Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Burghotel auf Schönburg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Auf Schönburg, 55430 Oberwesel, Germany

#2 of 13 hotels in Oberwesel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 455 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    This was a dreamy night away in a beautiful castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a dreamy night away in a beautiful castle. We loved exploring the museum, gardens/streams/swing, treehouses, and the dinner and breakfast on the terrace was amazing! The panoramic views from terrace, tower, gardens, our room, etc..., were breathtaking. You will feel like a King or Queen at this wonderful Castle.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Great romantic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was extremely uncomfortable

    The view, hospitality, the history, location and the willingness of the kitchen to provide a vegan meal for me! Room 29's garden terrace was absolutely stunning!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with fabulous views and foodl.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that I did not like.

    Fabulous hotel with views that cannot be imagined. Staff was so gracious, and the dining experiences were 5 star. Breakfast here is just grand.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    The price is so reasonable for what you get here ... treat yourself to this amazing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everyone from the owner to wait staff were fantastic! Everyone seemed to truly like working there and wanted you to be happy in every way. The private gardens have so much time and love put into them. My wife and I spent hours exploring it. Food was wonderful as well breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Traumhaft
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View southwards down the Rhein slightly spoilt by retail park but that isn’t the fault of the hotel and more the local planners.

    The whole ambience, location, decadence, food and hospitality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    AMAZING STAY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing! It was wonderful!

    EVERYTHING! My favorite aspect was the secret garden! Appreciated that there were fans inside the rooms - hard to make a castle temperature friendly but overall, they have done a great job!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    It's a fairy tale castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The garden, breakfast, and rooms are amazing. It's like walking through a fairy tale castle. My husband and our moms had a great time relaxing here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Our room was a suite room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a suite room. Wife and I used main bed room and 14 years old daughter used the one at upstairs. Interior and furnitures were excellent so we felt like we were in a real castle and it was spacious too. Restaurant was also lovely with quality of food with stunning view of the Rhine as well as great service by friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Stay of a lifetime for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We should have stayed longer.

    A very unique experience. The room was beautiful with a private terrace. The bathroom was amazing. We were blown away by the experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    A magical step back in time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we did stay long enough

    This is a very special place. The private garden and tower is a must. The care and thought put into the comfort for the guests is exceptional. A must for the person looking for a unique experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Best hotel ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t say enough good things about this place. Beautiful room, beautiful common areas, cool view from the balcony. Everything felt like a castle, inside and out. Lovely gardens provide a nice place for a stroll and to relax. Dinner was amazing and vegetarian options were great. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Worth every cent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We realised that even in a castle you can still occasionally hear other guests

    Fabulous experience. Loved every minute of it. Staff were very attentive. Our room was small but we knew that when we booked. The garden is delightful and would be stunning in spring/summer. The museum was terrific as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    A Must Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can only get there by taxi as it is on a hilltop

    So many things to see inside and outside the castle. Great views of the city and river. Outstanding rooms and meals. Unique experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Amazing place, great views, just wished for more food and snack options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real complaints. The only thing I can say is that food options are limited. They have a restaurant which is fine, but aside from that the town below isnt easily accessible so it's not easy to get food past dinner time, or between lunch and dinner, etc.

    The place was clean, authentic, well decorated. The views are spectacular and the staff are great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    memorable, remote, huge fun place to say.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited choice in the restaurant, but well presented. Need to be 100% able bodied to climb the final 20 metres up the road to the door.

    When you need a little treat, and your itinerary goes near this remote part of the Rhine valley, this is THE place to stay. Crazy rooms, spiral steel staircases, open fires, balconies and the occasional passing train.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner was served in a large plain room, NOT in the dining room.. And the waitress tried to seat us at a long, large plain table empty table that would have seated ten. I objected--so we were moved to a different and decent table. [Another couple was seated at the big plain table--which obviously was an import from some kitchen.] The public rooms were closed to guests--because they had all been rented for the wedding. [No discount, of course, to regular guests for this trickery.]

    The castle. The dinner and the breakfast,.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Came with a girlfriend, left with a fiance! Perfect fairytale proposal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer!

    The quaintness and comfort of the hotel was exactly was we were looking for. The cleanliness of the the facility was great, the food was phenomenal and the staff was polite and accommodating. The Castle grounds were mesmerizing as well as the view of the Rhine river.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Our best hotel ever in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so important for us for family stay. But, some of the room didn’t have nice WiFi access. If you really need bath tub in the room, better to check hotel website for your booking in advance.

    This was our 3rd time stay in this hotel. This time we stayed 2 nights in the 2 different rooms due to the booking trouble of hotel side. Room No 23 is highest tower room, where you can enjoy great terrace with nice view as well as comfortable bath tub. Room inside also very unique, so our 6-years-old daughter enjoyed it very much. Room No 30 is suite room in the 1st floor of main building. It was maisonette type, so very spacious with big LCD TV, but there was no bus tub inside. Both room were nice, but my daughter loved Room 23. BF was fantastic for the variety of choice with egg amuse from hotel. Dinner was also great. Hotel has 3 different dinner room, so you can enjoy completely different atomosphere if you want. Taste teriffic with variety of set menu. Wine list also great. Cost also reasonable level.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was great, I am vegan and got such a lovely spread...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great, I am vegan and got such a lovely spread, also got a special meal for dinner which was lovely. We travelled with a baby and even got a nappy bin in our room - so thoughtful! Room was fantastic and views incredible. Highly recommend it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, with outstanding service, views and rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    choice of menu in the restaurant could be a bit broader

    wonderfull location, rooms and facilities, welcome and supporting staff and an excellent restaurant, excellent breakfast and cozy bar/room to relax at the fireplace

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Breakfast is well worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is well worth it! Breakfast and the bubble bath were the best. Do the bubble bath. Do the slippers and robe too. Do the Schonberg egg. Do it all.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely castle and location, very nice views overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the mattress in the single room so much, it didn't feel so comfy or a very good quality, including the pillow.

    Lovely castle and location, very nice views overlooking the river and hills, staff are super friendly and helpful, overall was an excellent experience!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Service was AWESOME.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was AWESOME. This castle was incredible!!!!! It really felt like I was staying in a castle: stone streets, castle walls, handsome stone doorways, dark wooden doors. Our room were very nice with double bed, table with complementary wine, and complementary beer, water, and juice in the refrigerator. Good water pressure & excellent shower/bathroom. comfortable beds. Elaborate, authentic rooms. This was the best place we staying during a week in Europe. Beautiful gardens below castle. We stayed in November, but still very pretty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Dreamy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant food could be much better. Breakfast was fine but dinner at the restaurant was so so.

    Garden are so beautiful. And the castle look like a dream. We felt like in a fairy tail. Can't wait to come back again!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    A beautiful burghotel for an enjoyable holiday.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Burghotel has been very elegantly renovated and it was a pleasure to spend our last couple of days of our 3 months European holiday there. The garden was extensive with lots of places to sit and enjoy the autumn colours. Our meals, both breakfast and dinner, were enjoyable. All staff were very friendly and helpful. We are happy to recommend the burghotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Castle charm made this a very memorable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The grounds outside had some trash bags that were overflowing.

    This place has charm. They included a free minibar restocked daily, a bottle of sherry restocked daily, chocolates and ear plugs. Just remember that you're staying in a castle and it will be different than other 4 star hotels: the rooms, the stairs, the parking is all a little different due to the unique building. Breakfast was great, and the open fire in the library was delightful. My recommendation for dinner close by is at Historische Weinwirtschaft.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    A very special experience, both the hotel and restaurant were perfect in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothin - it was perfect.

    Everything - the most fantastic hotel that we have ever stayed in. A truely genuine castle with more atmosphere and charm than we could have hoped for. Can't wait to stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Stunning venue. Great service. Want to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect. Maybe coffee/tea set out in room would be good.

    Everything. Beautiful rooms. Fantastic food. Sherry and apples in room. Brilliant surroundings.lovely grounds and garden. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Memory for a lifetime...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food could be better. Not much selection on the menu. Service was so so in the restaurant.

    Loved the atmosphere overall inside the castle and the lovely castle gardens. Enjoyed spending time in the library by the fire place and exploring all the passages on the castle wall. Our room was perfect with so many lovely details. It was a complete experience staying here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Castle castle castle!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    So, a bit pricey, but If I could give 11/10 I would. The location, the castle, the staff, the facilities, it was fairytale stuff. Worth every penny and more!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Awesome medieval castle experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a second night last minute and the price was only $20 per night difference. Thee first night's bed was comfortable for two people as I chose two twins, big room. Butt the second and original room was very small and the bed was uncomfortably tight and against the wall for two adults.

    Castle hotel with true medieval ambience. Very beautiful all around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    Enchanting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking distance was a little far, but the golf cart picking me up was a nice touch.

    I fractured my ankle and wanted to change my room to accomodate a wheelchair, but found out that you would have charged me 80% of the cost of the room for cancelling. Luckily the castle owner upgraded my room at no cost to me. Come to also find out that if I had booked directly, dinner would have been included in the room price (36 Euro) and the room would have been 10 Euro cheaper. The castle experience was perfect, my only disappointment was booking through you. Every detail in the castle was perfect. I commend the castle owner and their staff. We'll do it again. From the decanter of sherry, fruit, private balcony to the robe and complimentary slippers and reserved dinner and breakfast table, it was wonderful. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service, lovely details, fantastic views and delicious food! This place has everything you wish for in a hotel! As a vegetarian/vegan couple we were delighted to see a good amount of vegetarian/vegan options on the dinner menu.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Price is definitely worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't find anything even nit-picky to complain about.

    The garden is amazing, with winding paths to different places set up for activities, including swings, giant chess boards, and reading nooks. The furnishings in the room were picked out with extreme care to make everyone feel like royalty living in the past. They have the best breakfast bar I have ever had in my life, including a fabulous tea selection with a pot system I had never seen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Wish I had stayed a day longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices were a little high and the facilities are somewhat limited. The entrance way is a physical challenge, but there is an elevator, and excellent help with your luggage to and from the parking lot is available.

    The feeling of, and the view from, this ancient castle, high above the Rhine River, is magnificant. Food and local wine are very good. There is easy access to the KD cruise ship, right in the best part of the Rhine to view castles. The property is ancient, authentic, extensive and very interesting to pursue on your own. Located just an hour or so from Frankfurt Airport. It even has a local ghost for your "comfort". An unforgettable oppotrunity for a short visit!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful castle stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess depends on the room....no wifi where we stay.

    It's a real castle hotel...it's a great experience stay. Dinner and breakfast at Rhein river view terrace was excellent. Very friendly stuff. Good at English. Nice middle age design room...makes you feel more staying at castle. In the morning, the power supply dropped off...it was time us for departure, so no harm...in such accident, set candles on the stairs and corridors...which made even Romantic moment. Good hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    The room was beautiful and luxurious with modern amenities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beautiful and luxurious with modern amenities without completely masking its medieval heritage. The view of the Rhine vineyards and the village of Oberwesel from the room was outstanding. The gardens accessible only to hotel guests were charming, with a number of unexpected tiny cottages for sitting, reading or simply relaxing. The breakfast seating area is also worth noting with beautiful views of the Rhine valley. We would highly recommend a stay at this castle hotel to complete any exploration of the middle Rhine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    This was the absolute favorite stop on our trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our favorite stop of all! It's a beautiful hotel! Our room had a view of the Rhine, a balcony, a sitting room, a quaint and well appointed bathroom, wonderful amenities in our room and breakfast was excellent!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic castle with a wonderful view and many interesting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not up to what one would expect at a luxury hotel, but on the day we were there it was the day that they have less employees so we just had a set course dinner. However, the dinner was not particularly special. However, everything else was wonderful so we were not disappointed.

    Fantastic castle with a wonderful view and many interesting decorative items in the rooms and in the hallways of the castle. It was very luxurious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    The best stay around Rhine region!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    A perfect 10! Everything is perfect. Huge room with huge terrace! Antique furniture, free mini bar, welcome wine. High end restaurant with local flavor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Medieval castle overlooking Rhine river
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The train transport in Rhine valley is quite frequent. The trains pleasantly look like toys when observed from the castle. The sleep of more sensitive guests, however, might be somewhat disturbed (ear plugs are provided).

    This is the romantic accommodation in the medieval castle sensitively converted to a hotel. It ranks among the unforgettable experiences. The staff was attentive and helpful in all respects. Breakfasts and dinners were excellent. The castle is overlooking the valley of Rhine river with many boats. A special attention has to be paid to the large garden just below the castle, which is accessible exclusively to hotel quests. Several pavilions with comfortable chairs provide a relaxing privacy in a beautifully designed garden/park.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bad things to say. We had breakfast outside because of great weather, is sad for the people who will miss that opportunity.

    Friendly reception. Location is magical. Breakfast is fantastic. This was a lot better than the pictures on the website.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    Memorable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining in a quiet small room felt a bit weird, some music on the background would help. The dinner was a bit overpriced for what it was but ok, you can expect this when staying at such a hotel. Somehow all dishes were extremely salty(( even for a salt lover that I am.

    Loved the whole vibe of uniqueness about the place, its - a bit secluded - location on top of the hill, interior, great terrace, the room was very special, we were pleasantly surprised by a welcome package, the garden was lovely. One can feel a lot of attention to details, all in all it was a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Incredible way to end out stay in Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like having to leave.

    Everything from beginning to end was amazing. It is a Castle and it is beautiful. The service was perfect, everyone was there to help. The room was like you would want to see in a Castle. The bathroom was modern but classical. The views were spectacular, the gardens absolutely beautiful. Breakfast was served on a terrace and all the food was excellent. We spent the last three nights in Germany there and that is the way to end a vacation. If you start out there everything that follows will simply not be enough. Only regret was that we did not book it for more nights.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Princess for a night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike at this Hotel

    The hotel was decorated in authentic time period furnishings. The rooms were truly amazing. I was travelling with my 2 Sisters so we booked 2 rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Treated like royalty the every step of the way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room gets quite worm

    Treated like royalty. The bes was firm and comfortable House keeping did a thorough job Amazing views Yhe porter Customer service is amazing Private gardens

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    beautiful garden, great view, lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathtub in No. 38 room is magnificent. but the hot water is limited. hope we knew it beforehand. can't get WIFI due to the thick wall.

    beautiful garden, great view, lovely room. Hope we can stay longer. will choose the castle again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    Highly highly recommend it for anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    I cannot even begin to describe how beautiful this place was. It was truly a fairytale adventure. We would've like to stay a little longer but we're not able to. The rooms all of them, we are beautiful and so elegant and The hotel staff was dressed in Castle type old fashioned attire and extremely helpful, fiendly and sweet. The room we had was the best one. It was high up and our door opened to a private balcony type outdoor walk on top of the castle wall overlooking the river Rhein and alsO the courtyard on the other side. Two little space to write everything that impressed me. We will definitely stay there again for another fairytale adventure next time we visit Germany. A definite must stay location for anybody.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Best hotel and travel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have changed my travel so I could stay there more than one Night

    Beautiful facility. Amazing views. Amazing people. We stayed at a castle and were treated like royalty. Very neat experience. I travel a lot. Have been to 26 countries and usually stay in bed and breakfasts or Marriott. This has been the neatest place I have stayed. Food was great. We hiked all over the castle and grounds. Felt relaxed. Neat to stay at a place with such a long history.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like.

    The whole experience of our stay at Auf Schönburg was truly amazing. It is a beautiful fair the castle hotel and the welcome and service from the family Hüttl and all the staff was absolutely first class. We went to celebrate our 1st anniversary and will be staying again in the future.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a real castle! Very close to the train station, but not easy to walk to the top of the hill, the hotel helped call a taxi cost 8.5 euro, and arranged a golf cart to help me with the luggage. Nice room, delicious dinner and beautiful garden, everything is wonderful there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Fantasy castle stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no room service apart from breakfast and a limited choice of food. Unfortunately my wife wasn't able to eat the food on offer.

    The hotel, location, room, staff, outside areas and views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Amazing Castle, Amazing Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Burghotel auf Schönburg is an extraordinary hotel. The accommodations, the food, and the staff are superior. It is truly a first class hotel, and coupled with the magnificent views and the the fact that your are staying an historic castle, I cannot fathom any other hotel being able to match the experience. If you want to spend one or more nights in a romantic authentic castle-hotel, you must visit Burghotel auf Schönburg.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Amazing stay at a true castle. Amazing view from atop the mountain overlooking the Rhine. Wonderful staff. Extremely clean. Excellent food. Couldn't ask for a better experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Memorable castle stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to push the tandem bicycle and bags up the hill to get there. Perhaps a shuttle service for cyclists and hikers, even for a fee, would be much appreciated!

    Love the medieval castle hotel. Everything was decorated using great attention to details. The many lovely sitting area inside the castle and in the garden was charming. Staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast and dinner were amazing. Best meals of our trip! We will definitely return and stay longer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    The BEST Hotel Experience I've Ever Had
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gigantic statue keychain for our room key isn't the easiest thing to comfortably fit in a pants pocket.

    This was without a doubt, the absolute best hotel experience I have ever had (including a Mediterranean cruise)! There was nothing gimmicky or cheap here. The room and amenities (including a free bottle of sherry) were first-class. The hotel and castle decor was very elegant and tasteful. The staff were extremely kind, helpful, and gave us the personal attention that every traveler wants. The five-course dinner was the capstone to the experience as each dish arrived perfectly prepared; tasting even better. A romantic stroll through the private gardens enhanced the overall experience, and by the end, none of us wanted to leave. We literally had a perfect stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    relaxed and recovered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only thing that i did not likke was when we had to leave.

    the breakfast was excellent with the meal in the evening superb and the alcoves that you can visit around the hotel magnificent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Absolutely perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I did not like! My stay was absolutely perfect.

    Staying here has been a highlight of my life. Every detail was excellent and a memory I will cherish for ever. Each and every detail was beyond my expectations.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.8
    Experience of a lifetime to stay in a castle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not surprisingly, castles can be a little drafty. Initial staff didn't show us we could connect to lobby in the interior, we were going through a courtyard and freezing for dinner, etc.

    Beautiful, unique experience to stay in an actual castle. Every staff member wonderful and friendly to our two year old. The large room we reserved had a balcony and a clawfoot tub besides a more modern shower.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    amazing castle-hotel, perfect for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    gorgeous location, room had balcony/turret access with beautiful views of the river, impressive attention to detail throughout the hotel - elaborate wooden furnishings, medieval themed chocolates and pen-quills, beautiful and clean bathroom, comfortable bed, generous free mini-bar and complimentary sherry, delicious restaurant menu and breakfast buffet. i was especially impressed with the attentive consideration given by the exemplary staff for my lactose intolerance, with ample replacements and alternatives offered by the kitchen. also loved the fireplace in the sitting room and all the gorgeous books lining the walls. will recommend this place for anyone.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    Enchantingl magnificent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about this Enchanting Castle! It was like stepping back into Time with all the modern amenities you could want. The amazingly beautiful room with Sherry and. Fresh apples waiting.. to the quaint library with roaring fireplace, hidden rooms that are decorated with perfection.. made this castle feel like we were in the year 800.. The staff were wonderful and in character for the time. They treated us as though we were the owners of this heavenly place! It was truly magnificent!! I cannot wait to go back!!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    9.6
    Great experience and great impression
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking a little distance away from the hotel and guest have to drag the suitcase uphill - can be challenge for many people

    Great breakfast; Remarkable castle experience; Elegant room and surrounding; Super library and the wood fire at night. Beautiful garden and outstanding view overlooking River Rhein

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    10
    Everything is also great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    no

    Everything is also great. Service staff polite, very helpful, the appearance of the castle, the hotel room, lounge area, the restaurant environment is also very beautiful. Breakfast is authentic and delicious. Lunch and dinner food is a high standard. It is worth staying in the castle dining. The face of the Rhine, the scenery is too beautiful! Free parking is also available. Very convenient to travel by car. The whole is perfect. Because too like, had only booked two nights accommodation, so immediately set an extra night. Will come back here!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    10
    Want to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful Castle. Staff were friendly and very professional. Loved our room overlooking the river. Both meals were delicious our server was delightful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.6
    Worth another visit !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view , but , noisy . Located faced the railroad ! Could hear the train all night :(

    Loved the castle ! The building was amazing ! The grounds were more than beautiful . The staff were very helpful and friendly . The room was clean and comfortable , even free refreshments and a bottle of sherry !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    This is the castle hotel which you want to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The information where to park my car also where was the reception to go was what we could not find in the dark.

    The best castle hotel in Germany among 5 hotels I stayed before.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We very much enjoyed our stay. Staff were very friendly and accommodating and also spoke English! Our room was just adorable--everything you would like to see in a castle bedroom. Quaint but lavish. We were both so thrilled that we were able to get a room here. Would definitely book here again if we get back to Germany.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Perfect location to explore the Rhine valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was a castle so it was incredible beautiful . The view of the Rhine river and The Valley wih the vines and the boats added to the charm of the place. The place per se was a historic site. Close to the town and midway to the other major towns of the mid Rhine valley so location was perfect The bed was very comfortable and the service was excellent Overall I will definitely recommend this place

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.2
    Enchanting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is more than we usually spend but the uniqueness was well worth it. Location was off the beaten path but oh my goodness what a view. Wonderful experience!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.6
    Perfect stay, with one small exception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place needs some kind of a shuttle or car service. My fiance and I had to drag our luggage all the way up the hill because it was a Sunday and the town taxi didn't appear to be operating.

    It was a castle. It was freakin' amazing. We were put up in one of the separate cottages and it was like a fairy tale. Truly, the most opulent, luxurious place we have ever stayed. We considered postponing the next leg of our trip so we could stay an extra night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    Our stay here was like being in a fairy tale! Magical!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the choices for dinner menu were limited. Wifi was sketchy at best But you should forget about wifi when here- it is too spectacular to need to be plugged into anyone. The town of Oberweisel did not match with its lack of splendor and closed up restaurants all day and evening.

    The ambiance was spectacular! The gardens were beautiful. The history and treasures were unbelievable The breakfast was marvelous

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    Awesome stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. We slept with the windows open and some of the guests were pretty loud late into the night. After notifying the front desk the problem was resolved.

    We loved this place and would definitely return on our next visit to Germany.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.8
    Medieaval splendour, high above the Rhine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A huge amount of imagination has gone into all the little details, from the way the stereo is hidden away in your room, to the design of the butter dish on the table. The food was excellent. The first evening, they apologised for "only" having a limited choice because we arrived late, and proceeded to serve us a wonderful meal as the sun went down over the mountains! Lunch was also delicious, with a different wine for each course. Truly excellent. The staff all seem to really enjoy their work and were helpful, friendly and relaxed. Do make sure you leave at least two hours to visit what the hotel modestly refers to as "the garden" but which is in fact a park, with lots of little surprises, open only to guests.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful room with a view over the river. Super comfortable bed and clean beautiful bathroom. Amazi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful room with a view over the river. Super comfortable bed and clean beautiful bathroom. Amazing beautiful food, dinner and breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Very nice surroundings and splendid room. Just didn’t want to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The design of the room was very unique and the garden was more than I could ask for. Every staff was so friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: