Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel California am Kurfürstendamm 4 stars

Kurfürstendamm 35, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 10719 Berlin, Germany

#408 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2880 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi, my phone had it only in the lobby cleaning, could be better

    breakfast, didn't dissapoint me when I've included it in booking location, nice place to start (but noisy) staff, was helpfull all the stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seriously hot room. The shower is ridiculously small and poorly designed. We found the staff (bar a couple) really rude and unhelpful. It’s like there was no management, only young and inexperienced staff. The wifi never worked in our room despite numerous complaints. The fridge didn’t work. Rip off for how much it costed.

    Fortunately the room had a fan as it didn’t have aircon. Lovely street Beds were ok and room was good size

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been cleaned better. And the room needs fresh paint, they are dirty and drags the quality down.

    Beds are good. The room vas good size for a standard. Brekfast excelent. Location brilliant!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet connection was horrible. This is essential for business travelers to check emails and perform basic tasks. Also, the staff was not ineterested in fixing the problem: the person at the reception (09.05.2018, around 21:00) was said "try several times" and did not offer any other solution (e.g., changing to a different room closer to the router, reseting the router, ...). The staff was a little indifferent to guests, in particular when I checked in (09.05.2018, around 17:00). It is important to repaint the rooms and hallways; also, to fix little details in bathrooms (bathtub tiles, and doors). I stayed in room 155.

    The staff during my check-out was really prompt and helpful (10.05.2018, around 12:00).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are old, noisy fan in bathroom, mattress a disaster (deformed from use), wifi wouldn't work in the room and reception did nothing to help, no flexibility to get us a room before 15h

    breakfast was ok, good service to store bags

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to walk 4 stories down and up when the door knob didn't work. This happened three times in three days. Instead of fixing it, they just kept sending me back to try again. Lift is extremely slow, and only one works. Breakfast was good, but my friends had expected more choice, for instance croissants.

    Much comfort for that amount of money! Free luggage stalling on check-in and check-out day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had several problems during our stay: the shower drain didn’t open; the breakfast wasn’t worth it’s money and we assumed from our check-in that it was included - which it wasn’t. the staff didn’t tell us about a marathon that took place around the hotel, so we couldn’t leave the area by car and almost missed our flight. We specifically asked the receptionist if there would be an event, because signs showed us that parking wasn’t allowed. The receptionist said he didn’t know about anything special going on. From a four-star hotel I would expect the staff to be informed about something like that and warn its guests. It seemed like this hotel is benefiting from its location and the management doesn’t see the need to improve the service.

    The location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mini bar system. Hotel is a 4 star hotel but there is no minibar in fact. You have to order minibar menu first. During the reservation proces I didn't find any information about it. No water to drink in room.

    Localization.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor room, even though a quiet room was requested, a room next to the elevator was given. Room was tiny, not even space to put an open suitcase somewhere. Unfriendly staff, no support when trying to change the room. Wi-Fi not working throughout the stay, maybe too many users at same time. Poor room service, items in bath room partially not renewed/replaced (toilet paper, tissues). Not sure where the four stars come from.

    The location. That is about it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was quite small, and in the night we’ve heard our neighbor snoring.. at least not the worst thing we could hear :)

    Very nice staff, location -great. And ice cream bar just inside the hotel,working until late:))

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not properly prepared: broken light bulbs at both bed lamps, television not connected and hanging only on two out of four fasteners at the wall, no soap in the shower. Even though it said „ Executive Floor“ the WLAN was so poor that no connection could be established. The staff was not able to fix the light during my stay! At least my room and the corridor on fourth floor needs some renovation considering that this is a four star hotel !

    Excellent location close to all kinds of transport, restaurants and pubs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not the first time we were staying here, but in this journey the hotel was disgusting! It’s the second time we were staying in the room 654. There is no wi-fi here, the refrigerator doesn’t work. When we asked to make breakfast to go for us, because of the early check-out, we were rude refused “you’re late, you need to tell about it earlier”. Very poor tasteless and monotonous breakfast, small room, small and inconvenient bathroom. each time the hotel becomes worse.

    The balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The switch in the bathroom between the bath and shower head was not working so only bath was available and also I had to run water at all times because the drain couldn't be closed fully. The wifi was working only for Windows. On Macs and iPhones I couldn't connect at all which was very frustrating since I needed it.

    The room was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor WIFI, little to no signal in our room. No kettle or cups to make a simple cup of tea or coffee/refreshment. Lack of English channels on the TV and no facility to add English subtitles to the German channels (which we would have been happy to watch). When we were in the room all we had to put on the TV that we could understand was CNN...

    Although very small, a nice enough room for a short stay of a few nights. Pleasant staff that were helpful when asked. Good location, enjoyed the surrounding area and found it easy to reach central Berlin.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning service was making a bed and thats it. No other thing was done. No room Service, i was told to go To the hotel restaurant. But there was absolutely noone there. No bartender, no waiter. Empty ( around 6p.m.)

    Great location and value for Money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was in rather a poor state, some reparations are definitely needed. For example bathroom door couldn't be closed, light near the door wasn't working, etc. When I cheked in the receptionist was concerned about the end of his shift and didn't even say where breakfast or bar or anything is. Mentioning the bar, just go to a pub nearby, but not here (not only unprofessional but also no smile on the staff). At check out noone asked me about my stay just said goodbye. Considering that it's a 4 star hotel and in a nice part of Berlin, I wouldn't really recommend this hotel.

    Staff at breakfast were nice and the food was good. The location is great, there are many opportunities around and public transport is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is not really four star, which stuck out when they had used booking.com incorrectly and used my information to book under my friend’s name who was staying with me, which took us about 15 minutes to figure out (and a lot of loud “we don’t have a reservation by that name” before I could pull up the correct confirmation number). And, not a huge deal but the staff does not acknowledge guests coming in and out of the hotel and continues to carry on conversations between themselves instead. The rooms do not have shampoo and conditioner, but rather a big dispenser of “shower gel for hair and body” like I have seen in mediocre hostels for which I paid a lot less for my stay. The shower did not have a curtain or door, which ordinarily wouldn’t jump out as something complaint-worthy (though strange) but the shower head has a life of its own. When you turn the pressure up on the water to reach a firm stream, the unsteady shower head starts spinning wildly and neither my friend nor I could figure out a way to shower without flooding the bathroom (leave all valuables at the door). All of this put together leads me to question why this hotel is being put in a league with hotels far its superior and much more worthy of its price.

    This hotel was in a great location, not too far from the train station and easy to reach other places from via the tram or metro. Lots of cute restaurants and shops surrounding it which made for a convenient dinner. The beds were comfortable and everything was quite clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be completely perfect if the breakfast menu could offer some vegetarian warm dishes; the variety offer by the hotel regarding fruits and salads is amazing and I have no complains at all in that point, as I said it would be the cherry on the top if they could offer it too. And just make clear that the available parking offered is the one in the street and the garage in the hotel has a cost.

    The location is excellent, in a few minutes you can visit not just the Zoo but also also the Kaiser Wilhelm Church memorial. Many stores and great places to Eat. Also the options of transport in case of being traveling by Train or Plane are fabulous, so easy to reach the Hotel. Totally enjoyable the services of the Spa, that was one of the recommendations made by the girl at the reception since it was a little rainy and cold in Berlin.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to control room temperature. Shower had 2 shower heads which caused excess water to go on the bathroom floor.

    Really good location. Shower with 2 heads was nice (see improvements). Very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There were no english speaking channels on the television. There were no tea making facilities in the rooms

    All the staff spoke english and were very helpful in all respects. The rooms were very comfortable and cosy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. There were terrible troubles with the wi-fi connection, it was ok in the lobby, but the connection dropped every time we try to connect to it (using iPhone, Android phone and a laptop). We informed about this problem at least twice, we received a feedback "we'll solve this problem, otherwise we'll change your room", but de-facto no steps ahead solving were maden. 2. Shower unit weren't lackproof at all, so we were forced to fight against the flood every time someone of us two took a shower. Hope we haven't ruin the carpet surface, it seemed to be wet :-\ Hope our experience and feedback will help hotel staff to fix the problems mentioned above for meeting future guests' expectations.

    Location is really good, Kudamm and subway station is really close, nice view from the window

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were not especially friendly. Our shower door broke during our stay. The lights were pretty dim, making it hard to see at night. The website said massages would be available to book but upon arrival we were told, without any explanation, that they weren't on this particular weekend. It did not seem like a 4-star hotel to me.

    The location was very good, easy to get to from Tegel airport and close to the U-Bahn.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible wi fi . Old decoration. Needs renovation. No mini bar in the room but just empty small fridge. Only twin beds no dbl ones. No smoking rooms.

    Perfect location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel staff could think more about environment and turn the client´s attention to the measures taken: option not to change towels every day, switch off light when finishing cleaning etc

    I liked partly historical atmosphere of the hotel, good location in the city, tasty breakfast and perfect service in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location with a good selection of restaurants nearby and the subway at walking distance. The hotel itself is quite quiet even though it's in the middle of a rather busy area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Location is perfect, personal was friendly, breakfast was good. Room was large, clean, beds was comfortable. Thank you for pleasant stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is NOT a 4-star hotel! The hotel has a old and a new building and show pictures relating to new rooms even on specific rooms, even when they give you an old room. The beds are box madresses with a hammock function, so either worn out like the rest of the room interior or too soft. The breakfast is boring and not matching other German 4-star hotels... The gym is a joke... only there to decieve rating into a 4-star hotel, but absolutely to no use. Staff in reception is a combenation of young people under education with no knowledge or more senior with unfriendly attitude. The location is fantastic, but do not expect a 4-star hotel....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They habd to response asap about check in/out and fix facility my room's window was broken and they even didn't know just not bad location but except for that? No worth staying

    worst hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very friendly staff, clean rooms (I have stayed in this hotel twice). Quiet rooms. Hagen Daas ice cream shop located within the hotel and offers a variety of ice creams and drinks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Floor make squeaks sound, and floor in room is under angle, so for comfortable sleaping we must to put pillovs on the other side of bed. Problems with wifi internet and after request to repair it, without any changes for three days.

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Location of the property is very prime and connect to all the places of interest. The staff were very kind and were able to accomodate certain requests that we had. Overall, it was a very satisfying experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not provide room slippers comoared to other hotels. We have to wait at exactly 1500h to checkin despite earlier notice that we arrive between 1400 and 1500h. They will also charge a 10 euro perhour if u fail to check out on time!

    The location and breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was not really friendly. The Youngsters are not able to have a proper dialogue and are overwhelmed with every Little question. Check Out is at 12PM, still, the cleaning staff as well as a Lady of the reception entered my room 3 times before check out without asking. I felt pressured. Room Equipment is average and the mini bar was empty. You can order a "menu" of different selections of beverage which does not make sense to me. Especially if you just want to have 1 coke. The Spa area is overrated as there is only a Sauna. In total, not worth the price given.

    The Location of the Hotel is great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we chose this hotel, we looked for good value. the fact that it advertised that breakfast was included, made our choice easier. We were extremely disappointed when we arrived for breakfast the first morning to discover, that our booking did not include breakfast. We followed up with the front desk, but they informs us that out breakfastnwas not included. As a result, our cost for the two nights was an additional 50.00 euro which made the total hotel cost more than expected and advertised.

    Comfortable beds, and crisp linens.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worse wi-fi, rooms not well enough as presented in website Fair cleanness In The same price you can find better choices not far away. I change the hotel the other day. Not totally recommended

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No line between room and reception, no room service

    The hotel landline was not connected to the reception or was not working, no room service, staff were not friendly. Even when I called from my mob to tell about the problem in the connection of reception in their own land line they did not care.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was very tight, but secure, although it cost 22 euros a night.

    I liked the external blinds that kept the room dark. I liked the window that provided both excellent noise reduction and ample ventilation. The bed was comfortable and the both room and bathroom spacious. Public transport was various and easily accessible.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The long long way to the rooms ! Staff not professional ! Gym horrible ! And no flexibility, i made a mustake on my reservation, i let them 900 euros and they didn't want to cancel one night... GO ANOTHER PLACE !

    Nothing, bed ok

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had no desk Very difficult to watch TV from the bed (room 662)

    Nice room, quietness. Location, with plenty of good shops and restaurants in walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    staff too junior/ bit unprofessional and reactive, instead of pro-active; the card/badge system is a disaster, they card to the elevator and room had to be validated on a daily basis, which is not ideal. i heard these complaints from other guests, too. this should be sorted out asap. on my arrival i asked for iron and ironing board to my room, which did not arrive for 2 hours. i had to go to the reception 3 times to ask if they could provide me any. finally i got it after 10 pm... they did not even call me to inform, they kept me waiting. overall, good experience but the front - desk staff should be trained and smile more

    bed, location, breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had a fridge in the room but housekeeping seemed to have missed something in there on the upper rack from a previous guest. Otherwise nothing wrong with it.

    Room was alright. Bed was clean, bathroom was clean too and had everything. The gummibears were a nice touch next to the bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NONE

    Overall standard of the hotel and the service of the staff is highly exceptional. The staff are friendly and helpful. We check in to a standard double room but the wifi signal were weak and at times no connection because of some technical problems. since we badly need good internet connection, they managed to upgrade us in a superior double room without any additional cost..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff behind the desk was very unfriendly. They gave us the key to the room and didn't explain anything about the hotel (breakfast, check-out, facilities?) or the surroundings (nice restaurants, cultural highlights?). They asked for my credit card number but refused to tell me why (he even got a bit angry). I think it has something to do with the fact that their english wasn't that good.

    Breakfast was ok. No croissants :( Room was big enough and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked In they where rude. We booked a room with air condition and it didn't have it. The room was soo hot and stuffy it wasn't pleasant. I asked reception and they said they don't have air condition. Well why advertise it?

    We really enjoyed where it was located. It was easy to get around. The beds where comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi could be better. It flits out more than it stays on. But, since we weren't there on business, it was ok. Business people may find it annoying or frustrating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in was horrible. 3 employees busy with each other and I was the only guest that arrived and they did not take notice at all. The reaction of Mr Klug, the Revenue Manager was below any Level. The room is small, the mattrasse is too soft and used. The Minibar is empty but has a glass door, the waste basked was still full from the previous guest and the bathroom is almost too small to turn.

    Location Location Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not a 4 star hotel, more like a 2 star property. The staff was very arrogant, the didn't smile at all. The breakfast room felt like a canteen and not something I would expect from a 4 star hotel- the breakfast was poor, the coffee was awful. The room was less-than ok, the pillows were not very comfortable, and the bathroom was dirty. We couldn't switch off the ventilator in the bathroom, it worked all day, and it was really noisy. There wasn't wifi connection in the room. Not worth the money...

    The location is very good, the hotel is near to the metro station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of restaurants and shops, Hagendash Ice cafe connected to hotel, the Zoo and big playground just around the corner. Comfortable beds and no noise, due to thick carpeted wall to wall floors and thermo windows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel looks a little tired in its decor. Expected more from a 4 Star hotel. Parking is possible close by, but take care where you park and check the prices.

    A good location in Berlin. Close to all transport options, bus underground, s-Bahn all within walking distance. Hotel is easy to find. Hassle free checkin. A good sized room. Easy wifi connection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very arrogant at check in. I felt like I was disturbing. Metal springs in bed worn out, I felt like laying over a trench. Poor insulated walls, I could hear noise from other rooms. At 1 am I got impresssion someone was beating his wife. Will not choose this hotel next time in Berlin

    Very good location direct at Kurfürstendamm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were not really interested in my complaints The room smelt terrible as something wrong with drains in bathroom No wifi connection in the room

    I have always enjoyed the California and the hotel is much better after the renovations were done

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You are at your room around 9 o'clock in the morning and someone can try to enter your room ( Hotel Staff? Probably ) Not only once, every single day during my accommodation !Very very disturbing. I told to the reception ! And they even did not check it. ( Poor English, maybe )

    The location is good. That is all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was hard and uncomfortable, reminded me of university dorms. Sleeping comfort is the number one thing I seek in hotels, and this one failed in this regard. The walls near the door had small dirt and blood stains, which seemed very disrespectful to me. The guy who admitted me gave me the impression that my existence is bothering him or something.

    The hand soap was good smelling, the bathroom had a pleasant design and there was always warm water. The air conditioning was working properly, and there was an empty fridge which was also working. I'm mentioning this because many hotels advertise "air conditioning" but only have symbolic ones that either don't work or don't actually cool the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in a big room with huge terrace. Room was clean. On a very popular shopping street so you can find a lot of shopping places and eestaurant&bar around. Good location very close to public transportation. Helpful staff. Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room too stuffy and hot. Air conditioning just did not work properly. Windows could only be opened very slightly. No senior staff visible. Left all the work to the trainees who needed much more supervision. Room requests made at booking not followed.

    Location. Great for restaurants and shopping. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every thing. The staff were ignorant and unhelpful. I phoned to make sure that they could supply secure parking at the rear of the hotel (as I always have done in the past) for our motorbikes before I confirmed the booking. I was told no problem approximately 3 months before we were due to arrive but on arrival they informed me that they had construction going on at the rear and could not supply the parking as promised. They had taken the money from my card 2 weeks before our visit and had not bothered to email or call warning us about the lack of parking at the rear, even though I stated on the phone that if parking at the rear was not available I would like to look else where. The room was filthy with long term spillage stains on the carpet and the air conditioning is basically a laugh. The window looks on to a wall about 10 meters away with no other view. They have also over charged me and on the intro booklet in the room, the prices are less than what they advertise on the web site. I arrived 45 minutes early and was turned away buy an arrogant reception guy even though we were staying for 3 nights. Strangely, he became more attentive when we sat in reception sweating with our bags and bike gear around us. People avoid these robbing so and so, there is a lot of better hotels which are cheaper and provide a far better quality of stay.

    I have used this hotel on numerous occasions, the last time being 2015. I have even recommended it to friends but since this trip I would not go back and apologise to my friends if they have used this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that air-conditioning was not there, so maybe it can get warm in summer, otherwise it is ok.

    The check in and reception was smooth and hassle free. The hotel is located on the main road and in a very happening place. The staff was coordial and helpful. The room was clean, tidy and proper. In all a comfortable and pleasant stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The centralised AC was not working and had to open windows to get some fresh air in night .. there was noise coming from outside..

    Location and surrounding was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was pretty grumpy when I arrived. Clearly not used to serving people. No water in the room and very tiny room. Would def not call this a 4 star hotel.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -the room was a bit small as well as the TV, doesnt fullfill the standards off a 4 star hotel in my opinion -staff could have been more friendly/helpful with questions etc.

    -very nice bathroom -clean -location (right on Kurfürstendamm)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hot room (outside temp 27C, inside 35C), no air conditioner, slow elevator, parking not available even though was advertised as available and was a main thing why I chose this hotel in the first place, extremely small bathroom and weird bed placement, multiple power sockets did not have any power.

    Excellent location, free WiFi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have already submitted a complaint about how the staff made me go out at 1am in the morning to find a cash machine to pay for a 15 euro bar bill. This was ridicolus and left me in a very vunerable position by having to walk the streets of Berlin for 1 hour on my own. Totally unacceptable.

    central location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TIP: Park your car at Contipark, Uhlandstraße 30, per day its 15 euro's (2 a 3 min. walk away from the hotel). Much cheaper then the one at the hotel or the one they inform you to go to if their parking is full. Minus also is and a little frustration is: I have asked for a parking spot for two days; (22 Euro a day). It was confirmed face to face in the morning. When I wanted to park the car in the evening; they informed me that they could not find my reservation as in "we do not have a spot." Go complain at my co-worker tomorrow morning and he laught it away. We did not receive an apology at all. It was just the way how they handled the sitation. They could have done it better. Good thing I found another parking which was way more cheaper ;-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 4 star hotel by any stretch of the imagination. I had booked a superior room expecting certain luxuries which were not there. When I questioned this they told me it was in fact a superior room and they could move me to a suite for an extra 40 euros a night!!! On our first night the heating and air conditioning did not work. I spoke to the man on reception on the evening of 29/06/17 he was rude and almost verging on insulting. He said he could do nothing. He could not move us. We didn't need the heating because it was warm and we didn't need the air conditioning because it wasnt that warm either. I asked if that was the only help he could offer he then asked what I wanted him to do !! I found him to be rather aggressive and intimidating in his manner. His manner and body language were that of someone who didn't want to be there. Not what you want at front of house if you want to make a good impression.

    The lady on reception 29/6/17 during the day was very helpful and pleasant, as was the younger male staff. Couldn't do enough to help. The location is out of the way from the main sights but it is easy and very cheap using local transport to get anywhere. The hotel is situated in an amazing area with all the high class stores and plenty to see and do. 10/10 for location and ease of travelling around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No answer on my request through Booking.com to reserve a parking space at the hotel. It turned out I couldn't get the necessary green sticker for my car anyway because it's too old and I had to park outside the city center. But still...they didn't know that and it says to reserve your parking space before arrival. When you do, they don't respond. No answer on my mail to notify them about arrival close to midnight and to confirm us our room would still be there waiting for us. Maybe they can't read or write English, they did speak English at the reception. € 15,- per person for breakfast. Don't do it, so many great choices just around the corner from the hotel.

    Excellent location, comfortable spacious room. We booked the superior room. Underground on close walking distance. Clean, no noise from other rooms. Good wifi connection. Great place for a visit to Berlin. Bus to Tegel airport almost in front of the hotel for those who fly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception service crowded sometimes, people have to stand in line for too long.

    One of the best positions in Berlin. Ideal for shopping, all kinds of restaurants and coffee shops. Bus stops nearby, S-bahn within 5-10 mins walk. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is very inconvenient. We had to illegally park outside the hotel, queue at the lobby for about half an hour just to get a card to enter the car park. Car park very small and not much place to maneuver. To get luggage from car park to reception one has to lift them three metal steps, ring a bell and wait for someone to open. Other alternative is to walk out the car park and walk around the block. Staff is very rude. Being greeted by WHAT for a question addressed to the receptionist (forgot his name but had a Polish surname) is not the best greeting. Carrying luggage to the lift in a narrow corridor I had to make way to this Polish gentleman rather than the other way. Breakfast is very (VERY) poor. Been to cheaper hotels with better breakfast. This is some of my comments among many others

    The hotel is great and has a very nice classy look.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Eventhough we have made our booking as an option of "on hotel payment", which means the payment can be done during the check-out process at last day of accommodation, the service staff at front desk that day insisted on to have the payment right at the check-in process. He was unkind, unfriendly and distasteful. I really like the location of this hotel & whenever I am in Berlin I always stay here, I have not before came across to a staff like him, but that day his manner was improper.

    Eventhough we have made our booking as an option of "on hotel payment", which means the payment can be done during the check-out process at last day of accommodation, the service staff at front desk that day insisted on to have the payment right at the check-in process. He was unkind, unfriendly and distasteful. I really like the location of this hotel & whenever I am in Berlin I always stay here, I have not before came across to a staff like him, but that day his manner was improper.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The general decor is that of a 3 star hotel, the same with technical infrastructure - it should not have 4 stars! The reception staff was not welcoming, lacking social graces.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't find fault with anything - staff friendly and helpful

    Everything was clean and comfortable and in central area to places wet wanted to get to. Beside trains and buses so very convenient to tourist places

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast at the hotel. too expensive for the choices on offer. I was not confident about the cleanliness.

    very convenient to reach from either airport. Very central and lots of affordable breakfast splaces nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not worth 4 stars at all, old and not of the first freshness carpets, dirty enter carpet, plastic curtains, ancient tv with half a kilo remote,overall poor....

    one thing is valuable at this hotel-location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heat in room would have knocked you out. Needs adequate air con.

    Mattress very comfortable. Memory foam. Breakfast excellent. Great location and ice cream bar.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel advert did not match to what we were given. We were offered a twin bed and were given two individual beds placed together. When we complaint about it they said THIS IS their twin bed! So, we had to stay in two small beds put together. To our surprise, during the check-out, the receptionist on duty explained that in this case they give the clients a queen bed. So, we were given a poor room and the receptionist on duty during check-in time didn't make any effort nor explained anything about it. The advert also said the room had a sofa, something was missing as well. What we were most disappointed was the attitude of the receptionist during check-in time. When I explained to him that we would report this in booking and trip advisor he didn't care about it. This is NOT a wise way to do business.

    I liked the location. Two subway stations nearby. Also, good restaurants and snack shops are all within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people at reception were helpful but not one of them had a friendly smile.

    The room was nice and also the price. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Underground station direct at hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel California am Kurfürstendamm traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: