Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Birkenhof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Von-Eiff-Strasse 37, 63456 Hanau am Main, Germany

#1 of 14 hotels in Hanau am Main

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 174 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this property met all our expectations. The room was great and clean with a view towards the garden. The nice part is that they have a restaurant that is open for dinner. Loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice & clean room and location is super - we had dinner at the hotel and it was really good :) we stayed one night only but overall it was really good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed at Hotel Birkenhof with my family last weekend and had trouble around the hotel but hotel owner (?) asked his wife to keep the front dest and helped me very kindly. I never forget his kindness and I strongly would like to express my gratitude for him. Nice family hotel !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paying for water in the room.

    Very good restaurant and bar facility. Check in and out was effortless. The room was of good size and bathroom facility very modern and high standard of cleanliness. Booking was easy on the Booking.com

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast selection limited Mattress very soft Had hair in food Extremely slow service in restaurant Closed kitchen earlier while still eating without telling us so couldn't order dessert Little pricey for what you get

    nice staff clean and bright room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    water will leak onto the floor after shower. sometime wifi need to be logged in again after you turn off the mobile.

    the staff are all very friendly. room is big and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of a bar/lounge or even somewhere comfortable to sit and meet friends. The only hotel we stayed at throughout our month long tour of Germany that charged for the bottles of mineral water provided in our room!

    Very large room in detached building with large bed and good bathroom. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Nice garden and terrace although weather meant we couldn't make much use of it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent rooms, large and nicely furnished. Friendly staff with a great sense of humour which made for a very pleasant stay. Great breakfast with good variety. Very good evening meals served in the on site restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No bar / public rooms, so though service always available there is, rather oddly nowhere to sit and socialise. Wifi came and went (mostly the latter). Why?

    Spotless and very well run, huge breakfasts and a good dinner restaurant (plenty more in lovley old town nearby, very walkable). Attractive outside terrace and garden if good weather. High quality room, comfortable and well fitted. Good parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was awesome... like a small appartment all to myself. Very friendly staff and very good food. High standards... Breakfast could be a little bit more extended ... but if you ask you can get anything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in separate building in front of main building are a little inconvenient to access in bad weather. (Umbrellas are on hand in the room however)

    Great locally owned hotel. Been coming here annually for 10 years. Love the clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast is plentiful and staff are friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi good be little faster. Not much space between toilet and heater/radiateur.

    Friendly staff. Nice modern hotel, 4* worth. Excellent dinners and breakfast. Good wifi (not very fast), no VPN block. Nice room, good bed and pillow. Choice between soft and hard pillow.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little noisy in the mornings

    Very comfortable , staff were very helpful , room was spacious , no gym but a beautiful walking path right outside the back of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is situated a little drive outside of Hanau, which was not a problem for me but, if you need to be near the centre of Hanau, then it might not be ideal for you. But, it is such a lovely little hotel, it really is worth the 10-15 minute drive into Hanau.

    Just PERFECT ! I was upgraded from a superior room to one of the loft apartments...just fantastic. I had dinner at the restaurant on my first night and the food was amazing. The staff were so, very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy when parties and no elevator

    The environment around is very quiet and not enought parking lots.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was a lovely place. Friendly staff, great breakfast, very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N.A.

    I had a large room in a separate building. Nice hotel and nice garden. Rich and tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner is very friendly and helpful. The rest of the staff was also very helpful and good spirited.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airco makes a lot of noise even if it is switched off. It wakes you up at night.

    The surrounding is nice and quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we were arriving after midnight we received a phone call with detailled instructions, overall very warm and friendly service and very large rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass door on bathroom not ideal

    Bed very comfy. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcoming stuff, comfortable rooms and fantastic food.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no gym

    restaurant food very good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect room... almost a real appartment... with lovely terrace !!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The beds were a little too soft. And the towels not soft enough.

    Shower mat needed for my elderly aunt. Boarding pass printed for her too. Extra flowers and candle to celebrate my birthday. A charger was provided for my iPhone. The breakfast was out of this world fresh and so varied. I cannot wait to come back.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ease with which the booking was made, the room was lovely , spacious and clean, lots of secure parking available

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are a little dated Breakfast selection was limited.

    Very pleasant and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet room, good sleep Large room, large bathroom

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is close to frankfurt but far enough away and Altstadt and restaurants are worth the trip

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast was even possible after breakfast time

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: