Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Castle Hotel

St.-Petersweg 3, 93047 Regensburg, Germany

#60 of 111 hotels in Regensburg

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 528 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing. Certainly not a place for cyclists to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The website had a photo of a beautiful building which implied that was the hotel. False advertising. Took our money then told us our bikes were not welcome. When told we had bikes prior to payment that was the time to say there was nowhere for them. Then we would have found elsewhere. Having stayed in Regensburg on two previous occasions in wonderful accommodation it was a real letdown. The free coffee making facilities were fine if you didn’t require milk. Would definitely not recommend.

    It was nicely decorated

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    2.9
    Grossly overpriced - only book if you cannot find a room in any other hotel in Regensburg!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This basic hotel is the most overpriced of any I have ever come across, anywhere! Reception is rarely staffed, so that one has to phone for a code to access the front door. Likewise if you wish to order breakfast - and too often the phone is not answered! My bed (room one) had seen many better days, the curtains were too small for the window, the shower door would not close.... etc, etc!!!! I had asked for a QUIET room and was given the noisiest one in the hotel - first floor overlooking the busy main road!

    NOTHING!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    10
    wish I could stay more
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was perfect

    Staff at the hotel was always very kind, smilling all the time, offering support and very clear instructions on the accommodation procedure and offering clear guidance and directions for the city locations. Internet was one of the greatest speed I used and reliable, never disconnected, room was very clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    10
    Great stay and we will probably stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Castle Hotel is under new and very accommodating management. The rooms were pristine and the breakfasts were very good. This was a typical European style breakfast with the addition that the host provided a variety of breads and eggs fixed in our preferred manner. Castle Hotel was just on the edge of the old city with an easy 400-500m walk to Regensburg Cathedral and about the same distance from the train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    8.8
    The cleanliness of the room and friendly staff, simple but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom is small and using a toilet is a little tricky - if you're big guy with long legs no chances to sit comfortably. Small blanket for the night.

    The cleanliness of the room and friendly staff, simple but nice breakfast, quiet location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff... will book again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The women who run this hotel are incredibly kind and very approachable. They're nice to talk to and attentive, know the area well and definitely love their job. On two of the days we were staying here, one of the owners had her sweet dog with her who is very sweet, loves a good cuddle and is well trained. Breakfast was good and served by the ladies themselves and the room itself was filled with personal touches. Clean towels every day and there is a cooker (for tea) and the room is also clean and well cared for. In the weekends it could be a little bit noisy at night because Regensburg is very lively (though very little traffic due to the city centre being either low or completely void of traffic, which makes it very pedestrian friendly), but the bed is comfortable and there are different layers of blankets and there are numerous pillows, so you can fix the bed the way you prefer when you go to sleep. The location is fantastic (close to the trainstation as well as the city centre), as everything is in walking distance and the city centre is great. The streets are clean, the people are friendly, there are many small specialty shops and there are quite a number of good restaurants with friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    10
    Great boutique hotel excellent value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A light sleeper if on the ground floor could have problems with noise from pedestrians, but it did'nt both me too much.

    Small hotel, host was wonderful, very personable and helpful. Room although ground floor and close to road was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    3.8
    perfectly located to attend the T&T concert
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms was very small, we hardly could open our suitcases. The breakfast was ok (not abundant), staff polite and friendly. Room with window to the street, so it was noisy during the night

    perfectly located to attend the T&T concert

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    8.3
    - hotel near the train station, maybe 10 min walking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - no 24 h reception, they e-mailed me the code to the front door and left my room key on the counter, so it was kind of a self check-in, but it worked nicely.

    - hotel near the train station, maybe 10 min walking - just opposite the st. Emmeram church, one of the most interesting churches I've ever seen - comfortable bed - rooms are themed by world locations (Africa, Florida, Ireland...)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    8.8
    Great location, lovely walk from station through park, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room, stairs.

    Great location, lovely walk from station through park, and easy walk to the old city. Small room but little touches (like small packets of gummy bears and kettle, cups and sachets of tea & coffee) made it nice. City map and helpful tips were given.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    3.8
    Not a hotel in would go back to
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was locked outside the hotel. Also, never got to pay the hotel with my credit card at the desk and ended up having to pay online in an unsecured way because there was never staff at the front desk.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    10
    Lovely cute rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very cute hotel with a good staff who is very helping..Julia even borrowed me me her bike when I found biycle rent prices too expensive. Have a limited breakfast but very nice cute central safe place to stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    10
    Great value and a friendly, clean place with great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I personally did not dislike anything but it is good to know that the single room "Down Under" is facing to the street so to begin with felt a bit uncomfortable that passers-by can see in the room and to have to have the curtains closed all the time. In the end, it wasn't a big issue. Also some people might find the toilet for this room a bit small.

    Very good location for somebody with no car. Easy walk from the railway station and next to the historic centre. Very friendly and helpful staff, new, very clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2017

    7.9
    B&B designed with a heart to make you feel at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have given a perfect score save for the bathroom drain which was clogged. Bathroom was also extremely small. Would have been nice if coffee-tea making facilities were included.

    Very well designed throughout. Every minor detail was considered, so whole place looked and felt welcoming. Jar of water and a nice soft bed. Breakfast room looked delightful. Location was opposite some park area so was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    10
    Outstanding, relaxed, super clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can you do anything about the weather? Ha ha!

    Julia who worked at the hotel made us feel like we were her special guests and we totally appreciated all of her efforts. She totally rocks!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2016

    6.7
    Nice decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Closed at 13.30 for the check-in although Î had announced my arrival time.it's only in the evening that Î found their email sent by 8 a.m (when Î was already on the train). Î had to call them on their mobile, they called me back 5 mn later but Î could not understand their explanations to get in. Fortunately a client went out, so Î could get in: a lot of stress, not professional at all: this place should not be allowed to call itself a hotel. -Nice but tiny room and on the road side.

    Nice decoration. -Î did not try the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    9.2
    Location is close train station,cosy room,but chick in time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is close train station,cosy room,but chick in time is 3 pm ,if early come can’t store the baggage in the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable and friendly experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No breakfast tea available at breakfast.

    Plenty of space. Kettle and tea/coffee in room. Hearing when needed and plenty of hot water

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wi-Fi blocks VoIP connections

    Very pleasant staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    9.6
    A friendly host, clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access to room might be a problem for some. unattended in the afternoons, with entry via a key box near the external door.

    Very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    10
    Perfect small guesthouse!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We enjoyed the stay a lot! Super friendly staff, beautiful breakfast area, lovely details and a great location!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    7.9
    Rather expensive for the quality of the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Value for money

    Location & friendly host

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    7.9
    Very small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room. Broken toilet paper holder liguid soap dispenser was empty

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    8.3
    Good location and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is too small

    Comfort bed Clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    4.6
    Schlecht / bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No service, no one at the reception. Had to figure out how to enter the hotel with a code.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location Excellent guestrooom design

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2017

    9.2
    A bowl full fruits, drink water, tea, coffee at the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bowl full fruits, drink water, tea, coffee at the reception to help yourself. Quite location. You feel at home.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2017

    10
    very nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very good bed, very warm, great breakfast (but not every day)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2016

    8.8
    Nice, small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficult to check in; no reception and owner not around

    Spacious and clean room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    7.1
    Wireless connection very poor or inexistent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wireless connection very poor or inexistent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2016

    8.8
    Small, family-run, boutique-style place with an eye for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    You need to arrange arrival time to get handed the keys (no fixed reception times in afternoon or evening). In the room I stayed, water was dropping out of the showerhead.

    Small, family-run, boutique-style place with an eye for detail. Good value-for-money with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2016

    8.3
    This small, cozy hotel has an excellent location, facing the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    This small, cozy hotel has an excellent location, facing the Thurn und Taxis property, close to the railway station. The rooms are not numbered but named after the continents, 'Down under' is at the ground floor level.

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2016

    9.6
    the hotel is more like a guest hotel, located in the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    the wifi is weak esp. on the first floor, there is no wifi in my room. It is not easy to find the entrance since the door is closed. Only after calling the hotel did I find it.

    the hotel is more like a guest hotel, located in the old town, the staffs are very nice to provide with useful information. The single room is small but warm with welcome fruit and candy.

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2016

    10
    Great staff and customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Great staff and customer service. Really quiet. Big parking garage 2 min walk down the street. Direct access to the old town through the pedestrian alleys.

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    10
    The hotel is perfectly located, just outside of the old town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No shampoo nor gel shower in the bathroom, so pack yours!

    The hotel is perfectly located, just outside of the old town, which means that it is extremely quiet at night while being ideally located nearby the odltown. The hotel is tastefully decorated, you really feel at home. The bed is very comfortable, the bedroom cosy.

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2016

    8.3
    I liked the size (very small), the floor boards (raw wood),...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    I didn't like that it was very hard to find a spot where I could hang my wash bag - I couldn't find a peg or a bar.

    I liked the size (very small), the floor boards (raw wood), the fact that my room was a micro suite (a cupboard-sized separate sitting room), the bathroom with both a shower and a tub ... and the view from my window: only trees, grass and a castle - although the hotel is in the city center. I liked the fact that the egg for my breakfast was cooked in a little kitchen off the breakfast room and I liked the long breakfast table as well as the variety of food (which I thought was very good for only a handful of guests). Not unimportant: parking is no problem because there is a parking garage 200 meters away (an additional 11 euros per day but that seems about average for the city).

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2016

    8.8
    The breakfast was really nice, complete and served...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The arrival was a bit complicated. I could not enter ne hotel because the code to get the key was wrong.

    The breakfast was really nice, complete and served exclusively for me. The attendant was very carefull. The room was simple but clean and confortable. The cost benefit is great!!

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2015

    8.3
    Staff friendly, Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Far from train station if walking, It was difficult to figure out how to get into front door without knowing the key pad code. I was unable to access my internet prior to checking in.

    Staff friendly, Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2015

    7.1
    - the hotel looks more like a guest house with very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The room was on the small side so that you could not fully open the bathroom door. However it is worth noting that despite having reserved a single room, the bed was a double one so I could hardly complain! The walls were rather thin so I could hear people coming in from the main door

    - the hotel looks more like a guest house with very nice personal touches to the decoration - very friendly and customer friendly staff - breakfast eggs were cooked on demand and were plentiful. - luggage storage - it was nice to have a fan in the room as it was very warm during my stay

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2015

    8.3
    the staff was really great and the bed was really comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    My room was on the first floor so during the nights it was noisy.. The room and the bathroom was small

    the staff was really great and the bed was really comfortable

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2015

    8.8
    Theme rooms are very nice and spacious.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    No reception at night, the system works, but there is no one at the reception.

    Theme rooms are very nice and spacious. Staff is friendly during breakfast,

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2015

    7.1
    The reception lady is so friendly, the rooms are small but...
    • Solo traveler

    the mattress wasn't comfortable,I couldn't sleep well.that's was the only problem and I hope that they will fix it.

    The reception lady is so friendly, the rooms are small but cute.I liked it.

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2015

    9.6
    Amazingly comfortable and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi coverage was poor.

    Amazingly comfortable and spacious room. The windows overlook a quite street. The city centre can be reached by foot within 5-10 minutes, good connection to the railway station and Autobahn.

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2015

    10
    nice atmosphere,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    the view out of my window was of the wall of the next building.. nothing horrible.. but the room was a bit dark..

    nice atmosphere, like visiting a familiar place.. would love to go back anytime

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2016

    8.8
    The bed was super comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I couldn't get wifi in my room but had to go upstairs to get a connection.

    The bed was super comfortable! The breakfast was excellent too.

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2016

    10
    Great location, nice facilities and overall very good value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Great location, nice facilities and overall very good value for money. Very friendly and supportive hosts - thank you!

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2015

    6.7
    Location was good to christmas markets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Needed some basic things like soap, shampoo, conditioner etc

    Location was good to christmas markets.

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2015

    8.3
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Good Location Economy Room but all one really needs Bed was surprisingly good and slept well Good service and great breakfast

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2015

    9.2
    The style of the room!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    It was a bit noisy because my room was next to the main road.

    The style of the room!

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2015

    9.6
    good location, nice lady at front dest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    good location, nice lady at front dest. comfortable bed and pillow. quite.

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2015

    8.3
    Very nice and friendly staff, theme rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice and friendly staff, theme rooms

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2015

    9.6
    Easy, early access on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy, early access on arrival. Location Interesting rooms with good space Friendly, English speaking host

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2015

    6.7
    Location.
    • Couple

    Complicated key system.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2015

    9.6
    Good location, nice staff, lovely room, though tiny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Good location, nice staff, lovely room, though tiny.I like it.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Castle Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: