Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Burg Abenberg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Burgstraße 16, 91183 Abenberg, Germany

#2 of 2 hotels in Abenberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 178 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Quite a bit pricey

    - It's a castle! - Authentic furniture with a modern twist - Excellent breakfast, although no buffet - Town centre just minutes away (by foot) - Brombach Lake just minutes away (by car) - Very friendly staff - Parking spaces available

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are not actually in the castle but rather in a small building (guesthouse) so it kind of looses from the appeal...also you have to walk about 400 meters in snow/rain to get to the check in or breakfast and back. there are 3 stories in the the guesthouse and i was on the 3'rd ! no elevator and very low ceilings. not fun the hotel is in the middle of no where, at least 15-20 min drive to a place with food in the darkness of night and on snowy roads.

    Nice warm rooms, not too far from the breakfast/dinner hall and check in. every room has a privet bathroom and is large.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a slight bit of confusion when we initially checked in, but shortly after our arrival the manager (sorry, never caught her name) contacted us and resolved our issues. The castle was beautiful. The rooms amazing with spectacular views. Dinner at the restaurant was one of the best meals we had during our entire trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms in the castle are accessed via steep staircase and feel somewhat claustrophobic. Guesthouse is lovely and airy. Missed having an zircon though, it was very hot and there was a lot of flies, nets in the windows would be helpful.

    We did not actually stay in the castle, but in a guesthouse, short walk in town. Room was spacious and airy. Very modern and very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful! Great atmosphere, our children loved the place -and the adorable little dog. They rolled out an extension cord so we could charge our electric car overnight. We just wish we had more time to spend there :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In booking.com web pages was offered a room in castle, but in fact I was placed into guest house, which is 500 m far from castle. From my point of view it is misleading advertastment!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outstanding experience being able to stay in an actual historic castle! Staff was amazing....extremely helpful and pleasant, they bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and take care of our needs!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is not available in the Tower. Need to go to breakfast area or stay in the guest houses.

    The honeymoon suite in the tower is very nice and double the size of standard room. Love the free fancy water bottles.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were so helpful. We loved the castle hotel and the village. We waited for the lace museum to open so we could ask to go up the little tower at the castle and got a fabulous view. We also went through the lace museum which was very interesting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was more than friendly! Upon check in they acted as if they were welcoming a family member home. We took a walk around the area of the hotel and the community was wonderful. We ate dinner at the hotel: the food was wonderful and the service was better. The breakfast was way more than sufficient to fuel ourselves for a day of traveling - way more choices than room in one's stomach!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought I would have a room in a castle. Istead I had a room in a guesthouse in a vilage below.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great restaurant! Friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are a lot of steps if you have a room in the tower, it was fine for me, but be aware when you book.

    Great welcome and fantastic place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not easily accessible you will need to self drive.

    The place is very peaceful and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed a bit soft.

    rooms are clean and sufficient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On Mondays the restaurant is closed and the only possibility to have a meal is at the golf restaurant, which is several kilometers away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was awesome to be staying actually within the castle towet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room of a collegue had dead insects. Probably not used very often

    Location, friedliness if staff, quality of food

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't realize it ahead of time but our room was in the tower on the third floor which had no elevator. The stairs were treacherous!!!! There was no hotel staff to help us with our luggage. It was a killer climb.

    From the outside it was a great looking old castle.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The guesthouse is not in the castle. It's at the foot of castle hill and you get there by stairs or by car. You have to clarify before booking, that you get a room in the castle.

    Great historical location, good restaurant and very friendly staff!!!

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    lights in the tower hallways kept turning off - energy savings mode.

    Upgrade to tower room, food, ambience. Hidden away about a 1/2 hour drive from Nurnberg is this gem. We could not find a place in Nurberg during a spring break tour of Germany with my 13 year old son so we took a chance and booked here. It turned out to be the highlight of our 2 week trip! We loved the upgrade to the tower (not suitable for those afraid of the dark or lots of stairs), listening to the church bells ring all night, the fog rolling in in the morning. Wished we could have stayed for the Frankenstein dinner theatre but unfortunately we had to press on. Christian was a wonderful host, dinner was excellent and so was the included breakfast spread in the morning. Of our two weeks in Germany it was the only hotel to have face cloths - North American style - thank you! We will definitely be back!

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No dinner on Mondays, so I even went downtown. Almost all restaurants closed on Mondays.

    I liked the location and the idea to sleep in a Tower of an old castle. Great breakfast with healthy food.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything, owners were so helpful. The restaurant was closed due to a recent festival, they booked a restaurant for us and drove us there, the owner of the restaurant drove us back. Rooms 1st Class and location is quiet if thats what you want. The castle also has a museum.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It would be nice to have wifi at least at the restaurant area. The only annoying moment of the trip was dinner at the restaurant. The restaurant manager was nice and entertaining but was not able to capture the fact that our son was tired and moody, so the only thing we wanted was to have a quick dinner and go back to our room. He kept showing off all the dishes and drinks that he brought and was obviously trying to impress us with his knowledge and jokes.This would be fine if we were having a date, but it becomes extremely annoying if you have a crying child on your arms. Unfortunately he was never able to realize that and it took us more than 1:30mins to get served, quite long for a restaurant that was nearly empty. We left rushing to finish our dishes and paying the bill at the counter for what was quite a disappointing and expensive dinner.

    This hotel provides guests the opportunity to sleep in a real castle and that is definitely an unique experience that everybody will enjoy. The room has also a unique character, nice deco and a very comfortable bed. For families, it is quite a challenge to get up the tower stairs carrying the pushcart and luggage, but I think it s worth the effort. Breakfast was very good and free parking is definetly a plus.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was on the softer side. Shower cabin was a little tight, better loose some weight before i go there next time.

    Located in a peaceful area. Good view and pleasant surroundings. Good breakfast, with lots of varieties. Hope nextime to get a room in the castle tower. But for sure will go there again.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything is great only i can say a bit confussing. I was sent to sleep to the guest house which is in different building... it is fine as the guest house is beatiful and confortable and only 2 minutes walking but the explanation may be not clear enough when you arrive.

    the beatiful house, town, brekfast and the staff. everything is very good.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the castle setting in a peaceful village. The hosts made us feel special.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: