advance and, a hotel with ~ 100 rooms with a max of 25% occupation between Christmas and New-Years Eve ...... How odd. Again, the staff can only be described as un-interested, un-professional and more interested in their boy-friends than in serving hotel-guests. This time we had a travelling-group in the hotel: a new reason for the restaurant not to be able to serve quite few things although they were on the menu, probably because they were eaten by the group ..... Anyway, after visiting this hotel now twice in two weeks, I would urge the Best Western Group management to have a thorough look at how this hotel is run. It is a pity that the great facilities this hotel undoubtedly has, remain unseen and unappreciated, just because of a poor staff.

    As the first visit (two weeks prior to this one): the location is nice and quiet, it is easy to find and the parking garage a nice add-on

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that our booking (via booking.com) couldn't be found in their systems! How strange.... The staff seemed to be uninterested anyway: children of, what I think, cleaning personnel running through the corridors. The staff not informing us about all the facilities like the swimming pool etc. In the quiet time before Christmas most of the offers on the menu weren't available. I short, the staff and operations are below standard, un-professional, very un-German ... For the Best Western Group management: they might have a look at the management of this hotel, which is otherwise equipped with great facilities; as I am used to in other Best Western hotels.

    The location was fine. It was easy to find. The hotel has good parking facilities.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff very accommodating. They made every effort to communicate even though I spoke very little German.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room smells not good enough.

    Parking in front of the Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was large, breakfast was good and the leisure facilities excellent.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    'Comfort wifi' is 12€ instead of free, is ridiculous

    Friendly reception staff

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Best Western Victor's Residenz-Hotel Rodenhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: