Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Brudermühle This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schranne 1, 96049 Bamberg, Germany

#2 of 8 B&Bs and Inns in Bamberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 296 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is perfect. The stuff is amazing, very nice ladies working there. The breakfast was also very good. I can recomend to everyone this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On Booking we got the information, that the hotel has a parking. In fact there is only a public parking garage nearby. This makes the unloading and loading of the baggage a bit inconvenient.

    Very good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a somewhat small, and also cold when we arrived (the heating was turned off, we needed to turn it on). The bed was very uncomfortable and the room was very noisy at night. At around 4am. we needed to listen to a drunken serenade of some local youngsters and the hotel simply did not do anything about it.

    The location is right at the centre, very close to the Rathaus building. The room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a rather annoying light just outside the bathroom, that had a motion detector and kept turning on and off with the slightest movements. But this was a very small complaint.

    Fantastic location in the middle of the old town, big room and we had a lovely view of the river outside. We arrived just after Chrismas and I really liked all the decorations outside the hotell.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. But this is a centuries old building and an elevator may not be possible

    The restaurant food was exceptionally good and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi almost does not work. One cannot get an iron to the room and there is no special place for the guests where one can iron. It is only posible in the staff room which is rather uncomfortable.

    Excellent location and comfortable rooms. Breakfast is accetably good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain lets water flow out to the bathroom floor even if you are careful to avoid it.

    Hotel location, excellent, professional, helpful service. Room 12 on 3rd floor has lovely river and old town view... If the sound of the waterfall is for you pleasing when the window is open, then, this is one of the rooms to choose. In the photo attached you will find out one of the views from the room window.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room decor is a bit dated. The noise from the weir was fine for us but could be a problem for sensitive sleepers. Anita who served us our evening meal needs to take lessons in courtesy. Nobody was available to check us out so we had to have our credit card debited when we wanted to pay by cash.

    Great location and view of the weir. Cosy traditional eating areas. Evening meal in hotel restaurant was very good . Choice and quality at breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a positive and a negative - the river, just outside, is so loud that even closing the window won't block the noise. Sounds like a loud AC system... but it's white noise so easy to ignore, and it's such a lovely view that I think it's worth the noise.

    Location, location, location! And view :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing can be complained about. The staff was welcoming, spoke English and provided a wonderful included breakfast.

    In December the hotel was all decorated for Christmas with trees, a large sleigh and a Christmas booth selling gingerbread and mulled wine out front. It is perfectly located in the most desirable part of historic Bamberg. You drive up, unpack and just across the scenic river is underground parking. A footbridge gets you back to the hotel. All beautiful. The restaurant onsite was lovely but busy so get a reservation at the desk.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked for a lower floor because we are an older couple and we, of course, got the third floor with no elevator. Off-site parking but I expected that at this location. We were able to drop off and pick up our luggage at the door after parking/retrieving our car.

    Great location in a well kept older facility.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice welcome, young and active staff. Location is very nice, just a little walk from car park, and right in front of the best landmark in Bamberg. Restaruant with local meals and a choice of wines and beers. Excellent breakfast, covering any wish. You get fresh pineapple and mango in wintertime! Anytime back

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything- -would love to go back.

    The hotel was involved with supplying great food and drink for a HUGE festival outside on the square, and yet they took the time to be very helpful to us with information, directions, making sure we were totally comfortable, etc.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception wasn't very friendly at first. Seems there was a mix up and they thought I had reserved 11 rooms when it showed I only reserved 1. I feel you need to coordinate better with the hotels on your list to avoid these types of mistakes.

    Location was fantastic! Right in the middle of the old city for only 69 Euros per person with breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and no fan

    Lovely location and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a peculuar smell in the house

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, friendly staff, room size and cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a warm day. Fans for the rooms would be nice.

    You can’t beat the location. View of the Rathaus from our window. Good food, attentive service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Location to all the sites was excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very good hotel restaurant serving a tasty breakfast is a bonus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location for city tour. and nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small family-run business. Not much English spoken. Very friendly and helpful. Central location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    The breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was slow and it took some time to get the password.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel in the old house so its a really cold in room:(

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift , check in was very informal and rushed. Some staff were less helpful than others

    Awesome location, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    difficult to get the room we had rented without much effort and an hours worth of talking.

    location was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked very much the hotel's restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location ( view at the bridge), good breakfast, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The shower needs a small shelf installed to put your shampoo, body wash, etc on, and to give it a high class touch the curtain should be replaced with a glass door. The use of individually generated WiFi codes only allows one device to be used at a time, leaving your spouse's phone or the laptop out of commission. Not that it is very practical to install now, but the hotel could really use an elevator.

    The location is as good as it can get, right on the river and next to the alt rathaus. The room was very nice and newly renovated. The staff were very friendly, they even left an easter basket in our room for our 6 year old and gave us more easter gifts when we checked out. The breakfast was decent, only problem was items were not being replenished fast enough.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Simply superb location in the old town with ready access to Christmas markets, shopping, etc. Very helpful staff, a great restaurant, and pleasant rooms with character complete the picture.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Does not have on site parking, but the underground parking garage is close and reasonably priced.

    Perfect location to be able to walk everywhere! We had a view of the river from our room.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet service was limited.

    The atmosphere of the old building was lovely. Decoration was thoughtful and pretty. The breakfsst was delightful with many homemade jams and special touches. It was varied and generous.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We love this hotel and have stayed many times! Frau Vogler always makes us feel welcome. The location is wonderful for exploring the old city, the breakfasts are terrific and every night we go to sleep with the peaceful sounds of the river. Wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The internet is slow here and there was a problem connecting, but I appreciated the staff helped me with it and we got it to work. Very friendly staff who cares about giving a good experience, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no elevator.

    The location was superb. It was a block away from the Rathaus, and I enjoyed the sight and the sound of the river. The breakfast was amazing with lots of fresh fruit, including dates and raspberries.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi used an old fashioned log in system that only enabled one device - very inconvenient. There is no aircon and we were there at the end of a heatwave leading to an uncomfortable and sweaty night.

    A nice family run hotel in a great location with a good restaurant. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really unpleasant, rude, inefficient front desk Management. Very hot, very loud room. Old mattress covered with rubber sheet. Parking far away. Run down, 30 year old furnishings.

    Great breakfast. Central location

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All of the room's windows were unfortunately non transparent and the cupboard by far too small for two people.

    Only on step to the old channels, water mills, cathedrals and breweries in the very heart of the medievally downtown of Bamberg.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pity these old buildings don't have lifts & parking in these old towns a bit restricted but the parking building once known only a few steps away.

    Good food, plenty of space in hotel dining areas.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room 2 is above the weir and it was impossible to sleep at night because of the noise. The Hotel management refused to change the room until our third night!

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful setting, our ro overlooked the river. We received a warm welcome and were given the history of the mill. We had a lovely meal in the evening and a hearty breakfast the next morning. The hotel is in the heart of the medieval town, close to all the interesting sites.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved it all would stay again.

    Complete with amenities. Location is perfect. It is right next to the old Rathaus, a few minutes walk from the Dom (a 1000+ year old cathedral) and palace complete with rose garden. Nearby is Schlenkera, where every beer lover should have at least one beer. Caddycorner from Schlenkerla is Kacheloffen, our favorite restaurant in Bamberg. Hollywood fans will love seeing where the 3 Musketeers (1993 version) was filmed on the famous bridge right outside the hotel and near the Dom.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower in our room did not work without flooding our room and the room below. on reporting this to the managment.all I got was "it was working the other day" when I asked for a reduction in the room rate, I was told "you must pay full rate" I WILL NOT RECOMEND THIS HOTEL

    Close to the town centre

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi available but a bit slow

    Fantastic location and wonderful corner room overlooking the Old Town Hall building in the middle of the river. Operators and staff were very attentive with good restaurant for evening meal and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Right on the river. Great sounds to go to sleep to. Walking distance to the main old town area.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dreadful behaviour by part owner Frau Vogler.

    Location and food

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was very helpful. The food was excellent. We were very pleased with our stay and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor a little outdated.

    Perfect location right on the river. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    To a foreigner the franconian style of service could be a bit terrifying at first. They are rude but maybe its just a facade?

    Perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is terrific! In the heart of LOVELY Bamberg!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing bad to say

    Location, ambience, comfort, cost

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No tv to telax

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the bathroom was a bit small

    nice big room with a comfy bed, good brakefast and free wifi

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was ok asked for eggs never got them.

    Very clean, nice rooms, great location.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: