Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of BURNS Art & Culture 4 stars

Stephanienstraße 6, Stadtmitte, 40211 Düsseldorf, Germany

#34 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 444 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I saw it from outside I thought it was not the same place I had seen. However, the rooms are as described. Once in the room, I thought the stairs could be unsafe for the baby but this is what I had booked. If I visit again, I would rather get one of the rooms on one floor.

    Breakfast was very good. The staff was really friendly. The location was very good. A quiet area, near the Japanese neighbourhood and the old city. The kitchen also gave us the possibility to bring food in and keep it cold until we could have dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was delighted to receive an upgrade to room 512 , which was a split level room with a gorgeous lounge and bedroom. Perfect for my short business trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to move apartments as a lady in the apartment below smoked constantly on her balcony and we had to close our windows to keep smoke out. Apparently she is a permanent resident. The staff were most helpful in allowing us to move away from this environment

    Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reservation manger for the hotel was very rude and not friendly. When we were having breakfast she came to speak about reservations. At check out time she was very rude again and refuse to call here mangers I had to call the police. I have traveled the world and I have never experienced such treatment from a hotel.

    Clean No A/C

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manger of the booking came to discuses about booking when I was having breakfast she was very not friendly At the checkout date the reservation manger again was very rude and shouting at me this never happen to me in my life. I asked for here manger she refuse to call here. I had to call the police and then she called her boss. I recommend for here communication course and hospitality course.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't have a lot of air. It wasn't possible to leave the sliding door open and still be safe. Could only crack small windows, it wasn't even a really hot night and i needed to run the fan, but there was one:)

    Breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    pleasant enough, more of an appartment setup than a hotel. bit of a struggle to get suitcases to the room, no on site parking, split level room (bedroom upstairs, bathroom downstairs)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed and its sheets and pillows. No shower cap.

    The suite was very spacious and comfortable. Excellent breakfast! Friendly staff and the parking is cheap and convenient. You can use the kitchen for small snacks and prepare your own food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location and a very nice, comfy apartment. Space is big enough and the toilet and kitchen are also very nice. Will definitely visit next time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The glass doors at the shower do not work properly; bathroom floor would get inundated when taking a shower. Cigarette smoke would enter through the ventilation system (maybe from other rooms?) in the morning and in the evening.

    Rooms (apartment, really) are large and very comfortable, with all the necessary either for a business or leisure trip. Fairly large balcony.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was difficult to connect and as a matter of fact I couldnt connect my computer maybe the router needed to be switch off and turn on again - the shower was not working properly need to be cleaned or changed the head of the shower

    Location near subway The particular furniture

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning - shower too small & very dangerous surface - very slippery - needs a rubber mat

    Staff are fantastic- great big spacious apartment - location is good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too small and uncomfortable, no proper air con, no food/lunch/dinner facilities, area rough,

    For the price you pay the breakfast is way too basic. The hotel itself is nice but has no restsraunt facilities and a nice restsraunt is a good walk away. Parts of the area is a bit dodgy. We were charged more than originally known I'm presuming city tax --- 60 quid more!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very smelly. Hotel staff was not particularly friendly, I had the feeling that the staff just do not want to be disturbed by guests. Hotel charge for domestic calls. I will not book it again

    Breakfast was very good, the location of the hotel is good as well

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent buffet type breakfast with a wide choice of fruit, cheese, scrambled eggs, sausage, cold meats and lots more. Umbrellas provided at reception if required - good thinking. Loads of room, cooking facilities if required and large TV. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    dishwasher is not working heating system is not working,

    location,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Spacey, location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    loft room 513 - noisy elevator double bed access one side only

    location relatively close to city center private parking in basement friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound insulation could use some improvement.

    The breakfast exceeded our expectations. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the room the furniture the size of the room and the breakfast. It was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super nice hotel. Stylish. Quiet. And great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    Large and clean room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    you can only reach the car park via a special lift

    Very big and special designed rooms,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff at the reception.

    The room was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine so far.

    Central, nice staff, very big room with

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of space, quiet! Comfortable!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing protection on stair case. It was very expensive

    Room was a luxury flat. Impressive. It was on the 5th floor. Breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower room is a little small but ok to use.

    Good location, spacious apartment, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds could have been better

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refrigerator was making a lot of noise.

    Very large, modern rooms

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment and we prefer a hotel

    Very spacious and ideally located for the city centre

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi didn't work for a couple of hours.

    the whole breakfast was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to station, but quiet. Nice big rooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent breakfast and service, huge and clean room with marble floors-

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi did not work properly. Staff at the reception was unfriendly. Service staff was very friendly.

    Very nice apartments and location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ?

    XXL rooms!!! Clean!!! Friendly staff!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    bedlinnen is awful. no airco guy at the reception can not even indicate the location on a city map correctly !

    the room and bathroom are big enough

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Very friendly staff, non-pretentious luxury with everything that is needed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a\c in the room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Ac .. For Ac lovers 😁

    Such a comfort place

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We arrived early and asked for an early check in but the receptionist did not collaborate whatsoever.

    The rooms were spacious. The kitchen is fully equipped.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom smelled after a while badly like old cigarette smoke. Staff offered friendly to switch room, due we stayed just one night and already set up we refuse...hoped to get an price reduction or anything else, they do not offered^^

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing to complain about

    Really nice and spacious apartments. Despite somewhat minimalist design there is everything you need. Even a lamp with dimmer which really helped when putting our daughter to bed. The heaters were turned on and the apartment was warm. The breakfast was excellent. All in all good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It would be nice to have more information on local restaurants within a short walk of hotel

    It is an apartment room so you have self catering if you need it and are staying a few days. 5 min walk to central railway station and 5 min walk in other direction is good shopping area.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sofa bed my adult grand daughter slept on was really awful. The support bar in the middle of the pullout created a high spot. A proper mattress could help. And for this we had to pay an additional $50.

    breakfast was very good

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WIFI is very slow, some web pages cannot be loaded, thats kinda ridiculous. Very cold in the room, the heating system is not working at all. Felt very cold in the room. The water pressure from shower head is very low, also the water is not warm or hot enough. overall, very cold, and bad wifi connection. Bed is not comfortable as well.

    it's very spacious the living room, and it's in a very quite area. Location is very close to japanese town, where a lot of japanese restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very comfortable room, and cleaned very well daily. Loved the decor and the inner square. Staff all helpful. Easy walk to shopping centre, 10 euros to old town in a cab. Had a great week here.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking is via a car lift, street parking is very limited. Breakfast is poor value and covered in flies, not sure why they cant keep it covered The rooms are very hot, no aircon, and the beds are very firm

    The location is reasonable for access to the city

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was very hot when we were there and the hotel was not coping well - no A/C, few fans, and the lift had broken down. Our loft apartment was only really set up for 2 though it had been booked for 3 - only 2 chairs and because the sofa was used as a bed, nowhere else to sit. Balcony furniture would have been a nice addition.

    Nice staff, friendly and helpful. Location is slightly out of town but convenient. Nice décor and spacious rooms, nice bathrooms.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the building doesn't look very good from outside, but the rooms are perfect

    Nice rooms/apartments; you will feel home while travelling; more than a hotel

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Have stayed here and the Charlottenstr. apartments on a number of occasions and there is nothing I have not liked!

    It's home from home for me, centrally located, friendly - welcoming staff, great facilities and furnishings - great to be able to make a cup of tea when ever you want!

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dusseldorf did not live up to our expectations. Shame as the hotel was lovely, close to lots of Japanese restaurants. Some less attractive areas around but turns out Düsseldorf isn't a fantastic location anyway

    room, balcony overlooking the garden, facilities, secure car park, really friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing bad to say, except that the area is quiet and it's a 20 minute walk to the old Town.

    Very spacious accommodation which is spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast is very good and overall it's fantastic value.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Front of the hotel doesn´t look very nice and price is a bit high for a 4 star hotel in Düsseldorf but on the other side the rooms are really extraordinary in many aspects so it´s worth to spend a few more Euros.

    - great rooms - silence -staff -breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Location is very convenient and central but a little bit grimy, much nicer and prettier further west, does not detract from the hotel though!

    Spacious suite, decent design, nice balcony, secure parking, very clean, friendly staff, felt like your own apartment, full kitchen

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was winter in the room. Not enough heating for a large space. It was really cold inside. They offered to bring extra blankets though. Not enough kitchen stuff for more than 2 people.

    The space was large and roomie. Guess it would be awesome in summer. The staff was sweet and courteous and helpful. It was 4 minutes walk to stores, grocers and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location was near the central train station although I used taxis on company's account. It was easy to get taxi. There are a few good restaurants around the corner for simple quick grab food if you are working and don't have time to dine. Room size is huge. Value for money and clean. Breakfast is good.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small breakfast area.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No AC

    I like it too much

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderfully helpful service at the reception and an excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    -

    Very big room with good furnitures. Great quality for the price. Totally recommended.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very quiet

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Feeling like home !!

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The app. was nice and clean, very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    everything

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and space.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Central Location, clean, comfortable, big room.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very close to Japanese town. The room was clean and spacious.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Clean tidy and spacious

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Easy access to city area, very kind and friendly staffs, nice and cool room, breakfast was also fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not really close to the old town

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nicely appointed hotel, good central location and staff were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Kitchen does not have enough dishes only.

    Location and staff

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse BURNS Art & Culture traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: