Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Amedia Schmoeker-Hof 4 stars

Oststr. 18, 22844 Norderstedt, Germany

#15 of 17 hotels in Norderstedt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 509 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    6.5

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk staff (one particular woman named Ms. Corinna Hinzmann) was unprofessional and treated us very poorly upon check-in and check out. We could not believe how rude and unfriendly she was. This person is not a good representation for the hotel to have at the front desk! Upon check-in, we arrived early, she made no effort to accommodate our early arrival, even though, we had not planned to arrive early, but it so happened due to unforeseen circumstances. Ms Hinzmann told us in strong words, We WERE too early, we should go away and come back later. There was no politeness or understanding of our situation in her tone of voice. As we were foreigners, we believed that she harbored some kind of unsolicited prejudgement against us. We also, not able to find any close parking, all was full, upon arrival we pulled up close to the hotel to unload our luggage. When we arrived at the reception, she told us in harsh and strong voice, we were illegally parked, and she was going to fine us, for temporarily parking there. When we returned to check in about 6 pm she was not there. The younger women who were at the desk were nice. We then went out to dinner and returned to the hotel at about 10:30pm. Again there was no available parking outside. As we did not want to pay for parking in the garage, when we explained the circumstances to the young woman operating the desk at night, she went outside with us, looking around, noted the problem of full parking. There was one car parked alongside the hotel, and she told us we could park there until morning. so we did. Upon checkout, 9:30am the next morning, Ms Hinzmann yelled at us for parking where we were told we COULD park. She threatened to fine us 25 EUROS. We told her we would not pay this, as we were given permission the night before to park there. WHEN we told her of the evening before, and how were given permission to park where we did, she accused us of lying.

    single room was small and there was no shower curtain, so water sprayed all over the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was terrible. The flow was extremenly poor and I had to use it as a hand held in order to wet myself at all. It was also like roulette switching between boiling hot and freezing cold. The bathroom was tiny with nowhere to hang my toiletries bag and the light was very poor in both the bathroom and bedroom making it difficult to apply my makeup.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of facilities

    Very out of the way of local amenities. Required a taxi or bus to travel anywhere. Difficult when the staff speak very little English.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are straight from the eighties and we had suite but even there was no minibar - and the drink-snack machine in lobby was broken. On the table in room there was 2 bottles of water, peanuts and some energy bar, so we thought they were complimentary (nowhere was price for them), but at checkout they charged them asking "any use of minibar?". I of course answered that there is no minibar in room :D, but the lady said the items on table were minibar-items!

    Staff is friendly, breakfast is good. Location is peaceful, in the middle on suburb and industrial area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, convenient location. Nice to have restaurant and bar at hotel, since not much choice of other restaurants within walking distance of location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could be nearer to Hamburg and it is in a rather industrial/remote area.

    The staff were lovely and the rooms clean and a good size. The breakfast was very tasty and the vending machine in reception was a life saver after turning up very late after the bar had shut.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows were too flat and didn't sleep well as room was too hot (no aircon) but this was also due to the weather. Bathroom was too small and would probably book a comfort single room next time which is a bigger room.

    Lovely friendly staff, nice restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpets in the room smell funny, like they need really bad to be washed. The hotel has a communist 70s look, also there was no fridge in the room and no slippers. Also, the exterior parking is too small, don't know about the underground parking.

    The rooms look good and are pretty comfortable, also the bathroom is quite nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a very strange shower without any protection. After a while the water started to go into the my bedroom and I had to stop showering. Overall the hotel is in need of a renovation.

    Very friendly staff. Good parking facilities. Very pet friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed was uncomfortable, no toiletries unless asked for. Had to pay for water in the room although no air conditioning. Room above the outside restaurant area at 11.30 had to tell noisy residents to be quiet although it's 10 in Germany to not be Loud!! 2 nights of terrible sleep from the noise

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast they need to improve No ice n coffee vending machine availzble at the property

    Breakfast they need to improve as there were not good options for it. There was no ice as well as coffee vending machines too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was very noisy from the near main road. The location is only good for travelers by car.

    Breakfast was very good. The bed was comfortable. A nice park with lake is near and is good for joggers.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not any toilet paper at the room

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower area - the water was splashing all over the bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty toilet, smelled piss.... really bad!

    Large room. New bed, extra confortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn out hotel. All sounds from the corridor could be heard in the room. Very limited internet access =free wifi.

    Bed was clean and good to sleep in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Most comfortable beds !!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited wi-fi amount

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was little noise

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More food

    Expensive breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not get the room we booked online!!! Furniture needed cleaning or touch up.

    Restaurant (Frau Schmidt)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A long way from the centre of Hamburg and the taxi arranged by the hotel was at an obscene cost.

    Comfy and Clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the rain

    location,breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent, clean and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bit far from the town center or Nederstedt with all it shops and restaurant paid parking

    Clolse to highway 7 when you need to travel to the North

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that I stayed which was ground floor quite old fashion but ok I was overthere just sleep-go

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • First Class Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    270€? For this quality? Very limited wifi, very warm room. (No airco). No minibar, automate in lobby. No parking left.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    newer furniture and room service

    breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    electricity went out in the evening in my room, the staff did not come to fix it. went to bed anyways but still! Rooms are old, not bad but old.

    the breakfast area was nice, a bit too dark though.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no refrigerator in the room. No snacks, or food available for late arrivals.

    We liked the breakfast, the personnel were very nice. The Hotel was very clean. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking underground not secured at €7 charge. Minibar is confirmed to be in room...2 warm bottles of water and no fridge. Go figure...

    Nice room, comfi bed, great staff, great breakfast, free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    a bit outside of town, very quiet area

    food is great in the hotel restaurant

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking lot quite short. Next time I might book private garage

    Efficiency and great restaurant as well

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints. Good experience. Will come back again.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just the Mattress was a bit too soft, but that's quite common

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints

    Nice service

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: