Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Pension Köln

Ritterstr. 7, Altstadt-Nord, 50668 Cologne, Germany

#157 of 194 Holiday rentals in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 220 apartment reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.6

  • Comfort

    5.2

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    5.1

  • Staff

    6.2

  • Value for money

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    2.5
    Disgusting accomodation with bedbugs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 4-Bed-Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is most horrible accomodation on booking.com! I should be canceled from booking.com offers!! We we request for money back - mildew on the walls, bedbugs all over the place, our employee get back bitten from bedbugs. Disgusting!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.0
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was dirty. Including the sheets, pillows and duvets. The shower was broken. And the bathroom so dirty_ disgusting. No internet access, even 4g has a bad connection. The beds are so noisy and uncomfortable.

    The location is great. The place is quiet. The host is friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    Very good value accommodation in good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not exactly boutique so i wouldn't plan a romantic weekend there but it's clean and functional and good value for money. You have to tell the landlady when you're going to arrive and it's a good idea to stick to that as she has to sit and wait to let you in - there's no reception as it's a small apartment block. I got there on time, she gave me the keys and left straight away so if you're going to be late best to warn her. Oh, yes and the towels are tiny - i was expecting that from other reviews but then i'd just spent time in South Korea and the towels are tiny everywhere there so i got used to it. If you don't like the idea of drying after a shower with a couple of hand towels, bring your own.

    Contrary to some peoples experiences the apartment was comfortable and warm though all the radiators have individual temperature controls and they're not on as default when you get there - obviously that would be wasteful. So you just have to turn them all up and you're good. Good sized place, very good central but quiet location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.4
    No wifi, weird pillows, the host made us leave the keys in...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi, weird pillows, the host made us leave the keys in the room and nobody was there when we left which resulted to the main entrance door closing and us having to call for help which cost us 260 euros. We didn't have a phone number neither did the neighbors.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    It is a nice small apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment is not very obvious to find. There is no sign on the property which made it a little difficult to find. The garage is very tight. A huge car may have difficulty in fitting there. It was a difficult to get hold of the owner via the telephone number which was provided.

    It is a nice small apartment. The location is great ,it is very close to the city centre, cathedral etc The parking is very close to the property and the host is very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    3.8
    No-talking zone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4-Bed-Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost everything was bad about the appartment, but the thing that struck me the most was that we were not allowed to talk inside or outside the appartment, we had to whisper. The neighbours actually complained when talking at a normal level on the terras. Apart from the no-talking policiy: - The hygiëne was below level: all glasses and plates were dirty and shower was not clean. - No facilities what so ever: There were 2 glasses, three tiny plates and one pot to cook (no pans), 3 tiny towels (for four persons) - There was no wifi - There was no free parking, it costs 1€ per 20 minutes to park your car - considered what you get for your money, it wasn't cheap at all

    The only good things about the appartment were the park nearby and the distance to the center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    2.9
    DO NOT BOOK! A CHEAP, DIRTY ROOM WITH POOR BATHROOM, CASH ONLY WITH NO RECEIPT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3-Bed-Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was unsecure street parking, and the closest machine didn't work. No reception and phone number not working. when we finally found the lady with the keys, the only option was to pay in cash, this was not advertised on the booking page. The room had bad lighting especially the bathroom, 1 poor light and 1 light not working at all. The Shower doors were broken and dirty, the shower head did not fix to the wall. The towels were that small I actually thought they were tea towels, they also smelt of smoke. The Curtains were very dirty and have clearly not seen the washing machine. A small kitchen area was ok, we never needed it or used it, however the door that leads to the balcony was locked and un-usable, this would not be good in case of a fire!!! On vacating we were asked to just leave the keys on the kitchen side and pull the door behind us, so no opportunity to complain! and also no receipt was given for the cash that we had to pay.

    Nothing was good about this accommodation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.0
    Not a nice experience.
    • Group
    • 4-Bed-Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    No facilities in kitchen. Neither there was a Microwave nor a single pan which we can use to make breakfast. List will get longer if start writing here.. Very Dissatisfying. Will never recommend to any one.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.5
    City Pension in Köln
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4-Bed-Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathroom, fridge, glasses Lack of bath towels, only hand towels. Very limited kitchenware (pots and pans). Don't go if you're planning to cook (even though this is an apart hotel).

    Walking distance from the train station and cathedral (10-15 mins). Overall dedroom was clean. Good value for money due to location. Very quiet street and building. One corner shop nearby with drinks and snacks and a park with swings and other games.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    2.5
    This is ghost property! Do not book here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not only the door was locked and the building looked uninhabited when we arrived, but the phone number provided by the host wasn't functional and the guy at the kiosk nearby told us there are some issues with this property. We eventually communicated with the host via email, but it was too late for us as we had to go looking for something else. Overall bad experience, this pension shouldn't exist on booking.com

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    5.0
    Nightmare
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heaters turned off at night and the room became freezing cold! My sister and I left the room in the middle of the night and drove home because we were not able to sleep in the cold. In addition to that there was long black hair all over the beds, mold in the fridge, mold in the bathroom and the entire room smelled like urine. We are not picky but this place was a nightmare.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    2.9
    Don't be dare to stay here!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3-Bed-Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet(WIFI)!!! The heat doesn't work at night, so it's cold!!! The host is not friendly or kind. She drove my friend out of her house to save her light, heat, water and toilet. My friend just wanted to leave later to catch the night bus, but she said: I am the owner of this house, and I want you to leave now! (It is a cold night!!!) Even after my friend left, she came with an elderly man to check whether my friend still in the room, even on her knee to see if my friend hide under the bed… I really don't recommend this rude woman's cold house!

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    5.0
    Only for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4-Bed-Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electronics in the room were duct taped together. TV didnt work. When I called the manager she came over and scolded me, saying we shouldnt be watching tv anyway, but should be talking with each other. Then she sent a young guy over who fiddled with the TV but also couldnt get it to work. She should have offered a bit of a refund.

    Location was good for the money

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.4
    The fridge didn't work and there were no clean glasses,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4-Bed-Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge didn't work and there were no clean glasses, the shower was not complete, and the towels where wet and very small

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.2
    avoid at all costs..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4-Bed-Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience

    N/a

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    super
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3-Bed-Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    host, location, and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3-Bed-Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    beds are little bet nosy but it was ok. bathroom cover needs to be fixed. no wifi. late check-out would be great.

    host, location, and price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.8
    The price,it was €129 but she charge me €135.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price,it was €129 but she charge me €135.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.9
    no wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no wifi

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4-Bed-Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic

    10 minute walk from the cathedral and Christmas markets

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.8
    Privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scarcity of internet connection

    Privacy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    2.9
    Heating malfunctional, damp room, just 2 working lamps.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3-Bed-Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating malfunctional, damp room, just 2 working lamps.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    5.0
    Low price, not bad apartment facility,but not safe environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3-Bed-Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not very safe and the bed sheet is not very clean.

    In our apartment, there is a little kitchen.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    5.8
    Location and secure parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3-Bed-Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was broken, mouldy, dark, fridge didn't work and the freezer fell off when opening.

    Location and secure parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    6.7
    The appartment was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The showerhead couldn't be attached and the faucet was leaking.

    The appartment was clean. Beds were also OK. It's a walking distance from the center.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    5.8
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is not a pension nor a Hostel. It's a woman that rent rooms. Not very friendly by the way. There's not reception. Nobody answers the phone and the same with e-mails so you don't know what it's going to happen until you arrive. I think there are better options in Cologne.

    Location is good. 15 minutes walking to Cathedral. Price is not bad.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    2.5
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I called to owner about 30 times but no reply so I called booking.com they said wait until 6pm until 7pm I couldn't contact owner don't go anymore

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    5.4
    -The location was very close to the Central Train Station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They want to know your exact arrival time. Our bus had a delay and we arrived 30 minutes later. The building from outside doesnt even look like a guest house and no signs that was the pension, no response to the doorbell, neither to the phone number provided by Booking.com. We had to call booking and then they called the Stuff.

    -The location was very close to the Central Train Station and Dom -The apartment was quite confortable and had a kitchen

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    2.9
    We got dropped off in a taxi to some run down house in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got dropped off in a taxi to some run down house in a dodgey street. The taxi man was even anxious about leaving us there. It was so run down and dirty looking. We couldn't get into the building because they down have a reception.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    5.4
    Located in a quiet backstreet in Turkish area 15 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located in a quiet backstreet in Turkish area 15 minutes easy walk to Dom and station. This is just a room without the service you'd expect in a hotel. Very basic.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    9.2
    Well it's a big apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Well you'd better call the staff at least 10 minutes before your arrival because there's no fixed reception inside the house. The staff has to come from some place which takes a little time. But all in all, it's nice.

    Well it's a big apartment. You have everything to use. The room and the bed are really comfortable. I highly recommend this to you.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    5.8
    Short walk from Hbf.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bath towels! Had to dry myself with a hand-towel. No payment receipt and no one answering the phone for hours on a Saturday.

    Short walk from Hbf. Large size room/mini apartment.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    9.6
    Friendly host
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No signage

    Friendly host

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    6.3
    Easy to walk to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Uncomfortable beds

    Easy to walk to the city center

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    2.5
    No maintenance done at all since years.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No maintenance done at all since years. Room was not dirty, but everything was repared with duck tape, curtains, shower, ...

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    It was clean and receptionist went directly to the point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was clean and receptionist went directly to the point.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    6.3
    Close to city center by foot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to wait for 40 minutes for an owner to come on check in. There was no sign on the property that it's a pansion

    Close to city center by foot

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    7.1
    Handy for centre just short walk and had plenty of shops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A bit expensive for what it was

    Handy for centre just short walk and had plenty of shops nearby

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    10
    cleanness,size of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    cleanness,size of the room

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    5.0
    It just a room with 4 beds in a small house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It just a room with 4 beds in a small house

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    9.2
    The Room had a small kitchenet attached.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed linen could have been better. It was clean but thin.

    The Room had a small kitchenet attached. Location is near to Dom.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    7.5
    Lovely house quiet attractive location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thin quilts Difficult to park nearby

    Lovely house quiet attractive location

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: