Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Düsseldorf City by Tulip Inn This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Cantadorstr. 4, Stadtmitte, 40211 Düsseldorf, Germany

#154 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 511 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the building and facilities are old and I think it needs some renovation. Tiles are dark with molds and crack. The sauna room is kinda dirty and doesn’t feel cosy and relaxing. I think it is overpriced for its current condition.

    the location is close to the center and the train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is too old to use. I hardly controled tempreture of warter.Close to station but another side of city center. Bed is small. Heating doesn't work.

    Clean and quite

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mix of old hotel with a little refurbishment. 3 star hotel with 4 star prices and high price due to Messe/ exhibition event on. Room was clean but 2x dirty cups of coffee left from previous guests.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No room service. Few English speaking TV channels. Wifi non existent in the rooms. Bar is tiny. Laminate floor makes a lot of noise. Dated décor. Definitely NOT a business hotel.

    Friendly staff. Room is clean and tidy. Bathroom clean and functional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room service was patchy - and our room still had dirty coffee cups and an empty wine bottle in the mini-bar when we arrived.

    The staff were friendly and helpful - especially at reception and in the breakfast restaurant. The room was spacious and comfortable - if a little bit dated. The breakfast was very comprehensive and the free sekt on new year's day was a very pleasant addition. The hotel is very pet friendly and our dog was very well accommodated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connectivity

    Nice room good location. I was late for breakfast but they allowed to to still have this - thank you. Only negative is WiFi -poor reception

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of air conditioning was an issue as it was simply too hot in the room. The central location of the hotel means that you get to hear lots of noise from the street and nearby construction site when you open the window. Also, there are very few English channels on TV and mostly news. For me, breakfast was not worth its price. If you are a vegetarian and don't like sweet breakfast either, you won't have many options. Meat and egg eaters should be satisfied though. Make sure they put all correct data on your invoice as they cannot print the second copy!

    The hotel is centrally located and easy to get from the airport by public transport. Rooms are clean and the staff is kind and helpful. Lots of shopping opportunities around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was hot and the lack of air-conditioning was a great negative. Sleeping was not at all comfortable due to this. A fan may have alleviated some of the discomfort. Also, I am not a huge fan of the particular type of pillows which one finds in Germany and a choice of alternative pillow types would go a great way towards addressing this. But these were two small blemishes on an otherwise excellent property.

    A very friendly, clean, centrally located, efficient hotel. Good value for money and acceptable breakfast. Large rooms and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service starts at 9am, and they are very agressive if you're not leaving the room before 9am and they have to wait.

    Very friendly and supportive staff in reception, always smiling and glad to help! very good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) It's not modernised at all! I got room at the 7th floor which did not look anything like picture. As after I was told only some rooms are modernised and you have to indicate your wish via booking.com 2) Noise! Construction of next door building was happening even at 22-23 o'clock! 3) No air conditioner! Construction multiplied with roof room at the attic floor did not make it easy to sleep.

    Good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The builders opposite were very noisy very early in a morning otherwise a pleasant and nice stay.

    Comfortable central location. Staff friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi coverage was so poor and disconnecting each 1 minute. Also when it was connected,the internet speed was disaster

    Good location Helpful staff Clean Bright rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small, the pictures on the ad are pretty much Photoshopped. They can get also very warm in summertime. The whole look of the hotel doesn't give you the feeling of a 4 star hotel which is the very big disappointment I guess

    Position was really good! Very close to the tram station, only 2 stops away from the centre. If you don't want to get the tram in 15 min you are in the centre

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't even know where to start from. First off, the hotel is very very very expensive for what it actually offers. The pictures are totally misleading. The rooms are renovated, ok, but the white tiled bathrooms give away the fact that thousands of people have been there before you. Something which is actually true for most hotels but in this particular one it is very obvious. The bath tub wall has obvious signs of holes covered in stucco. The hotel structure is very old. A walk in the lobby and you will be immediately teleported to the 70s - 80s. There is only one elevator, which means that during the morning you re better off to take the emergency exit stairs to go to your room. The day I checked in I carried my luggage all the way to my room using the stairs because the elevator was too busy. The stuff is not very friendly - with the exception of one guy- . A smile would be ok from now and then. Please keep in mind that you are dealing with PAYING customers that travel to a foreign country! Very unhappy from my experience. On the third day of my stay I discovered a plastic spoon lying next to my bed, obviously placed there by the previous hotel guest. It was not a very obvious spot, I 'll give them that, nevertheless if the cleaning was meticulous enough it should have been noticed. In any case the spoon Istayed there until my check out. I would have thrown it away but I was very curious if they would have found it - which they didn't. I have stayed in a lot of hotels, and this one is not the worst quality wise, but in terms of money spent /quality it is definitely the worst by far!!

    location was nice since it was very close to the underground. Also, there is a supermarket right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    interior decor and flooring showing signs of age

    staff very friendly. location perfect for short stay just outside of center of the main city area. food, supermarket, bakery, just around the corner from hotel. park (green area) just minutes walking distance from hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could be a bit friendlier, but by German standards it was OK.

    Great WiFi, clean rooms, varied breakfast. Overall, with the Sauna the hotel is pretty good Value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains didn't fully cover the windows, so the room got bright in the morning

    Very kind staff, allowed a late checkout and helped with a lot more.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival 24/01/17 3.00pm the young lady receptionist was rude and unhelpful in the extreme. However the other male receptionist was pleasant and helpful. This hotel does not deserve 4 stars, more like 3 star at best.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was not stable First day the room stank of smoke Upon check out I was not asked how my stay was Would prefer a safe box in the room

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Outdated hotel. Bathroom soap dispenser was falling when touched. Needs some reinvestment and modernization in order to have a good value for money

    Just a 10 minute walk from Heinrich Heine-Allee.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have a been better - it was all excellent. I highly rate this hotel.

    - The reception staff spoke immaculate English and were extremely helpful. - The bed felt like sleeping on a soft nest of clouds. - The room was very comfortable and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue was the WiFi connection was intermittent in the room. Didn't bother me as I was there to see the sights but could understand others particularly business travellers being frustrated by this

    Perfect for our stay. Good location, good facilities and very helpful and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old school, no air conditioning. It was so hot, we had to cancel our reservation for we couldn't bear the temperature in the rooms.

    Perfect location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a 4* hotel there was no air conditioning and it was a very hot weekend. This meant leaving the windows open and it was noisy outside at night.

    It was a good location for seeing the Altstadt and Rhine bank

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they don't have air con! I stayed in single room, which was very small and it was heating outside, I couldn't breath in my room, I had to make choice between air and noise from outside, next time i would definatley go there in winter time, but NOT in summer!

    I like location, breakfast is super, staff very helpfull an customer oriented!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet wasn't working in the room, had to change to a different room. No air conditioning means that you need to sleep with your windows open: considering that the hotel is located in a central road with plenty of traffic this means no quiet nights. Not suitable for business travelers.

    Great location, central, close to restaurants, stores and supermarkets. Staff is very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't get the wlan to work

    The bed was really comfy, staff were super friendly, the bath was a nice surprise and it was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door in bathroom .small bathroom

    Clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility is a bit outdated but everything works

    Good and friendly stuff, excelleny location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value of money was not good

    Staff were very good Location was good Breakfast was good Room was small , but facilities were good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location room & hotel very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    Staff at the reception are amazing, very supportive

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have breakfast to expensive. The hotel was clean and welcoming staff friendly

    Easy to get to from airport. Good location. Huge beds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    everythings in the hotel I do not like

    only location of the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy neigbours and a pub next to the hotel with loud music on Saturday night

    Excellent location for the Christmas market

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator is very slow and there is only ONE in the whole building. The tissue box was empty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Graffatti on wall outside

    Excellent Staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst breakfast ever. 15 eur for nothing..everything else OK

    Gym 24/7 open.wifi ok. Bar 24/7.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfortable relatively to the room size .. was expected less

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Air conditioning in rooms and really noisy street outside

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. No gin at the bar

    All the staff spoke excellent English and were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel.s restaurant closed on evenings and Sunday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    beds was very comfort location is perfect close to everything I need

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning lady waked me up early, common area a bit outdated

    Friendly staff, good rate

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no breakfast included work next door started very early and woke you up- noisy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction next door, Temporarily

    Close enough to old town, but enough you could hear the noise.....

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn out hotel. Noisy - construction works just on the other side of the street

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel entrance seems old fashioned and dark.

    rooms were ok

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extremely friendly, both on my arrival and on my departure. The room was very spacious

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was old and ruined.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no wifi no cappuccino

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    nothing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor pillows

    Friendly staff at the bar, easy location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the recepcion stuf were very kind and helpfull.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor value for money. Very expensive and could have stayed at a better hotel for 1/3 of the price of this one.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi in room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly reception staff and good location to go Königsallee.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Front disk staff is rude, no parking, u need to carry a metal ! key for the room, bed is low near the ground. Need to cancel the rest of my stay!

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The WIFI was not working at all during all my stay. I had to work, and the stuff in the evening, besides being rude, was not helpful at all. I wouldn´t go back again, sorry guys.

    Service in the morning was exceptional. There was a Polish guy in reception who was very kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None that I can think of.bi

    Staff very friendly and helpful,nothing to much trouble.as it was December a nice touch a merry Xmas bag of chocolate one of our mornings.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi fi slow.

    Staff member were charming and the young lady was fun to talk to. Excellent location for shopping. Room lovely well decorated and clean, shower powerfull. Hairdryer powerful!!! Definately stay again!

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location although it is central location which is very good the area im let to believe is not so safe as I would like. I would not let my daughter stay there and walk into town.

    The staff where very nice and the hotel although dated was clean.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Worst Personel as l have ever seen in my trips , they are not helpfull for anythink . They look after for booking guest like stragner or not paying people for rooms .

    there is nothing to like this hotel

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. Internet was not so reliable on 5th floor and the use of special code was a pain to use to gain access. Plus you get one code for each device....Even Premiere Classe has better login system. 2. Room was rather small, smaller than expected in fact. 3. Breakfast was ok but extremely weak for 4* hotel. 4. I felt hugely deceived by photos and description of the hotel in general. 5. Garage is across the hotel (not on site) which they must be renting and require special key which you do not get so one must ask every time when going out. Not convenient and hence the 15 euro charge which must cover their rent. Overall, it is not so great for 4* compared to other hotels and needs upgrading fast.

    Staff speaks English and is helpful. Overall good but surely not exciting and rather poor value for money especially at times of fairs.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel claims to ha a gym and a fitness center. Actually what guests will find is a 2 square meters room with only 3 broken machines. They offer to go to a gym which is not far away, it costs 10 euros/day, but if you are lucky you can get refunded! The hotel is quite far from the city main attractions (20 minutes walking distance from old town, and 15 minutes from the main station). My rooms was not really clean, and after the shower I had all the bathroom invaded by water. People in Dusseldorf are not really polite with visitors, and the food is horrible! The town has basically nothing to offer.

    Almost nothing

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No restaurant facility

    Very close and convenient for the older part of town, staff were very welcoming and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice hotel with very accommodating staff, even allowed a late check out. Close to airport train and new subway station right outside.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi didn't work for two days

    friendly staff, good price

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    car park expensive use the one around the corner

    Friendly convenient

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi was at best intermittent and not at all in my room. The customer computer in reception is not connected to a printer

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room Wifi system is antiquated and does not work consistently. Connection to English speaking TV stations is poor (picture keeps going).

    Position

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noise from trams.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Perfect location and good value for money.

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Düsseldorf City by Tulip Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: