Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Borchers This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schuhstr. 52, 29221 Celle, Germany

#8 of 29 hotels in Celle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 702 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    A good all round hotel in the old part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only minor, but when paying bill with card was not asked which currency I wanted to pay in. I assumed it would be euros, and was hit with an extra £30 fee as they converted to pounds without my knowledge. My card does not charge for conversion and has a decent exchange rate so not the best way to end a good stay. Emailed the hotel as soon as I got home and noticed the issue but no reply since.

    Good hotel in a central location in the old part of town. We had two rooms, both were spacious. One had a bath and the other a balcony. Nice decor and clean throughout. Staff friendly and helpful. Decent breakfast. Were very lucky with good weather for our 5 night stay. Would use again if we returned.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Probably best in Celle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could work on having a little more selection for breakfast. Example: French orange juice, omelette and pancakes. The items that was presented was excellent like the ham, and fruit salad. (Best I ever had in a hotel).

    Location is perfect, in the middle of beautiful Celle. Breakfast was very good. Rooms big clean and comfortable. Parking safe in hotels own garage.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Will use this hotel again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location with secure underground parking and extremely helpful and friendly staff. Room overlooked a secluded courtyard. Sitting outside was an unexpected bonus!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable! Would defiantly use Hotel Borchers again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been nice to have had tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Inconsiderate guests! Our room backed onto the patio and we were woken up each morning at 06:00 by two parties of guests using the patio as a short cut to the breakfast room instead of using the other sets of stairs and talking at the top of their voices despite being asked to reduce the volume twice over the weekend!

    Excellent, helpful staff. Could not have asked for a better location in Celle!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Very cosy and nice hotel in the middle of Altstadt of Celle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the hotel!

    Very cosy and nice hotel in the middle of Altstadt of Celle. Welcoming staff in the reception and very fast check in and check out. Our room was spacious and with a comfortable bed. Parking in an underground garage. Ordinary breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Ideal hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic room with a terrace, overlooking the small outdoor breakfast yard. Calm and beautiful and the room spacious. Excellent breakfast. And the hotel is perfectly situated in the old town. Could not be better and very priceworthy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    It was a nice room and great bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a challenge. Seemed to be more migrants here than in other parts of Germany.

    It was a nice room and great bathroom. Comfortable roomy and close to the old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    spacious rooms with terrace/balcony, excellent breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit difficult to find as it's located in the pedestrian zone, access to garage in a narrow driveway

    spacious rooms with terrace/balcony, excellent breakfast with lots of fresh ingredients from the region

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests smoke in the inner yard. Smoke comes to guest room if window is open. Underground parking is good, but you need help finding it

    Very nice inner yard accessible from the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    A pleasant surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quaint and comfy. Room spacious, adjoining a sunny courtyard, although weather too cold to enjoy. Staff very helpful, delivering an ironing board upon request. Highlight was the delicious breakfast, a great variety of savoury and sweet; German breads were excellent. Hotel right in the middle of old town within walking distance of all Celle attractions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    CeBIT relaxing place - Recommened !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi connection was not stable, and working time of hotel, we arrival at 06:00 on hotel and hotel was closed and need to go to other hotel and take the room key not so easy if you not have GPS.

    position of hotel, the park near the hotel, 40km from Hannover, but very easy way to go&back to the Messe CeBIT.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WIFI speed needs some improvement, sometimes it is hard to connect to it and once you do, connection speed is rather too low.

    It is one of the rare experiences when i can say - it was totally awesome. Celle is beautiful place and hotel is located in a heart of it, right next to the Celle Castle. Tons of places to eat for any taste, Karlstadt Mall is 5 minutes walking, grocery story - Penny is also about 5-7 minutes walking on the same street. Caring staff in the hotel with a great English was very helpful and nice. It is, certainly, a place to come back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.6
    Very very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Supernice rooms, nice area to sit outside of the room. Felt like an unique family-owned hotel. Location is perfect! Also remember that if you stay here you have access to pool/sauna etc at Althoff Hotel Fürstenhof - we used it and it was superb! Only 5-10 min walk from Borchers. Breakfast was also very good at Borchers. We did have a room with one big double bed + sofabed=good enough for 4 people (2 adults + 2 kids 6&8 years old)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.8
    I appreciated a strong feeing of privilege in sharing the heritage of this exceptioinal hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although I should have preferred to find already in the room a tray with kettle and choice of teas, coffee and biscuits, on contacting reception these were immediately placed in the room, AND ANYWAY the fridge was well stocked!

    The copious continental breakfast was exceptionally comprehensive and original in variety.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.8
    Stay very centrally in Celle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi weak, working only sporadically in reception area and breakfast room but not at all in room.

    Located right in the center of this picturesque town, easy to find by GPS/Navi, inhouse parking for eu12 (with car elevator). Friendly reception (but not functioning during the night), good in-town recommendations. Fairly spacious bright room with sofa, desk with electrical outlets, minibar but no in-room safe. Good bathroom with good separate shower room. Good bed nice, firm mattress, excellent sleep quality. Breakfast eu6 per person: excellent variety buffet including juices, coffee/tea, meats and sausages, 5 different and very good cheeses, excellent breads, butter and jam, choice of eggs, etc. An absolute steal for eu6! Overall: highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Very friendly and professional service people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I Think the most service minded and friendly personell I have met, and also professional. Having breakfast and a late glas of wine in the patio was something special.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.6
    Great character hotel in the heart of Celle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room 28 on the second floor. It involved a lift to first floor carrying our luggage through the dining room and another section of the hotel plus a second lift up to the 2nd floor. Not a big deal for younger people but not ideal after a long trip on a hot day for my 84 year old mother. Also the doors lock and lifts shut down at 10pm. Access to our 2nd floor room was then only available via a narrow marble (slippery) spiral staircase.

    Excellent location in the heart of Celle. I was very impressed that a rather expensive coat,which got left behind was happily handed back to us when we returned to collect it 2 days later. It was summer when we stayed and there was the option of having the lovely breakfast out on the terrace.The buffet breakfast was €6 pp and was excellent value. A range of bread, rolls cold meats and cheese as well as tea and coffee,cereals,fruit,juice,yoghurt and conserves etc.Some hot food was also available.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room hot at night but little they could do about that

    Easy to fine in old town, you can drive into pedestrianised area to get round to parking behind hotel. Free bottle of water nice touch. Spacious room with clear lighting where we could actually see in the room which is unusual nowadays. Wet room type shower. Nice breakfast terrace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    8.3
    Perfect spot for a stop on our way to the south.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff did not understand English

    Perfect spot for a stop on our way to the south. Breakfast was lovely. The hotel is right in the center of Celle. The parking was cool and a bit claustrophobic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Location ,nice touch with the dog with the bowl, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location ,nice touch with the dog with the bowl, staff friendly, my 11 year old thought the underground garage was very cool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    I would stay next time
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not aplicable

    everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Convenient but a bit noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice limited, and breakfast staff not very friendly

    Central location, parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous room, extremely clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous room, extremely clean. Staff was very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Nice and cozy hotel, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and cozy hotel, friendly and helpful staff. I was happy to find vegan options at the breakfast :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Great little hotel in a very good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Arrived later and left early so did not spend much time here but it is a pleasant little hotel in the centre of the city. Good rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Uu
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hotel in the middle of towm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Everything about the hotel and the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    I will come back to Borchers next time I'm in Celle
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice atmosphere, great bed and breakfast In the middle of the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Very convenient for town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the very centre of town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money for family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money for family room. Centrally located. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi problem

    Excellent breakfast in courtyard with helpful staff that allowed us to eat 10 minutes early.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Superb parking in the basement with elevator for the car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb parking in the basement with elevator for the car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Very nice room and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice room and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Celle is a very nice, small town and the hotel has a brilliant location. Breakfast was good and the room very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.8
    Hotel with perfect location. I always return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom.

    Big spacious room. Fine Breakfast. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Perfect weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.6
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    Everything perfect hotel very quiet

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.6
    Will make this our regular halfway stay between UK and Denmark
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problems accessing internet

    Both of us liked breakfast. We look forward to return in the summer to eat outside.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    9.2
    in the center of historic celle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    size of the room

    excellent position and as always kind people working in the hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    9.2
    Location was awesome, staff were great, very good breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No internet connection in our room.

    Location was awesome, staff were great, very good breakfast, secure, private parking.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    Perfect family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not good

    Perfect small hotel in a wonderful medivial town. Clean and proper. Perfect service. High class dinner

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.6
    Lovely cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything good. Nice staff. Lovely room. Located in centre of the town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, clean room and tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    9.6
    Lovely spot for exloring the local area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of parking

    Stunning location and views. Quirky decor. Substantial breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Excellent location, friendly staff, really good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, friendly staff, really good breakfast. Outside breakfast/sitting area was lovely on a fine day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.9
    Stay off A7
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place if you want an hotel a little bit off A7.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.2
    Get place - close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place in central Celle.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    6.3
    Central location with adequate breakfast on pedestrian only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to find and even harder to access parking. Room relatively costly. Asked for and got quiet room - and 30 minutes later a family with young children were booked into an adjoining room despite the hotel not being full.

    Central location with adequate breakfast on pedestrian only street.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    9.6
    Great old building outside and modern comforts inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Generally our breakfast is included in cost of room so paying extra for breakfast made the whole cost seem just a bit high, but not unreasonable.

    Great old building outside and modern comforts inside. Great part of old town near Schloss and lots of shopping if you like to shop. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.6
    I choose hotels by location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking is a challenge but it is an old city and planned before cars were invented.

    I choose hotels by location. Therefore, this hotel is the place to be in Celle. Absolutely central, quite though. It is a bit costly but every thing else is just as per my expectations. A true 3 star with 5 hearts!

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.3
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Wifi access in room - only in lobby or breakfast room. Large room but very small bathroom. Our Allergies reacted to previous guests' pets.

    Location is great. Driving to the hotel surprisingly easy. Elevator for car a neat experience. Nice terrace and breakfast rooms. Quiet location and nice street view. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    9.6
    friendly atmosphere,very clean rooms we were made to feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we were very happy during our stay but missed having tea and coffee making facilities either in the room or readily available

    friendly atmosphere,very clean rooms we were made to feel most welcome .Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast, room and facilities in general

    Location

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    7.9
    Super central, simple but comfortable and clean and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Super central, simple but comfortable and clean and cosy.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    10
    Convenient location in historic city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient location in historic city centre. Clean, spacious room. Friendly and helpful staff. Thanks!

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    10
    Central position in the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central position in the town

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    7.9
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No late check in available. Had to pick keys from another hotel

    Location

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    7.5
    Very nice people that work there, helping you out if you...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice people that work there, helping you out if you have a question.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    Located in the center of Celle town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No WiFi available in the room

    Located in the center of Celle town. Room is clean and staff so friendly.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    7.5
    Very nice breakfast terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very bad WIFI connection and only from the restaurant.

    Very nice breakfast terrace. Acces to the spa at another hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    the staff were more than accomidating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the staff were more than accomidating.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    8.8
    Right in the centre of town this hotel is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Right in the centre of town this hotel is great. We had room with balcony out to courtyard. Hotel could do with an update but has character

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    7.5
    Right in historic city centre, efficient breakfast staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Right in historic city centre, efficient breakfast staff

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi don't work in the room

    Breakfast excellent Typical German hotel Very clean and comfortable

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Browse Hotel Borchers traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: