Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Raphael Hotel Altona This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Präsident-Krahn-Str. 13, Altona-Nord, 22765 Hamburg, Germany

#155 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 489 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Location was great for visiting places I planned to visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing particular to mention in this section.

    Location was great for visiting places I planned to visit. Breakfast was very good. Thanks a lot for the late check-out at 1400 free of charge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    I will stay there again, if i need to be in that area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are not looking like in the pictures presented online, they are far smaller.

    It is a quiet hotel, no disturbance from the Altona train station. Staff is friendly and is close many nice restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    We've stayed here before and will continue to do so in Hamburg. Location is perfect for train travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not suitable for mobility-challenged guests

    Comfortable beds, quiet, nice bathroom, none of the normal supplies, however, staff very friendly and helpful, lots of choice at breakfast, very convenient for train travel, as it is just across the street from the Hamburg-Altona station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    perfect
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have no complaints. I always choose this hotel if there is a room for me. I know what I get.

    quiet, bed very good for my bad back. not far away from anything (S-Bahn, restaurants, bank, pharmacy, friends, doctors)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    We've stayed here before & we've already booked this hotel again. It's always a pleasure to stay her
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely! No complaints at all!

    We were greeted in a very friendly & welcoming manner & immediately were offered an upgrade to the room we had booked, at no extra cost.The suite we were given was clean & comfortable, & perfect for our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.7
    Nice staff! Central in although but outdated, to expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have seen better times. They need an upgrade. Taking a shower in109 is a challenge and very uncomfortable. It can be very loud in the mornings when you face the backyard, especially when they unload.

    The staff is exceptional! I’m staying there a lot and the people are so helpful and nice. The breakfast is also very good. The size of room 109 is good although the second room is not so much needed. The free bottle of water is nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Close to Altona - good standard accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good external sound proofing but internal noises from the corridor and the couple having very good sex in the room above were difficult to ignore.

    Close to Altona station. Clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel right by Altona station. The room was large with a lounge area and the ground floor had a communal lounge and bar which was great as we were travelling in a large group.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Large and effectively planned room, enough place for all our...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, elevator does not reach 4th floor where we had our room. It goes only up to the 3rd floor! We had to lift our luggage manually from 3rd to 4th floor.

    Large and effectively planned room, enough place for all our belongings. Location is excellent, if you travel with the train (like us), 80 metres from big railway station!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    4.2
    Friendly staff, even though some there was a bit of a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking, room is small and not very nice. Good enough for a nights sleep if you want nothing else.

    Friendly staff, even though some there was a bit of a problem with language at the beginning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Very well located, just in front of Altona station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms on the street side can be noisy.

    Very well located, just in front of Altona station. Small but comfortable room. Free bottle of water, always nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.0
    New room category required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have Standard Rooms and Superior Rooms. We need a category "Inferior Rooms" To qualify a room must be small (ours was), noisy (ours was next to the loading area to put cars onto trains) and lack air-conditioning (ours had none and was correspondingly stifling).

    Friendly Staff. Good parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Lads weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was looking for a hotel inside Hamburg, It's one train from the airport it's around a 5 minute walk from the station. On check in we was given a map of Hamburg with a list of places to go to and a list of restaurants nearby to use very friendly staff. The layout of the room was excellent had plenty of room to move around in nice big bathroom. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.9
    Great staff but average rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were angry 3 wasps in the bathroom when I arrived that I had to kill. The window had been left open which is fair enough, but maybe add an insect screen. Room feels a little cramped and lacks for desk/table space.

    Very helpful staff who helped me in a second language. For a fair price, 12 Euros I think, there is an amazing buffet breakfast with meats, cheeses, various egg options, breads, cereals, juices, fresh fruit, coffee and a host of teas. When they call you a taxi it is there in 5 minutes, also close to a train and subway station. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Typical chain hotel next to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. No AC when it was hot outside.

    Close to station. Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Clean & comfortable, friendly and welcoming - as always!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is ideally located for visiting our family in Altona. We stay here often & always thoroughly enjoy our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Excellent all round experience. Would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything. It was perfect for my needs.

    Great Location, Friendly staff and an all round pleasant stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Close to Altona main line and Surburban stations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to Altona main line and Surburban stations

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    we were able to continue our journey the next day easily because we had a good nights sleep
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This time we were travelling in a large van where the car park entrance was too narrow to get through.

    It's a good, smart and comfortable hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Great location!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basic rooms but good for the low price and excellent location next to Hamburg-Altona Hbf.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    6.3
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was dirty. The bed was too soft.

    The location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.8
    Friendly hotel with every you need for the right price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A shaving / makeup mirror for close up in the bathroom

    Very comfy bed. Free Water & hot drinks

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.5
    I inveited my cousin with is partner to my Birthday Party.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I inveited my cousin with is partner to my Birthday Party. They stood only overnight in the hotel, without using other accomodation

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.5
    staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bad wifi coverage

    staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine

    Staff was friendly and gave good tips to get t the Lion King musical. Good location next to the Altona Station

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.1
    Average single room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little smelly. I assume there is a problem with humidity.

    Average single room. Okay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    5.8
    That sauna was charged
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That sauna was charged

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a great location and a huge room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff, super big clean room. Very good location with shopping, trains, restaurant, walking close by. Very very great place!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    A great Location for a perfect stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great

    Location; quite and clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.3
    Wonderful area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been bigger, but ok.

    Nice area. Close to s-bahn.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.1
    My preferred hotel in this area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The night porter, he should have had a more service minded attitude

    Excellent kitchen staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.6
    Small but very comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is small so the breakfast is being served within another hotel/building just next to it.

    Small but very comfortable hotel. Everything is in place and neat. The rooms are fully equipped. Strongly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    7.5
    The location is great and frendly stuff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is a bit too expensive for the quality. They started taking out food 20 minutes before the end. Prices for booking changed a lot, so booking the hotel not for the whole stay but every day a new booking saved us 30% of the price

    The location is great and frendly stuff. The room is big, but there are really different rooms in the same category.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    7.1
    I was only staying for a night, dumped my bags and headed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room like a cabin on a ship, very small. The door opens into the corridor which was strange and you room and bed is right in front of you.

    I was only staying for a night, dumped my bags and headed out so cant really say much other than it was clean.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    7.9
    Perfect location in the middle of Altona and very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were great on arrival but a little anonymous afterwards. In terms of price, rather expensive. We stayed in Essen the following night in a much newer hotel of equal quality for a third of the price.

    Perfect location in the middle of Altona and very close to shopping facilities. Staff were friendly on arrival. I liked the 'Bar of Confidence', where guests helps themselves to drinks and pay at reception later. The trust element is a nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.8
    Helpful, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Noise from nearby railway station. The bed was too small. No air conditioning so room could get very hot..... opening the window helped.... although this would allow the noise from the station to keep you awake.

    Helpful, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    5.8
    The location was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    To much noise from outside, the room faced the rail station and the windows should have been double glazed to cope with the noise from outside. The room was too small. Neither did the Iron press work.

    The location was fine.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.6
    Facilities adequate, great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Facilities adequate, great location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    9.6
    Help from the staff.
    • Solo traveller

    only thing I didn't like in this hotel was the smell in the corridor.

    Help from the staff. Bed and Bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    9.6
    Hotel close to train station for easy travel to Hanover for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel close to train station for easy travel to Hanover for Agritechnica. Staff very friendly speaking English.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    7.9
    The location just outside Altona station was very convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location just outside Altona station was very convenient for me because I was using public transport.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.8
    Nice bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small lift Reaching breakfast room through parking lot

    Nice bathroom Parking behind hotel The service in general

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not very good view from the room.

    Friendly staff. Very clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.9
    Very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a bit small.

    Very convenient location. Reception staffs very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    5.8
    Very small room/ bed (feet were sticking out).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room/ bed (feet were sticking out).

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    6.7
    close to Altona railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    small room

    close to Altona railway station

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.8
    Very good central location in Altona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints

    Very good central location in Altona. We enjoyed the room with good service and cleanliness. Bathroom excellent, very good free wifi

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    6.3
    The main door to our room had small cracks at top and button...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The main door to our room had small cracks at top and button, which resulted in a little noise from the hallway. Else the hotel was very nice.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Best Western Raphael Hotel Altona traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: