Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Carls Hotel 4 stars

Benrather Str. 7a, Karlstadt, 40213 Düsseldorf, Germany

Review score

Based on 1812 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are outdated en dusty. This place could use a make over. The airconditioning in the rooms is the worst. We requested a new room. We were allowed to 'move' from 211 to 214. Both of the rooms had the same (old) AC system, that just doesn't work. Bathroom facilities are also in desperate need of an upgrade.

    The hotel is perfectly located in the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower is over the bath and it is very slippery to get in and out of the tub after showering. There needs to be a mat in the bath and some grip to help you to get out. We are both 70 years old and had a few problems .

    Location; comfortable, not too big. Easy parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel itself is a bit dated, but good value apart from the breakfast.

    great location, great value, friendly staff. Walking distance to a large selection of shops, bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was there for only one night with a very early morning departure but if I was going to be there more than two nights, I would require a larger room.

    The location and staff was magnificent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room keys are very big so you can't take that with you..

    the location is very convenient, very close to Old city and KonnigsAlle. The breakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price for the breakfast is high (14,50 euro). But there is a bakery Bastian's just 100 meters away towards the pedestrian zone.... The window sealings are not good enough, there is noise coming from outside.

    In the room there was a welcoming letter for our family and our labrador, as well as a bowl for water and a bedding for the dog.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room no air conditioning and because of noise outside you couldn't sleep with window open. Breakfast nothing special and the bacon was unedible. We ate out after the first day which was inconvenient.

    Beds comfortable room kept very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault.

    Wonderful selection for breakfast. Very helpful and friendly reception staff, especially Marta. All other staff very friendly. The hotel is in a very good position with the Old Town and the river being only a few minutes away and the tube just up the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious but bathroom was small. No view of river.

    Location is great. In heart of Old Town. 1 block from river prominade. Overlooks a sqaure of vendors with lots of flowers for sale (very charming!) Breakfast was incredible, worth the extra cost. Staff was very friendly. No traffic noise!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel was a little dated, lift kept breaking down, expensive for the level of comfort, but used to paying over the top during Prowein :-(

    Excellent location within walking distance of the Altstadt, rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The installations remind very much of the 80ies. Old and stainy carpets. Very noisy rooms, every time somebody returns at night, they seem to be at the very side of your bed. The isolation of the windows is awful - loud traffic noise from the streets. Parking closes till 7 am; no one helps meanwhile with the luggage. Unworthy of 4 stars.

    Only positive points - the location (very near to the centre) and the great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to criticize anything, it would only be the room key size. Too large for pockets

    Perfect little spot next to a excellent market and surroundings

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking and although it specifies to contact the hotel, if you park in the car park next door without prior arrangement with hotel you pay full price. Can't be done at check in

    Very nice Hotel in great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was expensive. There were stains in our room on the carpet and the chair. The lighting in the bathroom could be better for putting on makeup. We had a room in the front on the second floor so we could hear trucks going by and people once in a while.

    The price and location were good for being downtown. The staff at the front desk were helpful. The size of the hotel is nice, not too big or small. In room coffee. Shower had good pressure. Good heating. I would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time ever hotel breakfast doesn’t include still water. I had to ask three consecutive days. The following week, again no still water, only sparkling.

    Location is great. Apart from that this is the average 3 star hotel. Not 4 star.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, the quality of the linens/bedding and most importantly, the staff. They were amazing and took care of the single American woman traveling on business.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being opposite the market there was a bit of noise in the morning but not much and you can pay extra for a quiet room at the back of the hotel.

    Excelled cooked breakfast and good choice of healthier options

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location can't be better-the hotel is in the old city, close to main attractions, Rhine and a short walk to MedienHafen. A lot of cafes, restaurants, bars, shops are around the place. Rooms are not big, but comfortable, very clean, have all you may need. Both times we've stayed in the hotel our rooms were ready upon arrival, hours before check-in.The staff is EXCELLENT! All the ladies at the reception were always very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.

    this is an excellent hotel - very friendly people, very clean, nice breakfast (although there are also nice options just across the square). We received an early check-in without any problems. All our questions were answered with a smile and we were made to feel welcome. Our room was fine, warmly decorated, and the bed was fine. Great views over the square. If I had to stay in Düsseldorf again, I would certainly be happy to come back here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two rooms for 4 people, and there was quite a difference in the size of the rooms

    The hotel was in the perfect location for the Christmas Market and also for a night out in Dusseldorf. The entrance is very cosy and welcoming and I had a great sleep in the bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During my stay at least 25% of all guests were russian speaking ones. And not even a single russian language TV channel !!!???

    Good place. Clean, comfortable bedding, clean bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are not too large, breakfast was quite expansive.

    Great location near old town. Good staff, very helpful. Parking is available next door in the garage (the hotel has special rates, so check with them).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from street could be heard in room all night. Only public parking garage available 26euro/day

    Stayed on 4th floor very nice view looking out at city, easy access to shops restauarnts and xmas market

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit noisy and draughty because of defective window (room 506)

    Nice hotel, cosy and comfortable. Friendly and efficient staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby is beautiful but the hallways and rooms are disgusting. I was appalled. If we could have switched hotels I would have. Stains all over the carpets. Very old and dingy looking from the outside, hallways and rooms. Regular room was very small. It felt like a motel. I would pay $80 a night MAX to this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The room was cold. I checked the heater and central heating (radiator) but both of them didn't work. - No parking area belongs to hotel.

    Very good location, good stuff, silent and clean rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Highly recommend this nice hotel. The room is not very big, but quite elegant and cosy with a good bathroom and a comfortable bed. The breakfast is served in a very beautiful area, a bit expensive maybe, but you will find everything you need. The service is perfect. The location is great. P.S. there is a spacious parking nearby

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive (during MEDİCA days), and even without the breakfast (14.5 Euro/day) I asked for a razor, it was not available.

    good location, helpful personnel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really although we were glad we paid a little extra for a quiet room at the back of the hotel looking on to the inner courtyard. I'm not surprised that others have complained about rooms overlooking the street and marketplace being noisy.

    Good location, very pleasant staff, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was awful. The room received signal well, but the speed was terrible. Loading just one webpage took... forever. Made the wifi absolutwly unusable. While I enjoyed the hotel, the wifi was terrible enough it would prevent me from returning.

    Great location, extremely nice and helpful staff. Lovely building. Absolutely amazing breakfast. Room was fairly spacious, extremely clean, everything was working correctly. Location is right on carlsplatz so easy to get to by public transport (1 minute walk from s-bahn). Despite being on 2nd floor it was quiet with window closed. Room had AC which worked well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found bed bugs in the first room. While staff found us a new room eventually, they first tried to buy us off with a free drink at the bar. The second room did not seem to be infested.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old hotel, rooms really need to be refurbished. Air conditioning is extremely noisy. Even when I turned it off, it still made noise, apparently due to the fact that it continues to circulate air even when off

    Excellent central location but our problem was that we had booked a family room for the four of us, but they had no rooms like this available, so we had to take two regular rooms even though we had a confirmed booking for a room of 4. They wanted us to pay for the extra room, so in coordination with booking.com, we moved to another hotel after one night (we were booked for 3 nights) and are to receive a refund from booking.com for the extra room. Good breakfast and even though we had a disagreement with staff, they were very nice and efficient

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room (411) had a few steps up to the room after leaving the elevator. Was a spacious room with sitting area. Had sloped ceilings following the building roof lines.

    Central location. Parking in attached commercial garage, but with special card from hotel. A little hard to determine where to go for the parking without stopping at the hotel desk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit old-style hotel.

    Excellent location. Close to Old Town. Helpful and smiling staff. Wonderful breakfast. Great parking facility for Dusseldorf City Centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loud airco, mirror in the bathroom is too large: no need to see myself top to bottom when I get out of the shower ;)

    Great breakfast, good location near bars and restaurants in the city center, nice shower, quiet room so you can sleep with the window open

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel style is a little bit old fashioned. Bed was not comfort , I slept in a standard single room . Rooms are not spacious . At least my room was not sound proof. 4 star hotel must have a Gym room I think .

    Fantastic location . Excellent breakfast. Great value for money. Old town can be reached by walking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy.

    Excellent breakfast including delicious freshly squeezed orange juice. Excellent location. Very pleasant staff. Fresh fruit, water + tea & coffee available in lobby. Lovely gesture of giving out water for journey to each of us as we checked out. Water, sweets + tea & coffee facilities in room on arrival.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were excellent and very helpful. Hotel is located close to the river, old town and shopping district. Lots of restaurants and bars within a 5 minute walk. Room was comfortable. Staff were great with assisting us to store our bicycles.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The interior of the hotel was nice, but not the most modern look. Also the room design was a bit outdated (but clean and nice). The air condition in the room was super loud and if switched off it was way too hot. The price was relatively high as there was the Tour de France.

    Brilliant location at the Karlsplatz next to the old town. So many restaurants and the river Rhein in front of your doorstep. The staff was amazing. They have been super, super friendly and helpful all the time. Breakfast was really good with a huge choice of pretty much everything you could expect for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent choices available for breakfast - prosecco is freely available too. Perfect position to explore Düsseldorf - everything accessible by foot. Bonus - managed to have the Tour de France cycling past the hotel Too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were put into a smoking room and the residual smell was not pleasant. Yasmina did not make our check out experience a pleasant one. She didn't try to help us with our car parking challenge and appeared disinterested completely.

    Halil greeted us very warmly and made our initial experience a very positive one. Breakfast was lovely and so were the staff in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in public car park which was full when we arrived. Location opposite noisy market and bars, noise until 0400. No security could walk straight into hotel and into lifts without anyone noticing.

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower hose was sticky and dirty, please change them regularly! also the purpose of the glass plate in the bathroom was a bit odd...

    excellent breakfast, fantastic location, size of the single room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be better if the curtains can black-out the sunlight properly, especially in the summer. (I'm particularly sensitive to sunlight and I wished I brought my eye-mask with me...)

    Location - The location of this hotel is great, it's right opposite to the Karlsplatz market, and within minutes' walk to the Old Town and U-Bahn station (Benrather Strass). Breakfast - The breakfast was great, a good variety of food - bread, cold cut and cheese, warm food, cereal, yogurt, fruits etc. Coffee / tea / juices and freshly pressed orange juice too. (Because of the good breakfast, I did not have room to sample the delicious-looking food sold at the market nearby... ) Staff - Friendly staff. Room - clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little warm in the breakfast room due to the heat, would have been nice with aircondition there.

    The location and cleanliness was outstanding!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit noisy, I could hear everything outside my door

    great room, great staff, great breakfast!!great location, great price, all in all great :) also very clean and great wifi signal ;)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower drain was too slow. But that's just a detail.

    Great Staff and located near the bars and restaurants. I just stood there for one day, but I could really enjoy my stay. I requested a late delay due to some appointments and the staff did everything that was possible for them to help me.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel and service! Administrator Valena was very very nice and helpful! The breakfast is beyond the expectations!!!! Fabulous! They even serve Prosecco and homemade jam foe breakfast!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tea and coffee facilities should have been provided in the room - however you could go downstairs and get one. A bottle of water in the room on the first day but not on the other days. Rather noisy in the early morning due to the market being set up as my room overlooked the market square but OK if you closed your window.

    Really good breakfast - great choices. Very helpful at Reception which was open all the time. Location good for all that is going on in the Altstadt area. Very clean and comfortable. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A single room/bed should not necessarily mean a small covering blanket of just 90x200cm. As I am nearly 2m tall I was freezing during the night and I had to add the bathroom towel to cover my feet.

    Very central

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small selection of chicken or turkey cold cuts and meets for breakfast.

    central location - we liked best. close proximity to shops and restaurant. ample parking next door.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slightly hard bed, empty minibar, noisy bathroom fan. Not well communicated how to park at reduced rate.

    Friendly reception, location, good working wifi - easy access at no extra charge, no airco - window can be opened, no extra charge for cappucino at breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not ok, the pilow smell, the room was noisy. The akustic isolation of roomdoor is 00000. Inthe night the corridor noisy because people and it seems like they are in th room. This is really catastrofa.

    The kind smiling tunesian receptionist

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    These are not bad feelings for me, but maybe useful things to know. Tiny room, some of them noisy but I was using to sleep and not to live in. The television was mounted on a console and fastened to a side wall not front of the bed.

    Absolutely in the town centre, with few rooms, nice atmosphere, breakfast is more than necessary (especially liked the fresh orange juice pressing), staff is helpful and friendly. At check-ot I was aked if I wanted to bring a bottle of water, I sad of course and I get one, not a big thing, but a generous one. A market is front of the hotel, the Altstadt is at one corner, the Königsalle a 4 minutes walk...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains in the room were a little 80's, body wash dispenser hard to work, otherwise a great place and stay!

    Great staff, gave us great recommendations for dinner close by, breakfast was good, bed comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault the hotel at all. Staff were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. Lovely comfortable room. Everywhere exceptionally clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a lot. Room keys are the transponder kind which can be a bit of a problem. You have to wave the key fob in just the right place to get the door to unlock. This is just a tiny niggle though as everything else in just as it should be.

    Apart from the location being right on Carlsplatz market square, breakfast was really nice. Lots of variety and great quality. Good German food and beer available just across the street in the market kiosks. Brilliant!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath tub was located under slope of roof therefore you had to crouch when having shower. Only an issue if you are in certain rooms on the top floor I would imagine.

    Location great and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - We had asked for a double-bed, but due to number of guests, this could not be arranged

    - Close to alt-stadt and christmas markets - Very nice breakfast buffet - Friendly Staff - Clean room & bathroom - Shampoo and conditioner provided

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't have any major issues however we did find the rooms a little too warm; luckily the windows could be opened but the downside of that was the noise from passing traffic which appeared to start around 03:00hrs.

    The hotel is superbly located within 100m of the old town and a bit further from the Konigsallee. The food market is just across the road along with some cafes and shops. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the room very clean as was the other areas of the hotel. Breakfast was fine, particularly the bread and croissants which were really fresh.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower control is hard to get the right water temperature. This is NOT unique to this property.

    Almost everything was wonderful. Breakfast. The entire hotel was scrupulously clean. I asked for a quiet room, and they delivered, I did not hear anything. The entire staff was amazing. All of the front desk personnel speak English ranging from excellent to perfect. Very close to 2 subway lines. Close to one of the 3 Christmas outdoor markets (If you have never been to a German Christmas market, you need to try.) Look for "Glühwein" which is sweet hot wine with spice and then some gingerbread.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very generous and there are many options available but the cooked food (eggs, bacon, sausage) was lukewarm rather than hot although I understand that this is how 'hot' food is cooked for breakfast in Germany given its tradition of having cold meats, etc. for breakfast. And I couldn't get the toaster to work.

    Great location; exceptionally clean; very comfortable bed; nice shower; other customers were polite and respectful; and most notable of all the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, literally nothing is ever too much trouble and it's all done with pleasure and a smile on their faces.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at the Reception. They make you feel like in a hurry because they have something more important to do that dealing with you. Maybe they have overload of duties, do not know. I dealt with 3 different receptionists. Rooms are plenty of dust and cleanliness is not a key positive point.

    Location. In quiet area but close to city center Breakfast Apples and water for free at the Reception Good heating at the room They have iron and shaving kit to lend

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very small room.

    having the best location and offering the best breakfast i ever had in Germany. amazingly fresh products and very good quality. the variety offered was bigger than expected.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cant say there was anything we didn't like.

    superb location right opposite xmas markets, near the longest pub in the world, loads of eating places of all nationalities near by, top shopping for brand names ,wonderful breakfast with everything and extra foods you don't generally see for breakfast. room cleaned everyday.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Obscene prices charged during Medica exhibition.Normal price for this hotel should be €80 per night. We were charged over €350 per night.

    Very good breakfast selection. Very good staff. Proper espresso machine in the room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really cold rooms... cleaner left window open, works in the summer but not when its negative degrees outside.

    Great location and very nice and helpful staff!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The location is perfect, the staff were excellent , the rooms were clean , spacey and modern. The breakfast was the best I have had in Germany. A fantastic place to stay and I will be going back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rumors of the lift movement that arrive into a room during the night specially. Very little room.

    Excellent breakfast like 5+ stars hotel Disponiblity of the personnel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price! Had to share to make it worthwhile! Just because of a busy time of year with a Trade fair on - Ridiculous! Normally £85 but had to pay over £300!

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise from street in the early morning was quite disturbing and woke me up (4am sound like garbage collecting truck)

    Nice clean and comfortable bedding

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had forgotten to ask for a non smoker room. We had room #206. The bath tub was very deep, narrow and slippery.

    Coffee and breakfast. Hotel close to every thing you want to see and visit. Nice view of the street.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed here numerous times over the years and the hotel needs to be freshened up a bit. The electronic key system did not work well and it was hard to open the door to my room.

    Located in the Alt Stadt where there are restaurants, tourists and noise. But air conditioning worked well and some restaurants really good. Rooms are small but very efficient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air Condition. They said that is air condition but is only air ( not cold) We couldn't sleep all night . Even the children couldn't sleep. In winter ok but in summer NO. We preferred yo loose money rather than stay. Please don't recommend this hotel.

    Clean is ok and breakfast ok.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to the location, the night wasn't really silent with windows open. Although, I'm really satisfied and would recommend this hotel!

    Location fantastic!

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Carls Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: