Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Apartment Hotel Hamburg

Schröderstr. 35, Hohenfelde, 22087 Hamburg, Germany

#37 of 75 Holiday rentals in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 504 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in only until 10 pm and it wasnt communicated clearly at the moment of booking the hotel; staff can only speak German via mobile phone so we had to use an intermediary to be able to somehow get the keys for a late check in; Also surprisingly in the room there were no shampoos/shower gels...

    Close to the U Bhan so literally easy to go to the city center; Comfortable spacious rooms with hair dryers and daily cleaning service; breakfast is really good with a lot of varieties to choose from (excellent I would say)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good and spacious room. It had everything that you need while staying for a few days. Metro and supermarket is rather close. I recommend this hotel apartment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good value for money, great location close to U-bahn and not far from Lange Reihe with all the bars, restaurants and lots of atmosphere. Very friendly staff, good and varied breakfast and comfortable beds and spacious rooms. Quiet neighbourhood so peaceful at night. Hotel perhaps a bit dated but clean and tidy (except for a few cups in the cupboard that had obviously not been cleaned since last used!). Easy free parking on the street just outside (only free during the weekend). Will come again if price is right.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it’s overpriced and the shower leaks, making the entire bathroom a mini swimming pool after taking a shower.

    the hotel is close to the metro station so it’s easy to go to the center and st. pauli. the room was big with a mini kitchen

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent breakfast, great location, very nice staff. We arrived after a long night of travel at 8AM and wanted to leave our luggage in the hotel, the owner gave us a room that was already cleaned which was really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathroom amenities.

    Breakfast is indeed good. Room is spacious. Location is ok for the price, 5 minutes from metro stop, 20 minutes walking to station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is a bit dated, carpet in the rooms, no elevator, Kitchenette could have been equipped a bit better, Microwave e.g.

    Big and bright room, loads of storage space, 5 min away from two tube lines, clean, quiet during the night, friendly check-in, bed very comfy, I slept like a log, high quality bedlinen etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Chose this hotel for it's free parking and double bed. Parking was full when we arrived and no street parking was available so had to park a few roads away and our car had all of our stuff in it so wasn't ideal. Bed was a twin and asked for a double but was fully booked. This was really upsetting as I chose this hotel for the double bed as there was another one which looked nice and had a better location but that one had a twin bed. Made it even worse as it was my birthday. :/

    Soft pillows and clean sheets - heating was on throught the day so was lovely and warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a room on the top floor and I had to carry my suitcase up a lot of stairs.

    The apartment was very quiet and the reception staff were very friendly. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - You will use a Manual keys in opening doors, no Elevator - Dusty room, Ieven found an unopened Lubricant with Hair on the Shower room - Small toilet, that can only fit 2 Hands, No Shampoos or Soap provided.

    - The location is nearby the Zug Lübeckerstraße, 5 Minutes walk - Breakfast was great - Comfortable Bed and it is so massive. - Kitchen Utensils were provided

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Shower room is small. No lift so needed to carry luaggages to upstairs.

    The location is good with just few mins walk to subway. Parking close by is hard because it is in resident area but found free parking space around 3-5 mins walk which is still okay. The staffs are friendly and willing to explain all your questions. Also provided city map and well explanation how to get the must-go places. The room is big and comfortable with small kitchen and some kitchenwares. Good WIFI connection.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange smelling in the hallway, mold? Parking on the street. When a hotel announce that they have parking, I assume it is on their property, booking. com should not allow such advertising. We could not find any parking on the street, we had a big rental car. Fortunately we were offered for 5 euros to stay in front of the reception :) No shampoo.....

    Nice lady in reception, easy access to city centre, very big apartment if you need that

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed a weekend with my girlfriend, and we were happy of the quality of the service, compared to the price of the accommodation. Although the bathroom was a bit small, the room had even a small kitchen. The breakfast was very rich and tasty! I would definitely return back here!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Mattress seemed a bit too firm for my back! Breakfast was available on site but we did a lot of walking to find evening meals. Proximity to hospital means there are lots of sirens to hear at night, but we didn't find this too disturbing. It's a four storey building with no lift, although the friendly reception man did help carry the suitcases up the stairs!

    A spacious room in a building which we presume was oldish but tastefully renovated. Easy walking distance to U-Bahn. Pleasant residential area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Generally clean but looking a bit tired in places.

    Friendly helpful staff. U-Bahn just a short walk (4mins) S-Bahn (15-20min approx. - I was enjoying a last look as walking back to the S-Bahn so was not walking quickly - S-Bahn (S1) is direct to / from the airport). Nice size room for one (there were two single beds). Sink, two-hob cooker top & fridge, with kettle / pans (cups/bowls/cutlery) should you wish to do your own thing. Swimming pool in the area (which I didn't get time to visit) Post office / local shops 5 min walk in opposite direction from U-Bahn

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival we were told that our booking was cancelled because they could not confirm my MasterCard. No notifications from hotel or Booking.com were sent. We stayed here only because some rooms were left on the date of our arrival.

    Quiet neighbourhood, good and tasty breakfast, spacious room at the attic, nice staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was comfortable and the shower was hot. The room was large and the hotel was about a 10 minute walk into the centre of Hamburg. Parking in the street was limited but we were lucky to find a spot. It was a very quiet place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hall of the property was smelling of disinfectant and anti-insects solution. The furniture is rather old. It is functional, but not cozy.

    The hotel is very close to a swimming pool and it was very good wifi.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall we were very happy with everything. The room was a good size, comfortable bed and well heated. The staff was very helpful and friendly. In terms of the location it is super close to two main metro lines, so it is very easy to get to the main attractions, but it is a little outside of the touristic center.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely unpleasant personal. Rude and arrogant. Left us on street on first night as we had to be late афтер 10 because of businesss meeting. Yet, they taxed this night which we had to spend at street and forced us to pay.

    Wide and spacy room, clean and tidy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a bad smell. Fridge didn't work. You can hear everything in all other rooms. Not really any nice places to eat around. There are better places around

    There was a good breakfast. And was close to underground railway Nice friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was very hot some mornings and there was no AC in the bedroom. But that wasnt a problem that opening windows couldnt solve.

    breakfast was great. Staff was very friendly and always happy to answer questions. They have a lot of information and maps to know what to see around Hamburg.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not accommodating or understanding

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly owners, tasty variety breakfast, cosy rooms. Relatively quiet environment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is on public street. Hard to find parking spot, especially with bigger car.

    Great location, great breakfast, nice room, near metro station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Calm place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    amazing friendly staff, helpful with all requests! Awesome breakfast .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is friendly and the room is quite wide.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice team, very supportive and friendly. Big room, great breakfast. Great value for money!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Excellent location for meeting our friends in Hamburg, clean, tidy and welcoming - ideal!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small of the room (room 5). Smell of chinese food.

    Friendliness, helpful staff, superb breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    quiet location, spacious rooms, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and friendly

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room interior was too bright - red, orange and yellow! The stairs are very steep with no lift. There were some permanent red marks on the toilet. No internal phone for emergencies. No internal security for the room (such as a bolt or chain).

    Efficient and friendly service, overall hygiene (except for toilet surface) was very good, good quality breakfast, free wi-fi, quiet and tranquil location. Willingness from staff to help with bags and other minor issues. A general sense of being looked after by the staff who were very warm and friendly. The building is quaint, has character and history.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    People were very friendly and accommodating. For example, it was no problem to arrive outside of normal check in time or to have breakfast outside of breakfast time. They also gave me a bike to move around.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our stay was too short !!!

    Very nice staff. Check in time was extended with previous info of the delay without any problem. Very cosy room. Near to the train station that bring you everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great little place, with very friendly staff. Had a big and comfortable room and they also serve a nice breakfast buffet (served until 10 o'clock, very convenient when you need some sleep in the morning). Location is ok, in a quiet street a bit outside of the center, but with a U-Bahn station nearby.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Kitchen had crockery & tableware and two huge saucepans -but no kitchen basics such as sharp knife, tin opener, large spoon for stirring / serving or spatula for the frying pan. No cork screw either - we opened our wine bottle by pushing a sharp pencil through the cork!! There's no microwave, so cooking was expected to happen in the pans.

    Quiet off-road location in pleasant area close to city centre. Airy well decorated room. Downstairs restaurant can provide breakfast / evening meal if desired. Self-catering facilities with fridge. Close to cafes & supermarket.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hard to find parking

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The doors for the rooms felt they were made of paper so you didn't feel great about locking up

    Beds were comfortable

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly stuff, comfortable room, willingness to help

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bicycles available. breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel seems a bit old and used

    Value for money. Close to metro.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lift

    Near ubahn, good decoration and furniture.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing relevant

    Location, kind staff

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Old, had to pay 5€ per day for the car, although it said park free in booking.com

    Location is good

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There is a swimming pool next to the hotel l which help us to relax after long day.Our room was big with Kitchen .The staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice, quiet location. Close to U-bahn station and swimming hall. Excellent breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    No lift.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A very nice staff. Comfortable and clean hotel

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great hotel for the price. Everything needed with an infant in the room.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse City Apartment Hotel Hamburg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: