Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Ambassador Hotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Harkortstr. 7-9, Friedrichstadt, 40210 Düsseldorf, Germany

#168 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1863 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    The staffs are very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is too hot in summer days, feels like sauna. even the Central station is cooler than our room.

    The staffs are very friendly and helpful. They even gave us electric fan.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    NICE STAY IN DUSSELDORF
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NO AIR CONDITIONING IN THE ROOM BUT THE STAFF WERE HELPFUL AND GAVE ME A FAN. THE AREA AROUND THE HOTEL DIDN'T SEEM THAT GREAT BUT THERE WEREN'T ANY PROBLEMS.

    THE HOTEL WAS COMFORTABLE AND THE STAFF VERY HELPFUL. THE BREAKFAST WAS VERY GOOD.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    easy accessible location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quilt was too think for us when we stayed there in May 2018, early summer there. It's too noisy outside. We heard very noisy sound from outside in the early morning, which woke everyone up.

    easy accessible location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    Not value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed, room temperature (no AC in 27 Deg C), bad shower (only red hot water flowing) inspite of complaint made, no option for vegetarians in breakfast inspite of hefty Euro 8.90 per person made my stay horrible

    internet/wifi connection and reception staff was good. Proximity to station and other parts of the city was great. Rest bad.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    We liked the service, our room/bathroom was very(!) clean and we had a good time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would ask for a room that is not looking over the street with the "Straßenbahn". Cause we were travelling during a particularly warm/humid time the rooms were very warm, but with open windows the room was noisy.

    The bathrooms were very(!) clean, the room was comfortable and clean. You can lend umbrellas for free and small, cute cafés are in short walking distance. We could leave our luggage in a locked room after check out - that was extra comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Liked the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air conditioning. Absolutely impossible when it is warm. I was in thetop floor, and even the refrigirator did not cool. No air conditioning in the shower as well. Way too hot.

    Liked the room. Quiet. All you need is there

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Clean, great location for early morning flight out of DUS.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c (can request fan). Area is a little sketchy.

    Clean, great location for early morning flight out of DUS. Small, but good shower. Free water bottle in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Staff were relatively friendly, breakfast was adequate.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was extremely small and looked over another roof. The area did not seem very safe, but it was very close to the train station.

    Staff were relatively friendly, breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Totally i was satisfied about my selection, considering the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Totally i was satisfied about my selection, considering the paid money. I think the best value is the location, which is near to HBF. Thank you "booking.com" ! Regards Vahid

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    I will not hesitate to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a single room and the bed and room was very small although comfortable.

    Its central location close to everything and within walking distance to the main shopping area. The staff speaks good English and were helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Would recommend this hotel for a short stay, particulately if you are arriving by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We told the receptionist we had been travelling for 30 hours and were very tired. Unfortunately she allocated us a room fronting on to transport. This was also obviously a place where people party outside on a Saturday night which they did until after 5am Sunday. Ask for a quiet room!

    The hotel was very clean, comfortable, and located within a short walk of the railway station and restaurants. All staff were welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was a very good buffet and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    Room was a decent size, clean throughout and the bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was exceptionally hot, there was no air conditioning. The only way to cool the room down and to keep cool was to open the windows. We were on the second floor at the front of the building..directly opposite a very busy railway line! We heard every train come in and go out, the noise was like tonnes of steel pipe falling off the back of a lorry! If that wasn't noisy enough, they'd also blast their horn! There is also a taxi rank right outside which is never empty! All night long taxis were arriving and leaving. The drivers would park up, get out of their cars, slam the doors, shout to their fellow taxi drivers at the other end of the rank, argue with each other, get back in, slam the doors and reposition themselves in the rank, get out again, slam the doors and shout some more..dreadful! It was constant, there was no lull..it was all night long and right through to the morning! They were still shouting and moving cars when we left at 11am. At best we had around an hours sleep! If you love a boiling hot, stuffy room, could sleep in a foundry or start your holiday with just an hours sleep...this is the place for you!

    Room was a decent size, clean throughout and the bed was comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location, great price, disappointed by noise..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apparently the hotel was full and I had a room facing the road and tram lines. It was very noisy all night and as I had to leave at 5.00 am I was not very happy. The hotel appeared empty, so I think as it was a "cheap room" they gave me the worst available and made no effort to offer me a quiet room!

    Location is fabulous, rooms and facilities were excellent value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Location to HB, perfect forntransit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the road

    Everything is good, except you will hear the noise from the road & train all night. Staff & check in was very good, impressive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Clean, comfortable but not quite the best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is starting to look pretty old. The facilities overall look like they are from the 70s. I would also say, that while it could be an attractive location if you needed to go to Central Station, I believe that the area is overall pretty seedy and perhaps not appropriate for a family.

    Rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and accommodating to any needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Near the main train station with excellent staff and real value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a tiny tiny improvement but wish there was a bottle opener in the room for use with the mini bar.

    Great hotel at really good price so close to the main train station which is great for travelling further a field or into the old town. Exceptionally clean with very friendly staff. The mini bar is also great value!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price I paid I expected a more comfortable room. The furniture was old and outdated. Carpet was loose at some placesand the room did not have an airconditioning.

    Nice location, friendly staff which were kind and helpful. I was able to check in earlier as the mentioned time. Parking nearby available for 6 euro per day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    One Night Stay in Dusseldorf
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi did not work during my stay. They tried by resseting it but it did not work

    Location next to Main Train Station. Walking distance even with my luggage

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.0
    Almost every thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception two girls working in the morning around 10. They didn’t have good behaviour and rude. The rest every thing were excellent

    Almost every thing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ventilation in the bathroom is a little bit noisy but after few minutes it turns down.

    Friendly staff. Good location from the train station. No waiting, very fast check in and check out. breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    location very close to the centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    very small rooms and not well sound proofing. you can hear what's happening in the next room. hotel is in need of upgrading

    location very close to the centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    3.3
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren’t very pleasant, I’ve never been to a hotel that doesn’t have a bar, no room service, the house keeping staff let theirselves in the room even when the don’t disturb sign is on the door and you’re asleep!! Location is no good for tourists as there is nothing in the surrounding area at all so lucky it’s so close to the main station. Won’t be returning

    It was clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    5.8
    Good location, unhelpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lift stopped working for more than 24 hours and our room was located on the 6th floor. Straits are very steep and have a narrow thread which makes it very difficult when going down the stairs. This is definitely against fire regulations.

    Location, good cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    Really clean rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator has stopped working for 2 days, the noice from the tram passing right next to the hotel is a problem.

    Really clean rooms.Very nice breakfast.Good internet wi-fi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noises from street and from other rooms where clearly heard, and got loud at 7am. Roomservice started to knock to all doors at 9am. For vacation traveller - that is a bit early.

    Room was ok and bed comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    3.3
    Not again in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking, bad breakfast. The room was just not so perfect. The breakfast was just there, not much Options, the worst was the my son of 3 years old had to also pay for breakfast.

    Nothing. Just the personals i met on the first and second night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    Close to Banhof and not far from city center.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could clearly hear another guest speaking on the phone in the room next to or above mine, the walls maybe be thin.

    Close to Banhof and not far from city center. Clean rooms. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    In general reasonable value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Occasional problems with wifi, breakfast not included.

    Good location: 2 mins from the train station, 10-15 mins to the city centre. Lots of bars and cafes around open till late.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Great location minutes from the central train station. Clean European style hotel with compact room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions to the hotel could be clearer,ie take the alley between the Barbizon Palace and the Prince Hendrick Hotel that are behind the Tourist info building that is in front of the Central Train Station.

    Great staff at the check in desk on the day shift.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice, quite and cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighborhood looks a bit depressive

    The best value for money. The room was spacey and clean, and a children bed for our daughter was already made. It was very quite there even though the hotel location is very close to the main railway station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.3
    Room is clean and location is good but management staff is super sucks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Receptionists are not professional and cheater ,as I didn't have breakfast for 2 days during my stay there and they also have no record as well but they charged me money for these two days bec they said invoice already print out ,sorry I have to pay . if there is some uncivilized customer can fight that black lady on reception and white lady receptionist show me my record and fail to find my 2 days breakfast and she also ignored me later . And they also cheated my money on drink but 3 euro that's I ignore but they cheated my 2 days breakfast that's make me really disappointed from this hotel . I will request that make investigate on them and fired such kind of cheater and non professional receptionists .

    room cleanliness is good .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    2.9
    Will not come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left the hotel early morning to have breakfast outside. When, i came back to hotel i found that the reception has removed my baggage from the room and no one informed me . or at least call me. When i talked to reception they said that i did not informed them for late check out. They charged me extra 30 € for late check out. The behavior of the two ladies at reception was very bad.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.6
    I expected more due to the name and affiliation with GreatWestern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem with the key which took days to resolve How a hotel can tell a gues that on Sunday they have no access to a locksmith is beyond me. What if we were locked out with our suitcases in the room???

    Close to the train station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.3
    This hotel has good location and fair price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can see that hotel is old and should be already renovated. You don't have this feeling of cleaness. TV was not working in my room, guy on the reception get into panic when I mentioned about it :).

    This hotel has good location and fair price. No other advantages.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    4.2
    Not so good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Partially very low room ceiling due to being on top floor. Bed inclined to one side, must try not to fall off. Payment was taken from account 6 months before stay and very inferior and small room in return....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    basic accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not enough chairs in breakfast room so not enough places to sit.

    Pretty basic hotel. basic breakfast decided against on second day. room comfy but hot - open window causes lots of noise from trams outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    2.9
    I didn't like that it's in front of the train station and no air condition so if you open the window
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that it's in front of the train station and no air condition so if you open the window you can't sleep due to the noise

    I didn't like any thing it was really bad

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.7
    We had room nummer 2, it was right next to the street on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room nummer 2, it was right next to the street on the ground Floor. There was No airconditioning in the room so we slept with the window open. There was a lot of noise in the street which was annoying.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Good value close to the Bahnhof
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was ok (8 Euros) although empty items were not quickly replaced. The room had a peculiar smell. The lift was ok but fairly small so most times I walked up the stairs.

    Good value accommodation, close to the main station. Fairly clean and comfortable, good shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    Bedroom was comfortable and good amenities in the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no a/con in the room. When we checked out on 01/09/17 the female receptionist was unprofessional, laughing and making fun of us in german, believing we did not understand. We left on a sour note.

    Bedroom was comfortable and good amenities in the bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    close to the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i cannot connect the free wifi there and it was inconvenient there is a balcony but the view is just train station so don't expect it

    close to the train station..just walk for 5min. and free parking space. room condition is also okay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Stay with the Best, the Best Western in Dusseldorf
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower doors were off the slides but not a big issue.

    Great room for the price. Easy walk to and from the main train station. Reception staff were excellent and courteous. This is the first Best Western I have stayed in for a while and I was so impressed I will look for them now when I travel around Europe. I realize though that cultures are different wherever one travels. The BW in Dusseldorf was one of the best hotels I have stayed at for a while. I would stay there again if I am to Dusseldorf in the future.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.5
    Great Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The possible business at the back of the hotel creating noise from early morning and noisy staff on breaks at the back of the hotel being noisy and loud.

    The room was adequate but the shower was too small. The room was at the back of the property and was very noisy. From early morning there was a lot of staff shouting to each other and what sounded like doors slamming. It was not necessary to set an alarm. There may have been a business entrance at the back of the hotel with staff in and out of the building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.0
    Hotel by train station
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we booked for location because we were just there to drop off car, sleep & leave in the morning, the location is not in a nice area, so if your going for enjoying Düsseldorf perhaps it's not for you. Our 26 yr old daughter did not feel safe

    Good sized room, clean with nice bathroom right by the train station. We could drop off the rental car because that was near there as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    They told me that the mini bar on them because the left...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They told me that the mini bar on them because the left wasn't working and I have to clam the stars to the 4th floor The staff were helpful and polite except one lady working on the day time she wasn't as friendly as them. She also gave me wrong information since she promised me that the minibar on them and as soon as I left the hotel, my card has been charged

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    4.6
    Worst Western
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was dated walls were paper thin and offered no barrier to sounds from without the room overlooked a building site there is no air-conditioning building site noise noisy guests general feeling of being unsafe no apology from staff when things went wrong lift stopped working other guests caused a flood power outages other guests smoking in rooms causing smoke alarm to go off

    The room was clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    3.3
    Location was ok.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in : 20min. Elevator and hairdryer wasn't working. 00:30 - 04:00 very very very big noise. And someone knocked my door. I'm so scared. So horrible experience. Not again!!

    Location was ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Great for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one thing that was terrible was the noise from the taxi drivers just outside from about 10pm to to 2am they were talking loud, yelling, beeping the horn and we had to have the window open as it was summer and warm in the room. So that was a bit annoying

    It was great location as we wanted to be close to the train station as we were visiting other cities. It was a bit of a walk to the centre Room was really clean and staff was really friendly and helpful. Overall great for the price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    3.8
    central hotel dusty feeling
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stuff could be trained to know about the hotel business. Many doors till you get to your room and the lift does not work always. You have to be lucky to get on the lift. There is dusty smell in the air. I had to open the balcony door. No air condition-3 star hotel.

    It was central.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Great value easy walking distance from train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm not sure if there is air conditioning in the single room I had. Could get hot if there isn't.

    Breakfast buffet was very nice. Plenty of food, all very tasty, cold food cold, hot food hot. Great service for a hotel buffet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    2.9
    WARNING
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedbugs have stubbed me. The room was too hot to sleep. No aircon available and fan wasn't enough. Also this hotel is very noisy at weekends. I couldn't sleep at all

    Nix

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    4.2
    Run book the next hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    FREE INTERNET is a con!!!!! you get 3000mb FREE then you must pay. FREE PARKING i got free parking which was great, and I was very lucky to get the last of 7 spaces hotel is very run down and dated, 6 floors high and if you are unlucky and get the 6th floor you will boil alive while you are in your room, This hotel has loads of windows aprox 1m SQ, that you can easily open fully, I have two kids you constantly need to look at windows to make sure they have not been left open in the hall ways or rooms especially with it being 6 floors high. i hated the fact just to get to our room, we had to go up a lift through one set of doors, then another, then down 7 steps through another door then across a hall way by the stairs then through another door , plus the lift was installed 1955 its use by date was 1965 not 2017. The area is bad, Do not let your wife or kids go out alone, you are right near central station, we used loads of taxis while we where there two separate drivers told us not to walk near the hotel or train station without myself, the main taxi rank is right outside the hotel and all you hear all night is drunk stupid people shouting and screaming.

    Nothing Run book elsewhere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    5.8
    Barely adequate accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was not airconditioned and in 36 degree heat, it was very uncomfortable. The bathroom had a constant bad smell probably from the drains. The location, while being close to the station, is in a rather undesirable part of the city best described as the 'red-light district'.

    The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the train station, which makes it convenient for arriving and departing. The room was a good size and reasonably clean with a reasonably appointed bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    6.3
    Dusting off Düsseldorf
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The main challenge with this hotel was the walk from the train station to the hotel - covered in garbage, with a lot of gum and debris, and including syringes. I have been to Düsseldorf many times in the past 18 years, and this area has clearly deteriorated. The staff at the hotel could use a refresher course in how to address customer concerns. It was clear that one staff member was not interested in dealing with concerns of female guests.

    This was a compact room with all of the necessities. The windows open, and there is sufficient room for a business traveller. The elevator was inches from the door of this room, which made for a noisy night. Outside construction was an annoyance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.1
    Good location, but overpriced during trade show.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wifi was poor. It cut out very frequently.

    Located right next to the central train station. Very good if you need to get to the Duesseldorf fairgrounds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Functional hotel for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell in the room was not pleasant and would not go even with the window open; the room looked very ran down, had stained carpet and an old type key to the door with a makeshift lock that would not give at first try... however other rooms had key cards so no problem for them; have asked to change room but was not possible.

    Staff was helpful and the location was good for our needs, could walk from the train station; easy taxi ride to the center; bed was comfortable, fine for a night

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Staff very helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very helpful and polite. Rooms are clean . Just a one minute walk from main train station. Flexible with check in and check out time. Magdalena very helpful as always.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable and near station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Map from station to hotel was hopeless and we got lost.the hotel is about 200 m from station, but we were misled by the map.

    Very comfortable and near station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    the room and its facilities, the location ,breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fact that our flight arrived early in the morning, by the time we reached the hotel ,the rooms were not available as the checking time was at 2pm.So we had to leave our luggages in a store and came back to check-in later. It was so uncomfortable as our flight was 9 hours long, we could not relaxed nor freshen up. Because we were leaving Dusseldorf the same night, we did not really enjoyed our rooms/beds as we spent so little time in the rooms. My husband and I were in Room 410, we did not get a nice view, our view was a several storey building opposite.

    the room and its facilities, the location ,breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    8.8
    Location and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price for the stay wasn't extremely expensive considering the hotel and also how far out from stay I booked it.

    Location and comfort. Size of room was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    Staff at reception were really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at reception were really friendly and helpful. They gave good advice on what to do in Dusseldorf and where to eat. Location of hotel is really convenient for train station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.3
    Good value central hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so much space in room but its a city centre hotel.

    I was surprised with the price and rating how comfortable it was. I only has a single room but bathroom was refurbished and best of all coffee and tea making-rare in budget hotels. Staff very friendly and helpful and nice breakfast room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.8
    Amazing stay. Lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was perfect. That was my another good trip to Dusseldorf. Hotel amazing . Magdalena was so helpful and very polite . Room was good . People had complaining for noises from outside., its normal cauz hotel is based next to main train station and all taxis stops. Good value for money . I had again amazing stay , will come back again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    3.3
    Do not stay in this hotel!!! Bitten by a rat in room 601!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the morning of 02 March, I have been bitten by a rat in room 601 of this hotel!!! I had to go a private doctor on my own to get required treatment and shots of Tetanus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safety! Hotel guests were knocking on our door all the time (young man as we were three ladies in the room, of which two 14 year old girls)! There were shouting inappropriate things through the door I had to threaten them that I will call the police! Terrible experience - intimidated mother with two teenage girls! Felt helpless

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    7.5
    Staffs were very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though I turned off a heater in the room, it didn't seem to stop completely and kept making noise which disturbed my sleep a bit.

    Staffs were very friendly and helpful. Facilities are clean and comfortable. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    2.9
    location were close to central station.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very noised, receptionist very rude and lazy, didn't see her check the room , been told fulled, unwillingly help.

    location were close to central station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    6.3
    Good position. Bad for sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture partially needs a renovation. The lift is in bad condition and very noisy. On 3rd stock the door is closing with a big crash. Waked me every time when someone used it. But all the 4 days nobody tried to repair it.

    good location, friendly staff and clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.8
    The workers at the reception are very nice and friendly, and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator in the hotel is too small.Only for 2 persons.There is only one elevator in this hotel. It's very slow. More than once it didn't move on, unless I knocked on the door.

    The workers at the reception are very nice and friendly, and very helpful. The location is great. Very close to the central railway station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    6.7
    Cheap and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's basic, but the price for the room is very reasonable so I can't dislike anything..

    The location is very convenient for the central train station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    very clean, and very good location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very clean, and very good location. Everything is like in the picture. In booking for my date of rezervatin was reported (free cancelation) but i paid 5 eur more.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    3.8
    10 day stay was very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had pink mould which is caused by bacteria. It is known scientifically as Serratia marcescens, and it feeds on fatty substances such as soap scum. Which should be cleaned daily to stop it appearing.Very noisy enviroment. Taxi rank outside door. Trams outside door. Train station close by.

    Coffee and tea kettle. Clean towels every day. Staff helpful when they if they understood English. Beds comfy and clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    6.0
    Conveniently located in dodgy area, just ok for a quick stop-over
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Conveniently located for stopover-travellers, since close to DD main train-station. Surrounding area, though, horrible, i.e. dodgy, cheap red-light district types of bars and sex shops, an area no fun to stay in. Room was very basic and rather small, just ok for a quick stop-over continuing early next morning to the airport. Rather don't stay there if coming for leisure travel. Asked for a tooth-brush and tooth paste, night-receptionist said they didn't have any, which appears rather odd for a hotel. Next morning, however, next receptionist said that of course they had both and gave me what I'd asked for the evening before. All in all staff is rather friendly though.

    Nothing in particular except proximity to main train-station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    6.3
    Very closed to the main station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 different staffs came to my room at the morning informing me she has to clean the room and remain me to check out which is very annoying Ventilateur in toilet is noisy as well

    Very closed to the main station

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    5.4
    Not enough place for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough place for breakfast. We had to wait for a long time and couldn't sit all together. When after a long time we had a table, they wanted us to leave as soon as possible...

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Ambassador Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: