Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brunnen Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Friederikenstr. 40, Ruettenscheid, 45130 Essen, Germany

#67 of 68 hotels in Essen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 750 hotel reviews

5.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.6

  • Comfort

    4.9

  • Location

    6.4

  • Facilities

    4.9

  • Staff

    5.9

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearly everything! We were reassured they speak the language .. no way! Because of that we nearly stayed out all night as when I asked there’s a night porter she said yes. No one in sight frantically we were banging the door and were so scared thinking will end up sleeping in the car :-( luckily we tried our room key and managed to get in. Room was so small you can hardly move. Shower was tied with masking tape and had to hold it with one hand to shower while half of the water was leaking from the pipe. Bed was so soft and uneven and that smell ... sheets were clean but couldn’t sleep from a masking smell that maybe was coming through mattress and duvet. They promised free parking. Not available that’s a lie. Then what can I say? No one in sight for breakfast all coffee jars and teas were empty guests were looking where to leave keys to check out and we all threw them on the desk and left with some of us no coffee or tea to drink. we only wanted a hotel to offer basics. This hotel Must shut its doors to the public because they’re not offering even the basics

    Only that it was near the friends we were visiting nothing else

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Some days they just forgot to give the breakfast, unbelievable, others days, the food was passed the validity like yougurts, Internet in the rooms is something that doesn't work at all.

    Almost nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was super dirty. There was so much dirt on the floor that i was sneezing. The stench was unbearable. Light bulbs missing. The breakfast was horrid the beds were not beds and just appendixes to the wall. Internet slow.

    Nothing. Apart from location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, dilapidated, the room reeked with stale cigarette smoke, the decor was tired (even the wallpaper was peeling), the breakfast was probably a steal at €5, but even so...

    Nothing, really. It was a nice walk through the park to my meetings, by the hotel itself - no.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small rooms, rather old-fashioned hotel, no attendee during breakfast - the first day the coffee machine didn't work, no fruit

    Calm environment, easy walking to metro or even the main railway station, very close to the Essen fair Price correct as long as there's no major fair in Essen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is the worst hotel I've ever been in my life. Everything is crying for modernisation and the eggs are only "secure" option for breakfast since everything else seams few days old.

    Hot water in the Bathroom, radiators are hot as well, and the staff was Ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was filthy and run down. There were no staff. I had to phone the owner to find out which room I was in . The place was open and the room keys were at reception but there were no staff. At breakfast there were still no staff the coffee machine had broken and there was s poor choice of food. Juice had run out and all the tables were uncleared. It’s a dump

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a ghost hotel. No one at the reception (just a phone number), no one at breakfast room

    It's just what I needed: a simple room with breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is poorly maintained. Rooms are dark, beds are narrow and short, Wifi was not working in our rooms, TV was not working in our rooms; shower doors are broken, door handles are loose, carpets are old, dirty and stink; staff cannot speak German (let alone English) properly and are not trained. The reception and breakfast hall is cold, dark and unpleasant.

    Room was clean, breakfast was acceptable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hospitability of reception personnel, tv channel offer (I missed the basic german channels),breakfast menu not very "rich", reconstrucion in progress-material let on the floors...

    location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They put us in some other hotel. We had to go to the other hotel with our lots of bags which was a great trouble. Lift of the other hotel was not working. Breakfast was too monotonous

    room, cleanliness, behavior of the staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel was tired looking - a number of internal lights not working or lights in the room. Breakfast was lacking a cooked option - coffee machine did not work very well. Would not stay there again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 3 peoples room and get 2 beds only!!! Receptionist said they can not give us bed for kid (5 years old). Room and bathroom were dirty, bath and toilet vell used, mould on wall in room. Wifi very weak, only few german channels in tv have been unlocked. Receptionist said they do not have updated licention for others (a lot of locked english channels).

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find parking nearby. Rooms were kind of dark and hot (july). Had to sleep with the window open due to the heat, which let in a lot of noice from the quite busy street outside.

    Close to the highway and good enough for a quick one-night stay, considering the low price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very friendly and helpful staff. breakfast was sufficient and offered an Eastern European variety. Definitely excellent value for money. Within 5 minutes walk all type of restaurants. A life music pub is just 3 minutes away. Only downside: Finding a parking lot on the street turns out to be slightly challenging. However - excellent value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    During the 12 days they don't change the bedding. At sunday's you don't have your room cleaned. They let the toillet paper finishing. The worst hotel that I ever been.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows where open and radiators off in early jan. Very cold room when we got in ,

    We arrived late 12.15am, Check in closes at 11pm Made a phone call and someone arrived to let us in after about 5 mins. we left before 7 that morning after a good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything.Front desk Manager was amazingly friendly. Waitress during breakfast service was very friendly and smiling face lovely and very caring person. We loved our stay and extended for two more nights. Best of luck to the staff. We will diffinetly recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No professional administration . The poor breakfast and defect the coffee machine . Before 11.00 am i should leave .

    There is nothing more to discuss about. Is very clear the view the hotel services .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are want to go take the breakfast 9/45 the woman who work hier was very angry an give 1egg to two person ,after i ask to her why did this? She speak aut 15 min is over the breakfast,and she didnt give .So better nobody go to here this hotel dont they respect the client!!!Very bad situation for me.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do a reservation and after i see that is too far from where i was in that moment. I call them in 15 minutes to cancell de reservation and they say ok we cancel them But next day i see that we take the money from my card and more then was normal. Try to not booking this hotel.

    Nimic

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too soft so I didn't sleep well.

    We were attending the Messe which was about half hour walk which was easier than fighting on the underground. We were happy with the location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall service and attitude of staff and the owner towards situation that made my colleagues find a different accommodation in the middle of the night was horrible. They were not willing to admit their fault. I would not recommend a stay in Brunnen Hotel to anyone who wants to have a peaceful and relaxing stay and avoid unpleasant people.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist speaks only german.

    Pretty good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No body on reception when we arrived Poorly kept property

    location was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and no parking.

    Budget hotel. Just for overnight stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's better that you sleep in the car. With this I tell eveithing. I sleep at the hotel in another site of the sreet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the dusche

    very poor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Worst hotel ever!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t get a twin room despite ordering one. No security for left luggage. Room dirty and cramped

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that I remember

    Convenience for visits, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice place very well positioned.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet - needed to reset it in the hall standing on a chair B - TV did not work

    Location was fine

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is bad. It is better to sleep at a street

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is not worth for the money what I spend

    the bed is comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisey, dirty, poor wifi, no staff in evening.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi hardly worked

    in the city center, not far from bus to the airport

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not good, not helpful or friendly. Will never go there again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast meniu was to short

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi doesn't work properly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our room was dark, there was not enough lighting. The room was not very clean; there were rubbish under the beds.

    The staff were friendly. We chose this hotel because it was close to our relative's apartment.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Unfriendly staff. We were told that parking with bus is possible, but it was a problem and we had to park 1km from the hotel. Two different object - we had two groups staying in different object and we wanted them to be together, but it wasnt possible.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    They splitted us up and put us in 2 different hotels, Hotels were old and noisy, happy that i was not on vacation.

    We haved a place to stay nothing more

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Couple

    Hotel rating changed from 4.5 star to 3 star once paid. No free coffee or tea because there was nothing in the room. Curtains were filthy as were the nets. Grubby throughout.Breakfast was dismal. I have stayed in much better hotels for half the price. I rate this hotel at 1.5 not the 4.5 as described before I paid. This was blatant fraud. Having driven nearly 600 kilometre that day, I had no choice but to accept it. I want a refund or I will not use Booking.com ever again

    Nothing about this hotel. I should be given a refund. A complete blatant rip off.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Small Old Hotel,Less maintenance, Room Heater not working, properly, Leaking Showers, No service, Paying more money to stay in this cheap hotels is total waste. No free room cancellation. My badtime we three booked for four days, couldn't able to cancel. They need money in advance for all days. stayed with bitter.

    Only its in centre of city.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This was the worst experience we ever had in our life. Take into consideration that we also travel for work to Kenya and Ethiopia, but this hotel was even worst of what you can find in Africa. We booked at this hotel as it was quite close to the exhibition centre. The price was very high for an hotel like this (Euro 149). This is absolutely not a 3 star hotel...!!! 1 star would be more than enought!!! The rooms are old and very very small, you do not have the space to open your luggage. The bathroom is old and dirty. The sink and shower were always clogged, the water remained stagnant... My colleague has also found a cockroach in the bathroom... In her room there was also a disgusting stench of sewage... No closet to hang clothes, just an hanger. Everything is really dirty. There is carpeting throughout and it is very old, dirty and full of stains. No lift! The joung man at the reception is very unpolite, when we complained, he launched the business card on the counter saying "if something is wrong call my boss, I just work here". We spent in total more than 2.400 euros for 4 rooms for 4 nights. After hard days of work it was just a nightmare to go back to the hotel in the evening. We will write a complain letter to the Turism Office. They should reduce to 1 star and keep sure that the maximum price will be not more than 40 euros, also in very busy periods.

    nothing.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was never anyone at the check in desk and when we arrived the keys for all the rooms had just been left on the desk with a piece of paper that stated names and room numbers, so anyone could help themselves! However our key wasn't there so we couldn't check in and had to call them. Then when calling up the hotel they didn't have anyone who spoke English and they were quite rude, in the end we had to ask a local person to speak to the hotel on the phone in German for us to help us get a key and get checked in! Furthermore if we got back late the building had been locked and so it could only be opened from the inside and again there was nobody at the check in desk to help! Also the shower system was badly designed so it was literally impossible to have a shower without flooding the bathroom floor. The cleaning of rooms was virtually non existent, we could tell a cleaner had been in simply because the bin would have been emptied but nothing else was touched, even the flooded bathroom floor was left as is!

    It was cheap

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nobody was there when we arrived. All the keys of the rooms were on the desk of the reception anybody could enter and take one of the key. Check out was at 12:00, but they woke us up to pay at 11:00 because the lady had to go home (leaving all the keys again unattended) Poor english

    It is a simple hotel

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No coffee/teamaker facility in the room. No bedside light. No switch for main light at the bed. No mainstream TV option (unable to get any news). Small room. Not clean (bin was full, someone's jumper in the wardrobe, huge dust balls and an old bottle under the bed). Room to the street - very noisy! Other guests smoked outside the front entrance - the whole hotel smelled of smoke.

    Free Wifi. Staff very friendly. Fairly convenient location.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very bad security system Bed linings smell bad Room lights too low Narrow bathroom

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The most dirtiest hotel I ever been after traveling around the world for for more than 25 years.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Alles super

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No car park

    The rooms are good, but the place is too old. The staff is not polite and non helpful.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no facility, no good service, tribble beds and no hot water

    it was near city centre

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everytime same dish of breakfast

    Only lady staff quite good

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great value

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The connection station between Essen and dusseldorf is very long

    Organization & simplicity

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    GOOD VALUE ,CLEAN AND A GOOD NIGHTS SLEEP.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Group

    It is not a 4 STAR hotel. In city center and absolute no parking.

    Everything is nice.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleaning

    Brekfast

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had no problems.

    Very clean room, very good breakfast, location right in the center

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Der pfortner war extrem frech und unfreundlich

    Lage und internet

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small room, lack of features, the 24-hour front desk is an overstatement

    Location, transportation, clean room and building

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing wrong with the hotel, just be prepared that it is a no-frills place.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Brunnen Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: