Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Blaue Gams ***S This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Vogelherdweg 12, 82488 Ettal, Germany

#2 of 8 hotels in Ettal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 709 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Nice discovery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Part of our road trip, last minute booking. Nice drive up the little hill. Great reception. Rooms are traditional but spotless. Nice terrace overlooking the monastery. Good food, had both dinner and breakfast. Sauna and swimming pool (but only between 14h and 20h). Traveling quite often to boutique hotels, this is a different style but underrated!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent and great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really like the location and the view from the balcony. The staff was always so friendly and were always willing to help their guests. It was a great experience and would recommend to stay at this property if you would like to have a beautiful view from the balcony.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, clean and well located for our journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, clean and well located for our journey. The staff are super helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good. The restaurant downstairs have very good food and is a great place to have sundowners. Overall, good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    A charming hotel in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wifi was very unstable in our room and we found it easier to sit in reception with the iPad if we needed to use the wifi.

    The Gasthof Blaue Gams is located in the beautiful village of Ettal and is close to local tourist attractions and places to visit. The breakfast was excellent each morning with a wide variety of meats, fruit, cereals and teas. The room was very clean and the setting was wonderful. We chose to have our evening meal at the hotel on a couple of occasions and found the food delicious. We had a wonderful time and would certainly recommend the Gasthof Blaue Gams to anyone else intending to visit Bavaria.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    A jewel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We are on a 18 hotel European adventure. Thus hotel was one of our blow the budget nights and it was worth it. Understated luxury. Great food, upgraded to a suite with a balcony overlooking the monastery . Kids loved it. Staff and owner all lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    The town of Ettal was quaint with a beautiful location in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival, the lady at the reception was flustered about a few guests arriving early. Informed her we didn't need to check in, just wanted to leave luggage. Another guest was in our room so he had to be moved and room cleaned. Clerk was a lot more upset about it than us - didn't make a good first impression. Also, not very hungry one evening and asked if we could just get a sandwich. Waiter said all they had was what was on the menu. The next morning at breakfast, there was lots of bread, sliced meats and cheeses. Can't imagine that wasn't available the evening before.

    The town of Ettal was quaint with a beautiful location in the Alps region. Easy drive to Obermmamagau and Garmisch. Very nice young man at reception once evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    A lovely, rustic hotel in a stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Any image can't do justice to this fantastic hotel perched on the side of a hill looking down a stunning valley. It is as rustic as the photo suggests and immaculate. A little haven.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful location and view, great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds in the room are very hard, and the bathroom needs a bit of a remodelling. Hotel staff were not so nice and were very grumpy at check in, and the same was noted at the restaurant. While some rooms are said to be nonsmoking, people are smoking outside on the balconies and patio all the time, and the smoke enters the rooms through open windows (needed to cool down the hot rooms). Minibar very minimally stocked.

    Beautiful location, the flowers on the balconies were beautiful, the view of Abbey was exquisite! Breakfast room and lobby very nice, and breakfast was really good! Restaurant location was very pretty and romantik, and food at restaurant was perfect!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    This is our second time staying at this hotel and it may be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is our second time staying at this hotel and it may be my favorite hotel of all time. The view from the hotel is unbeatable. Gorgeous mountain views, Ettal abbey below, and a gorgeous, clean property. The rooms are spotless and beautifully done and the hotel has a spa that's included with the stay. The spa is stunning and is a must see. The views from the relaxation room of the clouds and mountains are just as it says "relaxing." I can't wait to come visit again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel, staff too rigid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were denied our dessert on one of the nights because we finished our meal two minutes after the kitchen closed at 22:00. They could have warned us and asked if we wanted something else. Needless to say we ventured out into the town for our next meal. Also, we were denied a drink on the covered terrace because it was raining. There was always a bar service on the terrace except on a rainy day even if the terrace was under cover... apparently.

    The views were very scenic, sitting on the terrace was lovely even when raining. The restaurant food was very good. Hotel provided a cabin feel, very cosy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Charming hotel with lovely view overlooking Ettal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom could have been larger. The shower is quite small, but the lovely balcony made up for that.

    We had a view facing the Ettal Abbey and our balcony terrace was lovely. Although the room wasn't that big, it was clean and the bed was very comfortable! The restaurant of the hotel is excellent and I highly recommend it! My husband and I ate dinner both nights of our stay there. My husband had two different pork dishes and I had two vegetarian dishes--all excellent! The homemade cheesecake (Käsekuchen) was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Really nice hotel in a really picturesque town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite having a lovely restaurant and outdoor area, this hotel has no actual bar, however drinks can be ordered from staff

    Great locatio, our room had a beautiful view over the Ettal Abbey

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Took my breath away, wonderfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really

    The Wellness area and patio was superb, so relaxing. The look, feel and ambiance of the hotel was excellent. Great location to explore the area and easy to find.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice and attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sauna was closed after 9 pm. If you plan to go to the sauna, I recommend to check a working hours.

    Very nice and attentive staff. The room is in a nice mountain, perhaps Bavarian style. All is very clean. For 3 star hotel, I can say that you get almost 4 star service. The overview from the window is amazing, especially in the morning. The breakfast is not so much choice, but everything is very tasty and fresh.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    The Hotel is perched on tiny hill that gives a great view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is perched on tiny hill that gives a great view of the quiet and peaceful town of Ettal. Room was neat and comfortable. Friendly staff at the Hotel and Restaurant. Tasty breakfast and dinner. Did not have time to use the steam room or sauna unfortunately !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Nice vacation with high variety options for sport and culture
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wellness should be opened longer. Currently the wellness is closing at 8pm. Should be at least until 9 or 10pm.

    Outstanding view and perfect location close to cross country skiing trails.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Staying here was a beautiful start to our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I would go back tomorrow if I could.

    Breakfast excellent, beds very comfortable,quiet surroundings, beautiful drives and walking paths nearby. View from the hotel, which is high on a hill, is stunning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    We arrived at the hotel in the evening when it was already...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at the hotel in the evening when it was already dark. What was our surprise when we wake up early in the morning and went out - there was not such a beauty! The view at that foggy autumn rainy morning was spectacular! With the Ettal abbey downhill in front of us and the beautiful Alps behind, it was a real pleasure to watch the amazing scenery of the birth of the new day. Simply amazing! Such a beautiful and cozy hotel with exellent location, polite staff and wonderful breakfast. Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    The best place to stay in Ettal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel Blaue Gams is a real treat and our room had beautiful views of the Monastery and mountains. Rooms are a nice size and convenient. Breakfast is great and the restaurant serves good meals.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely wonderful and well worth the upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always check when booking with Booking.com that you aren't being given an inferior room. The same thing happened at the next place we stayed, again booked through Booking.com.

    The staff were excellent and the view from the terrace wonderful. The room we were originally allocated was at the back of the building and was very dark as it did not get much natural light. There was a very steep hillside immediately outside our window with no view so we upgraded to a fantastic room( at €40 extra per night) with views over the monastery.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.4
    Garden not allowed for children!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned shower. We hardly got warm water. The garden with sunbading seats appeared to be only accessible for sauna users and was forbidden for children. We were allowed to sit ON THE GROUND IN THE GRASS at the entrance of the hotel! Unacceptable for the price we paid! Especially since this is nowhere mentioned on the inernet.Commercially not clever. Receptionist ran behind us to claim the 2 Euro guest Card while we had spent 1500 euro for 7 days! She almost pretended we hadn't paid!!

    Very nice location. Good breakfast.very good restaurant. Generally very friendly personnel in restaurant except for one waiter in tiroler outfit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice but....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast.. We had only one dinner at their restaurant: good quality but nothing else.. unhappy situation with waiter asking for tips and not happy with what we decided, he charged 1€more.. obviously it's not the money, it's the principle!!

    Two saunas and a nice relaxing area.. the view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    The hotel was located in a quaint village with stunning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a little tricky at night when the lot was full.

    The hotel was located in a quaint village with stunning views and very close to many activities. The staff was friendly and helpful and the grounds were well maintained.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    The idyllic setting, charming views, & welcoming staff made our stay memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like that we only had time to stay here for only the two nights.

    Staff was welcoming & accommodated our request to stay another night, though not in the hotel but in the guest house adjacent to the hotel.Beds were perfect,fire pit (pic) next to outdoor dining area was awesome, food & beer were delish!The monastery (picture from balcony) chimes & the tinkle of the sheep (picture from balcony) on the hill added charm, & the fab breakfast (included!) was a German feast! All of the staff were friendly & spoke beautiful English, as well as several other languages.Email communications were answered quickly too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    It was
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c. It was very hot. No Light covers on the bed only Very heavy duvets. Lots of Bees that Made it impossible to eat outside and enjoy the fresh air n

    It was near the sites we wished to Visit. Staff was mostly friendly. Rooms were Clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    We loved it and will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lighting in the rooms could definitely be improved and the free wifi which runs via a hotspot is shockingly slow which is particularly annoying as there is no 3G/ 4G at all.

    The location is unbelievably beautiful especially if you get a room with a balcony facing the abbey. There are walks/ hikes that start right at the hotel and locations such as Garmisch and Oberammergau are just a stone's throw away. The staff is super friendly too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing stay in beautiful valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a little outdated.

    Loved the Wellness centre; Rustic restaurant with great food; Breakfast room was spacious and welcoming and great choice. Lovely Balcony and views. Great ambience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel with beautiful scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To say something-scrambled eggs not good, otherwise breakfast correct, according to 3*.

    Amazing view from balcony,excellent location, cosy room, staff very kind and helpful, good restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant Surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little hard. It would have been nice to have a fan in the room.

    The view was absolutely gorgeous and the room was very cute, cabin like with a balcony! They have an outdoor restaurant that you can take in the views at, that provided blankets once the sun set and it cooled off. Breakfast was included that provided a variety of options. Tha hotel also had onsite parking. We enjoyed the sheep grazing on the mountain, it didn't bother us but they had little bells attached to their necks the made noise. Front desk clerk was very friendly and I think it was the owner who came around as we we're enjoying the view and drinks to check how everything was!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Picturesque and affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was quite hard. We find this to be the norm all over Germany but our bed at this hotel in particular was so hard it made sleeping difficult. The other common problem with the bedding is the lack of covers other than a thick fluffy comforter/blanket. It's very hot to sleep under but without it you have no cover at all. Again this is in every hotel there. Even with these issues this hotel is still an excellent place to stay.

    The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Eggs and sausage were served. The setting is picturesque with an awesome hiking trail behind it. The restaurant while somewhat pricey serves delicious dinners and outstanding desserts. The staff was very friendly and helpful, most of them speaking English. The rooms were nice, roomy and clean. Ours had sheep (complete with bells around their necks) grazing just outside on the hill. It's surrounded by mountains so the view is spectacular.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    A charming Bavarian hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've got nothing.

    I've stayed at this hotel three times now - and I'd go back for a fourth. Its country comfort can't be beat, nor its location. Its breakfast is delicious and filling. Its dinner menu is likewise delicious - home cooked Bavarian. The staff speaks English well and is both helpful and engaging. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the location is prime - go to Linderhof, and to the Ettal Abbey. After your night's stay, it's a short and beautiful drive around the Plansee back into Germany at Schwangau to visit Neuschwanstein.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice Beautiful Hotel in Ettal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi only working in lobby during our stay.

    Surrounding Scenery, helpful staff, walking distance to Ettal Abby. We use this hotel as our based to visit Linderhof Castle and Neuschwanstein castle. Garmisch is also closed by.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location. Great hotel with friendly staff. The breakfast is delicious, the food at the restaurant is great as well. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.3
    Great location, small but cozy and modern sauna area, but rusty rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was generally not very nice (with some exceptions, of course). They were not very friendly, and for instance they reminded us that borrowing an umbrella (the only one available, actually) meant an automatic caution of 20 EUR (whereas others would simply lend it, as one would expect). For the overall price, a better breakfast could be expected (even though it was not 'bad' per se). There was also an inconsistency (on the hotel's advantage) in the invoice between the advertised price and the actual charge. As a guest, I do understand that room renovations might be costly and expensive; but the bedding was poor and very uncomfortable; the bathroom was clean but very small; the room (a "comfort" one), in general, looked old and neglected (aggresive lighting, i.e. just the light bulbs, and so on). Finally, there is free WIFI but it requires logging in too frequently.

    The location is obviously very good, with a beautiful view of Ettal Abbey from some rooms and the wellness area. The wellness area is a plus *if* you are going to use it -- it is not huge and might get crowded, as not only guests are entitled to use it. You can relax while enjoying a great view of the surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.6
    Romantic place and beautiful viewsp
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna and spa area is working till 7:30 in the evening, bery strange working hours for resort

    Near monachery, best restaurant, nice service and location very very good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    Wonderful view on the monastery and a very confortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV in the room has a blue ligth at night...it's a little bit annoying and I forgot to tell the personal about it...a detail that could be easily fix.

    Wonderful view on the monastery and a very confortable and cosy hotel. Good food. Sauna is fantastic !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.3
    excellent location,clean room and delicious breakfast
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi was very low,area of parcking was not enough for cars of guests,the blanket on the beds was short not enough to cover all your bod.

    excellent location,clean room and delicious breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.3
    Stunning views
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Advertised as EUR 490 however they tried to charge me EUR 518.90 Bathroom needed modernisation. The hotel reception was not manned at night and the combination to the key safe was stuck to the door so anyone could let themselves in. Unfortunately the hotel restaurant/bar was only open for the first night that I stayed there. No kettle which considering its star rating and price was disappointing

    The views of the monastery were amazing although I stayed in the premium room and had views of the bank at the back of the hotel which was a little disappointing so I recommend a standard double or even the single to get these views. The onsite spa was amazing and very relaxing also if you were a resident in the hotel it was included in the cost. Very large room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.6
    Great Vacation Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Difficulty getting on wifi in room. Lobby OK.

    Outstanding location (if you have automobile). Beautiful spa, and great views of mountains and abbey/town below. Very clean. Friendly staff. Restaurant comfortable and food very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    6.3
    Don't waste your time here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The negatives here: The front desk ladies did not speak hardly any English and the younger one was very rude. I had specifically reserved a room with a balcony. My room had none. The room was very tiny and the bathroom was smaller than tiny and outdated with a terrible, cheap shower in it. The pictures completely misrepresented the class of room that I had reserved. I complained to the front desk about the balcony and was told they were booked and could not move me, even though I checked in at 2pm that afternoon. There is NO wifi in this hotel. Not in the reception room, not outside and certainly not in the room. Another misrepresentation on the part of the hotel. I was in Europe for 3 weeks and stayed at 13 different hotels during that time and I can truthfully state that this hotel is the worst one I stayed at.

    This property had a nice location at the top of a hill just off the main drag through Ettal. I found the street sign easily enough to get there. The entrance to the hotel is up a very narrow, one lane, winding alley. The view from the hotel's outdoor dining area was beautiful. The menu was expansive and the food very good. The restaurant staff were the only pleasant people there and were very attentive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    This place is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is amazing! Stunning views, comfy beds, clean rooms, and a free sauna and relaxation room that is extremely beautiful and relaxing. I can't wait to go back. This place is straight out of a fairy tale.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    This accommodation really heightened our love of the local area. Was fantastic - highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Helpful staff, beautiful accommodation - would definitely stay here again if we were to come back to the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Every things are ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not incloud many shoises

    Every things are ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Special vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and confortable room. Friendly and professional staff. Amazing scenery.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful front desk excellent food quality and comfortable room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Room with a great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was rather small.

    The view is just awesome! Friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, excellent restaurant, super location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location. Excellent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location with good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location Food Clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    A romantic stay in the Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been elaborate, at least a live egg station.

    Loved the Hunter's steak and the Apple Strudel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.7
    The location was nice and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were lumpy and too bulky. The blanket was rough and heavy.

    The location was nice and peaceful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location Excellent service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Beautiful location, lovely food for eating in, great sauna and steam, centrally located, great staff, romantic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Ettal, a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, fantastic views from our balcony, great food, quiet and peaceful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Great view from the balcony of the Abbey.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pork leg in the restaurant was dry and not recommended.

    Great view from the balcony of the Abbey. Great spa facilities and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    View on monastery was unbelievable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was awesome for the location and I was upgraded to bigger room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Great staff, food was good, neat place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lot of the shops in town were closed during the week and on weekends.

    Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel with amazing mountain views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff. Beautiful location with a great spa. Room was cozy with basic amenities. Great stay overall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Overall we were very pleased with the accommodations and the location was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a bit too hard, room was too warm.

    Hospitality of staff, cleanliness, good breakfast, overall presentation of the facility.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Good saunas for all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mountain view has been indicated In description of the room, but it was backstage with ugly view

    Good saunas for all. Interesting menu in restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    The view, the friendliness, the spa area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view, the friendliness, the spa area. It is the second time we came here as we live the charm of the place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful location, a real introduction to Bavaria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated rooms

    The rooms need an update; a little shabby but what a location and view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit outdated bathroom

    Friendly staff, nice location. Selection of local dishes Nice view on the Kloster

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful location to all attractions that we wanted to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a bit too hard

    Wonderful location to all attractions that we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay for Oberammergau and Linderhof Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location, the staff and the restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    The view was fantastic, the staff were very friendly, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was fantastic, the staff were very friendly, the sauna was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    familiäre Atmosphäre
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    familiäre Atmosphäre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    The mountain views were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mountain views were fantastic. We enjoyed the outdoor dining and firepit listening to the bells of the monnestary below.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second stay at this property was as expected: excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful lodging, would love to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel, nice room, excellent service and location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    Location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff didn't change our bed sheets for two nights, but overall the room and bathroom were clean !

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom was a bit dated

    Great location with direct view of the Abbey. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    A true single room and a sauna with great views over the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A true single room and a sauna with great views over the basilica

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful Bavaria
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was terrible

    The hotel, the romantic tow the outdoor activity the wellness room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice surroundings, restaurant and breakfast was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some Guy's of the staf should learn to smile

    Nice surroundings, restaurant and breakfast was good! Very Nice sauna!!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: