Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City-Hotel Ansbach am Kurfürstendamm 3 stars

Ansbacher Str. 4, Tempelhof-Schöneberg, 10787 Berlin, Germany

#535 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1311 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was out of order, and that is something usual. Rooms don't have AC, which is not very nice on hot days, and curtains are quite transparent, so if you have problems with sleeping like that, that can be a little problem

    Room was clean, enough space in it, breakfast is also ok, and location is almost excellent, overall value for money for Berlin is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is very old, the lift was not working and our room was on the seventh floor. After some complaints we managed to get a room on the fifth floor. The room needed renovation (the sink had a hole, the bed was missing a leg), we were quite upset.

    The hotel is located in a nice shopping area, it is close to the central park, and public transport is close by. We were able to park our car in the hotel private parking area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was broken. My room was really hot and too bright to continue to sleep at 6am. There is no AC or fan. Staff was not very happy to their customer.

    Location is very convenient. Clean towels are always ready.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift was broken! This is really a serious problem in a 7-floor hotel! besides, I understand that the lift can be broken unexpectedly, and be inoperative for a few hours or for the entire night... but it just cannot be inoperative for several weeks! There were elderly ladies and men, tired passengers with luggage. I do not understand why they cannot call a technical team right away, and fix it in the next day. Also this problem should be mentioned on Booking.com, prior to reservation.

    Staff is very kind and helpful, the hotel is clean but the non-functional lift just scraps all the comfort! I have been offered a complimentary breakfast (to compensate for the lift I guess) and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for one night. The area wasn't very comfortable.the room was clean. We didn't like the Hotel and the woman Who was working there wasn't very polite. We were on the 3rd floor and they told us that the elevator wasn't working but anyway. Well if i ever gonna visit berlin again i Will choose another area for sure

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of stuff in the room, you have to ask about everything and besides the night concierge who was very nice, the other staff is really bad.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The clock in the hallway was super loud. You could here it ticking every second... It was hard to fall asleep.

    Comfy mattress room was bigger than expected. bathroom was extremely clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no teapot in the room, no tea/coffee and there is no cups. Breakfast is quite ok, but the choice is not big. Would be good to have at least some sausages (as I would expect to have in Germany) and scrambled eggs, not only boiled. There was no "do not disturb" sign in the room. Power supply sockets were located in very random places in the room.

    Very convenient location, very close to U-bahn, you can easily get to any point of the city. Close to food stores and there are a lot of restaurants and caffees around. There is an automat to buy some sweets and drinks. Wifi is free and the speed good, however you need a separate password for each device.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There would be nice to have a lobby.

    Everyone in a staff was very helpful, answered all requests and questions. Special thanks to the reception people - they were always friendly and made us feel like at home.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This doesnt mean i dont like it but breakfast 7€ its very basic and that money u can eat also bakary breakfast.

    Location for sure its good, wifi works well until my stay, room is big enough, seems pretty new furnish in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    But there was no glasses for water nor teapot in the room. I had a room with joint bathroom and it was one toilet for women for the whole floor - in the bathroom there was another but it was out of order. What is more if someone wanted to take a shower she would close the whole bathroom because the shower was open, then no-one could use the toilet for the duration of the shower. Besides the bathroom was a little old which meant that the staff would clean it very nice but it still looked not so clean.

    The room was what I've expected, nice furniture, clean quite comfortable. The cleaning staff was very nice and efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is really basic one, it's more like a hostel then a hotel for 60E per day.. The staff stole 3 packs of cigarettes, one chokolade and two oranges. First I couldn't believe and then I realised that they are stealing. I told that to receptionist but nothing happened. It's like they don't really care. They even charge VAT and I was paying by my business card.

    I liked when the cleaning lady took 3 packs of cigarettes and she didn't take my laptop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Phone apparatus "dead". Repaired next day following complaint. Practically no TV, probably functioning problem of the antenna. Not repaired despite complaint. Asked to pay on arrival. In two words : a hotel with age of several decades, with limited refurbishement and expensive compared to a number of new or totally refurbished hotels in the vicinity. Poor value for money. I really discourage future travellers to chose it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were terrible. Two single beds are put together as a double and they are attached to eachother with an iron bar in the middle. The beds are too small, the mattress is way too hard and everytime you turn around you have that iron bar sticking in your back. It's impossible to lay cosy in the arms of your partner. Very, very uncomfortable. The shower was really bad as well. Water pressure is not that good and the temperature is living it's own life. We got burned several times because the water just got boiling hot and then cold again. It's also pretty noisy in the rooms. You can hear all your neighbours walking around and talking. There is no fridge in the room.

    We stayed 4 nights at the City Hotel Ansbach to celebrate New Years Eve and had a beautiful time in Berlin. Checking in was very easy and you can park your car for 9 euro /day at the private parking at the back of the property. The location is absolutely perfect. There's a lovely bakery around the corner where you can have delicious coffee and sandwiches and there's a Thai restaurant next door. The zoo is across the street. The rooms are clean. Wifi is fast and always working. We got a complimentary bottle of Champagne on New Years Eve.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bathroom window was always left open so showering was unpleasant. The breakfast at the place was really average as well

    Amazing location, a standard room, friendly staff, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I couldn't get the wifi in my mobile and the people on the hotel had any other option so finally I get no connection.

    We booked room with shared bath and when we arrived we changed it without problems. The personal was kind and effective. It was a U-bahn stop really close to the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was one member of staff that I had an issue with. Always seemed likè he'd rather be somewhere else. I tried to explain I had a situation and his reply was 'and what do you want me to do about It?' Not happy with him at all. Everyone else was amazing could not fault them at all.

    The breakfast was lovely. Always cleaned really great value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel lacks some facilities - room is a little plain but nonetheless very clean and tidy. Room was on construction site so noise was a little bit too loud.

    Excellent location and convenient to public transportation

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are kind of small as most of European hotels, and room was a bit cold though heater was on. Otherwise, great place.

    Great value for money, friendly staff, clean place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no “don’t disturb sign” as I usually always put it up since I don’t like anyone entering my room. The internet codes work for one device only it seemed

    The location is excellent, and the rooms are clean and tidy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had very uncomfortable pillows, thin and hard. The staff at the reception was not so tourist- friendly, always annoyed, but it's fine, we didn't spend so much time at the hotel.

    Wonderful location, only 5 min away from the subway station U1/U2/U3 and bus station, all good connected to the most city highlights. Very clean and full furnished.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Usually with all hotels, shower heads are not easy to balance between hot and cold.

    Very convenient location. Large rooms and bathrooms. Clean and comfortable. It number 100 is just across the street, this bus provides city trip in regular tickets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whole hotel is outdated including the lift. Staff was probably shorthanded and because of that had no patience specially the night shift man. He was rude as he asked if we were staying at the hotel when coming in from outside at night. We did not like our room when we arrived and was told flat out that there were no rooms available but was not given any other option of may be the next day or a cancellation, etc. Can not make the customer feel that if you could not help then you would not help EVER. Not going back there again definitely.

    Room clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com gives an incorrect description of the location which caused me 45 minutes of walking in circles. They say City-Hotel I’m Kurfürstendamm BUT it’s not. It steps off Kurfurstenstr (no damm). It’s a big difference in the dark at night!

    The location to the U-Bahn is great and there are good food options close by. It’s about a 3 minute walk to KaDeWe. The S-Bahn is about 8 minutes walk and the Zoo about 3 minutes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The property is old. The douche wasn't standing in its place. one of the reception people was grumpy to us. not enough space for baby. made me really thoughtful about booking.com suggestions.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The elevator did not rise to the seventh floor, only to the sixth. But for me it was not important.

    Everything was good. I recommend to everyone who does not require extra privileges.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, we had a lovely stay.

    We found this hotel whilst walking round Berlin as a replacement to another apartment that we had booked via Booking.Com and could not stay in for health and safety reasons. We ended up getting the last available room! The hotel was nice and clean and the staff were friendly. Our room was fine - it wasn't especially big but it fit in 2 single beds and a cot for our 2 year old son. There was a shared bathroom at the end of the corridor but this was not a problem - it was very clean- and there was a sink in your room so you could wash/brush teeth etc. The breakfast (7 euro per person - free for children) was lovely - continental style. The location was great - less than 5 minutes to Berlin Zoo and 100m from Wittenbergplatz U Bahn station. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are courteous but not super friendly.

    The location in very good. Parking at hotel yard is very convenient at 9€ a day from Monday to Saturday. Sunday is free on ten street!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator didn't work, no bar no coffee/tea.

    simple hotel, but very clean and at an excellent location. Perfect breakfast shop around the corner, better than any hotel breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was really nothing much to like. This was hands down the worst experience I've had with a hotel in my life. - Couldn't sit straight on the toilet (not enough space) - No safe/waterboiler or any other common extra's - Very unhelpful multiple staff members - No english speaking staff - Elevator was half-broken, it didn't reach our floor - Very expensive for just a room with 2 beds

    I suppose the beds were OK and cleaning every day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were not that friendly and if you are sensitive sleeper there will be some noise from outside if you keep the window open.

    The location of is pretty good and I would recommend people to stay because of the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location near the south western edge of the Tiergarten. No-frills, comfortable hotel. Shared bathrooms were no problem as there were two on a floor of only about 6 or 7 rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a problem, just a bit odd - when we got there they wanted cash not credit card. Usually when they want cash it says so on the booking.com site.

    Staff were friendly, location was great and the place was clean - These 3 things are always most important to us so we were happy. We bought the breakfast one day and they had a nice selection - though there are a myriad of restaurants, cafes and bakeries in the vicinity.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility in general is rather dated. Carpets need to be changed asap! Ours was all in some stains.

    Good location near tiergarten. Will suit those who are looking for something quite. Bathroom was spotless clean. Shower with the best water power I ever experienced in hotels. Very nice a friendly receptionist (unfortunately I don't remember her name, but she spoke russian). Overall, the place is fine for a weekend stay, if you just want a place to crush.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable convenient accommodation perfect for a weekend visit. Easy access to public transport and pleasant environment with lots of amenities nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed was hard, just a 4 inch futon like mattress. West facing rooms get a lot of sun in the afternoon and were quite hot in the summer (there's no air conditioning.) Breakfast was OK but better food at lower price can be found from nearby cafes. The hotel seems to popular with youth groups; there were two there while I stayed and it was kinda noisy. Ventilation was poor; the smell of cigarette smoke and sewer gas was present in the room. Beware of rooms on the 6th floor since the elevator only goes up to the 5th.

    Great location: Within one city block there are banks, restaurants, grocery, drug store, hardware store, car and bike rental, farmer's market on Fridays, money exchange, entrance to U bahn subway, probably everything you'd need. Good neighborhood, no seedy people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our last day we went for breakfast, and still have 2 hours for check-out. Anyway, by the time we get back, the cleaning lady was there, throwed out our bathroom stuff (brush, pasta, etc.) and packed our little bags. All her reaction was smiling and thinking "we forget" our stuff. Would be better if they make a recheck and control on reception if we really left or not and if won't hire idiots.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I'm a fairly seasoned traveler. There is no reason to ask for a better hotel.

    This is a very well situated and functioning hotel. My friend had told me it was good and after experiencing it I very much agree.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not worth the 100 euro. I would say it was more like 60-70 euro. Unfortunately, there is no aircondition, which is rough during summer. The room is very small.

    The breakfast at the hotel is for a fair and good price of 7 euro. The hotel is well situated (right next to KaDeWe shopping center). Appart from shopping opportunities the location offers a wide variety of restaurants, bars, etc. The hotel itself is right above a very good Thai restaurant. The food was fantastic there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An inexpensive hotel in a very vibrant neighborhood. The personnel is friendly, rooms are clean. Every kind of transportation is within arm's reach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The listing doesn't specify that there is only bathroom to share on an entire floor of 6-8 rooms. Moreover, the shower is completely open, no door or even curtains. The towels that were provided smelled like they hadn't been washed. The rooms were of a decent size but had no air conditioning or fans and so we had to keep the window ajar at night. Because of all the traffic on the street where the hotel is located it was too loud to sleep peacefully. Absolutely would not recommend this place.

    Location is convenient and close to KaDeWe.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is two shared bathrooms for the 7th floor and one of them the shower is small and they didn't have paper towels, but it's not really a big issue, the hotel is worth it

    The location is amazing!! The room was comfortable, the staff was nice and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not try the breakfast, costs extra. A bit run down overall but ok for sleeping. No AC but window opens wide.

    Great location, close to public transport, shopping and restaurants. Nothing fancy but ok. Room size ok and pretty comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First thing asked when arriving "can't you pay cash ?". Orange decoration. Everything looks cheap. Nothing good to eat at breakfast. Bathroom is old-fashioned. Scary lift. You always feel like it will stop in the middle. Price quite high for what you get

    English speaking staff. Location near the Zoo but 5km away from main touristic sites. The hotel is clean. Car parking in a locked up area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old facilities, looks like cheap hoStel, not hotel. Noisy - we slept at 4th floor and noise from street was annoying - it doesn't matter if you closed windows or not, their sound resistance is poor.

    Good location, staff available 24h/day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location, right next to the U-bahn and bus 100 station. Lots of places for food and shopping around. Very clean room and bathrooms, excelent wifi connection. It's a basic, cheap hotel but very acceptable, very good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. It was, as always, a great experience. Its a basic, cheap hotel but very acceptable. I will stay there again.

    Great location. Super value for money. Very clean. Comfy beds. Thoughtful staff. Its a good basic hotel. Very good standard for the price. I have stayed there many times and will continue to use it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were restaurants around but not too many options.

    Comfy beds and neat bathroom. For me, bathroom's cleanliness is the most important. This one was Fare. There was also a supermarket 150 meters from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms do not meet the expectations. Photos are definetly tuned. (Great Photoshop work) I would expect from three star hotel that there is a bathroom in each room! Rooms look like old hotel for the workers. It was clean, but everything was old and used. Bathroom and shower were clean but extremly used. We couldn't close cabin doors. Bed clothing was clean but windows, curtains and window blinds were horrible. Carpet was also covered with stains.

    Nice staff -friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage was aweful----herd to find, read, type was too small

    very flexible, adaptable to my needs. gave a triple for single use---so I gad plenty of room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not that helpfull personal at desk when asking a simple parking question. I tried to speak German. Do not tread me like I asking stupid questions... I am guest at your hotel! No WIFI on room. because all other rooms in Berlin seemed to be booked. I had to pay more money for the room that seemed fair.

    Was last hotel free when I drove to berlin in night. Not my type of hotel I normale booked. (Shared bathroom i AM not ussed to in hotel) But location was good, could park my car! So overall I was ok with it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -Bath floor problematic, water accumulates -Hair dryer bad quality

    -High speed wifi -Hot during winter -Instant hot water -Silent -3 minutes to metro station and KaDeWe

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet was not functioning in the room (it was working in the lobby), so if this is crucial you should check in advance. They said they are working on it. My friends had no problem about it.

    I found this place for my friends who were visiting Berlin on a very short notice. The price was still affordable and they've got everything needed. Location was great so they could explore West Berlin by just walking, and also go to East Berlin for example Alexandarplatz with a direct bus (100). They is also grocery shop close by and surely many restourants and shops. One could borrow a kettle for boiling water which was great. Recommended!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were very rude and they seemed annoyed when asked questions. The internet did not work during my entire stay. I had to use my own carrier roaming service which will end up costing me a fortune when I get back home. When i asked about the internet situation the reception staff said and I quote "it is what it is. If you need the internet so bad you can come to the lobby and use it here". Meanwhile their lobby was not equipped with any type of seating so I would have to stand in the hallway just to use my the internet. Additionally, very few of the reception staff spoke English and they would get annoyed that I didn't speak German. The whole experience was kinda odd for a hotel in such an international city like Berlin.

    I like that they clean my room everyday and provided me with plenty of towels and toilet paper. Location was excellent. Ubahn station was very closed to hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My last experience was totally different from the previous one and I have to report it here: - Staff = Terrible. Maybe because they were working in the Xmas time, but all of them were completely disgusting... - Internet = Awful. At the reception they provided wrong information all the time. The white bold guy was pretty rude insisting that the internet was working properly. All the time ironic replies saying that it was our fault that the WiFi wasn't working because we weren't able to simply insert the stupid password into the phone. However, he wasn't able to make it work in his own phone as well. Afterwards, the girl at least was sincere saying that the internet was not working and said the internet connection should be fixed within 1 month... (What? Yes, she said within 1 MONTH...) Simply laughing in our faces... We requested to have any compensation because we weren't able to talk to our family members in the Xmas time because of this internet connection issue and they simply ignored us saying: I am not a boss I can't do anything. They also argued saying that the internet service is for free and the customer should not complain because it is for free. If it is available ok, if not, it is yours problem. First of all, nobody is stupid enough to believe that the internet service is for free, of course the service is included in the price. Second, if you have to provide a "free" service, please, make it work otherwise it is false and abusive advertisement anyway. - Location = Not safe anymore. The street is really dark, desert and in the winter time starts to be dark around 4PM. Watch out after getting off the metro station Wittembergplatz because now these Arabic immigrated guys are waiting for tourist out there. We were chased by two guys and fortunately the Rossman store was open and we could get inside.

    Nothing. I have been 4 times in this hotel. Previously, was good but now I won't return anymore.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Wi-Fi only worked downstairs. -Poor acoustic isolation. Someone in 3rd floor (just above my room) was making a lot of noise. Probably just bad luck.

    -Location -Clean, although dated interior

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frustrated older lady on the reception, probably owner...message for her - smile doesn't kill. When we checked in she told us that elevetor doesn't work but it will be fixed till morning and she offered us one free breakfast instead...our room was on 5th floor..next two days other three people on reception desk were polite but elevator still wasn't fixed so they also gave us free breakfast flyer...last morning the same old lady argued with me because I asked her for breakfast...Listen lady, of course i am asking something in return because this shity hotel is not worth that money...small room with old furniture,wifi doesn't work above 2nd floor...last time hotel elevator operated was probably in early 80's...and I don't care is it problem with motor or something else. I didn't expect Hilton but at least to get what i paid for.... Nevertheless, I had a great time in Berlin but for those with small nerve my sugestion is to look for some other hotel

    location was ok, close to metro station and kudamm (shoping street)...Bed was ok and sheets were clean. Three out of Four receptionist were ok..

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn't make us feel welcome at all. They wouldn't look at us or say hello/good morning back. Just seemed a bit rude

    Handy location to brandenburg gate and victory tower, lots of places local for food and shopping.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been more flexible with the check in. I arrived earlier than anticipated and would have paid the extra, but this didn't affect the overall stay and would recommend to others based on location,comfort and value for Money.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    remove this hotel from you system. You are doing much better

    use to book my hotels only with booking .com and always prefer the option of free cancellation. while booking this hotel there was 2 rates ( non refundable and free cancellation). was charged immediately as my card information is stored and it was non refundable or even change possible. Lift was out of order. No phone connection to call reception. A similar case happened before with a hotel in Zurich and when I contacted you matter was solved in no time. But this time I was told to contact the hotel direct and of course there was no chance to do any thing. 2 bad stay with totally unfriendly staff especially those of the restaurant. I must think twice now before using booking.com

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi internet is for free, but it was not strong enough in my room and sometimes disconnects.

    The room is spacious.. Beds are really comfortable.. Very clean place, and room service tides the room perfectly. Although my room had a shared bathroom, but it was always clean and had everything ready. Staff are very friendly and available 24/7 on desk. I love this hotel!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During our stay (3 nights) the Wi-Fi didn't work at all. When we reported the problem to the reception desk, they stated the Wi-Fi was working just fine. Well the Wi-Fi network worked, but there wasn't any internet. I would say the reception desk staff wasn't very competent in their job, they were very slow, not smiling at all.

    Beds were very comfortable. The location of the hotel is near the Wittenbergplatz, so it is easily reachable with public transport.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small rooms, the carpet is very old. Most important, no Wi-Fi. 5 networks, one for each floor, only one working (ground floor). I asked what is the problem at the desk office, they said they can't fix it. So if you want to have some internet, don't choose this hotel.

    Ok breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts was a random assortment of cold meats, cheeses and bread. No fruit, pastries or even cereal meant nothing really for vegerians and nothing with any nutrional value whatsoever. I had one bread roll for breakfast every day which is really not acceptable when I paid extra for breakfast. There was also an extremely rude man on reception who did not even acknowledge us even when we greeted him and was verbally very rude. The pillows were actually pointless, basically a feather in a pillow case and the beds were so hard they gave me a bad back.

    The location could not have been better which made up for pretty much everything else that was wrong with the hotel. The bus and underground stops were a minute walk away and we were within walking distance of some brilliant restaurants and bars. The free wifi was also a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stuff extremely rude. WiFi doesn't work, only close to the "lobby".

    Location. The hotel is worth what you pay for. Don't forget about it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 12 nights

    in this digital era, was very shocked to find this hotel cannot provide Wi-Fi in the rooms, the beds too small, do they expect to accommodate kids, if your staying for more than one day, the don't change your bed sheets and towels, very un hygienic, hotel only suitable for people staying for hours not overnight, no value for money, never expect to sleep comfortably in this hotel

    well located

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very rude, unprofessional, unpleasant and unfriendly staff. We ordered a room with one big bed and got a room with two seperated beds. The man at the reception didn't make any effort to give us a different room or solve the problem, he just said that they don't even offer such room. The wifi WAS NOT WORKING in our room at all during the whole stay. When we went downstairs to complain about that, there was a very rude woman almost shouting at me that it is not her problem that the wifi just stopped working the day we have arrived and it was working the previous day which I bet was a lie as almost everybody here wrote that wifi wasn't working during their stay either. She didn't apologize for this inconvenience or solve it in any way. The next morning, we complained about the wifi again, this time the man at the reception again, and he told us very disrespectfully that he has over 200 guests and we are the only people complaining about the wifi and that the wifi was working. Why the hell would we complain if the wifi was working?? And then I asked him how come his collegue (the woman from previous night) confirmed that the wifi wasn't working and he is still trying to tell me crap that the wifi is working. Then he shut up, he didn't know what to say and kept quiet. We left very angry and disgusted. Nobody apologized to us. Don't claim you have a free wifi connection if you don't!!! If it happens to stop working, kindly apologize to your guests and make sure you fix it as soon as possible instead of telling your guests that it is working when it clearly isn't!!! Another thing was only one toilet for women and one toilet for men for the whole floor. Showers didn't even have a curtain. This is what you call a 3 star hotel? I call it a joke!

    good location close to metro station - that's where is ends

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive... The Wi-Fi doesn't working anywhere at the hotel. I couldn't study there because of the Wi-Fi. There is an asian restaurant next to the hotel and I used their Wi-Fi for to study.

    Just the location is good..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible wifi in the room (almost no connection). The front desk is very impatient. Room is not comfortable, without adequate facilities for a hotel. Noise comes easily through the door/wall. Very dark in the ladder. Never come again...

    The location is good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The price / quality ratio is poor. I had a single room and for the price, I would have expected more (lot of things worn-down, especially in the bathroom). No wifi in the room.

    The location is good when travelling by public transport (I do not know if the same goes for when one drives a car).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    noise from the street defective window wouldn't stay closed

    good location close to the supermarkets, subway and bars good room with tv and sink 24h reception

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was super hard but that's a minor complaint because it was clean and tidy.

    The staff were friendly And spoke English at reception if needed. The hotel was basic but had everything you need. The breakfast was traditional German with cereal as an added bonus which I liked.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff were not helpful when we arrived. wifi doesn't work anywhere, even though that wasn't a huge issue for us. we booked and specified a double bed and were given a twin room, when we told the receptionist he almost laughed and said that they don't have double beds, in which case why is it offered? we probably wouldn't have booked knowing it was only a twin room. put a little downer on my birthday celebrations. there were wooden planks stored underneath our beds which made me feel it wasn't very clean.. the shower was good but the toilets and shower are in the same room and the shower does not have a cubicle door or even a curtain which was a little uncomfortable to say the least.

    its very close to a main station and in the middle of a great area, the location is a great price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    You do not get the feeling that you are welcome or they want to make us feel comfortable. The Wi-Fi which should be available did not cover the our room at all, so do not expect to be able to go online as described.

    We were able to sleep there which was the point. The cleaning level of the rooms seemed to be okay. Bathrooms was also fair.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    older lady at the reception was very rude and unpleasant. She almost refused to let me change a dirty bed sheet and embarrassed me in front of other people in that matter.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse City-Hotel Ansbach am Kurfürstendamm traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: