Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Brielhof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Auffahrt zur Burg Hohenzollern/B 27, 72379 Hechingen, Germany

#5 of 6 hotels in Hechingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 234 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel restaurant a bit overpriced although the quality of food was good, its just that you don’t expect this in a small town in Germany.

    Room was quite nice and spacious, breakfast was good. Friendly staff/owner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    in-house restaurant was rather expensive (30 Euro/entrée)

    Plenty of parking, very friendly staff, pet-friendly, great location to visit castle, in-house restaurant had good service and good food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was slightly cramped for two people to get ready at the same time. The sliding mirror on the closet door had a strange marbled pattern that made it hard to use as an alternative to the bathroom mirror.

    We loved the comfortable bed, the delicious food in the restaurant, the deep tub in the bathroom, and the view! The staff was attentive and had good recommendations for nightlife. I enjoyed sitting on the covered patio for a warm drink after each meal, even though temperatures were cool and the weather was rainy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too close to main road, very noisy. In hot day, no A/C, nor fan, have to leave window open. Was told 6:30pm A/C will be available, but never came through.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people/staff are not very friendly. There is not an English menu. If you ask details about the food, the waiters are NOT patient and do NOT like to answer questions. They say: "I am busy now and do not have time to talk to you" that is the way I was treated. They is not much smile or kindness. The wifi is terrible. It has a bad conextion.

    Close to the castle, the rooms are large and spacious. There is a refrigerator in the room. Breakfast is quite good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was on an interstate island. The room shower didn't drain and had a cramped odd plastic enclosure. Overall the hotel was just subpar for the room and location.

    The majority of the staff was very kind sadly our morning departure we had a less than friendly staff member who left a bit of a bad taste for us. The food was good and the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not enjoy our stay. There's no lift in the hotel so if you have a heavy luggage, be ready to carry it up by stairs. Staffs at reception and bar/restaurant had an unhelpful attitude. Each time we needed something from reception (wifi details, check out) we had to wait for at least 10 minutes as the receptionist was nowhere to be found. In order to get wifi we needed to sign a very lengthy hard copy disclaimer form, after which internet was shut off between 9pm to 7am anyway.

    Big car park

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    This was an excellent facility with a spacious room with an outstanding view of the castle! The staff was very friendly. Our dinner was one of the best we have had in Germany! It was nice to have their wonderful breakfast included. Very close access for a short drive to the Hohenzollern Castle. A great experience!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located below the castle. Perfect place to spend the night after the visit. Terrace restaurant very nice with view of castle. Great to wake up with the castle view right outside the window.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator. The atmosphere in a little to serious in the dinning hall. Not very suitable for talking your infant at dinner.

    Great location, near the Hohenzollern castle. Nice dining hall.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The traffic jam the next morning.....it ruined the relaxation we had gained at the hotel.

    We chose the hotel because of its' proximity to the castle and it did not disappoint. Hotel Brielhof is a very comfortable hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Halfway through an 18 day trip we needed to so some laundry. Staff let us do a load using the hotels regular equipment in the basement. That was a great help so we didn't have to take a lot of time out of our trip during the day locating a laundromat and doing laundry. Breakfast was good. The hotel was easy to find and most important, we both got a good night of sleep.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room was too small and some things were brocken

    Double room size was big, nice, all the necessary was in the room, Lovely restaurant, nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was on the third floor and there was no elevator and no offer to carry our luggage.

    Room was spacious and very pleasant with a great view of the castle above.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is little bit high but it's acceptable considering it's services and location.

    Staffs were very kind and polite. In addition, they can speak English. Very good location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem wifi didn't work in room and water for shower or sink did not get hot

    The food was delicious. Service was amazing. Staff so very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals in Restaurant rather expensive. Without a Car you are slightly limited .

    Location of Hotel to Castle Lovely spacious single Room. Friendliness of Staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to location, traffic noise was, at times. apparent.

    Clean and comfortable room. Easy on site parking, with very easy access to main roads. English spoken. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a way to get luggage up the stairs (bell service)?

    Food at the restaurant was great, we ordered so much we could not breathe. Nice quiet hotel. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant menu could be richer

    Great staff, well positioned

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were extremely polite and accommodating. Superb restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Food and room were first rate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice area, clean room, tasty chocolates on the pillows :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold in the room. The furniture is to old.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is situated near the highway therefore it is little bit noisy even though room was on oposite side.

    Good restaurant and nice view to the castle

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit close to national road, only sparkling water at breakfast?

    nice breakfast , nice location, nice service, good for travelling by car

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the location - right off the highway, but no noise heard in the room. Staff were wonderful and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow internet

    Near castle

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel! Nice staff and rooms! Breakfast amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great food - huge room - and close to a magnificent castle.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was very friendly and flexible. Food at the restaurant is super!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not up to my expectation. It was sufficient but not hearty.

    Christmas atomosphere of the entrance. 45min walk to the castle.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic breakfast. Great proximity to the castle!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far from city, but for purposes of our trip (see the castle), was perfect. Close enough to train station to walk (~3km or 50 mins) along a very nice trail for most of the way.

    Great location to Hohenzollern castle. Friendly staff and comfortable /clean hotel. Would stay here again!

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift, which is a bit of a problem when you have mobility issues.

    Spacious room, a little dated but very clean. Staff very friendly, location perfect for the visit to the castle, plenty of parking space, and well noise insulated ( next to the highway). Restaurant very nice too. Excellent Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    wifi instable.

    Room very big, comfortable, clean and with a nice view to the castle Hohenzollern. Breakfast was good with nice options. There is a Restaurant with good Food and for reasonable Price. Staff was very helpful and kind. Parking in front of the Hotel and free of Charge.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit pricey even for the location or the food The smell of food throughout the hotel when the kitchen is maxed out

    The location (althought it's next to a highway, it's not that noisy) The proximity to Hohenzollern Castle The food and service

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed looked old and dirty. Thought there might be bedbugs. Saw spider in bathroom. Staff spoke little English. Knowing German will get you through. No elevator at hotel. Was told that dinner is no longer served after 9:00 pm, but don't think that is true.

    Only good thing is its location close to landmark (Hohenzollern Castle).

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The address giving on booking.com was wrong. Only need to enter Brielhof 2 in GPS to find hotel.

    I booked for the view and i wasn't disappointed. The castle was right out our window. The room was big, plenty of space and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very charming boutique-type older hotel. Nice accommodations, beautiful grounds. Near the highway, so a little highway noise but was not an issue for us. WIFI connectivity was a bit slow, but was not a problem. Very near Hohenzollern Castle. Would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very close to road, need taxi or own car to get there. Restaurant quite expensive.

    Very close to castle, nice walk up the hill to see it. Good restaurant with charming rooms.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Autobahn noise, pretentious staff, not geared up for train travelers. It was if the hotel was trying to be more upscale than it really was.

    Attractive hotel, good food. Close to the Castle, but still a fair walk if you don't have a car.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful view of the castle from the parking lot, but unfortunately we did not have any view from the room. Room was too hot during the day and night, even when it was cold outside.

    Room was quite big, nicely decorated and clean Good location, very close to Hohenzollern Castle. Staff was very friendly, unfortunately not all of them spoke English. Breakfast was good. We had good reception of WiFi in the room which was a pleasant surprise since they advertise wired Internet so we prepared ourselves for a day without Internet.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Service was terrible and so was our sleep! The bed was terribly uncomfortable.

    We had a meal in the restaurant that was excellent. Compliments to the chef.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I HAD to come up with something- and I am really reaching here- it would be the proximity to the highway which is somewhat noisy. As we are ex military members who are accustomed to sleeping soundly through helicopters taking off an landing, it presented no real issue and would not prevent us from staying there again.

    The location can't be beat. We could see the castle from our bed. It is beautifully decorated, comfortably spacious, and very inviting. At the price, we felt like we robbed them. Just an absolutely delightful place.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was right next to Hohenzollern Castle (which is why we were there). We got in late, and even though the kitchen had been closed for at least five minutes, the man who checked us in that evening went out of his way to make sure that we were able to get dinner from the kitchen... I bet that was the best turkey salad I will ever eat in my LIFE! The rooms were beautiful and it even had a BATHTUB!

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    explicit car park security (video, surveillance)

    Thoughtful staff, helpful and patient with children

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was perfect - the service, attitude and the traditional food was EINFACH SUPER! :)

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFI didn't reach our room, had to go to lobby

    Great staff, and even better food.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Typical local Hotel. Many locals come to take dinner.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Location was perfect. Also the breakfast & dinner.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were nice and big but dated - the rest was perfect

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff, lovely shower

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Clean - great service, betuful lication

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was clean, and relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I stayed to short

    Location, food, comfort, the way that an old building was modernized without affecting the tradition

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delicious food

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: