Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tripinn Bristol Hotel Mainz This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Friedrich-Ebert-Straße 20, 55130 Mainz, Germany

#19 of 30 hotels in Mainz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1484 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness of the bathroom. I couldnt explain it to the housekeeping staff to clean the bathroom properly as they didnt understand English. Also, a small fan in the room would have been good as it was very hot.

    The location was good for me as I had a car. There was free parking. The wifi was good. The breakfast was nice. The reception and breakfast room staff was knowledgeable. Overall a very good experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has No air conditioning and it was very hot especially when you try to sleep.

    Close to where we were heading during our visit in Germany. Nice breakfast daily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated far out of town, you do need to use the 62 bus service to get into Mainz central. The bus terminal is close by. The TV service was poor

    Friendly staff, nice pool and saunas. Comfy bed and pillows. Good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing it met my expectations and was very good value

    It is good value for money. The rooms are typical brown German decoration, but nevertheless good. Reception very helpful, breakfast was typical German breakfast and always plenty of it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I arrived I first got a key to a room which has not been cleaned. The next three rooms weren't cleaned either. Finally I got my clean room in the end. I wanted to have dinner in the restaurant. As business traveller, I only book hotels with restaurants. However, despite their text on booking.com saying: "Or enjoy a wholesome meal in our hotel restaurant" - they don't have one! The area is not good for restautants neither. 1 greek, which was closed so the Italian was the only option. Room was clean, but very warm all the time. First and last time I ever slept in a Trip-Inn hotel.

    Really, nothing to be honest

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel with all comforts and facilities . Friendly staff . the hotel was really money value . The breakfast was adequate enough with all the ingredients

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I couldn't connect to the internet with my laptop, and there were no directions for how to do so.

    The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was outstanding!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interior is rather old, but ok.

    I came late to hotel, swimming pool was near to closing time, but they offered me prolongation. Very nice approach of the staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bedroom was a bit tiny, bathroom shower sink was a bit smelly, i would have loved a bathtub.

    Loved breakfast, confortable beds, great modern design and decorations, beautiful view on the montain and ski tracks. Skin rental inside the hotel was very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Matrasses were worn and need to be replaced by newer (and harder) matrasses.

    Nice breakfast, good room. Nice shower. Friendly personnel. Good parking lot. Wifi god.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't be fooled by the 'Centro' part! Its a good 45 minute walk to the city centre. Pillows were very poor and unsupportive. No hot tea/coffee in room available. Although an excellent pool and sauna were available watch out for the unnanounced pool fitness classes and the unfriendly females in the sauna who think that newcomers should know all the rules! You must sit on a towel...apparently...... even though she felt it was appropriate to be totally naked!

    Good breakfast with plenty of choice. The swimming pool and sauna was a real bonus. Very close to floodlit football pitches where one could watch the locals train.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ordered double bed, got 2 singles (this seems a common issue in Germany). Tea/Coffee facilities in room would have been nice

    Breakfast buffet good (although late comers had few options). Very good sized room, well decorated, excellent shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the hotel at 20:15. At 20:40 booking send me an email that my credit card was declined and that my reservation was still quaranted but I need to replace the card within 6 hours. I did see the mail as I was driving. I arrived at the hotel at 21:05. They told me that there is no room available because I should have paid in advance and my card was declined. I offered to give another card or to pay cash. At the beginning they said that I cannot pay now because I should have paid up to 18:00. After I said that I made the reservation at 20:15 they told me to wait. After 30 minutes they gave me the last room and told me that I was lucky because if someone had made a reservation they would have gave the room to them. The room was cold.

    Parking was easy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    a little old fashioned, nevertheless very clean far away from the centre, but good connected through bus around the corner good information about time schedules in the lobby

    very kind staff average but good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great breakfast and friendly staff. Being from the US and use to air conditioning, which the Bristol does not have. They made sure that we had a fan in the room and we were very comfortable. The only negative about this place is that there are only a couple of outlets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were extremely hard and no sleep was difficult to concentrate on the seminar. Pool not open later than 10 pm.:( Smoke came up into our window from chairs

    outside the entrance. All Staff was wonderful. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location isn't terribly convenient to downtown Mainz or streetcars/trains.

    Breakfast was good, plenty of free parking, comfortable with a great staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could honestly pick on if it was hot while our stay there are no air conditioning and the higher level you would be would be hotter as we had checked out rooms in all levels

    We loved the room it was very spacious the ceiling was amazing with the timber works for anyone wanting to go to this hotel book room 117 as it is big nothing like others and also keeping in mind time of year as there is no air conditioning. If you stay in this hotel please go around the corner past clock on left the Chinese restaurant 10 euros all you can eat sushi ,seafood,chicken,fish, basically anything . GREAT VALUE !!!!! A great thank you to Luma this lady will help anyone with anything .Thank you very much for our short stay if there were more people in the world like you it would be great. A great credit to the hotel for having staff like luma😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathrooms seems to be a little bit aged (entirely different to the rooms themselves). They could use a renovation. The TV was not working (no channels found). When I contacted the front desk, they just told me, there is nothing they could do until the next day. The receptionist didn't even sent somebody to check this out. For a Junior Suite, that is not acceptable. For that price, that should have worked.

    We've had the Junior Suites booked and they were actually very nice. The Junior Suites have plenty of room and nice, comfortable beds - even big enough if used as a triple room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was underneath the flight path into Frankfurt International which meant we had to keep the window closed. This made the room too warm.

    Good helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have preferred a coffee machine at breakfast rather than flasks of brewed coffee, and a wider selection of cooked breakfast, rather than only hard boiled eggs or scrambled eggs.

    The swimming pool and sauna were very popular with our teenagers. We were offered a map with a good selection of local eateries on arriving so plenty of choice, and realistic walking times provided. It was easy to access off the main road network, even though it was not close to down town (40 minutes walk)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in a residential area so there wasn't much to do or see around the hotel, but we knew that when we booked it

    Easy to get to Mainz city center, staff was very accommodating to allow us to have early check in about 3 hours ahead. Breakfast was good and on-site parking was perfect

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room is a bit too small at the "rush hour". Some guests were forced to eat in the bar. We requested a room for handicapped but they had forgotten that when they assigned the room. We were able to change rooms immediately though.

    Good facilities, everything worked, was clean and the room was very nice. Good breakfast with lots of choice! Plenty of parking right at the hotel. Staff a bit sober but friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely friendly stuff! they helped us a lot with the kids, and allowed us to take plates and eat in our room, also the fact the indoor pool is open till 10pm is a great bonus!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little hard to find initially, and tucked away in a quiet street with no eateries in the immediate vicinity. However, there was a large Lidl store just a few hundred yards away, so we didn't go hungry! Ignore complaints about aircraft noise; the rooms are well insulated so we hardly noticed it.

    The Bristol is a really friendly hotel; the staff went out of their way to help us find our way around the Mainz area, suggesting restaurants and things to see and do. The bedroom was comfortable and the breakfast plentiful with lots of variety. But the best thing by far was the lovely indoor swimming pool and sauna. One rainy day we spent almost the whole day relaxing by the pool in the reclining chairs and popping in and out of the sauna! Would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for money. Swimming pool and sauna at no extra charge. Big rooms. Big bathroom with bath and shower. Good internet connection. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is quite big and comfortable for a family. Everything is very well prepared. Not a luxury hotel at all, but it's still quite enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dramatically, the location is very far from the city`s center. You need to take a bus # 62 to reach the center. The ticket will cost 2,75Euro to one way...So, you can add the 5,5 Euro to whole price of your accomodation.. The staff can provide you with the city`s plan but that plan is unreadable because of very small letters...seems that hotel`s owner can arrange printing of more useful itinirary`s plans...

    The room is cleaned and acceptable for staying; the breakfast isn`t huge but pretty delecious...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once again internet did not work in the room and was very very slow in front of reception but how can you be rated 4 stars without air conditioning?We sweltered all night.They claim the internet doesn't work in the rooms only for Apple users.

    Friendly staff,clean room,nice breakfast,parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a distance to a restaurant. There is one next door in portakabin type building but it didn't seem our sort. 15 minutes walk to an Italian restaurant.

    Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the table and chairs in front of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge.

    Easy location to find. Good for parking. Good value for price. Nice size room, very clean & comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    big room, parking, clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lobby, roo, breakfast...

    the hotel looks so old and with low maintenance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been more richer

    Clean, pleasant staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is tired and needs refurbishing

    Big quiet room, comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff, the room was great and so was the pool. The restaurant next door was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the swimming pool and breakfast!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    limited variety of foods for the breakfast

    indoor pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    limited variety of food for the breakfast

    indoor pool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast is with limited variety

    Pool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little basic.

    Spa area unexpectedly comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old stuff and decorations

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was bit small for two persons

    It is really a nice place to stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and Sauna were lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a vending machine for food, no refreshments ie: tea/ coffee in rooms. Pillows were terrible

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff was very helpful and kind!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor maintenance Too little light in the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has great rooms, which are big and clean. The staff is very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, the employers are very kind

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't expect to be staying in the 1980s

    Not much

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant or bar at hotel, and no restaurant nearby.

    Hotel very friendly with good staff. Breakfast excellent. Great location if you have a car.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was great, and the swimming pool and the sauna are awesome for us to take a rest.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were surprised at the kindness and honesty of the staff and all the people we met.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel base in good quiet area. Nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom floor was very sticky and a hair was laying the shower.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast tasty and facilities nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent coffee in the morning with rich creamy milk. Sad that they had only 7 minutes eggs no other choice..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfasts were rather modest. Beds were toooo soft. The hotel could use some new carpets and furniture too.

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast fresh Parking

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location

    Staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good ratio price/comfort.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice comfortable hotel very nice rooms giving you a feeling of being home

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust and blankets.

    Big room, breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eveningvrestaurantbb

    Comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of

    Well equipped with everything. Breakfast choice. Friendly helpful staff. Easy and cheap transport links to the city.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a simple hotel. Nothing special.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable. Good value for money. Swimming pool was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Staff friendly, good location and price former what we wanted as a stop off. Really nice restaurant next door

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was ok, but no coffee and no guidance from staff as to where to find cutlery, coffee etc.

    Pool very clean, staff super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Breakfast, sauna, pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit noisy

    Very clean hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is a bit tired, could do with an upgrade. You need a car to get into Mainz.

    Helpful English speaking staff. Nice breakfast. Rooms are comfortable. Good value.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Couple

    ... Except the personnel.... they can be a bit more friendly and not so strict. I dont think anyone smiled at us. They were absolutely efficient on their jobs but no enthusiasm in any way.

    Everything was as we like it to be...

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is far away and it about 15€ worth in a cab but walkable.

    Staff were nice,it was clean and good sized rooms. Facilities seemed good but we didn't get to use them. Breakfast was nice.

There are also 61 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Tripinn Bristol Hotel Mainz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: