Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Hotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Theodor-Heuss-Ring 15, 52511 Geilenkirchen, Germany

#3 of 5 hotels in Geilenkirchen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 144 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.2
    had a nice comfortable stay with a ever smiling& helpful staff
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    tends to be noisy if there is traffic outside or party going on in the restaurants if possible take the apartments as it is less prone noise outside

    its a clean fun hotel with a friendly staff and excellent location in city,everything within walking distance

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Right in the center of the town.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Right in the center of the town. Next to the Bus Station and Train Station. It has clean, silent, large and comfortable rooms with powerful WiFi. There is a Cafe/Bar under the hotel. You can have half or full breakfast in the Cafe with reasonable price. It has also warm atmosphere to sit down and eat/drink something in the evening. Ladies in the reception are polite and always eager to help. We are going to visit the Geilenkirchen many times in the future and definitely stay at this hotel again and again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Our home in Geilenkirchen.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to complain.

    My third stay at the City Hotel. This is the best in Geilenkirchen. Location is just across the train station and bus stops. Rooms are clean, staff is attentive. Breakfast is good. Steven at the hotel's cafe/bar is not a staff but is more than a friend to the customers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Great overall...would stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is not exactly "included" as advertised. There is a city parking lot next to it, which allows you to park free from 20:00 till 08:00 overnight. But, during the day you can only park for 2 hours at a time. So there is no actually parking included with the hotel.

    Staff were excellent and accommodating. Breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, would be even better with air con
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no air con - that a pretty harsh reality when staying in the summer. Also the parking situation is a little frustrating

    friendly staff, single rooms are very comfortable and the shower was top of the line.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    I was upgraded to a suite at no additional charge.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I travelled the beginning of May and the weather was already quite warm. There is no A/C in the room, just a fan.

    I was upgraded to a suite at no additional charge. It was a pleasant surprise. Location is perfect and the train station is right next door (although you never heard the trains) making it easy to take short trips is desired.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    The room was great with a small balkony.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The room was great with a small balkony. Bright, big and modern and everything was clean. The bed was comfortable as well. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    This is one of the best 3-star hotels I have ever stayed at!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is one of the best 3-star hotels I have ever stayed at!! My second time here, it is clean and very comfortable. The staff are excellent and the location is central to everything GK!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    I only have good things to say about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the room a bit too warm for my liking.

    I only have good things to say about this hotel. From the comfort of the rooms, to the quality of the breakfast, the helpfulness of the staff and the close proximity to amenities and the train station I think City Hotel covers it all!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.8
    Super friendly, accommodating staff. Very close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't sleep with the window open due to proximity to train station.

    Upgraded to a studio for same price because booking.com didn't transfer my request for a queen bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.3
    Staff were very good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room/bed size.

    Staff were very good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.9
    Room balcony
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room balcony

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.5
    Douche is okay and good breakfast in the morning!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearby an busstation, it could be annoying. Not that much nuisance.

    Douche is okay and good breakfast in the morning!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent choice for a short business stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, tasty breakfast. Excellent choice for a short business stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed at 2200

    Room was very large

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Spacious room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location next to station and good value.

    Spacious room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    Central Location, next to Station and several restaurants
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No air condition, out dated inventory, stuffy or a Little musty

    Central Location, next to Station and several restaurants

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Everything is good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    It was cheap
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking and breakfast

    It was cheap

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.1
    Noisy road at front
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy road at front No air con

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Always a good choice for Geilenkirchen.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking wasn’t convenient.

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Very convenient for my follow on requirements
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for breakfast following booking my room online, Hotel wanted me to pay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Probably the best option in town.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff at reception, room bright and spacious. They went out of their way to make possible an early check-in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.3
    Good space of room
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not Comfortable of bed

    Good space of room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    I had a problem with the sagging bed/ matress.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a problem with the sagging bed/ matress.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent choice for a short business stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was amazing. The staff very professional and willing to help me with any questions or concerns

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    It’s a convenient place to stay in the town, near train station, bus station and the shopping area.
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy. You can hear some water drop sounds at night

    It’s clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Home away from home
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can think of

    This hotel is our home in Germany, they treat us like family .....

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Receptionist was very helpful with a problem I had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist was very helpful with a problem I had.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.2
    The location
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.8
    A favorite when travellling on business; will return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    laundry facilities

    Convenient location beside the central train station; newly renovated, spacious suite with kitchenette; helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    9.6
    We always choose this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We always choose this hotel. Our 4th stay there. Very helpfull staff, they even give electric kettle if you ask. The hotel is quiet and very clean, the beds are good sized and just the perfect firmness. Owner is very professional. You just feel at home.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    9.2
    Location was great, place was very clean, staff very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bed could have been more comfortable

    Location was great, place was very clean, staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    7.5
    Great and friendly staff, especially the front desk.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Bad sound proofing, noice from the traffic outside woke me up most nights.

    Great and friendly staff, especially the front desk.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    10
    Everything, we love this place very centric, we even got one...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Everything, we love this place very centric, we even got one of the newly remodel rooms !!!!!

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast is too small and not variety.
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is too small and not variety.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.5
    Have stayed here several times, excellent location for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit noisy with the train station and airbase near by

    Have stayed here several times, excellent location for the area.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    Spacious room and friendly, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Spacious room and friendly, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    8.8
    price;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    slow internet connection

    price; location and breakfast

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: