Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Birkenhof

Stoewerstrasse 20, 69483 Wald-Michelbach, Germany

#2 of 8 hotels in Wald-Michelbach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 220 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Good value and biker friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location, friendly staff, good meal in the restaurant. Carport provided for parking the bikes under. Rooms are dated but comfortable and clean with a decent size balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    We had a great stay and will be back thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt fresh fruit for breakfast was missing as we had a toddler with us plus pastry’s would also have been nice and fridge in the room would have been a bonus also with a toddler who has milk.

    The rooms we had were excellent and was just perfect for what we wanted the view and location was fabulous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Too short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing about this property that we did not like.

    As we are in our 70's we made the most of the LIFT. The scenery around the property is beautiful. Meals were also excellent and the host was more than helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Very Nice experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice. More options would have been better.

    Nice and clean. In a calm area. Very friendly staff. Nice restaurant within the hotel to have Dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    unexpected gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really,,,little bit remote but can live with that

    pleasant surprise,,,, huge building smack bang in middle of german countryside,, when I arrived the own sorted my room and offer me a well earned coffee,, it turns out the place is biker friendly,,,when I booked this place I assumed it would be just a standard room,,,but no my room was huge,, massive double bed huge sitting area with comfy chairs and a massive balcony with stunning country views,,there was an OAP coatch party there for evening meals so hardly lively evening but the evening meals were very very good,,,one of those little gems that pops up from time to time

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.1
    a quiet place for the undemanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's pretty remote from the village center (20 min on foot). The shower head splashed in all directions, all bumpers under the toilet seat were missing, TV only with eight German programs (well, it's country side). Breakfast offered just one type of most simple bread roll and one type of (good) bread (at least after 8h30), cheese, cold cuts, orange juice were low end quality (processed cheese from Penny ...), no soft cheese (brie, camembert, ...) at all. Somehow it appeared a bit like in the sixties, but back then you would have had home-made jam rather than small portioned packs. Breakfast could be much better with a bit more sense for food quality. The restaurant's evening menu was quite uninspired ... Wurst, Schnitzel and the like ... likewise a reminder of the sixties.

    It is a very quiet place next to the forest. The room was very spacy with a good size closet, balcony and parking by the hotel. Bed was big size and pretty comfortable. Good breakfast coffe, friendly staff!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no shower gel/shampoo available in the room

    food was good.. price and quality

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Guest house good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor parking area. In the morning I found damage to my rental car. No note and proprietor said he knew notbing.

    Location and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit worn down hotel.

    Quiet hotel in the country. Nice and friendly owners. Dinner of good value, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Affordable and amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about the place athmosphere the natural beauty and the owners would recommend a stay here a must

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    4.2
    Balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food service

    Balcony

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great

    The staff was great and very accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful and relaxing place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, great atmosphere, simplicity of getting on with formalities

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.3
    Fantastic place in the middle of nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location and the food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    Great stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Great place to stay.

    Location great and rooms excellent.views were great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.9
    Older facilities but everything squeaky clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older facilities but everything squeaky clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing we didn't like, except that we couldn't stay longer.

    The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable; the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly; value for money very good, especially with very good breakfast included in price.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.6
    Location is very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not so easy to find. As a tip- You have to check green signs " Birkenhof" on the street poles. A bit far from the highway

    Location is very beautiful. The owner was very friendly And helpful. Nice dinner. Very clear rooms.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    8.8
    the views from our balcony was absolutely gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location was difficult to find, at the meanwhile when we arrived the main road towards the hotel was closed, we had to drive from another road( or muddy path) The shower was weak

    the views from our balcony was absolutely gorgeous. Nice and quiet at night Room is clean and comfy Breakfast was really good, a lot to choose from

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    10
    Very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing, going to stay there again.

    Very quiet. Very good restaurant, with very good service, i.e. you may ask for another kind of salad and the chef prepares it according to your wishes.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    5.0
    Very average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Building is shabby and not very neat and tidy around it.

    Very average.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    9.2
    Good breakfast and viewing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nope.

    Good breakfast and viewing.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.5
    Extremely friendly management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely friendly management.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    5.8
    It was 34 °C outside,but 45° in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    It was 34 °C outside,but 45° in the room.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    7.5
    staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    I just liked everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I just liked everything!!

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    8.8
    this is our second time to leave here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    this is our second time to leave here. once of our favorite hotel to stay in Germany. Nice view, around a forest, good breakfast and friend owner.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    10
    fabulous country view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    couldn't stay longer

    fabulous country view

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: