Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brauhaus Obermühle

Gebr.-Wahl-Str.19, 35619 Braunfels, Germany

#3 of 6 hotels in Braunfels

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 137 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a very nice and spacious room with it's own kitchen facilities which we did not use because we went for dinner at one of the best Italian restaurants in Germany. The view from the room is not great or spectacular. It is a 15 minutes steep walk towards the Altstadt-centre. Braunfels is very lovely to discover.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closed upon arrival, no lights nowhere, had to call the „hotel“ to even find the entrance, no food nor drinks available, breakfast very basic.

    Nothing really

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor quality of wifi signal.

    The room was big and very cozy. The restaurant has excellent meats on lava stones. Served beer "Obermühle Braunfels Blonder Schlawiner" is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception is almost always unattended and when staff show up at all they give incomplete or misleading information, which causes arguments and delays at check-out. What's even worse is that the boss, a man in his late forties perhaps, refuses to take any responsibility for the actions of his staff and instead blames the guests or booking.com for their misleading information.

    The room is spacious and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Excellent service staff, great room, great food and picturesque place.

    It was one of the best hotels within the price range up to 100 Euro we've ever stayed in in Germany. It is not far from Lahntal cycling route we were riding, walking distance to a wonderful castle Braunfels. Our room was spacious, newly refurbished, thoughtfully organised with a regard to needs of most of the tourists. Bed was soft and comfy the room had floor heating and was warm when we got there. The staff was very heplful, friendly and accomodating. Hotel facilities are a part of brewery and restaurant there. We tried the restaurant too. Although we are not fans of German cuisine, which was exactly what was on offer, we went on and ordered ragout and bratwurst. It was really delicious, mega portion we flushed down with local beer. Breakfast was above average with classic It was an extra pleasant surprise for us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving on a Monday in the dark it was difficult to find the entrance due to missing lights and the fact that the whole place was deserted as the restaurant is apparently closed on Mondays. Very nearly got back in the cars and drove on to find somewhere else to stay. Could do better was our opinion though the rooms, once we were able to get the keys, were very nice.

    Rooms were comfortable and nicely appointed. Breakfast was usual German cheese and meats and was quite acceptable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a little problem with the check out lady. She doesn't speak english and the check out time is 12hr. So was 10hr when we were going to the Castel and leaving our bags in the room, but this specific lady didn't us leave the place before paying (like they didn't have my credit card number). So we payed, went to the castel and came back to the hotel, around 11 am. We wanted to take a shower before getting back to the road, but this rude lady didn´t let us, she wanted to clean the room and made us leave before the check out time!!! What an annoying person!

    It's a nice hotel, large and comfortable rooms, good breakfast and a fantastic restaurant and brewery.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dishes from boar, bear, nature around hotel and town. HUGE rooms. Not far from Frankfurt am Mein with much cheaper price. English, Germane and Rusian-speaking peronal

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely atmosphere. Traditional German Restaurant and great Braunfels beer! Close to the Medieval towns of Wetzler and Limburg an der Lahn.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good beer and food

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, good restaurant, good bier, quiet location, large comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant was closed ( always on mondays)

    Big room´with kitchenette. The plact is also a Micro brewery

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Browse Brauhaus Obermühle traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: