Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Brandies an der Messe 3 stars

Kaiserdamm 27, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 14057 Berlin, Germany

#105 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 506 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only small wish I could express, it would be great to have a possibility to take not only coffee but tee as well whenever in the coffee corner or as a part of the mini bar

    The hotel is located literally in few steps from the metro station. Besides, it’s quite close to the Berlin bus station (Berlin ZOB) and an S-Bahn station. The hotel building is highly interesting from architectural point and makes somehow luxury impression. When making a small search after my stay, I have found that a history of the building is amazing in fact. The hotel itself has highly relaxing atmosphere. The staff was friendly and professional, hotel interiors perfectly correspond to the wonderful style of the building itself. Our room was spacious and equipped with all possible comfort. Despite the central location of the hotel, it was exceptionally quite in our room. The garden view was just fabulous. The hotel warned before my booking that some noise is possible due to renovation of the building, but I haven’t noticed anything like that. The only noise we have had was birds’ singing from the garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest, I didn't realize how old the hotel itself actually is. That being said, there was an ancient elevator to use and that was a bit cumbersome given I had my large suitcase with me. Also, the key to the actual chambers was not properly explained to me. Once I got off on my respective floor (4, in my case), the large wooden door indicated rooms 40-49 so I used the room key given to me (room 44) to try and open the door but to no avail. I had to walk all the way downstairs again to ask the concierge if they could help me with the opening the door. Apparently, all I needed to do was turn the key to the left but I was not informed of this upon my arrival.

    The room itself was very clean and the bathroom was enormous. The breakfast buffet was quite nice, too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was large, we booked and paid for a comfort room but had a deluxe room. Breakfast was excellent. Underground station to central Berlin was just 50 metres away. Good Mexican restaurant just down the road called Cancun.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were just staying overnight to catch an early flight in the morning. The gentleman at the front desk was very accommodating - he ordered the taxi for the early morning trip right away, allowed us to pay in advance and recommended a very good German restaurant nearby for our last meal on vacation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No complaints

    We are from Canada and spoke little German, however the front desk where able to communicate with us in english. I picked this spot because it is very close to the olympic stadium, 40 minute walk, We went to watch a football game. The U Bahn, U2 is right at the corner, 1 minute away which can connect you to all the connection points. The hotel was located in a area that has restaurants, cafe, close to the bus terminal and a short walk to the grocery store.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was the key! I made a last minute booking for a single night-stay. The hotel was just 100m from the Central Bus Station and next to U2 Kaiserdamm. Old, clean and renovated with respect to the history of the building but no discount on luxury. The souvenir shop and the 1960s elevator was a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast costs €12 per person

    Hotel is in an old building, but the room was very nice, clean and spacious. A very comfortable stay. It is a little bit out of the city centre, but very close to the main coach station if you arrive by bus and there is an underground station literally at the hotel's front door to get to the city centre. When comparing with hotels closer to the city centre, make sure to factor in that you will need to use public transport if you want to get to the main sights, which costs €2,80 for a single ticket and €7 per person for an unlimited day ticket.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfest is to expensive EUR 12.- Such breakfest does not cost more than EUR 8,-in other hotels.

    Nicw staff, perfect location, good value for the money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of any

    Room was very comfortable and everything you expect from a hotel is there provided for you. Staff are nice and they even surprised me with santa chocolate outside my room door on one of the morning. In terms of location, U-bahn station is right outside the hotel and S-bahn station is only a few minutes walk away. So, it's very easy for you to travel around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great design and good comfort, everything was clean. Good location, easy access to public transport, safe neighborhood , near restaurants. We had a surprise left at our door - two chocolate santas , just because it was something like a santaclaus day in Germany .Yay. Rich breakfast, tasty and good coffee

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With a great smile from the employee, the place will be great

    Right next to the metro station Old fashion style Quiet and confortable Great thai restaurant few blocs away

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    their cleaning service wasn`t good, they change the towels and the sheets, and that`s it. elevator was slow.

    nice location , near Metro And Train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could be wider, it's not comfortable enough for two persons - in my opinion.

    Friendly, helpful stuff, quiet, well equipped room, nice bathroom. The breakfast was satisfying, coffee was great. The U-Bahn station is like 15 meters away from the hotel entrance and U2 takes you directly to the centre (Zoologischer Garten, Potzdamer Platz or Alexander Platz).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street even after midnight, no lift in the hotel

    Liked the facilities (L'Occitane shampoo and wash), clean room, clean bathroom (spacious), antique designs of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cant even say I didn't like it - but the elevator is a one person, one suitcase, and I actually went up and down before I figured out you got out on the opposite side, yup I was tired! Walk carefully on the steps down - but was fun

    Our room was very large - we had two twin beds (pushed together) and a pull out bed with a private shower/toilet. The huge windows opened to a court yard - and it was absolutely splendid! The surrounding area was easy to find a bite to eat and we felt safe walking. This was the end of a long trip, our last night before heading home, and a welcomed quiet evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit of a challenge to get from Central rail station to the hotel but at Kaiserdamm U bahn its just across the street, brill

    Quaint oldie worldie decor recently refurbished room love the lift

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sandals were 2 euros and tooth brushes are also not free. But that's OK

    Everything was perfect. Especially receptionist and the breakfast was SUPER!!!!! I would say this hotel can be rated as 4 star. Price was reasonable. Location is prefect too, subway(metro) station is located only 20 meters away

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room we had had a bed with two unsecured mattresses on it, which creates an uncomfortable gulf between my partner and I as we tried to sleep. The mattresses shifted rather easily. The breakfast wasn't included in the price, and it didn't look to be very good. Plus the breakfast room was stuffy. Better to get food to bring back.

    This is an older property, from at least the 40's, and the charm of the tall ceilings and spacious entrance rooms of each floor was irresistible. The room was so elegant, with the chez lounge and the subdued hues of the furniture and drapes. The sleep was comfortable, and the location for the function we went to was great! The CrossFit box we went to wasn't very far, and the walk there was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're driving, be prepared to hunt for a long time to find a place to park. Absolutely no hotel parking. You are in Berlin and finding a place to park is difficult. Be prepared to walk several blocks (unless you're really lucky) with all your baggage. If not driving, it's right next to the U-Bahn. Rooms were not originally hotel rooms so bathrooms were added on. It was so small I couldn't open the shower stall door more than about 50 degrees and had to squeeze in. Bathroom smelled the first day and smelled up the whole room. Staff not the friendliest. I had to leave a day early and they wouldn't refund the night's payment. My fault though as it said in the booking they wouldn't. However, in my opinion, it makes good business sense to do so.

    Beds were comfortable. Room was decent size. Although on a main busy street, with the windows closed, it was relatively quiet. Could be an issue during the summer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No such thing, everything was perfect!

    Beautiful historic property, gives a perfect atmosphere of the early 20th century (elevator from 1910!), all perfectly maintained, good location near the metro station. I loved the wooden floor in my room. Faboulous breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfriendly and very unhelpful reception staff, everything was too much trouble for them. The reception staff were obviously unhappy to do any thing other than take the room keys.

    Comfortable room with a nice size bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The hotel is very old - the elevator is difficult to deal with - the wooden floor is so noisy - no AC - very small bathroom

    Nothing special really

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about.

    The room like in a 4star, the bathroom 5star level. Quiet, windows to the courtyard, clean, spacious and cheap. Nice place, but no city center but the green villa disctrict in W-Berlin.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The experience exceeded our expectations.

    We loved our stay at Hotel Brandies an der Messe. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The room was spacious. We love the character and charm of the hotel, including that amazing elevator!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only problem we had was the internet access It was not always possible, a bit annoying

    The room was exactly as shown on Booking com Very spacious, comfy, a room with style Access to underground and S very convenient Room cleaned everyday. Little treats left for us and a well stocked fridge a place I would stay again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Autolights on the floors are enough to walk night.

    Breakfast, room and elevator were perfect! Location was close to my meeting but for city center u-bahn just on the corner of the street!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was told was given a discount. Turned out I paid more than the standard price which also included breakfast (I had to pay 12 Euro extra).

    Nice spacious room with a balcony and good city view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    3.50 euros for a large bottle of water,this was warm and not in the fridge(may be could have been complimentary ).The price of the room was approx 20 euros less in the welcome folder which included breakfast than i paid.

    good selection of hot and cold food .very close to good bars and restaraunts

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was super old hotel. You have to take 15 min to get into the room and my room was getting super hot.. There is no air conditioner at all. Also there is problem with Wi-Fi which cannot work all over the hotel. It is apartment actually. Far from city center.expensive price

    Nothing. I had to leave in 2. Day. First time in my life I cannot resist and changed hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They dont change the towels during all the stay, if u want u have to ask for it.. And no AC, which in all berlin is a problem

    Over all everything was great, nice hotel design and good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was really good, but during the breakfast we felt like we were monitored a little bit too much by the personnel in charge of the dining room.

    Really good location of the hotel. Our room was very large and cozy with everything we needed and a nice balcony overlooking the main street. Breakfast was good and it was nice to eat in the garden.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-fi was good on the first floor. On the 4th floor it sometimes was a little unreliable.

    The breakfast was beautifully presented and well-stocked with eggs, cheeses, smoked fish, granola, an assortment of fresh fruit, excellent breads and vegetables. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location was good for a conference at the Berlin City Cube-- walking distance. Staff were helpful and attentive. Beautiful and peaceful inner garden.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, LOCATION, friendliness, CLEANLINESS!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Beautiful hotel, very good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Good hotel, calm place, tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in the room is charged and overpriced, only thing free was water

    Location, room, cleanliness, ambience,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from everything except the bus station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great bathroom, quiet place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street: bring earplugs!

    Beautiful vintage elevator and rooms, very spacious and clean. Vintage hotel with very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great Hotel where you feel home after a hard business day. Great breakfirst too and the people are nice. Just next to the underground.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels never changed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything good

    Location, room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, building and cleanliness. Furniture was comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attentive staff. Big Bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom are small

    Location and a very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful. Stayed with my 2 young daughters. Berlin has excellent public transportation. Public transportation located in front of hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sir conditioning. Rixkety old elevator very tiny.

    The location. Good price! Nice room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable, quiet area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden view was great, a very peaceful stay and lovely spacious bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    It was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs some renovation

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice place, good breakfast, good location next to the messe

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An old classy building in a very nice neighborhood very close to the metro station. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Breakfast not worth 12 Euto

    Quite Location clean Room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable since it was going apart. It was two beds put together.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A superb hotel in every way! When I go back to Berlin, it's the only Hotel I will ever use again in this amazing city.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old building, nice touches.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet connectivity. It was not available in my room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely grand room with easy to use proper coffee machine. Appreciated the security into the room being a solo traveller as had a door key to the suite of rooms and a key into the room itself. Excellent breakfast buffet and most helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I really don't have anything we didn't like. I hated to leave!

    Yes, croissants extra flakey, beds extra comfy, our room was perfect, smelled luxuriously wonderful, excellent breakfast buffet, helpful staff. Ask them for supper suggestions, and follow it. It was perfect. A good value for a small elegant hotel, with old world class. The pictures of rooms were accurate, in fact they were more lovely than the pictures could convey. Bathrooms were updated so even though small as you would expect in older hotels, it was sparkling and beautiful. We had an overnight layover in Berlin, and chose this because of its closeness to an underground station, so that we could get there quickly and easily from the airport. We bought a 24 hr transit pass, dropped our luggage in our room, and went out to see Brandenburg Gate, the Wall and more. The convenience of the hotel to the underground stop made it possible to pack in a wonderful visit to Berlin in only 18 hours. Enough to put it on our list of places we have to go back to. We enjoyed our visit, and absolutely LOVED our room and stay at Hotel Brandies an der Messe.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were picking up the key from the restaurant nearby, because the reception didn't work, so we weren't provided with wi-fi access for the first night.

    Located just nearby metro station. Good breakfast. Overall the hotel is very cozy.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Reception was not very helpful and responded to requests quite grudgingly when we first arrived.

    Spacious, comfortable, clean rooms. Excellent shower and bed. Location was right on U-Bahn and we were able to move around with ease. Breakfast was good value and a wide selection on the buffet.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The twin room had two double beds next to each other. This is common in Germany, but a nuisance if you are used to a larger bed. The location is on the transport line but quite far from most things with the exception of Charlottenburg castle.

    A beautiful old building that has been well maintained, with old stained glass and an antique elevator. The rooms are spacious with high ceilings and wooden floors. Everything is clean and tidy. The breakfast was amazing, a smorgasbord of hot and cold delicacies, smoked salmon, cheeses, fresh fruit, pastries, eggs... No room for lunch.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to public transportation and easy to get to and from. Only stayed one night, but wished I could stay longer as the room was large and comfortable (with a terrace I didn't get a chance to enjoy!)

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was sadly at a busy location. It was sadly very noisy with just normal activity. Hallway talk, doors, closet doors. Just too noisy. Please request. Quiet room off the main halls.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My husband and I were on our honeymoon and have only stayed there for one night. The stuff on duty is cold and only say hi after you greeting. Even an old lady guest sitting in the couch makes us feel much more warm than her. Besides, no city map provided until we asked, no wifi info. provided until we asked! There is a coffee producer on the corner of the stair, and I guess it is placed for guests for a free drink. The stuff didn't mention any word about it. When we arrived we got really thirsty and we have to go out again after check-in just to buy sth. for drink. The room is very small, even after we've added 10 euro to "upgrade" room! The room appears totally different from the picture we've seen in the room description! The location is really far away from the city center, an advantage of nearing the underground station does not worth such a high price!

    next to the underground station, and that's it.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Customer service poor.reception staff not very friendly.one out of four.was helpful.the towels we left on floor so they would be changed were put back on bathroom..quite noisey at night with sirens and motorbikes.no facilities to make a drink in the room until we asked for a kettle.

    Nice room.lovely views.breakfast good

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was not possible to connect a laptom to hotel Wi-Fi while my tablet and smartphone were connected. Other hotels we stayed in Germany during this trip didn't have such a problem. There is a coffee machinge in the room, but you need to pay Eur 1.0 for every cup of coffee you make. Coffee machine close to reception makes complimentary coffee only after 3 p.m. when nobody needs it :)

    Location, good breakfast, big room, two TVs in the room.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -the bath towel are changed after 3 days and only if the reception is announced for request -no ice available on the hotel -we are not greeted when we arrrived in the hotel from the hotel staff -some tv channel cannot be seen on TV even there are on the list -you should wait on the shower till the water will be heated -thin walls -the old parquet flooring which makes a lot of noise -some decoration should be improved -the refrigerator is not working in optimal conditions

    nothing to say that I was pleasantly impressed

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Two key notes though: if you have a car we cannot comment on non-street parking. By sheer luck there was on street parking available when we arrived. Second note is we did feel a bit duped by the DCC conversion of the rate. We should've known better but the staff shouldn't present the charges as "the same" when euros vs dollars. Turns out their merchant is charging 3% for the conversion.

    First time in Berlin and had a wonderful stay in this hotel. Beautiful old charm and our son loved their antique lift. Great location to the bahn.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wi-fi stopped working several times. They often ran out of still (non-sparkling) water at breakfast and not all the staff was helpful with this. Very few TV channels in English, mostly news channels. The room door is tricky to open without previous explanations.

    The location is great, quite close to the congress center and very close to the U-bahn. The breakfast food is good, plentiful and has healthy options. The staff from the welcome desk speak English well and are very helpful, they called a taxi for me whenever I asked for one and it arrived promptly. They provide tickets to the U-bahn and explanations regarding them, free maps and a "Berlin welcome" booklet with discounts for tourist attractions. There is a 24h desk service and you can let yourself in at any time through a special door. There is a cute looking old elevator, very good for the upper floors. I had a room with a view of the inner courtyard, nice and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    WiFi is bad, overall the place is accepted

    Rooms are wide, the roof is high, the bulding is old and historical but well prepared, well organized,very clean,room surface is ok,WiFi is free but sometimes bad speed, reception is neutral and i expected I expected to welcome us more than this

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Coffee machine is only on in the evenings. I think it is slightly over-priced, because I saw cheaper accommodation with better reviews on bookings.com But I must also say that I booked 1 day before the time, so beggars can't be choosers.

    The wifi issues in earlier reviews have been fixed. I had no issues. It is located very close to the underground train system, which made it easy to travel to various sites.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Brandies an der Messe traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: