Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Central Hotel Friedrichshafen This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Olgastr. 64, 88045 Friedrichshafen, Germany

#14 of 28 hotels in Friedrichshafen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 376 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast, good location- 5 mins walk from...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan was too noisy but still helpful in June, a hot night without wind.

    Good breakfast, good location- 5 mins walk from train/bus central station. Free softdrink, awesome!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Convenient stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot, the roof slope stopped us sitting up in bed

    Very Clea,n 10 minute walk to the seafront and restaurants, enough storage space, plenty of for water. Good free parking.. Excellent breakfast. Fantastic staff, very polite and obliging

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel I'd stay at again and again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • XS - Mikro - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved everything: the location is perfect (9 minutes walk to Friedrichshafen Stadt station and like 12 minutes walk to the Bodensee and the park), the bed was very comfortably, wi-fi connection was easy and perfect. The room (I had an XS room) was small but very comfortable: it had everything you possibly need, even a fan and a balcony where smokers could smoke. Also the place is very quiet and you can hear birds singing while on the balcony. The breakfast was also really good, besides the hotel offers free refreshment drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.3
    The location of the hotel is a good compromise between the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi very very weak in the room. There is no place where you can eat or drink something in the nearby apart a pizzeria that was full booked the time i was there

    The location of the hotel is a good compromise between the city center and the price you pay for it. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was OK. The whole structure is a bit old but rooms are rennovated in modern stile.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    Beautiful and elegant city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very small, without any cupboard; only many hangers which were basically sufficient, but still had to keep some of my belongings in the luggage due to limited space. There are no safety boxes in the rooms, and the safety box in the reception was too small. Therefore, I had to carry around my passport etc.. valuables with me whenever I went out throughout my stay. The walls are thin, so the noises in the next rooms or in the corridor are easily heard inside the room. The room locks are the conventional type with a key, and the cleaning person is able to open the room's door even if it is locked from the inside and the key is on the lock. Since there isn't any "do not disturb" card to hang on the door, I felt the cleaning staff might enter my room anytime if I am late to get up and leave the room. It felt somewhat uncomfortable from privacy point of view. There is no air-conditioner in the room, only a small fan; it was no problem for me as the weather was quite cool during my stay, but it might be a problem in hot summer days. The room that I stayed had a nice big balcony (good for smokers and kindly arranged by the hotel management upon my request), but it is shared with the next room. So, it might be a little uneasy feeling if you want to have complete privacy (considering that the room didn't have thick curtains - only thin transparent curtains: there are shades, but it is not practical to pull them up and down frequently). There is no 24hr reception, all the staffs leave at 7:30 pm and the guests are on their own from that hour onwards till the next early morning: during that time, the hotel's front door is locked - better not to forget to take your room key with you when you leave, since it opens the front door too. In short, the hotel is nice for short stays and business trips (it has all the basics), but might not be suitable for travellers who are visiting the city for leisure and who are looking for some more comfort.

    The hotel and the room were clean and tidy. The staffs were helpful , dynamic, positive and always smiling. The hotel was near to the central train station and to the lake promenade area, but not so near to the "Hafen" (port) area where all the main activity of the city is going on - where there are the restaurants, shops, and all the ships-ferries-catamarans departing to nearby cities (but still within walking distance). Recommended mainly for short stays rather than longer leisure trips. Near to major industrial companies of the city, which is an advantage if you are travelling for business.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location, staff and good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room / Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little warm and only had a fan in the room, but wasn't unexpected due to summer heat. Couldn't completely block out light from window in roof, which made it a bit harder getting our child to sleep. But these are only mild issues.

    There were free cold drinks provided at the reception. Quite a few car parks available, both in front and behind the hotel. Wifi was free and had good signal wherever we went in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.8
    Tremendous value for a centrally located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi strength was a bit variable (but at least free!)

    Tremendous value for a centrally located hotel. Warm welcome and very friendly staff at breakfast, eager to please. Soft drinks free of charge in big fridge at reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice place close to the center and the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • XS - Mikro - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed at an extra-small micro room, and I was aware of that, but I think for that room the price was a little bit high. Also, there is no bar or restaurant, and you cannot help yourself with a cup of coffe or tea.

    The location is perfect, next to the lakefront with all the cafes and restaurants. It's easy to commute from here. The staff was very nice, and the room was ready even though we arrived earlier. There are free beverages at the reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    6.3
    Interesting Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very very small and had only a shelf to work on. I was there on a business trip so there was always catch up to do at night but hard to do. Would suggest a larger room if they offer one one as I had a single since the rates were low. Doors did not lock automatically when you leave the room so I had to remember to manually lock each time I left.

    The staff was great, I wanted some room to work with a colleague so they let us use the closed restaurant area because there wasn't a lot of spots anywhere else in the hotel. Made us coffee and offered other drinks while we worked which was very nice. Location is good and seemed to have a lot of parking. Friendly staff although they weren't on property much of the time. The hotel reminded me of a large bed and breakfast atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    True Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    --

    Precise instructions for late arrival. Free parking, good quality wifi, superb quality breakfast including a glass of sparkling wine; top clean, true value for money

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    10
    Great location, comfortable stay in Friedrichshafen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    The location was very convenient. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff were very nice and accommodating. Close to restaurants and supermarkets.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.5
    Good place to crash, not good for families or a long stay in business trip
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked a single room and I think I have been placed in an XS room because it was nothing like the pics on the website and it was really really small. Two people in thew room would have been too crowded. No furniture to put your clothes. No door for the bathroom (although I have to say there was no bad odor in the room because of that).

    The place was clean, very close to the railway station (5 min. on foot) and city center. Breakfast was fresh, lots of choices. Room was very small, but bathroom was quite generous with the space. Good place to crash for a couple of night, if passing through the town on a solo or business trip.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful Friedrichshafen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room / Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In case if you have insomnia during early mornings, counting of an airplanes might help you :))) For us breakfasts were too early :), but you can go to Bäckerei Schwarz and have a wonderful breakfast at the lake ;)

    Everything was very OK. Staff is good. Parking at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.6
    Probably one of the best choises in Friedrichshafen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Actually, nothing.

    Position, near the lake, rail station and city center True free parking just aside the hotel Free bevevage on the house, all day long Rich breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice town.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free drinks, Good location for town, clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was excellent and excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent and excellent value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Simple but very comfortable double bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast seems too expensive.

    Simple but very comfortable double bedroom. It was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Friendly service, helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room / Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly service, helpfull

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Great staff and great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • XS - Mikro - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No full time reception

    Great location. Easy walk from the train and to my meetings. Town center and lake are also within a very short walk

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Damn fine cup of coffee
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damn fine cup of coffee

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice location, poor facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, no other facility, but a free minibar in the lobby. Looks more like a student camp

    Close to the citycenter.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    The rooms were too small, and we moved. It is what it says it is: clean budget accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • XS - Mikro - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms new and clean, but very small.

    Cheap and fair value at the low price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    Owner very accommodating, free drinks available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too warm but you can't predict the weather. Fan available in room

    Owner very accommodating, free drinks available. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in a quiet street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel free parking, located 10 mins from the harbour, free soft drinks in reception , would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A little disturbing traffic noise when windows were opened because of the heat

    Good location, clean room, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hotel for the hamradio
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern equiped room for a short work overnight or weekend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    A comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • XS - Mikro - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Cleanliness and its closeness to the city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.9
    Free drinks at reception
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free drinks at reception

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    One of the best HOTEL near the Bodensee
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stuff was very kind, and breakfast was also nice! There are also free-drink, and snacks! And we could park our car in front of our room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    It was really comfortable as always.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really comfortable as always. Good location, free parking, rich breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    6.3
    Don't stay if you need internet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet speed close to nothing. Spider nets in every corner of my room

    Nice breakfast buffet Free water and beer

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    5.6
    I arrive 1040 pm no one to gave key taxi driver drop me and I stay in the street untlil one clock ni
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    7.5
    Nice basic hotel with necessary services located near center...
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi didn't work. Connected yes, but not able even read emails. The economy room had an "interesting" door solution. Bathroom was separated from the other room with a thin courtain only.

    Nice basic hotel with necessary services located near center of the city. Served my purpose (short 1 night stay). Lady at the reception was super friendly 😊

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    9.6
    The hotel offered free drinks to its guests and it seemed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel offered free drinks to its guests and it seemed that the hotel has recently been renovated. Staff were friendly and were willing to speak English. Overall, a comfy hotel with really modern facilities.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    8.3
    Hotels staff was friendly and answered all my questions.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wireless internet was very spotty and didn't work most of the time. When it did work, it was very slow.

    Hotels staff was friendly and answered all my questions.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    6.7
    Staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy, Saturday night in particular. We were asked if we wanted a view of the lake or mountains and I said yes but there was no way that could happen because of the location. They do not cope with heat at all, even getting a fan was difficult

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    9.6
    Quiet hotel,very friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms without air-conditioning systems.

    Quiet hotel,very friendly and helpfull staff. Hotel 5 mines walk to the town centre. Very good continental breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    My single room was perfect, good bed, wonderful shower,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing at all.

    My single room was perfect, good bed, wonderful shower, utterly bijou (small, but perfectly formed). If prison cells were this good, I'd commit a crime! Also, amazingly rapid Wi-Fi, free chocolate and soft drinks in reception in a budget price hotel; remarkable and the staff were delightful.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    8.5
    Staff, location, cleanliness, parking and breakfast are all...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was tiny but light bright clean and complete with everything so I can't complain

    Staff, location, cleanliness, parking and breakfast are all good. This is not 5 star but it is good local accommodation. The negative comments are from inexperienced travellers and may be discounted. From the moment I walked in until I left the staff were 5 star in every respect. They really try hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    6.7
    Friendly staff, everything clean, free soft-drinks &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    tiny room, barely space to open the suitcase

    Friendly staff, everything clean, free soft-drinks & beer, close to the train station

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.2
    Staff were wonderful and the rooms exceptionally comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Staff were wonderful and the rooms exceptionally comfortable sand clean

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    8.8
    cost, wireless, free espresso in the room, free beverage
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    to improve breakfast considering the price

    cost, wireless, free espresso in the room, free beverage

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    10
    Absolutely quite, clean, cheap, and the breakfast is great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Absolutely quite, clean, cheap, and the breakfast is great

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    8.3
    Friendly and extremely helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and extremely helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.9
    The WiFi connection sometimes is lost, but everything else...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The WiFi connection sometimes is lost, but everything else is really good

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.8
    Really friendly staff, nice hotel, enjoyed our stay very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really friendly staff, nice hotel, enjoyed our stay very much

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.0
    Nice employee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    15mins walk to habor.

    Nice employee.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    8.8
    Really nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Simple room facility

    Really nice staff good location

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    7.5
    Good and clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi did not work

    Good and clean room. Hotel easy to reach and located near the centre town

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    8.3
    Staff was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff was great layout of room 2 bathrooms (one with a tub)

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: