Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Burgschänke This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Schloßstraße 1, 67661 Kaiserslautern, Germany

#11 of 18 hotels in Kaiserslautern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 203 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wished there was air conditioning, but that's the only thing we missed really.

    The staff was lovely and the restaurant was great! Very convenient location, we had a car and there was ample parking. Breakfast was very good and the staff was even kind enough to prepare it early the morning we left!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    lack of communication from the host. I would have appreciated knowing that I couldn't check out early in the morning. Thankfully someone was available but certainly not happy about it.

    location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The linens and pillows are very nice, but it would be nice to conform to the rest of the world and have actual sheets and comforters that can be used for the whole bed and not just one side of the twin bed. A business center would be great to have access to.

    Good size room compared to other European locations. Staff is very friendly, great breakfast, restaurant and bar, a nice area with train close by to get into the city and nice outdoors stuff for active individuals.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to complaint ...

    Nice location, a bit off the main road, very quiet, excellent restaurant downstairs. Staff & owners were very friendly and surprised me with a small gift at the end of the stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    late in the evening there are very few buses to get back from city centre.. bus lines and maps are sometimes hard to understand, german-only.. there is no public transport info for google maps navigation and directions in Kaiserslautern (!).. it's easier to catch a bus in the morning, but returns in the evening I did by taxi.

    tasty breakfast, helpful staff, very clean facilities, the whole restaurant downstairs and its menu, quiet in the evenings & nights

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have zero complaints.

    The staff was welcoming and very helpful. I drive long distances and look for accommodations that have everything on site so I do not need to drive again once arriving. Parking, restaurant, bar, free wifi and breakfast are my must haves. Bonuses with the Burgschänke were the outside seating area(s) and a small balcony. The weather was not cooperative to enjoy the outdoor areas but I look forward to enjoying them when I do return. The room was a nice size. Comfortable bed. LOOOOOOTS of HOT water! I arrived on a Saturday evening and only stayed one night. Most shops are closed on Sundays in Germany and I did not explore the surrounding area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing - Truly no complaints.

    Absolutely fabulous hotel and even more so when considering the rate. Hotel was extremely well located for both access to the area and for access to historical sites as well as walking/hiking. Hotel was quiet and great for sleeping...and the restaurant was superior...great German dinner fare (Wines and Beer too...) and also an excellent B-fast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place was amazing! Great location, near the castle ruins (right at the base), huge rooms for some of our party, great for families! Can't say enough about how happy we were with this hotel and staff! Highly recommend!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the rooms didn't have pillar slips or covers on the bedding , and TBF the 2nd room was disappointing

    Food Good , any needs were catered for if you asked

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was perfect.

    We arrived early and had dinner, then breakfast the next morning. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The hotel is in a beautiful little town, and relatively quiet. The food was amazing and the atmosphere was exactly the German experience we were looking for. We would use this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and restaurant are beautiful with gorgeous flowers. We ate dinner and it was wonderful however we loved the breakfasts each morning even more. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were driving through and booked a triple room which seemed very authentic on photos. We arrived very late, thanks to the man who stayed late to welcome us. But he took us to an apartment instead, it was clean but the style was very poor, was too late and too tired to ask for anything so we just slept overnight and left.

    Location is nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was warm and no AC. The windows opened so the breeze helped

    Excellent food. Great place to feel like you've stepped back in time a bit. Staff willing to help out in anyway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like

    Beautiful facility. Exceptional staff and exceptional German food and hospitality. Helen and her staff go over and beyond to give exceptional customer service. Arriving is like coming home to a well-loved relative

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - everything was perfect.

    The hotel was the highlight of my trip. Staff amazingly friendly ( even offered to collect me from the train station), restaurant and food were fantastic and there was a great atmosphere when I arrived @9pm tired and hungry and afraid that everything was going to be shut. Bedroom had everything I needed, very clean and tidy. If I could, I would literally travel back to KL just to stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room amenities are scant. No coffee/hot water maker, however refridge is in room; iron but no ironing board, they use large size multiple-use shampoo/conditioners which means you're using the same one as everyone else.

    Location is great, parking available, restaurant is good, bar is nice, great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked these rooms over a month ago. We arrived to find a paper taped to the door saying "Today Closed" We didn't know what to do. My husband looked around and found a side door and opened it. On the stairs their was a bowl with ripped piece of paper with half of our name written and go upstairs with 2 keys. we had to drag our bags up 3 flights of stairs then go through a maze of hallways to the back of the hotel to find 1 of our rooms was 1 flight up and the other room one flight down. It was Christmas eve and we were left with no dinner, nothing. I had family here as a little girl and was there after many years to see my elderly uncle. We were hoping to have a nice german meal at there wonderful restaurant that we never got to see. On their web site they proudly say that they never take a day off and that they are always there for their patrons. They even have that next to their menu infront of their restaurant and I took a picture of it the next day. I was so shocked to read that after our experience. We then got an e mail 1 day later saying that we had not paid. we thought we already had through our booking service but could not believe the nerve of them saying that when there was no one there to pay. We have no problem with someone taking a day off especially for a holiday but when you are closed, DON'T rent a room. We just received a call from a very rude and sarcastic woman saying I was lying. She continued to contradict herself as we spoke. She said "Everyone knows that Germans take Christmas Eve off." That is not even the point, I told her. If you are closed don't rent a room and leave patrons stranded with no food for Christmas eve or any other day of the year. We had to take a taxi to Kaiserslautern and drive around for 30 minutes looking for an open restaurant. By the way the mattress was old and lumpy, very uncomfortable and no extra blankets to be found.

    NOTHING!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A minor complaint:: although there was an electric kettle in the room, there were no cups available or tea and coffee which would have been a nice touch.

    We stayed in a lodge room behind the main hotel which was large and comfortable but parking was a little awkward as the main hotel is on a busy road and as we arrived when it was dark, it was difficult to manoeuvre into the small parking area which was up a steepish hill. The room was warm, the bed comfortable and wifi worked well so no complaints there. Breakfast was very good with a large choice of tasty items.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast buffet, which was not included, was standard with lunch meats cheese, yogurt, cereal and breads. Unfortunately unless you get there as soon as they bring the scrambled eggs they just sit there in a pan and get cold, no hot pad under them to keep them warm, although they'll make new if you ask.

    You can tell just by looking around that the building is very well kept and there is attention to details, very nice looking with lots of flowers. Large comfortable room with a hotpot for tea or coffee and a small refrigerator and microwave. Rooms were cleaned regularly and plenty of towels. Very good restaurant and service. Just a short walk to the bus into town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Issues with the payment terminal. Not dramatic as there is an ATM across the street.

    Great location, nice rooms, decent meal and breakfast. Bike parking and the boss is a bike expert. His recommendation for the cycling route to Heidelberg was just perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are mobility limited, make sure to tell them that. We are not, but I can see where it may be a problem for someone.

    The room was very clean, and had a mini fridge and a nice roomy bathroom. The restaurant was as wonderful as I remember; we had an excellent meal and service. Staff is very friendly and speaks English. Located right next to the hiking trail to the old church and castle. Breakfast typical German fare, and wonderful. We used to live in this town and went back for a short stay. So glad we came back!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big party Saturday night. Suddenly fireworks behind the hotel either the Catholic Church as background at 9 pm. Whee!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with tea and coffee facilities in room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is great. Very quaint and staff was very friendly. Location was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom had seriously bad odors coming from the drainage system.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loves the room, the surrounding area, and the food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had to leave

    staff was exceptional, accommodating, professional and appreciative of our patronage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow WiFi

    Beautiful vineyard, near walking trail, quiet, lots of personality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are not prepared to walk you may want to consider a hotel closer to Kaiserslautern.

    The food is hearty and delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Outstanding Gasthouse. The staff was extremely welcoming and gracious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat pricey.

    Amazing ambiance.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful hotel with friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stay here for several times. Nice hotel restaurant with original German food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in annex not original building.

    Character hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing it was great.

    Great Hotel,Quiet Village,Great food and bar,Staff were very helpfull and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi speeds aren't great.

    Nice hotel not too far from the city. Lots of great hiking nearby. Good breakfast and lots of free parking near the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    THAT I COULDN'T STAY LONGER, hopefully I will return and stay longer.

    Room was excellent, food was fantastic and staff was tremendous. I was in the US Army in K-Town ( May 1963/ Aug 1965), Panzer Kaserne, a small Signal Repair Unit. I had a need to return and I am so glad I did and stayed at this motel.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Restaurant has amazing German food. Rooms are very clean. Breakfast in the morning has a large variety of food and drink. This is my go to hotel when visiting the area.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The main reason for booking hotel is location as it was 9 minututes drive from Audi Niederlasung and convenient to drop my Audi A5 off for its annual service. Again, this hotel is in a great location and area to travel with pets, take walks up to Burg and is very pet friendly.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is 3 minutes by car to the Kaiserslautern Base, KTown high school and Rhine Ordnance Barracks. 5 minute drive to the autobahn. Restaurant in hotel serves fantastic German food. Staff speaks English. Hotel is Spotless! Unbelievably clean. Great showers and comfy beds. Breakfast has a nice variety of eggs, cereals, breads, fruits, meats, juices, cheeses, tea and coffee. Even has a computer and printer for guest use. Wifi worked great. Plenty of parking. Definitely deserves a +10 rating.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Group

    Wifi was slow and kicked you off periodically but that coukd be because the hotel was full. No other complaints or negatives. This place was great.

    Great location. The staff was wonderful and friendly. The restaurant had great food and prices were very reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    a little town nearly Kaiserslautern , quite, the hotel is at the center we can't miss it. The staff is perfect, the restaurant and the breakfast are very good.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Not emough comfort for the price of 78€ Bed was a couch, not a real bed & no night table next to the bed - it was behind the bed & not easily accesible to the bed. night table light did not work so had to use desk lamp on desk chair next to bed. no tv viewing chair so had to lie on bed or share desk chair with the light. The phone was disconnected so no emergency link was available. Had to ask for the salad which was advertized with the meal. The meat did not look nor taste fresh taken from the daily menu.

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was perfect!

    Excellent, efficient, friendly staff. Good food at restaurant Outdoor patio great for drinks

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very nice and Historical hotel, excellent food, staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good location to tour on motorbike trip.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    none

    Wonderful restaurant, great location. Would stay again

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Did not get room as promised due to overbooking. Management needs rot fix that problem as it happened 3 times already. No excuses!

    Nice Place

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice and friendly people. Good atmosfeer.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Group

    Staff was so friendly and polite

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great staff! Wonderful restaurant! We had 7 family members from the U.S. and they truly enjoyed their first night in Germany.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent breakfast and good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kind staff, comfortable room, good breakfast, very nice restaurant with good food and genuine pleasant German atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi Fi did not work!

    The staff is fabulous!!

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff Easy to find No pressure to eat there Wonderful food at restaurant

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse Burgschänke traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: