Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bismarck This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Bismarckstr. 97, Stadtmitte, 40210 Düsseldorf, Germany

#74 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1757 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Traditional hotel near station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were all very friendly and the hotel was in a great location close to the station. Breakfast was excellent and served by cheerful staff who were always happy to help. The room was small and relatively basic however. The hotel has a swimming pool (amazing for a city centre) but it was closed unfortunately - would have been nice in the really hot weather. The surrounding area was typical of any city close to the main station but we did walk around quite late and felt OK. There is a supermarket in the railway station open until about midnight which came in useful as there is no bar / cafe in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Look forward to returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some climate control would have been a bonus, but that's picking holes in what was a lovely stay.

    Brilliant location, and part of the generous city scheme of free public transport. Room large and airy, breakfast amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, small pokey room, no air conditioning or ventilation so room was like a sauna, over all hotel was out of date and lacked any modern/comfort features.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Decent hotel near Dusseldorf's main station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room even for 2 people. But no need to complain if you don't stay in the room all day. Dusseldorf is a beautiful city. Go explore the city and return to the hotel for night sleep and have breakfast in the morning.

    Very close to Dusseldorf main station, good breakfast. There are many restaurants (Japanese, Korean, Chinese) nearby.. you won't miss home food while in Dusseldorf!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay. We hope to return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The best breakfast ever, the most attentive, professional and pleasant staff (24 hours). Easy walk into the centre of Dusseldorf and close to station. Night porter is a star! Cheap bar prices when we fancies a night cap! Very reasonably priced parking nearby in secure multi storey car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.0
    Economical prices , excellent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A family hotel , perfect location,very nice staff , , quite , no noise , I recommend this hotel for businessmen and also for couples who want to have special moments

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    A warm welcome in a convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location 1 minute from the train station. Very friendly and helpful staff. The day pass for the local transport is a bonus. Breakfast is fresh, extensive and available for early birds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Close to the main station (150 metres), really nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to fault

    Close to the main station (150 metres), really nice breakfast (from 06.30)included in the room rate and a free travel pass which included trains for the whole region. The staff were all really polite and helpful. I had a room at the rear of the hotel this time (2nd stay) and I never heard a noise all night. Free wi-fi worked fine,room was plenty big enough for me with a small desk area to work from when needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Highly recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We liked everything! The hotel is quite close to the central train station and also not far from the center of the city. We arrived one hour before the check-in time but got the room at once. The room is equipped with all you need, the breakfast is simply wonderful ( very good choice and everything very fresh and tasty). We also liked the personnel, everyone is very helpful and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay in Düsseldorf!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast is super good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No curtain at shower, so I had to squat the whole time during shower in order not to wet the floor. Would be nice if there's a curtain at shower.

    Breakfast is super good! Impressive~

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    would love to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all good

    gorgeous breakfast! Best location! Park house around the corner for only 6.00 Euro in 24 hours. Nearby restaurant in the SCHUMANN brewery was top! Employees at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We felt like home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice place, great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had actually a poor experience. The guest in the room above mine sounds like keep on moving from time to time as the floor in their room made noise. Probably because the wooden floor was not well installed. So... the story is that I was waken up several times during the night because of this. Probably the hotel owner should think about renovating the floor so that such annoying influences from the neighbouring rooms can be minimized and also to improve the hotel stay experience.

    Nice place, great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Good price and good room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing I can think of.

    Good price. Close to the station. Less than 5 min walk. Building is old, but maintained clean and nice. WiFi is no problem. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Much Better Than Other Hotels in This Price Range
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet is a bit slow. Walls between the rooms are thin but my neighbour played guitar which was actually rather nice.

    Very well located, clean and comfortable hotel with nice staff. Breakfast is great; variety is large and your eggs are prepared freshly. Ambiance of the hotel is lovely. Room is clean and the bed is ok. It offers more that other hotels in this price range. Nice and decent hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel with horrible Hotel Manager.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was extremely bad. In fact, it was so bad that it could be considered nonexistent during most of my stay. I told the reception about it and they reset the router. This didn't do much. I actually went into the hallway myself and reset the access point. This helped for a few minutes but then became everything stopped again. However, the worst thing about this hotel is a big dark haired lady at the reception who, I think, was the hotel manager or front desk manager. I ordered some things from Amazon to the hotel and left the empty boxes in my room. Well when I returned to pick up my left luggage from the luggage room, this woman started giving me a hassle about what she was supposed to do with these boxes. This was all very, very strange and left a very bad taste in my mouth. I must say, this is HORRIBLE customer service!! I have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world where I have ordered things from Amazon or wherever else and have left the boxes in the rooms. Never, ever have I heard complaints about this!! I certainly will not be coming back.

    The price was right. If you want to be near the train station, then the location is great. Most of the staff were nice, friendly and helpful except for, it appears, the hotel or front desk manager.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Perhaps the mattress could be a little softer, and more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the mattress could be a little softer, and more English language channels on tv, but overall, we were very happy and have recommended Hotel Bismarck to friends via fb already! Thanks!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location and bathroom, but the rooms could use some updating.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was under the impression it was a non smoking hotel, but I could smell fresh cigarette smoke in the hallways. My room could have used some updated furnishings. I have to admit I checked for bedbugs because it looked a little sketchy. None were found, so don't worry. I'm also still getting used to mattresses being split down the middle. At one point in the night when I was turning I jammed my elbow into the wooden panel running between the two mattresses.

    I only stayed two nights and the staff remembered my name which was really sweet. They went out their way to make sure I was happy, always asking if I wanted to take fruit, coffee, or tea to my room. One thing I didn't expect was the voucher for unlimited public transportation in the city during the stay which I took full advantage of. The mattresses were very comfortable, and the bathroom, while small, was a very efficient layout that maximized space. The furnishings in the bathroom were new and clean!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    2.9
    It has nothing positive.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roo. Is very small. The bed was uncomfortable. The WiFi was very slow and only for emails. Totally, don't book in this hotel.

    It has nothing positive. Maybe the location near the train station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the wooden stairs were sliiiiiightly noisy sometimes but did not hear the noise while I was in the room.

    The staffs were just absolutely cooperative and always happy to help. Very neat and clean room as well as toilet/ shower. Breakfast was great too! Got my omelets and coffee made in front of me ;-) If I come to Duesseldorf again, I will again book Bismarck hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel but a bit far from the Altstadt - 15 minutes on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some areas had smell of smoke in the air.

    Nice hotel but a bit far from the Altstadt - 15 minutes on foot. The area seems safe but not very clean, probably because it is full of inhabitants who were born far away from Germany of EU. Public parking is not far from the hotel but might be a test for gentle person (because of the smell).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little bit noisy at night. Location was definitely good, but a little further from the real city centre than I thought (still walking distance though).

    The hotel was very nice, a bit old fashioned but that's all part of the charm. There are excellent facilities and kind, helpful staff. Marvelous breakfast. The room was nothing special, but fine. There's a cheap and safe parking garage right around the corner. We didn't use the sauna but it looked great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    Warm, Clean, Friendly Hotel close to Main Rail Station: Non-Corporate "Old Town-House" ambience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy 3 minute walk from Rail Station which has a 5-7 minute rail connection to airport. Great buffet breakfast with eggs prepared freshly to order. Everything absolutely clean, spacious room with a big radiator (nice to regulate the temperature without have airco blowing all night). Everywhere nice & warm even though snowy outside. Very helpful & professional staff throughout. Free Public Transport Pass for local trams, underground & buses.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.7
    Central Location near the train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The staff were somehow depressed/unfriendly 2. The elevator doesn't reach the rooms directly, and you have to carry your bags up/down more stairs to reach your room.

    Central Location near the train station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location. Friendly personal. Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .

    Close to the railway station and excellent to explore the city. Breakfast was very good with a varied buffet. Personal was friendly and helpful and did all they could to make our stay comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No means of adjusting heat in one of the rooms.

    Lovely staff. Excellent breakfast. Ticket for free public transport for the duration of our stay. Ideal location near the Haupybahnhof, making travel around the Duesseldorf area very convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Well reccommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from what sounded like an extractor fan disturbed my sleep for two nights

    Excellent choices for breakfast and ideally located to Düsseldorf Central Station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Location is superb if you come and go by train, since...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside is that, depending on the location of your room (mine was on the "in-between" floor) can be a bit noisy since you hear footsteps of people moving up and down the stairs. I guess that does not happen if you are moved back to a more secluded corner. Again, I could sleep with no issues and the bed was very comfy (I suffer from light sleep, so anything wakes me up)

    Location is superb if you come and go by train, since it's really close to the station. Also a 10 minute walk to the center of town, so easy to drop the luggage and go for a walk. Room is cozy, comfy, with space to put your luggage, nice desk and light. Breakfast is varied and, as a veggie, I could find some nice options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit small

    It's conveniently located near the main station, just a couple of minutes walk. The hotel also provide you a free public transportation card so you don't need to pay to go around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel close to the train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are quite thin so that you can hear noise from neighbouring rooms - especially when the neighbours are taking a shower, it gets really loud. In my case, the price was just ridiculous, but this was due to a huge fair that was taking place in Cologne at the time I was there (the rules of demand and supply, I guess).

    When you arrive with the train, the hotel is very conveniently located. Also, there are several restaurants in the area (especially some very good Japanese ones). The breakfast ist quite good. Also, the staff is really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel, close to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's no parking available at the hotel but there's a cheap Parkhaus over the road (the big blue building on Google Streetview). This Parkhaus is a bit run down and probably needs painting but it's safe, secure and only charges €6 for every 24hrs. Parking outside the hotel (for unloading) isn't ideal but I was able to unload and load my luggage without too much difficulty.

    The room was a nice size and the bathroom was fine. Breakfast was a good buffet style with the option of freshly cooked eggs (which were very nice!). The hotel provides a card that allows free use of public transport (Underground and tram) which was really useful since the best bars and restaurants of the Altstadt are a 20-25min walk away (or 2 stops on the U-bahn). Staff were friendly and the price seemed reasonable. The wi-fi used an annoying secondary log-in but was fast and stable once connected. I liked this hotel, I'm likely to stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    A Historic but Slight Worn-Out Hotel with Good Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel rooms seem a little worn out.

    The location is very good, very close to the main train station. Its (included) breakfast is also very good - they even have smoked salmon. A pass for local transportation is included for the days you stay at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    homely service with convenient location. Great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floorboards in the room (mine and the one above mine) were creaky. They went to bed late and I got up early, with obvious inconvenience. Should be easy to fix. Fire escape route - down four stairs, up four stairs then through a guest room. I am sure it meets the regulations but a bit worrying all the same.

    The location is just great. Really only two minutes from the station. The staff are helpful and the free ticket for local transport is a bonus saving time and money the next day. Breakfast is homely with prepared to order eggs and good quality ingredients at the buffet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    This hotel has lots of old world charm and the breakfast is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was inconsistent.

    This hotel has lots of old world charm and the breakfast is exceptional. Fifty percent of the food comes from the owners farm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable short stay in Dusseldorf hotel and visit to Cologne and Dusseldorf sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thicker towels and firm smaller pillows? Very little we did not like.

    It seemed a well located boutique hotel with good facilities, excellent breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Pleasant stay in a conveniently located hotel with great breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small elevator

    Walking distance from train station, delicious buffet breakfast, fruits for guests, sauna and pool available, free transpo offered, friendly staff--over all value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    Good location for transport and city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit tired, could do with redecorating. Shower very small.

    The hotel was very close to the main railway station and easy to find. Buffet breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Quiet with no fuss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee making facilities in room would be nice.

    My flight had been over night so I'd struggled to sleep the first night. The night bar staff were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.0
    Painful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Racism, the hotel owner asked her staff about our nationality and told him that she does not like our stay in her hotel, she was not aware that I understand German language. I checked in at night and checked out early morning as I had high concern about the safety of my family and the consciousness of wrong or foolish behaviour by hotel owner. I wonder why Booking.com had listed this hotel!!

    The only gentle staff at reception when we checked in

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful staff, Sauna facilities, Free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cracks in wall/bath

    Friendly and helpful staff, Sauna facilities, Free transportation card for the whole stay (includes metro, train, bus etc. in the whole wide vicinity)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Small, charming hotel in the middle of Dusseldorf center.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I had stayed one more day in Dusseldorf. The city is very touristic and has nightlife. I ate Schweinehaxe, Sauerkraut and Kartoffel in Alu-folie (baked potato)

    Small, charming hotel in the middle of Dusseldorf center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    6.3
    + Breakfast is quite good, tasty, varied, in a family-like...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Difficult to park in front of hotel, even at arrival or leaving; however, there is a convenient parking lot two blocks away.

    + Breakfast is quite good, tasty, varied, in a family-like atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything is perfect!

    Location. In the heart of City and silence. Friendly staff and tasteful breakfast. Try reindeer meat and homemade jams! They give a free transportataion card. Great value!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    4.2
    'OK'
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The [single] room was very small. No air conditioning. The hotel smelled of cigarettes. My room had a fire exit right outside the window, made me feel vulnerable.

    Location is good, near restaurants and the u-bahn and not in the noisy 'old town' The breakfast buffet was good Staff were polite It was inexpensive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were incredibly soft and comfortable! It's an older building, but very cute and very conveniently located (a block from the train station). The breakfast was great with lots of variety. All the staff was friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Convenient location, very good vaue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spotty wireless internet connection in our case, but not sure if that is the norm.

    Excellent location (few mins walk away from the main train station) and superb staff - very helpful. Very nice breakfast in the morning and the beds were very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.3
    Value for money and accessible from the Dusseldorf railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was restricted to one user only. Internet Speed can be improved

    Enjoyed the breakfast which was wholesome and a good spread. I was given a free pass for 1 day on any public transportation within Dusseldorf. Very hospitable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Great convenience, excellent breakfast, extraordinary price to value ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The convenience of a hotel a few steps from most central railroad stations usually comes at the price of not being in a upscale neighborhood. Perhaps this is why the price of the Bismark is so reasonable. Nevertheless the neighborhood was interesting and seemed safe. I didn't actually dislike this feature but would alert others that they will probably not spend a lot of time near the hotel. Nevertheless the main shopping area and market place are about a 10 minute walk and the old town is about a 15 minute walk. On the positive side the HOP on HOP off tour bus originates less than five minutes form the hotel.

    The convenience of a hotel a few steps from the Hauptbanhof is always a plus. But in this case the cost to value ratio was outstanding. I had a very comfortable bed and private bath with an "rain" shower head. Plus the breakfast was excellent. I was offered my choice of fried or scrambled eggs and the buffet selection featured a great variety of meats, cheeses, breads. I was able to order a double espresso at no extra cost. I would have expected all of this is had been paying a premium rate but the price of this hotel was lower than I am used to paying for more Spartan fare.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel for travel.
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WIFI is very very slow and not stable, not suitable for any business use.

    location is fine, near the HBF station. Staff provide a transportation card for the city use. the receptionist seems to remember everyone in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small but friendly and in good order. Was veery hot when we went and hotel did not have aircon (but was being installed) we knew this before we booked so can't complain.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Fab hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was really nice and very close to the Train station with a great breakfast. We were there during a very hot weekend, 35 degrees, which meant the rooms were very hot. The staff have said that they are installing AirCon, which would have made our time it even better. Lovely hotel, would recommend!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Very good if you do not need a swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a pool but .... it looks only good on the picture .... you will never use it !! We choose this Hotel because our little son wanted to go swimming and this day we had over 30 °. We went than with the car to the "Düsselstrand" public swimming pool. Another point: unfortunately the only family room goes to the main street - it was hot, we had to open the window and it was too noisy until very late in the night.

    Good location. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortabel Beds. Good breakfast. Very calm and quiet rooms to the back of the house (but family room to the busy noisy main street). Nearby parking only for 6 Euro a day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect if you want to travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 30 was on the street side and suffered slightly from outside noise with the window open, but strangely I slept better than I usually do. Light sleepers or people who go to bed early might prefer a room not on that side.

    Location and free travel ticket covering a very large area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.3
    Pass for free public transport in the entire Ruhr region!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms have very poor noise isolation, you can hear TV, people talk, etc. in neighbouring rooms.

    Pass for free public transport in the entire Ruhr region! Breakfast better than in most 3 star hotels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom amenities - there were none. But it is 3 stars hotel, so it probably is what you don't get. The price was too high, but that was due the fair in city.

    Breakfast was very good. Surprisingly comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.9
    Just 150 metres from Dusseldorf railway station, yet quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite small rooms, furniture ageing.

    Just 150 metres from Dusseldorf railway station, yet quiet room, especially if you have a room at the back. Perfect for train transit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.5
    Good location near station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor and fittings could do with updating.

    Very close to the main railway station. Excellent buffet breakfast. Good wifi in my room. Staff spoke good English and understood my poor German!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Best in Dusseldorf
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very close the central station, and pubs area you can easly reach! They give a free transport card :) Breakfast was wonderful, room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.0
    good breakfast ans friendly morning staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small, furniture is old and smells. Bathroom wasn't clean and dirty/dusty. Not worse value of money.

    good breakfast ans friendly morning staff. Close to main train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    Very recommendebal, Convenient because of its location with very good breakfast,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This hotel is perfect situated - very close to Hauptbahnhof and the city center. The perfect was excellent - also with fresh squeezed juice and fresh fried eggs, if you wanted.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Value for stay, Kind Staff, Perfect for a short stay! Will come back ....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old building, some construction work going on outside the building (morning) at the time I stayed there. But I'm sure otherwise it's calm. It did not disturb me at night though.

    Very friendly staff. Even organised a charger for my phone late in the evening. Nice breakfast spread. Freshly cooked eggs. Felt like home!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.3
    The location is the most important reason for me to choose...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I took a 23Kg luggage with me. There is an elevator but the are stills floors and to be honest it was sooooo hard for me to carry my luggage from the elevator to my room because there are still a lot of steps and it was really heavy. The check out time is 11 am but according to my experiences,it is always 12 am.. but it is ok!

    The location is the most important reason for me to choose this hotel again. It is only a 5-min-walk to the main train station. When you go out of the hotel, the station can be seen. The breakfast is okay and the single room is always fine for me.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location, average facility, good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility is old, wooden structure doesn't provide good noise isolation.

    Very convenient location, close by central station, all kinds of restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The guy at reception on Sunday afternoon who refused to give the key to me as another couple were filling out a form. he was doing nothing and it would have taken him 1 second to hand the key over. The German couple then asked him to give me the key which he did but he then slammed it on the counter. That was not good especially as we have been to this Hotel many times in the past. Apart from him the other staff were first class

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    Best value for money in Dusseldorf
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really...Nothing.

    The hotel is very clean, and the rooms are cousy. The breakfast is very good and has a variety to choose from. Rooms are not that big, but for one person or a couple are enough. The beds are very, very comfortable (for my taste) :). The location of the property is meters away from the Central Station from Dusseldorf, which is useful for business travelers.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    As usual excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On a minor note it would be nice to have more extended late checkout.

    Not our first stay here and everything is perfect as usual - location, breakfast, personnel, etc.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.3
    A little bit old furnished, but clean, top located with excellent breakfast and WiFi!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit old furnished.

    Perfect location in the city center a few steps from the main train station. Clean hotel with top location, excellent breakfast and perfect WiFi!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    9.2
    Great location: close to station, close to Japanese quarter...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel is in a time warp back to the 80's when it was last renovated - that's not bad - just a comment to help you imagine

    Great location: close to station, close to Japanese quarter with restaurants. Hotel offers free public transport pass

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    7.1
    Location and staff were the highlight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms and old hotel. Smoking allowed throughout - perhaps a European thing but this really did leave a poor taste in our mouths.

    Location and staff were the highlight. Very central (up street from Main station) with multi-lingual and gracious front desk staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    3.3
    The location is very good, city center and the central train...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating was working but the room was somehow still very cold and smelt musty. Breakfast was very moderate. They could not issue an printed invoice - it was a form with handwritten amounts. They charged a high price during the trade fair time. Overall it was not worth the money.

    The location is very good, city center and the central train station is just 5 min by walk

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.2
    Great location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent location! Just a few minutes of walking to the Central Railwaystation. The staff was very helpful in all my requests. The breakfast was excellent and had a good variety.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location and very good breakfast, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small and inconveniently planned bathroom with a tiny bathtub; Wi-Fi/internet quality in the room was very poor, in-fact I did not have internet, even to check e-mail.

    Excellent location and very good breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.8
    Second Visit But Not the Last!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little busy at breakfast as only small breakfast room but it seemed that everyone came down at once this particular morning. Otherwise plenty of choice.

    Near the hauptbahnhof. This is our second visit-would recommend as very good B/B. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.3
    A good base when visiting Dusseldorf
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outdated decor, clean but tired looking.

    Location close to station and the city, friendly and helpful staff - especially Marius, excellent and tasty breakfast, comfortable beds, free public transportation and useful information.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    7.1
    The hotel is very close to the train station, in a safe zone...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little distant from the city centre, although the hotel provides a free transportation ticket.

    The hotel is very close to the train station, in a safe zone and the single room is clean and quite comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    close to Dusseldorf hauptbahof 5 mins walk
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing all was fine.

    close to Dusseldorf hauptbahof 5 mins walk nice buffet breakfast,dont forget to ask for you free Dusseldorf transport card from the hotel,great saving.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Bismarck traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: