Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Riede

Osterhop 40, Hemelingen, 28309 Bremen, Germany

#20 of 22 B&Bs and Inns in Bremen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 521 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    5.9

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived in Bremen, I called to the hotel to find out, how to get there, ask about the closest tram station and smt. But personal answered me that they speak and understand only in "Turkish and Germanish". After I truly tried to understand them and make a conversation, they repeated that they dont understand, while even not trying and the next thing i heard was phone beeping. I dont think that its a normal attitude to the customer. What is more... Its quite far away from the city center. You need to take 2 different tram and it may take around 45 minutes or even more. And they accepted only cash, no credit cards.

    Breakfast was really nice. The area is quiet and calm. The room was big, warm and the bed was fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear everything, including plates in the kitchen getting put down on a table in the early morning by a guest, even though we were not on the same floor as the dining area. Wi-Fi was too slow to use and the tv was flickering on every channel. No soap in the shower.

    Kind and nice owner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got room 27, right next to the door. The staff did pull trolleys during the night. And every time they opened the dog it was a bang in my door. So no sleep at all all night. And my dogs woke all the time to. Sorry. But will never stay there again. Even if it only was 39 euro I would be better sleeping in the car. 😕😕

    Nothing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First of all, property does not look much like the pictures, and it was like a maze getting to it.. Very run down, and the "garden" is an over run piece of lawn. When we got there to check in, no one was there. Rang the bell a few times. Still no one came. We could hear someone upstairs, so my husband went up and found the cleaning girl, who spoke very little English. After about 45 minutes, she reached the boss, and was granted permission to escort us up to our room. Looked clean enough. Windows were wide open, and it was a chilly day, so we closed them before we left for the day. When we came back that evening, the room had the most foul smell that we could not place. We opened the windows (which had some blackish mold on the inside) wide. Could still smell the odor all night....not sure, but think it came from the vent in the bathroom......Checked out immediately the next morning. Both my husband and I began feeling ill the next afternoon sore throats, hacking cough, headaches, and some lightheadedness.. It's been almost a week, and we are still not right. We were in Germany for 3 weeks, even stayed in a hostel, and this property was by far the worst.

    We could park for free.....on the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic facilities and I have noticed some furnishing demages. However for that prize I didn't expect anything more. Price was fair enough.

    Breakfast - big choice Staff - extremally nice Price- good value for money Rooms - very big

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like the manager baviors atall. His not suppose to be working in that Hotel. Very bad atitudes

    The manager in that hotel is too bad he behaves like animal and no human feelings atall. Very bad atitudes with racis behaves

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find, even with sat. nav., due to street closures. Derelict supermarket opposite.

    Quiet residential location, comfortable room, decent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mold and stinky sewerage in the bathroom - it was impossible to take a shower! Noise of landing planes were very disturbing... The hotel needs to be cleaned up from inside and outside :(

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good quality/price. Rooms: small and simple but clean and neat. The beds are perfect: large and confortable, with perfect linen. Large choice of breakfirst, included in price. Very nice and welcoming staff. Hotel location: in a quiet area, away from traffic and city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place to stay on a budget. You go to the centre by a bus and street car, at night we walked back (a looong walk). Very kind and helpful owner. Breakfast was OK, German style.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor service . Owner would not accept card sent us to cash machine 2km away to pay cash only which was not mentioned at the beginning.. poor breakfast and very smelly room and bathroom.spent a very uncomfortable night . One of the worst booking with booking.com ,wouldn't recommend for anyone with family.

    Nothing ..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very basic accommodation, some clientele looked a bit dodgy, location is at the end of a residential area. My family was starting to worry where I was taking them as it was starting to look a bit unsafe but it was OK.

    Friendly staff, clean and spacious room for 3 , nice continental breakfast buffet, comfy beds near A1 motorway. We were looking for a place to spend the night on our way across Germany to catch the Kiel ferry to Sweden. We also wanted to pop into Bremen to see it's old town centre which is very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in reception was not kind,we arrived at 11 pm he was asleep and seemed angry when we arrived and disturbed his sleep.Lights in our room didn't work,he give us different room where half room was going outside like terase and it was freezing cold there to sleep for me with my 2 y old son.Not very clean and not cozy place,Service for that price very poor

    There was wifi and good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Television quality very poor, also image lost occasionally (probably an older tv set). I chose to pay by maestro on the booking.com website, but upon arrival could not, which robbed us of our last cash (little did I know that there weren't any eating locations locally that accepted maestro, resulting in a fitful search for somewhere to eat that evening). Walls were very thin, or the occupant next door could snore like a giant, woke the wife up, and kept her awake. Overall I would say the this is a BED and BREAKFAST, and if advertised as such wouldn't have complained as much, I feel that you expect more from a hotel, and this place fell short on all points. Especially considering that the cost here wasn't that different from other hotels I've used.

    Room was obviously cleaned prior to stay, clean sheets, friendly welcome, reasonably large room. Breakfast was simple but enough.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite close to the highway and the owner was a nice guy. Breakfast was versatile and good. Everything went nicely and rooms were clean and wifi was free. We were 3 guys with motorbikes and we could park our bikes on the property for no extra charge. Value for the money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's the worst experience we had with the hotel ever.It is difficult to speak English with Arabian staff and absolutely could not read the orders in English. Many of additional charges-one of which little dog for extra charge 8 Eur per night. Breakfast poor. Not worth the money paid and the name of HOTEL.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait 30 minutes for the owner to arrive while the cleaner tried to help....The first room had no curtains so we asked to move rooms!

    The beds were comfortable and the wifi was great!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, staff, manager, breakfast, room, service, location, quietness, everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel. The staff. The building itself was run down. Area was run down

    Nothing about the hotel. It was very poor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Imparate l inglese, learn inglish

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room too small - internet did not work at all !

    Close to Bremen city and highway

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for money Easy parking facility Good internet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather basic

    Cheap

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secure overnight parking for motorcycle

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no restaurant nearby.

    It's affordable .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean but needs modernising.

    Could do with a tidy up clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It isnt super clean

    If you only need a place to sleep this is a good place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor breakfast

    Cheap and tidy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no wifi during our stay,no staff on reception during specified hours

    quite clean, normal breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smells of mold.

    Good position in a relaxing area of Bremen. Nice owners.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ok for this price, quiet location , close to shops...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing - good hotel.

    Very nice room with good beds and bathroom. Very nice and helpful host who was more than happy to help us with anything we needed.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Is a little bit far from the downtown, but you can get a bus and a tram to reach it, and takes around 40 minutes. But the cost-benefit is really good!

    Clean, comfortable but small room. The people that work there are nice and the breakfast is good. I recomend!

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fulfilled my purpose within my economy budget. Obviously, the reason it is inexpensive is it is located well out of the centre of Bremen, but they were tolerant of me arriving and leaving late at night and early in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    little bit far from the city center.you need a car and gps to find the location, i am not sure about this ,better check with other reviews for the public transport.

    Friendly Staff.Value for money,it is a small room,but clean.nice garden behind the hotel.calm and quiet,free parking.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very dirty bathroom with many places with mold. Noise made by the planes landing in Bremen Airport and rails.

    Very kind staff on reception desk. Breakfast also good.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a little bit hard to reach the hotel by public transports it takes a lot of time comparing to using a taxi

    Nice rooms and nice stuff :) the guy at the hotel is a very nice person he helped me a lot

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was reasonably clean but very basic and had broken tiles and just didn't look that nice.

    Located in what looks like a council estate. When we arrived there were workmen outside who went off in a van. Man who greeted us friendly and helpful. Room was clean and spacious and the beds were new. Turned out to be nice and quiet. Had a very good and reasonably priced meal in the restaurant which the owner recommended - possibly run by other members of his family.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no soundproofing. All the time, i was thinking that it was somebody inside my room walking next to me. In the morning, the cleaner tried twice to enter the room, without any warning. Although the room was refaced, the coomon areas was really old. It takes 45 min. to the city center. Actually, you have to walk 200 m. to a bus station and then take a tram to the city center.

    The only good thing was the man at the reception, who is really very gentle even if he doesn' t speak English. Also, the room was clear.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Creepy building with a long dark corridor and rooms on each side. The room can get a bit noisy and it takes a bit to heat up the room. Not a single hook in the bathroom to hang the towel. Breakfast terrible, but no option to deselect if, even though it was mentioned separately on the invoice. The credit card machine didn't work for the whole stay even though they promised to fix it when we checked in, but there is a gas station nearby with an ATM, so we had to withdraw cash and pay by cash at check-out. We were asked to leave the rooms before the official check-out deadline, because the host had to go somewhere... weird...

    Good location if travelling by car. Close to the highway. One long road leads to the city center. Free parking - always spaces available. Basic room with OK facilities. Clean. Good value for money. OK stay if you spend most of the day sightseeing.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Little far from town

    Friendly, clean, well stocked, plain but ample breakfast, Wonderful Staff,

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The price and the Hotelier was so kind and helpful.He made me feel welcome

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not good possibilities for parking

    Good place for one night stay

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    The location is too far from the center.

    Breakfast was ok but no fruits.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor condition of bathroom´s equipment...

    Very good breakfast and helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Awful. List of 'services' in the room.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Family with older children

    The TV in room didn't work.

    The breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's only for one night for quick sleeping in long trip

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    sound carries in the room

    friendly staff value for money clean and comfy a supermarket is nearby

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    credit card machine not working and no restaurants nearby

    location was good for us

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Browse Hotel Riede traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: