Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Centro Hotel City Gate This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Steindamm 49, St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

#279 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1170 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    6.4

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Location is a bit dodgy and scary especially at night! (we ended up using taxis and night to get in and out of hotel and avoid walking in the area) - but nothing too major and there are alot of shops in the area

    1. Breakfast was AMAZING! we loved it 2. Nice spacious hotels 3. Very good WIFi 4. Very friendly staff 5. Just 5 mins walk from underground

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleased with all parts of my stay.

    It's a conveniently located place near the main station. Liked my room. I received help from reception when I asked for it, including a request for an extra blanket. Noted some adverse comments when booking about hotels in this part of Hamburg, but I think these comments are fundamentally about the area, not about the hotels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The foyer etc

    A small friendly hotel with very helpful staff and a very good breakfast. The entrance and foyer/lobby area were a little dark and shabby, but the room was bright, spacious and fulfilled our needs very well. The location was central and less than 10 minutes from the main train station the Hafbanhof and 5 minutes from a U metro. The area was a strange mix of middle eastern restaurants and slightly dodgy bars with a few 5 star hotel on the other side of the street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was a public parking garage which was difficult to find even with GPS. I would not recommend staying here if you have a vehicle. If you are traveling by train it would be a great spot.

    Center city close to everything. Staff was very courteous and professional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite the fact that the hotel is located in the very center, the street and area is not very pleasant for walks in the evenings and it seems not too safe (immigrants, strangers...). But this is only my an opinion.

    A very good breakfast. Price and a quality is the best one in Hamburg! The room was warm and cosy. A very central located!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we did like was were the hotel was located.

    Breakfast had plenty to choose from , bed was comfortable.staff were helpful. Train station and town was 10 min walk away .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hallway stinks of stale cigarette smoke, it's so bad it takes your breath away when you walk down the stairs. The location was fine, think East London style. The beds were comfy but they provide just single duvet covers for all beds and they're so small you'd be better sleeping with a towel. It wasn't overly clean with marks on the bedsheets and damp on the walls and ceilings. We got woken most mornings with people slamming doors and talking loudly down the hallways. You can also hear if the people next to you have their tv on or if someones walking down the stairs.

    The room was fine for what we paid, we didn't expect the Ritz. The location was close to a local train station and there was a lidl down the road to pick up little bits we needed such as drinks for while we were out. The breakfast was fine, very small selection and basic but the bread and jams were nice and the yoghurt too. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was adequate, it smelt damp and musty but the shower was nice and there was the option for a bath.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bedroom very spacious bathroom good breakfast excellent not far from station and all shops and sightseeing the area around hotel no trouble at all

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The surrounding of the hotel is horrible, dirty, and noisy. I don't want to go out in the evening. The wifi in my room is very unstable and slow. The elevator is narrow.

    The room is clean and large enough for 3 adults and 1 baby. The location is close to the main railway station, so it is very convenient by walking to catch a train.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price is way too high for what that the hotel offers. The pictures of the hotel give a wrong impression about the place. First of all, the area where the hotel is located is horrible, sex cinemas, drug dealers, etc.; Those are not the hotel's fault, but it is to be considered when choosing a place to stay. When I arrived at the hotel, the receptionist didn't know the time when the breakfast ended. First time in the room the windows were open, everything seemed clean. But the next day coming back from a tour, with the windows closed the room smelled pretty bad. I would say that the carpet needs some good professional cleaning. The breakfast was also very small.

    If you are traveling by train, that could be considered a possible place to stay. Very close to the touristic area by public transportation and also there is an underground station nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains were thin so the room wasn't dark in the night. It was hot and if you open the window too much noise from outside at night. Shower very small. No internet connection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has easy access to public transport as close to central train station. Small rooms but it has everything you need. Great breakfast included. Walking distance to good restaurants and the Aussenalster.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room: Although we booked a non-smoking room, it smelt as if someone had smoked in there before. Upon arrival we had to sign a form saying we will have to pay a fee of 100€ if we do smoke in the room, so I went back down to let them take note of the problem. I highly recommend you doing that so nobody can charge you a fee if that happens to you, too! Didn't notice the smell anymore after the first day though, so no big deal! Location: Bit of a rough and dirty area with seemingly 90% of inhabitants of Arabian origin. Together we had no problem whatsoever, but I wouldn't recommend girls travelling alone to walk around there at night.

    Fantastic 2 or 3 star (?) hotel in the centre of Hamburg. My partner and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights for a reasonable price (Hamburg is expensive). Our ensuite room was spacious, had a king size bed plus another single bed, TV, bedside tables, cupboard, chest of drawers, chair and a small glass table. Towels, hair dryer and shampoo were provided. Everything was clean and apart from a few signs of the furniture being used for a while (e.g. flakes of colour split off from the bed, no danger), everything was pretty and tidy. Staff were friendly and helpful and allowed us to store our luggage for a couple of hours on the departure day. The best thing about our stay was the breakfast: bread rolls, cheeses, ham, salami, eggs, jam, nutella, fruits, yoghurts, teas, coffee, fruit juices, water - there was plenty of everything and it all tasted great and fresh. Breakfast staff were extremely quick in replacing items and cleaning tables and were so friendly! Fantastic start of the day! Location: 10 minutes walk from the central train station, another 10 minutes to the city centre (shopping streets) and more to further attractions (Hamburg is very big!).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When the door closed on the outside entrance door, our bedroom door shook and every time it sounded like someone was trying to get into our room. Not bad, but shocked/scared us every time.

    Central location, big rooms, clean rooms and great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi kept dropping out. It was hard to keep the baby stroller in the room -always in the way😕

    Nice breakfast with scrambled egg, yogurt, many toppings for the breakfast rolls. The kids liked their fold out beds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easily visible from the road, in a poor location where it was quite duanting to walk back to at night, bteakfast was very basic with the only hot option being scrambled or boiled egg

    We wanted a hotel close to centre just to rest our heads. Perfect for that.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbourhood is very central and kind of "special" with dealers and prostitutes that didn't bother us even when we were on our way to the hotel at midnight.

    The room was very spacious with a big double and a smaller one.The stuff was very helpful and smiley.Very nice breakfast with a variety of goods.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were dirty. It is in no way a 2 star hotel even.

    The customer service was good. The receptionist let us check-in really early which was much appreciated after a 8 hour journey. The location is good...metro and good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is awful - the street is VERY dirty, I could not imagine in in the center of Deutsch city. Probably it's a "special district" - full of sexshops, cabares, slot-halls, and kebab-caffees with relevant people on it. The hotel is at least 2x overpriced. Very poor room equipment - I haven't had even a glass! one of days while I've been staying there they did not clean my room. And the internet worked not all time. Well, almost everything was bad, to be frank.

    Descent bed, helpful reception staff - and nothing else

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't a particularly nice area. We thought there was a restaurant but its just a breakfast room.

    Staff were lovely and its a 10 minute walk from the Central Station

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains were ripped and very dirty. The shower curtain was also dirty at the bottom. The internet was shabby, kept losing connection. The overall cost of the stay was too much.

    Very close to center, easy access to train station and shops, good breakfast, very clean, cleaning ladies came in daily and also changed the sheets during our stay which was a major plus. The room was heated.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast room was pokey and completely full when I went down on the first morning, so I decided to have breakfast elsewhere on the other two. A not very inspiring selection of mostly very cheap ingredients. I booked late, but at €185 a night, I thought this was very poor value for money and I certainly will not stay here again. The free Wi-fi came and went.

    This is an ok place to spend one night. The room is quite spacious but the shower room is very cramped. Cleanliness was fine, but the furniture and fittings are old-fashioned and functional.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    basic facilities but thats what you expect from a budget city center hotel. Expensive for what it is but that is normal in such a city center location.

    Budget city center hotel. Good location near the station. clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet continental was ok.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not match with my expectation and price was high comparing to other standard hotels. Strength of wifi was very weak to use in the bed.

    The employees of the hotel were very kind and whatever I asked they tried to provid for the possible information.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The informatieont on the booking.com was deceiving. This was a bad location with a lot of groups of drunk men hanging on the street where the hotel and many sex related establishments were located. Busy traffic and with the windows open (no airco in the room) was really noisy on the street. Dirty walls, our room did not look at all like the pictures on the Booking.com website. I showed the information on your website to my husband after we came back and he did not recognize the hotel/room we stayed in.

    Breakfast was good and the stuff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows could have been better. Showering was hard as the plumps were blocked. Flooding prevented showering on after another. 10 min break was in place between the showerings.

    Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location is awful. It is very close to the centre and train station meaning everything was walking distance but it is situated in a very seedy area with sex shops and theatres opposite and people on the streets outside until very early morning. Not to mention the fact that the rooms are actually above a nightclub!! As a young woman I felt extremely uncomfortable walking round especially later on in the evening so we came back to the hotel early most nights. I cannot reiterate enough how bad the location was, even walking past the main train station from the hotel was awful with the amount homeless people as well as blatant pick pocketers waiting outside which is such as shame as it does represent the rest of Hamburg which is modern, clean and has a safer feeling. Secondly, the rooms were unbearably hot. Massive windows that could open but provided zero ventilation meant that you were sweating even without covers at night and multiple showers were needed a day bearing in mind the temperature outside hit a maximum of 28 degrees which is not that bad. Additionally the 'pillows' were awful - they felt just like large sacks with cotton wool balls in which made for a very uncomfortable sleep. Lastly we went for the breakfast 'buffet' one morning as didn't bother coming back again. Very limited choice so I would hardly call it a buffet and food was not kept cold forcing me to have lukewarm milk on my cereal. I was not impressed, even for a free breakfast. Overall I was not impressed and actually put a damper on holiday as we had such high hopes but the first thing that greeted us was this hotel and area. I would never have chosen this hotel had it not been for the one we had booked informing us two days before leaving that they had double booked and that we no longer has a room with them. 1/10 would advise.

    The one thing this hotel had going for it was that it was very clean. I am extremely fussy about hygiene but the rooms, and especially the bathrooms, were impeccable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms need improvement.

    Great Front desk staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street is very noisy and also you can hear noise from the hall

    Location, price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location 5 min walk from Hauptbahnhof. Fast check in and check out. Amazing what you get for €45 per night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Smelly rooms and block toilets

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    District inhabitants.

    Perfect value for money, close to central railway station, shopping streets & art museum.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could not be paid via Visa

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location.

    The large bed and security

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area and could do with update and improve facilities like free tea and coffee

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be improved.

    Basic hotel near the train station. Great for laying your head for a night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shop are close when we get rhere

    Location, frriendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    they do have a left for 5th floor. the room is small

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of teh hotel and the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low beds. Seems common in Europe

    Location comfortable friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the staff in the breakfast room was very rude and not helpful in any way

    The free WiFi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    environment around the hotel

    close to all of means of transport and places for shopping

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they did not have my booking, it was cold, close to sex shops

    convenient locatioin

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi

    Near location to substation

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet, room, breakfast and breakfast place is so crowded and very limited choices.

    The location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the placement

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Liked everything

    Lovely breakfast served nice and early. Beautiful rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    nice staff, central location, nice big bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath water couldnt run out. Was blocked. Curtains couldnt cover windows

    Nice breakfast and nice rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains and pillows

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee making equipment in room.

    Central location. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy

    Town centre

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    old property. needs renovations. noisy. parking 20 minutes walking away. colorful area..think of red light district in amsterdam.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location seemed tough. Hotel is located in a rough part of the city. No parking.

    Value of the money paid. Cleanliness Comfortable beds

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not nice area

    Close to city centre and train station

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inflexible for booking changes, we even had to pay breakfast for a person who could not come

    Friendly staff, generally big rooms and clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small breakfast room

    Surrundings

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny lift

    A very spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfotable bed. Hot shower. Wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - room was small

    - Very good breakfast - good bed and clean room, new decorated

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit basic.

    In an expensive city this was OK value and clean. In multiethnic area so lots of turkish/ Iranian shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is in an unsavoury neighbourhood - there are prostitutes hanging around the outside of the hotel - it is not a location to feel comfortable walking around or safe in at night. Most rooms face the street and the street noises are loud. Racing cars, loud people leaving the casino next door at all hours, police sirens.

    Location close to the station and easy walk to some tourist attractions.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Convenient location - 5 mins to bus station, 10 mins to railway station, 10 mins to Alster lake. Polite staff, speak German and English. Very comfortable and clear rooms, tasty breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Windows didn't work properly and slightly open during a cold day The room was at the fifth floor with a lift going until the 4th floor The room didn't have phone need to go down to the reception in any case needed The bathroom didn't have heating and the room was cold due to Windows issue.

    Room decoration

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was very noisy. The curtains would not keep out the street lights. The lift was right outside our room and banged every time it moved. I would not stay here again or tell my friends to

    The room was clean

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location wasn't so good, not so from the central station and it seemed not so safe around the hotel.

    Not especially, but everything wasn't bad.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel was located farther from the Hbf than we thought. The neighborhood was mostly Middle Eastern and seemed a bit dicey. When I placed my cosmetic case on it, the glass shelf over the sink fell and crashed into the bathroom sink, leaving shards of broken glass behind. Fortunately I wasn't impaled by the splinters.

    Although the rooms were rather small, they were fairly quiet and were nicely furnished. The bathrooms were mostly up-to-date. Everything was very clean. The breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was small and pokey, the window/door opened onto a balcony, however so did the next room and when they were smoking we had to shut our door. We needed the door open for air circulation.

    The breakfast was basic but there was enough choices.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needed more hot variety for breakfast. Seemed located in light red light district.

    Fairly close to train station. Breakfast was filling. Location ok for trains, restaurants, shops. room was spacious, bed comfy.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had an extra bed in our room, it felt a bit weird. The location is "main station district" which has everything you can expect from staying near the main station - poor kiosks, drunk aggressive people on the streets, etc...

    Large room and bathroom, nice staff with lady speaking our language :)

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy building, facilities very basic and not the best of location. A poor 3# hotel

    Very large room, clean and most staff very helpful. Breakfast very good

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - The pillows were a blanket inside a pillow cover. - There is no lobby and the staff barely speak a little of English - The WiFi is a scam, i could never use it in 4 days. - The TV is all in German, impossible to see something. - Location is crowded of strip clubs and prostitutes. - They charge an extra fee for parking and the hotel doesn't have any parking space, you need to park in a casino. - The cleanliness of the hotel is very poor, we saw an old mattress in the stairs of the "lobby". Very disappointed, I don't recommend it

    location close to town hall and central station

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Centro Hotel City Gate traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: