Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Brandenburger Hof

Brandenburger-Str. 2-4, Altstadt-Nord, 50668 Cologne, Germany

#86 of 231 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1203 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast is very good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no parking space available (it was written the is one), and no own bathroom in the room.(I haven't checked it in advance, my mistake)

    Breakfast is very good!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    One Night in Cologne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the shower was a little small and there could have been a few more power outlets, however it is an older building therefore it is understandable.

    Location was excellent, breakfast was great wirh some nice coffee. We even managed some hot toast which went well with our Vegemite from home.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.7
    Conveniently situated, disappointing comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    Construction of poor quality and noises travel throughout the building: voices, steps, running water, hoover being dragged down the stairs, doors, locks, washing machine. Do not expect to have an early night or late morning sleep, at 6.30 am the noise starts on Sunday morning. Shower and toilets outside the room (that was known in advance) and very small. € 68.- seemed a high price for the level of comfort offered.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast, beyond expectations. Location very handy, just behind the main station, 10 min walking to the Cathedral.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location is perfect as it is only 10 minutes to walk to the city center and 2 minutes to Central Station. The shopping streets are just on foot-steps. The room is Ok and clean but no minibar. The bed was so comfortable and the bath was clean. The big advantage is you have free parking space just behind the hotel. The breakfast was so good and the staff was friendly. The hotel is a bit dated but all clean so I would recommend this hotel for short visits.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfast, friendly staff and perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Very comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. Staff was very friendly and they've prepared a very nice breakfast. We were able to use the parking lot, which is small but free.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    So-So
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room compared to money they charged like €130+Tax for a single room. No parking facility so i had to park 750 metre away for a day for an extra charge of €20.

    Breakfast was good, Cooperative staff, Cleaner, walking distance to Cathedral.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice breakfast with fresh rolls, fruit, juice, meats and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was courteous but not as friendly as most hotel staff I've encountered. 2

    Nice breakfast with fresh rolls, fruit, juice, meats and cheese, cake, boiled eggs, coffee, tea, breads. My single room was spacious with a wardrobe, desk and sink and comfortable bed. It was decorated in red, grey and white and very cozy. It had a very small shared toilet and separate shared shower. Price was excellent for value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money in central Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom facilities.

    Very good location for easy access to main attractions. Cathedral 5 minutes walk alongside the main railway station. Friendly staff and breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Very pleased with my choice and would recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was newly refurbished and perfectly functional but very small. The WiFi only worked intermittently and the TV reception was dreadful - but we were out most of the time so it didn't really bother us.

    The location was excellent - just five minutes from the station but in a very quiet street. The continental breakfast had a very good selection of cereals, fruit, cold meats and cheese - and cake! The staff were all friendly and spoke good English - something of a relief as we found that most shop and restaurant staff spoke to us in German, (and why shouldn't they?) which I only know a few words of.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Very good for visiting Köln
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on the street, next to the hotel only till 8 a.m. possible, no fridge in the small room.

    Best location for the city, calm and clean room, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Friendly people, good location, lovely breakfast and spacious room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were only offered a small bottle of grounded coffee at Day I, but totally two bottles of water during our stay of 3 nights in Berlin...

    Our check-in was so efficient! The lady Wonderlar gave us a family room - one queen size (so rare in Germany) and two single beds. The building where the hotel is located in was built in 1900 with high ceiling and bright windows and of course sounding wood floor as the other old buildings do. We have a shower in the room while the toilets are shared with others whom I have never met with embarrassment, LOL. The breakfast was so good and I like the table setting with beautiful teacups and saucers and music! People greeted with each other and the lady services with smiling enlightens your day in Berlin. The location is very convenient for public transportation. The lady helped us to change our money to coins needed for buying tickets at the kiosk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Good location with onsite parking, walking distance from the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were renovations going to the roof of the hotel which although I'm sure was necessary and unlucky timing, being a hotel, the builders start time might have been better if it was after 7am!

    Although a bit a walk into the city (25-30 minutes), we didn't find it too bad for a city hotel. Reception is open 24 hours. Staff were very friendly. The fact that the hotel has parking is great and only round the back of the hotel but with all the one way streets around the building, without a satnav, it's a little tricky :D The room and bathroom as nice and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Its location is near train station, so it is very convenient
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But there is no elevator in this hotel, so if you have big luggage it seems not convenient to up stair....

    Its location is near train station, so it is very convenient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Good budget option in the very central Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Week WiFi signal, had to go sit in the backyard to finish my next booking.

    Very convenient location, impressive choice for breakfast, pleasant staff members.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Upgraded from a shared bathroom to a tiny room with own...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    M Would not feel safe walking more than a block or two past hotel alone at night

    Upgraded from a shared bathroom to a tiny room with own bathroom - it was nicer I expected just to sleep here between trains, but was pleasantly surprised by ease of access to lovely city in few short hours I had Two blocks out of nice area still felt safe

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic, I absolutely loved this place. It scores 10/10
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, Great welcome, Great Room, Great Bed, Great Shower, Great Breakfast, Great Price. This place is a real gem you will find it hard to beat - and the staff are just the best so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.4
    The location as great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt of a drain and when I turned on the hot water tap rusty water came out, I had to run both the shower and the basin taps to flush the water out. Also the basin was blocked and I had to clear the blockage.

    The location as great. Next to the train station and cathedral you can walk to almost all attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    silent, good location, happy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If as in my case the parking spots are fully booked, it is difficult to find a spot in the city unless you pay up 18 euro for each day att the nearby parkinghouse. And saw some spiderwebs in the ceiling of the room...

    Great breakfast, nice location and easy to go to almost everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Look at this place first.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, bright, large room at a great price. Three minutes walk NORTH of the Hautbahnhof, it is incredibly quiet considering how close to the RIver, the Domplatz and the Drinking Zone. Good breakfast, lots of choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we had to pay we had troubles with the credit card machine so we paid by cash. But the bad part was that the lady was really rude with us! She told us almost screaming 'This is not China, it's Germany!' Remember that we're all equal, you're not the best country in the world!

    Hotel well located, spacious and clean room. The breakfast was good and included in the price of the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay for good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was tough and the curtains are very skinny. I could't sleep because there was much sunshine in the room. Lack of normal park car spots.

    Nice Location, in the city center. Helpfull stuff, clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is very close to the Central Station and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    I tried to reserve a free parking spot via messaging board on booking.com but the reservation did not take place and I needed to park my car on the road. Luckily I could find one spot but needed to wondering around the vicinity for a while. The noises from rooms are almost transparent to hallway. There were only two power outlets and one of them is occupied by TV. Personally that was a largest disappointment because I could not use Amazon Fire TV stick with the room TV.

    The hotel is very close to the Central Station and the Cathedral but since the place is in a "quiet" side of the station so it was easy to access by car as well. Price is decent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.4
    Recommended only for single night short stays as it is close to main railway station.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff ( I believe her name was Anoushka) made dirty faces when asked for extra bath towels and had an unpleasant body language towards other guests too. I would like to mention that the receptionist gentlemen did finally give us towels with a grumpy face.

    Clean neat rooms and good housekeeping.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    It is a nice location which close to city center and train...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi is really very bad and just do not forget toilets and shower is common. It should be mentioned more in the website.

    It is a nice location which close to city center and train station and also very quite hotel. you can relax or sleep in any time of day. Location and to be a quite place with nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Personel was kind and nice, breakfast was also great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Personel was kind and nice, breakfast was also great. Cozy and tidy rooms. Location is 10/10, 5 min away from the central station and the Cathedral.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    I love Cologne and this hotel was a perfect spot to explore from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good but there is no lift and 3 floors so don't bring huge wheely luggage

    Friendly staff, close to river and cathedral (city), good breakfast and never had to wait for a shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Stop over
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many people may find out about it and parking not so easy but doable.

    Wunderbar breakfast one of the best in my recent 3 weeks. Great location 15 walk to Cologne dorm, cathedral

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Cosy and affordable! I’ll definetly stay here next time I visit Köln!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down is the fact that it does not have an elevator. But still, I was packed light so it was no problem for me!

    The breakfast was simple, but regardless of being simple it was excelent and fresh!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    First class good value, nice friendly family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Breakfast was superb, loads of choice and never ran out of anything The staff were excellent, very personal service, and very friendly. Room was quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    Close to the railway station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because of a trade show, all hotels were expensive in Cologne. The hotel looks a bit shabby, but the rooms were ok. Shower was a bit small though.

    Close to the railway station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Good German style breakfast, small but quite nice room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in room 25 with shared bathroom. Overall decent room with nice balcony but bathroom is adjacent to that room, so quite loud as people go there all the time.

    Good German style breakfast, small but quite nice room, location is right by Hauptbahnhoff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    The staff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In my opinion it was too expensive for the infrastructure. The room was comfortable but old.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    The staff was really nice, the room (I stayed alone)was also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really nice, the room (I stayed alone)was also nice, and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The location was very good, it took only 3 min from Köln Hbf by walk. I want to stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.9
    Clean and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and a very good location if you are travelling by train. Easy to walk to the main tourist attractions from the hotel. Perfect place to sleep over during a short stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only drawback was the fact that there was no WC in the room, which makes the stay a bit uncomfortable.

    The room was comfortable, warm and clean. The staff was absolutely kind and helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.3
    Location, there is an elevator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving the key at the reception each time you leave, shared toilet/bathroom was not close the room, at nights a bit loudy due to music outside.

    Location, there is an elevator.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay, great location close to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi did not work at all. The walls are quite thin so bring your earplugs in case you’re sensitive to noise. My room was next to the shared bathroom and the shower was pretty loud.

    The breakfast was good, the staff is super friendly! The room was also nice and had everything I needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Very close to the train station where there are various places to eat. You exit the station and you are right next to the Cathedral. Car was parked in a private courtyard, so was very secure. Don't forget to book parking when you book room, as it's free. Very safe area and close to all the attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    nice experience though
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    the heating is not working so well.

    the breakfast is very nice and will definitely make u satisfied. and the stuff are very amiable too. free parking is available, though the whole procedure of parking is a bit of troublesome. location is great, just near the grand cathedral and the christmas market.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    4.2
    Don't go there - not recommend at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. I don't know who faked reviews but it is definitely not a 10 ever at all not even worth a 6. It is one thing to have a good marketing strategy to boost reviews but the the product has to be accordingly in the end. Otherwise this is fake marketing because it is not showing the truth - no one would ever give this place a 10, just because it is not nearly a good standard. The mattresses are old, the rooms smell, our bodies were itching all night, the bathroom is beyond anything we ever saw and the fact that you have to run all across the hall to use one tiny bathroom for the whole floor was just unbelievable for us, especially when you look at the price we paid. Not recommend if you are looking for something decent.

    The people working there were very polite and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.1
    It was very close to the central station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared bathroom is super tiny with no windows, feels kinda like a dungeon. The one on the third floor did not smell good. The best was not very comfortable

    It was very close to the central station. They offer free parking if you're lucky enough to reserve it and their check-in is open 24 hour.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel, and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me, everything are well.

    Good hotel, and very friendly staff. Breakfast is good. I didn't check and booked the cheapest room, in this type of room there is a toilet and a shower room for several rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything in the hotel I usually visit cologne every 2 years for a Kongress and this year I stayed in the best hotel ever! It is oriented in an excellent place next to the Bahnhof and near the Messe.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    If you are not looking for fancy place, and you dont need Internet, its a perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Internet doesnt work at all.. when and if it works, which was rarely speed is terrible. almost unusable. but there is T mobile hotspot where you can pay for it.

    Room was very, very clean, every day changing sheets, room was big enough, with TV. You must leave key at reception every time you leave hotel. Brekfast was awesome, but sometimes there was not enough tables. Location is perfect 2-3min from main station 5 min from main street, cant be better. Very comfortable bed and pillow

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    surprising convenient at a good price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's hard to find the hotel the first time. If they can give a more clear direction on the website of how to get there from the train station, they will make themselves much more attractive.

    convenient location, friendly staff, good breakfast, at a very reasonable price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested parking. Either the hotel or booking.com was slow to let me know that no free parking was available. Had I been notified earlier, I would have booked elsewhwhere.

    Great location near the cathedral

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Convenient place for a short stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    4 floors with no elevator... Very poor soundproofing - could hear all the noises and even whispers from the adjacent rooms and the corridor. I was not given much of an info about the hotel during the check-in (like Wi-Fi password or where is the bathroom) Good cold buffet breakfast, but no fried eggs or porridge.

    Convenient location just 100 meters from the central station, looks like a safe place. All the necessary equipment (hairdryer, three towels, little TV etc) and space for two-three days stay. Clean rooms, polite staff. Good price compared to the nearby offers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Very good budget accommodation near the heart of Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room, small number of reserved parking spaces

    Great breakfast buffet, friendly staff, very close to the city center, quiet location, comfortably reachable both by car and public transport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, easy to check in and out.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue was the pillow was not very comfortable.

    Very friendly staff, easy to check in and out. Great location, just walking distance from the train station and town center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Stay for Cologne Cathedal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is very good to visit Cologne Cathedal. It takes about 5 minutes on foot. The price of the room is reasonable. Though they have some rooms without private shower rooms, we can use the public shower rooms without any problems. We have buffet for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    A very good location with traditional looking interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thie facility doesn't include AC, so if you can't bear a little bit of heat during summer, choose other places. Also they don't have elevators, so if you're carrying big luggages, beware.

    Good selection of breakfast, very good location within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.0
    Nice, but for the same price you can easily find something better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The blond lady at the front desk is not welcoming at all. I travel extensively all over the world and never met someone like her - one of the worst treatment we ever received. The hotel should really re-think about it as she is the one people refer to and the absence of customer service can really affect the stay. I heard the same complaint from other customers in the hotel. She was not even looking at me when I was talking and this can be quite disappointing especially if in need of information. The domestic staff looks nice though. Minor issues: - No elevator and no one helping with the bags and luggage - The bathrooms are very small - The shared balcony can cause some privacy concerns - There is no fan/ac in the room (not a problem for us as the temperature was fine during our stay)

    - Very close to the station - The room was really nice and bed comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    I can recommend this hotel and would stay there again in the future.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared Sanitary facilities in the passage was unusual for me however everything was functional and clean. The only negative is the size.

    Hotel is within easy rambling distance from the train station and the river Rhein as well ad other places of interest. The breakfast was good, a really wide choice. The dining room was clean and well laid out. Although the hotel was fully booked there was no hectic or hassle or anything to upset anyone at breakfast. The tables were cleared within two minutes of a guest leaving and all done without disturbing the remaining guests. Well organised establishment. Service - TOP.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.3
    Central location, good and rich breakfast, the rest can still be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one key available, wifi slow and with hiccups, pretentious moments of some of the staff (the night guard was the only one who left a fully nice impression).

    Very good breakfast, great central location, clean and renovated bathroom, possibility of (challenging) inside parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location, just near the Hauptbahnhof ;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an "old school" style hotel. Your luxury needs may not be met here.

    Great location, just near the Hauptbahnhof ; all main sights are in walking distance. Breakfast was beyond my expectations. Room was small but clean, no air/con in the room very hot during the day but as I spent too little time during days and come to the hotel in evenings, it was not a problem for me. I arrived with a rental car and they provide me a parking place w/o extra cost.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.1
    Cheap and convenient for single traveller, wouldn't bring my partner here!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shared shower rooms - this was advertised, but I thought there would be an actual bath rather than just small showers / fibreglass wetrooms. Generally the place feels a bit oldfashioned.

    Very convenient for Hbf, nice walk across Deutz bridge to Köln Messe. Breakfast was great, staff friendly, multilingual and helpful. Location is surprisingly quiet for a city centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    Good place to stay in Koln
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very close to the station and the breaksfast options were very good even the shared WC were kept clean at all times. the rooms with the shared toliets had a washbasin which was very handy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.3
    Very convenient hotel, less than 5 minutes walk to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient hotel, less than 5 minutes walk to the central station. Clean room. Friendly staff. Very good wifi. Very good buffet breakfast with lots of options. Overall great value for the price!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    A good value for money friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. It would have been nice to have an elevator, but the stairs were not too bad. The bathrooms are very small.

    The buffet breakfast was really excellent. Staff was very helpful and accommodated my specific requests with ease. Coffee was on tap 24 hours per day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    4.2
    Would not come back. Is not worth the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner was not friendly. No customer service. The room looks very cold, not cozy at all. One does not feel comfortable in there. The TV was next to the bed. No way to watch TV from bed. There were only about 15 channels. The room was freezing cold. The heater could not be regulated to medium, only very hot, or no heat. There was not enough light in the room

    The bed quality was good. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Close to the station and Dom, nice breakfast buffet, big,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sketchy-ish street, unfriendly-ish staff, and you can hear everything that's going on in the hallway and in rooms next to yours.

    Close to the station and Dom, nice breakfast buffet, big, clean rooms, and even though bathrooms are not in the hallway, there was a sink with a large mirror in the room. Really cheap for what you get!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    6.7
    Basic but good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very friendly or welcoming. Wifi unreliable. No common area or tea/coffee facilities so just the bedroom. Bedroom was relatively small but bathroom large.

    Near train station. Person always on reception. Good choices at breakfast. New, clean bathroom. Tv in room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.6
    as above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. The breakfast was great and the proximity to town's amenities was an added bonus. I would recommend the hotel without reservation.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    6.7
    Strong smoking smell that caused me a headache :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However, every morning I smelled smoking from cleaning helpers downstairs. It was literally hard to bear that I had to wake up with that smell. It is not totally smoke-free hotel. You indirectly have to inhale it.

    It was clean and neat. Staff welcomes with smile and speak English.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.5
    A basic budget hotel in the heart of town with good breakfast and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really bad soundproofing, TV quality, unstable Wifi, no elevator, Old-fashioned design (except for 2nd floor bathrooms)

    Price, breakfast, location. Would visit again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.2
    Very welcoming, helpful and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facility to make a cup of tea or coffee in the room would have been an added bonus.

    Very welcoming, helpful and pleasant staff. Wonderful breakfast. Lovely room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    Super place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have a boiler with water at the reception and less gap between doors and the floor in the public bath :)

    Super nice and comfy hotel at the silent street in a few steps from HBF and Kölner Dom!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reeked of cigarettes, even though it was non-smoking, first thing in the morning our floor stunk of it not sure if this was because someone was smoking out the window or not.

    Comfy and great location, right in the heart of Cologne.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    5.8
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms and bathrooms are smelly. the towels are in dark colour instead of white. I disliked my stay there. I booked two nights, and left after one night. they didn't refund my money, but I couldn't bare to stay there one more night. we had to carry our luggage two floors up cause they don't have lifts.

    Location is not bad

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.2
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The walls seem to be thin so you can hear a lot of what is going on outside in the halls or on the floors above you. side note: there is no lift/elevator in the building.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location. Easy to find from the trains station and close to most main attractions in the city. Wi-Fi worked good in the rooms :) We had booked 1 single room and 1 double room, however once we got to the hotel we found out that they don't actually have double rooms - it was a mistake from the website - and due to that mistake they gave us 3 single rooms but only charged us for 1!! Great deal! Breakfast was great. Loads of choices and all delicious.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.0
    Passable
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the first floor was very small and smelly..changed the room to the top floor which was much better...toilets are very small.

    Good location ...good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    6.7
    the breakfast is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shared bathroom and toilet on hallway
    • Stayed 3 nights

    did not provide hot water kettle.

    the breakfast is wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    5.8
    No lift;
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift; we didn’t have WiFi in our room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Location is really good, but it is still on a quiet street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is really good, but it is still on a quiet street. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Very good peronal!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good peronal!

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Brandenburger Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: