Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Carpe Diem

Schwartmecke 46, 57399 Kirchhundem, Germany

#6 of 6 hotels in Kirchhundem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 278 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Extremely relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet access in room was impossible.

    Very nice hotel, superfriendly staff. Very nice area, excellent terace and lovely place for having breaksfast. In the lobey there is a very nice and romantic fireplace. You can enjoy the ire warmth during winter nights and enjoy a drink from the bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Good place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture of the room was a bit outdated and bathroom certainly needs some refurbishment.

    Wonderful area inviting to hike and relax, very tranquil. Breakfast buffet was very good and staff friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    2.9
    I will never go there !!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs were very mean and receptionist don't even speak single English word! No plates nor silverwares ..... requested a plate and cutlery for my 6year kid and the reply was we don't have!!!!! Its an hour drive from winterberg

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    2.5
    Never more!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very dirty (Wellness also), blood stains on walls (from dead mosquitoes), dogs hair, mold in the bathroom, drunk receptionist...

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.5
    A tastefully decorated, lone building overlooking a beautiful village...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the smell in the bath room

    Breakfast and the cordial behaviour of the staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Going back next weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We couldnt stay till Monday

    The staff - Excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.3
    The access in winter time is not easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The access in winter time is not easy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    3.3
    Upscale the cleanliness, enhance WiFi service since it is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Upscale the cleanliness, enhance WiFi service since it is very weak. The location is in nowhere. There is a small vellag down the mountain with nothing to do. I suggest that if you have a business there just schedule one full day of business and leave the same day.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.9
    We liked the facilities and our room, which had stairs...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is at a remote location, hence the terrible wifi! The 2 guys running the hotel try to do everything by themselves. That leads to bad service quality. But they are very friendly! Also breakfast starts at 8! It's too late if you are there for business.

    We liked the facilities and our room, which had stairs leading to the bedroom! The forest around the hotel is very nice. It's a hotel to go there and relax. Nice decorations!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.9
    Stayed a night in family room that actually included 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    First impression of the staff was that they were quite stressed, however this improved during the stay.

    Stayed a night in family room that actually included 2 bedrooms. Located in the middle of nowhere, however we generally prefer that. + Reasonably priced (even cheap considering it is a hotel restaurant) nicely decorated restaurant in house. + Good breakfast buffet + During our stay very quiet + WIFI seemed to work well in our room although officially it was only available in public areas.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    5.0
    Location of the hotel in the middle of nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    First room that was given to me was not cleaned. Second room was very cold (temperature and also atmosphere) so I had to freeze the first night despite heating. Light in the room was broken and despite promises to fix it is not repaired within my 2-days-stay. Curtain has not darkened, so room was daylighted from 5:30 am. Breakfast buffet was almost empty already half an hour before end of breakfast time. Yogurt was bad/sour. Check out started only from 9:00 am without previous information. Managers were slightly between phlegmatic to unfriendly, or maybe just stressed and overloaded.

    Location of the hotel in the middle of nature. Very quiet. Nice ambience at entrance hall with lots of paintings and art. Hairdryer in the bath. Tasty, fresh made jam at breakfast. Staff was very kind and helpful; second duvet was given after first night of being cold.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    6.7
    Location and rooms were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    When we arrived there was nobody at the reception. After asking the dining room staff how we could check-in, the owner (?) or manager arrived and without saying one word of welcome (not even hello or good evening) started explaining how busy it was with dining guests and that he was trying to get us checked-in as soon as he could. No problem for me but when he finally arrived at reception he started complaining again how busy he was (stress was exploding in his face, eye's and ears) I would expect that the minimum he could do was to say "Welcome, how are you, is there anything I can do for you" I can't help that he is understaffed (apparently) You can plan for this. Guest don't arrive out of thin air in this remote place. You need to book it upfront.

    Location and rooms were good. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Friendly staff during breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    9.6
    Rooms are clean and neat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Slow wifi and almost impossible to get a connection.

    Rooms are clean and neat. Breakfast is amazing and free ! Beautiful view of the hills. Pleasant Dutch greeting when checking in.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    4.6
    Location is fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Old, dirty, no carpets in the room.

    Location is fantastic

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    5.8
    Quiet place
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Wifi

    Quiet place

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    7.1
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was no WiFi in the room!

    Good breakfast Sauna included

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    7.5
    Very nice diner, nice views from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A bit outdated.

    Very nice diner, nice views from the hotel.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: