Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bezold This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Vorm Würzburger Tor 11, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

Review score

Based on 153 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    The room we had (after asking for a change) was large and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms: The one we were first offered had a sloping roof over the bed. It would have been quiet, but was in a separate building and dark. The Room we had was large but an extra bed made it difficult to navigate. The bathroom had clear glass window with curtains. There were a few 'trip hazards' to watch out for. Breakfast: Booking .com said there was no meal option. A Trip Adviser review said it was free. We assumed it was'complimentary'. It was not. The owner pointed out that Booking .com indicated he could charge, but he agreed not to charge us. On arrival home we found he had charged 10 Euros per breakfast. It did not seem good value, but there are few breakfast places near.

    The room we had (after asking for a change) was large and pleasant with good views. the beds comfortable. The house had 'character' whose inconveniences many would forgive. It is in a very good position just outside the City Walls. Parking was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location, easy to find, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Another pillow each would have been good. The maitre 'd opened our room without knocking.....very surprising to all concerned but he should not have done it.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay so close to the altstadt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room only had a bath. We struggled with our suitcases up and down 2 ancient (beautiful) staircases. We found the breakfast very expensive.

    Situated right outside Rothenburg altstadt, fantastic location. Car safe at the back. Host very friendly. Spacious room, cosy and warm as it was freezing outside. Nice old home with lots of atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.6
    The location is just perfect, very near to the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room has no wifi signal.

    The location is just perfect, very near to the old town. Facilities new, clean and well-maintained. The breakfast is for free and very delicious! Extremely high value for money! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    9.6
    Rothenburg ob der Tauber is a beautiful town and Bezold adds to the beauty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It may hav been nice to stay with in the town walls but we were close enough.

    Location was just outside the medieval town wall. We parked our car onsite and were able to walk every where. We had a large family room with plenty of space.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    9.6
    Definitely recommend Hotel Bezold, really more like a larger bed and breakfast than a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Our group of 8 used the 3 rooms on the top floor. We shut the door at the top of the stairs, which made it feel like we had a whole house to ourselves. Very nice to have so much space to move around.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.1
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is a bit 'tired' for the money paid to stay here.

    Just a few minutes walk from the city wall, you can see it from the hotel. Good breakfast to set you up for the day.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    room is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast is not good

    room is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and hospitable staff, great breakfast, ideal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and hospitable staff, great breakfast, ideal location just outside of old town wall, spacious and comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant but will look for a hotel with more amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and coffee was too expensive for the price. Not enough of a selection for the 10 euros and 5 euros for just coffee was too much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    location was spectacular, quick check in, beautiful lodging
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    location was spectacular, quick check in, beautiful lodging

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast. Tables on top of one another.

    Location....100 yards into the old town. Car parking on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    Friendly reception even we was arrived a little late around 8pm because of traffic irregularity..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They used the classic font in front of the exit of property which is a little difficult to indentify.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Excellent location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!!

    Hotel is right outside the walled city so walking into the old city was super easy. Easy, on-site parking. Super friendly host.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.6
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The couple who ran the place were super nice and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.9
    I really liked our room, we were in the roof and it was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really liked our room, we were in the roof and it was very spacious. Free parking also.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    9.2
    Very nice room, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice room, good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    7.5
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is poor and it's only till 9:30. Check out is at 10:00 !! Staff are rude.

    Clean. Convenient location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    5.4
    The better the location, the worse the personel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff wasn't friendly at all. They were rude, impatient.

    The location was very good. Parking space was reserved as requested.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    8.3
    Two day visit to Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV was a small old style CRT type with poor picture and limited chanels.

    The location for access to town and spacious bedroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Excellent family hotel with parking. Pet friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is fantastic. Breakfast is delicious. Beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    10
    Comfortable, spacious, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable, spacious, clean rooms. Extra nice and helpful staff. Provided, their own, map of the city, with recommended restaurants and exchange office. Prepared us a breakfast, early in the morning, since we had to leave really early.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    8.8
    Great location - about a block outside the wall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Love this place, but the beds are a little too firm for me.

    Great location - about a block outside the wall! We always get the family room, which is very spacious. The bathroom is also very large, which is hard to find in EU!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    you have to be there in another world, a marvel, a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    you have to be there in another world, a marvel, a very hospitable host, most pleasant and equipped our accommodation this summer 2015 in Germany, thanks and congratulations owner will return someday

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    8.3
    The location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had two quadruple rooms, each had a queen bed and a fold out couch bed. They were fine for us and our kids, but I don't think the fold out beds would have accommodated adults. Our kids complained the fold out beds were not comfortable.

    The location was great! Just steps away from the city wall and a great little park for the kids.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.1
    Great location close to walk of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were English speaking guests and had difficult communicating with owner and staff who spoke German. Our Room didn't have a kettle or fridge but it have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in breakfast room. Also main door closed early each night, we had to enter through back door which felt unwelcoming..we saw people eating at hotel but when we asked if we could eat there the owner said no!! . We never worked out why we couldn't get a meal there!! So we found another beautiful resturant in town each night.

    Great location close to walk of city. Very clean hotel with good size rooms . Lovely fresh continental breakfast but it never changed each day.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    4.2
    The location is good, just one minute walking distance away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff crushed in the room without knocking the door, without a bit of sense of privacy. I could connect to the WIFI network while I was in the old town, I suspect that it's either the hotel stealing the public network, or it's something shared by the whole town (from which you can imagine how slow it could be). The room was located in the top floor and facing to another hotel's bar, which was extremely hot and noisy. People from the opposite hotel could see inside the room easily too (given there had no fresh air if I pulled all curtain).

    The location is good, just one minute walking distance away from the old town (although no supermarket nearby).

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    7.5
    The room was spacious with beds for all 4 family members (i.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The large bed was uncomfortable and bring your own pillows! The pillows were very flat, which seems to be the case in every German hotel we go to.

    The room was spacious with beds for all 4 family members (i.e. we did not have to sleep on a pull out couch!).

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    7.5
    Great location just outside town wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No dinner available

    Great location just outside town wall. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.3
    Parking at facility, breakfast was good,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bigger TV.

    Parking at facility, breakfast was good,

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.2
    renovated old building and decoration are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    atmosphere inside the room and breaifast.is very rich.

    renovated old building and decoration are excellent.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.9
    De ligging van dit hotel is top!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    De ligging van dit hotel is top!

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    6.7
    Nice old fashion hotel close to the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    in need og an update. then again a personal hotel that you do remember :-)

    Nice old fashion hotel close to the old city

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    7.9
    The owners are very nice people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    So far nothing that i dislike about

    The owners are very nice people!

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    8.3
    Owner, Gunter, was nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owner, Gunter, was nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    9.6
    A very nice clean hotel with unusually large rooms and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    A very nice clean hotel with unusually large rooms and friendly staff. Within walking distance of the town centre.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    7.9
    Big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Big room private

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    7.9
    The location was excellent as was the breakfast and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed was a little uncomfortable, but thats what you get with hotels sometimes.

    The location was excellent as was the breakfast and room.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    8.3
    Close to old town wall
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    Close to old town wall large rooms friendly staff breakfast good on site parking great

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: