Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Burgwald 3 stars

Salzwegerstraße 9, 94034 Passau, Germany

#25 of 31 hotels in Passau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 740 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not very friendly. Not giving information about hotel or breakfast. We needed to wait some time to be noticed by staff. Nothing special about restaurant

    Quite, easy to reach, price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift or help from stuff to bring the bags on stairs. No one have been to ask for some special breakfast or help with breakfast, you must done everything by your own. Rooms are clean but with old furniture.

    There is a lot of parking in front of hotel. Nice stuff. Renovated bathroom. You have breakfast on table and you can chose whatever you want. You are not in the city centre and that's good if you need peace.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful view from room. We were there to visit Passau, but we enjoyed getting out of city at night and the lower cost of lodgings outside city. Great Gasthof.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you need silence for a good sleep, ask for a room which does not face the nearby road. Although it looks like a small road with probably not much traffic, it is quite opposite: very heavy traffic from 5:30 in the morning, with heavy trucks and a lot of noise. Rooms facing the road have not noise-insulating windows and that could be annoying after 14 h of driving the previous day and more than 1300 km yet to drive the following day.

    Nice environment, parking on site (and free), cosy and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel and grounds a little tired, but if location is more important than city slick amenities certainly value for money

    Excellent location for cycling, walking and generaly enjoying the beautiful Bavarian Countryside. Near to the city of Passau, 4 km but steep road, I cycled it . First class chef, though menue limited, but enough to enjoy a different and superbly cooked meal each day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing..... just remember when walking down.... you have to walk up, lol.

    Beautiful location... a little away from the town (but can walk it in 20 mins or so) Just remember it is down hill, so make sure (like us) you share a cab on the way back, so problem solved. The staff worked very hard but very cheerful. The room was very spacious, lots of natural light, great views of the countryside just over the road (which was not busy) There did seem to be a few coaches, parking & turning in their car park. Did not bother us but just be aware for the little kiddies. A few of the locals seem to hang out here too which did not surprise us when we ate the food. Great home cooked food & did not skimp on the portions. Would stay here again...10/10

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was icy cold (winter visit), the radiator had not been switched on, even though we gave plenty of notice, and they knew an infant would be staying. A half-hearted apology was offered. We slept in our clothes. If you have the room we were given expect to carry your bags, and kids etc, up and down various flights of stairs, doors and corridors to get there. The bathroom was worn out with shower doors hanging loose and the rubber seals peeling off. The pull-out bed had seen better days too.

    Room was very large, beds comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely bad WiFi connection ( or should I say dis-connection?), very poor user experience. I also did not like the pillows (those of non-existent kind, that become absolutely flat when you lean on them).

    The rooms are quite pleasant; bathroom is OK.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's my first year traveling with my dog and the fee was kinda obscure 10 euros? C'mon Hilton Berlin is 5 ?

    I have stayed for my 3-rd year in a row in this hotel. I love the location the food the staff and the avialbitly of parking space! The hotel is dog friendly and the restaurant as well, there's plenty of space to walk your fury friend!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English sealing channels on the TV. The wifi provided variable reception. It is a very steep walk (45+mins) to the town centre and buses are infrequent.

    Easy parking, quiet location, comfortable big bed and basic but well equipped room. The beer garden was a lovely place to relax after a busy day and served good meals at a reasonable price. There is a supermarket close by. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really unfriendly and there was no internet connection in the room. In addition, the room noisy and there was no isolation at all (old and broken windows).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no option to eat after 20.00h and you must go to the city center

    Nice and clean place away from the city center noise

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice. I will return with pleasure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t use it

    Did not use it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everithing was ok. Nothing special.

    Very good price. Nice place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean rooms, nice staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and quiet room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking. Friendly staff. And good price for all that. Excellent place for a 1-night stay while travelling in Europe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good staff the lady from reception was very polite and nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alles ok.

    Super super super. Verry friendly crew. I was happy to chose this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok

    Price was friendly with free parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was nice in the hills above Passau.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold when we arrived and took hours to be warm enough one night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cozy. You felt like home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable hotel that is very good value near passauce but in pleasant countryside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very oldfashioned, bed is not good.

    Nice surroundings

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean,quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was not working the first night.

    Your basic guesthouse, nothing great but nothing bad.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food,staff,location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price is too high

    Quiet room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very long uphill walk from town. The breakfast is 5 euro and not very good.

    View from the room was amazing, price was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quietness and a natural surrounding

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi was a joke

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WIFI in the room, bathroom could be cleaner and was a bit outdated

    Good rooms, really a family hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi

    Service is OK. Wonderful place, 15-20 min. to/from Passau Hbf. Interesting places nearby.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi signal

    Good choice for the price

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to drive thru Passat without GPS. The hotel was tricky to find.

    Very nice place. Very polite and gentle staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 3 stars.. very good hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet is little bit tricky to connect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise at the backyard - too much beer noises

    Excellent for one night stay

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    checkout was rather slow...

    Price and location were great! Decent rooms with good amenities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to eat when late arriving!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful. At 5 euro the breakfast was excellent value and quality. Plenty car parking space.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi access in the adjacent building

    Good value for the money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accomodation is a little bit away from Passau (approx. 10 minutes by car).

    Friendly staff, excellent kitchen and nice biergarten.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WI-Fi signal weak or missing in the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hsve nothing against.

    Everything is more than ok.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic and tired interior

    Very nice people.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft beds, no fans in bedrooms

    Great value breakfast at just 5E

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    dirty walls hair on bed and bathroom curtain not covering the window and not having priacy

    the football game between germany and italy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was useless in the room. Could only connect sitting in the noisy non-private inside dining area. Asked one of the female staff if I could sit in a private area downstairs to do some computer work and got a teutonic "Nein!". Also, ad said hotel was conveniently located near the Atstadt of Passau. It is not. It is far up and over the hill in the countryside. You better have a car.

    Relaxing rural area. Quiet at night. Beer garden is nice to dine at or sit with a beer. Manager lady was very nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The vegetarian option that was ordered came with chicken in it!!??! Perhaps the menu needs revising or the chef needs clarification on what constitutes a vegetarian dish. Dessert was delicious.

    The property was beautifully located on the immediate outskirts of Passau which suited us well as we were traveling with two dogs who enjoyed the large garden. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    a bit old fashioned interior of the rooms

    Quiet location, dinner was very good, service extremely pleasant, fine beds, breakfast lavish so very satisfied

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing at all that we didn't like.

    The staff at this hotel are very nice, helpful and personable. Our room, in the annex, was immaculate, simple and somewhat small, but adequate. Very convenient location while not right in the center of the city.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Pleasant, welcoming staff. Our room was in the adjacent annexe building and was of a good size with all the amenities we wanted. Enjoyed both the evening meal and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly people, especially the lady owner. Location is very nice on top of a mountain. And the beer garden was nice to sit as well, lots of people having a drink (also from outside the hotel).

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing to dislike. Do not expect luxury but honest to goodness value for money.

    The staff were welcoming and helpful. The lady in charge Susan is a delight and looked after my wife and I very well explained the menu and local facilities. Excellent restaurant and good food.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff really friendly and helpful, we arrived outside of the meal Time and we are a Nice salad even if we were in the middle of the afternoon. Clean, comffy and quiet. Near Passau really easy to drive there.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The service at the restaurant was a bit slow, but I guess it was a busy day.

    This is my second stay in this hotel and I would highly recommend it since it is located above Passau and it's very quiet place. There is a lovely garden located in front of the hotel, perfect place for relaxing after a long drive.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very soft pillow, Distance to Passau Center only with the car to do, about 5 km

    We had a room in the building next to the hotel. The room was very spacious. Beds were good but hard mattress Bathroom was clean and big. Breakfast standard. Cheese, jam, meat toppings, cereals, fresh bread.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, would stay there again!

    One of the nicest hotel in Germany we stayed in, Location out of town was perfect rooms (No parking worries) breakfast etc were great. WiFi actually worked well outside of peak load times more than can be said for most other hotels we stayed in across Germany and Austria

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    • Solo traveller

    No negative points, but it is worth mentioning that location is outside the city.

    I stayed only for one night, I arrived late and found the key and instructions waiting for me. Room was clean, plenty of parking spaces available and internet worked well.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Couple

    When we arrived, well after midnight, the room was very cold, the heating had not been turned on. When we woke up, the temperature in the room/bathroom was very pleasant, still we would have preferred to find a warm room.

    We spent one night in December on our way to Romania for Christmas. Staff was friendly and helpful, even though we arrived very late in the night, way past the check-in hour. Very spacious room and bathroom, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a bit cold in the room when we arrived. Perhaps they could start the heating prior to the guests arrivals. Very few TV channels (10 maybe?) all in German ;)

    Staff very friendly and helpful, plus they speak English. We had some extra requests which they accomoadated qucikly and efficiently. Clean, large room with very comfortable beds. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not so great english,the menues in the restaurant should contain english too.Not everybody Can read and speak german.

    Very Nice hotel.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice location, on a hill, surrounded by the wood. With a nice cat walking around :D

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom very dirty, bad smell in the room. Too expensive for what it offers. Very disappointed...☹️☹️☹️

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Super breakfast, nice staff

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Large, clean, comfortable room! Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was no lift or porter service specially since the rooms are in two seperate buildings

    The hotel being away from the noise of the city

There are also 46 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: