Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Inn This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Hauptstr. 113-115, Tempelhof-Schöneberg, 10827 Berlin, Germany

#100 of 107 B&Bs and Inns in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 591 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    6.6

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    6.3

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Good option
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Information: they should better list the information or send an email saying there is an option to leave the key outside. That way people won't stress out with the limited check in time stated in booking. Also, please leave the wifi password somewhere visible in the room. We could not find it anywhere in the reservation or in the room and the phone is not answered after hours so we ended up without access to the wifi. Building: the building looks run down on the outside so it gives a bad first impression. Parking: Although they say there is parking on site, we couldn't figure out how to access it with the car. Also, we were not sure about the exit bar opening by inserting 2 euros. There is a box that says that, but we asked the supermarket guy and he said we need a code to open it... so we didn't risk since we had to leave at 4am for a flight and parked on the street. We believe they should give clearer information overall.

    Flexible check-in time: We stayed only for one night before taking an early flight from Tegel airport. Initially we thought we had to be there before 6pm but we called and the lady at the office was very nice and left the key in a lockbox outside the reception so we could arrive at any time. Room: The room was very spacious (it was a four bed with shower room) and very clean. Towels provided, mini fridge and a nice table with coffee caps, water heater and some coffee and tea bags. It is accessible, since there is an elevator in the building. Location: Great! Location was very good also, near a subway station and near the freeway 100, 13 minutes away from Tegel. The neighborhood is good, several cheap turkish places to eat and 2 supermarkets, an istambul one right on the building, and a Penny supermarket around the corner open until 11pm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice room, good location but very noisy and wasn’t given the room I payed for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I chose a double bed on the website and got two singles. Also EXTREMELY noisy as right next to a main road and the traffic is load all through the night. Also the pillows are enormous and square shape which are uncomfortable.

    Good location right next to a bus stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    3.8
    We would not recommend this accommodation to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not ready when we arrived and smelled like cigarette smoke. The shower head was held together with a piece of string and leaked every time you took a shower. We had booked an apartment with three children and thought we would have our own kitchen. We had to share a kitchen and fridge which was already packed with food so we could barely use the fridge. There were no tea towels to dry the dishes we could use. The floors were dirty. The entire apartment was grimy. The manager smoked and he left his office door open which was 2 doors down from our rooms so the entire hallways and rooms smelt like stale cigarettes. On the day of departure we were told to leave before our check out time because the cleaners were ready to clean. They began to clean before we had even left the apartment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    I would love to stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle for hot water would be nice in the kitchen. Noise from the Hauptstraße and Dominicusstraße can be avoided if the current old windows are replaced with newer soundproof windows.

    Good value for money. Spacious room. Flexibility in checking in and out. The kitchen with coffee maker and oven.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.7
    Perfect location and comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No cooking facilities, only tea and coffee facilities in room booked. Poor soundproofing, windows, and noisy location -music from nightclub below and traffic. Bathroom clean with hot water, but had to hold to shower head in order to shower.

    Perfect location and comfortable beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    3.3
    I would not recommend this location to friends.
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was advertised as having a kitchen. We did NOT have a kitchen, nor was it a hotel. This is more like a Hostel with family accommodations available.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    It is a nice place to stay, I would come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nobody cleaned my room for 4 nights the area is mostly turkish and noisy

    the room was very clean the kitchen was well equipped and had its own key (so only several rooms coold use it, not everybody) the check in system for late arrivals was cool and funny

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Fair price for what it offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sound insulation was very bad. We could hear everything from outside during the night. However after two nights we got used to it. However, depending on the circumstances (holiday period, late booking, price), I wouldnt consider that that bad. I dont regret my choice. Another disadvantage is that If you are a female solo traveler you might find the area a bit scary to walk alone by night. I think I wouldn't recommend it to female solo travelers.

    Facilities were very clean. Very handy that there was a common kitchen that you could use. Reception lady was polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    5.5
    Cheap cheerful and champion
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a privacy net on windows to prevent opposite block from seeing all of you when getting dressed. Propensity for police and emergency to use sirens nearby. Couldn't get the free WiFi to work. Linen not changed as frequently as a normal hotel. Entrance seems dubious up a dark alley next to a dodgy looking bar called The Black Rose but it's actually OK. Nightlife in this immediate loci is almost non-exustent but if you don't care about that then this is OK.

    Safe and secure. Walk in shower. Local amenities shop takeaways and bar. Short walk to Schoneber Rathaus U bahn and bus M85 right outside hotel takes you to Potzdammer and Haupt Ban Hof. Modern if minimalist furniture. Rooms have a key not key card. Not 24hr reception..if late e mail them. They reply with out of hours instructions. I was left alone but could ask for anything. Radiator in room was great. Soon warm room up. 3 power outlets. TV. Kettle. Bedside lamp. If you are a lone wolf who wants a clean basic room at low cost in a cheap part of town but with great transport links then here is fine. We'll away from prostitute prowling grounds (Nollendorf, Bjlowstrasse and Kurfursten) so no chance of being bugged by them but a nearby Lust Garten for men who seek female dancers. However it's discreet, For gay people the main bars a quite a walk away so might be worth an avoid if your main stay is to check out the social scene. Otherwise if you are an explorer type wanting a basic head down room that's safe warm in the dead of winter and has good transport links then here is perfectly adequate and low cost.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    Rooms clean, decent size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of noise from street. No one at desk in morning until 11am so difficult to check out earlier. Was cold until we asked to have heat turned on. Only street parking found.

    Rooms clean, decent size. Basic but functional. Grocery store down the street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    I cannot recommend this hotel because of the loud disco bar's music sounds in the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a disco bar in the same building as the hotel! The disco’s music starts in the night and doesn’t stop until somewhere around 8am! So every night there is a loud bas and music sound! Very inconvenient! The receptions opens at 11am – not earlier. When you arrive earlier, you cannot leave your luggage in the reception or hotel.

    The personal at the reception was reacting promptly to any request and tried to accommodate accordingly. They seemed very interested to fullfil each request. The room was big. Water cocker, instant coffee and tee available in room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Good public transport connection, easy to disabled people, not dangerous district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Schöneberg - Hauptstraße is a good place to live: 2 S-bahn stations (Schöneberg; Innsbrucker Platz) were not far. Lots of good turkish imbisses near the Hotel. City Inn was a cheap hotel with clean rooms, and perfect to disabled people: because the bathroom is easy to use, and the hotel had a elevator. I liked this place!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Bright, sunny room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows could have been better. The room is in a block of offices and other residential. Not in walking distance into city centre but plenty of bus options into town.

    Bright sunny room with bus stop rich outside to get into the city. Room was clean and comfortable with towels provided. No kitchen but kettle available for tea and coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    2.9
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to park, they have just few parking places, already occupied at our arrival, tricky runway - difficult to take corner with a bigger car; have to pay 2 Euro with a coin (not 2 coins of 1 Euro, nothing but 1 coin of 2 Euro) for each exit from parking lot; noisy place, lots of ambulances starting their missions under our window, day or night, noisy lovers in the building; noisy bathroom - they have a device under the toilet seat which makes noise whenever we used the shower; unfriendly lady at the back desk - her program : 12:00-18:00; you have to ring at the door so she would open the desk, if she's there... otherwise you have to call them on mobile phone; weak WiFi, I get to go to a McD to download a map. Not recommended.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Kitchen
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Reception was only available in the afternoons. As I had opted to let them know when I wanted my room serviced/clean towels this was difficult as there was no one to ask in the morning. I tried their mobile number and they agreed to provide towels when I asked, but this did not happen. The next day I luckily saw the cleaner, who was happy to service the room.

    Excellent spacious room, comfortable with good facilities, and the shared kitchen was great. Great location, with a handy food shop in the street below and places to eat nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    2.5
    Worst experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst place ever in my travel experience. Worst environment. Not a friendly location. Poor customer service. In short, I will not stay there another time and will not recommend any one.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    2.5
    Worst Experience of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    How it can be called a hotel and that too with 2 stars rating left me amazed. It has just a few rooms with no formal reception and unfriendly staff at so called reception room which remains locked for most of the time. There is no security and anyone can walk any time in the hotel with ease. Internet connection was one of the worst that I have seen in Germany. The rooms were not clean, the TV never worked and very slippery bathrooms. I can go on and on...Just not a place to ever book and waste your entire travel to Berlin

    There is nothing in this hotel which we have liked.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    5.0
    OK for a couple of nights if you only want very basic facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pension is based in a big tower block with lots of other businesses. Entrance is very intimidating and hard to find. Room was extremely hot as it had huge windows - probably been an office in a previous life. Building is on a busy crossroads, so there was always lots of noise outside - windows had to be closed at night! Sink emptied very slowly, and fittings were broken. Bathroom had no real shower tray, just inclined floor, so got very wet, and made other tiles very slippery - using the loo after a shower was dangerous! Wi-fi was very poor.

    Very basic apartment but clean. Parking for 2 euro for 3 days - great value. Close to U bahn so easy to get into Berlin. Clean towels and sheets.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    2.9
    The bed covers were dirty and smells very bad, the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed covers were dirty and smells very bad, the room furniture are very poor, so much noise the whole time. It was the worst place I ever stayed in!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.1
    Very clean and fresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entry into the accommodation is a complex series of numbered codes that we would have struggled to negotiate had we not had a German speaker with us

    Very clean and fresh

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    3.8
    Never Again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've never stayed in a hotel which was this unclean. There were hair and dust everywhere on the ground, on tables and even on our beds. Towels, given to us were not clean as well. Really wasn't expecting to receive such a room before our check-in... Never ever again...

    The location is quite ok, not super close to subway but there are busses right infront of the building

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    good location near train station and bus stop directly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn´t a hair dryer, and the bathroom was outside the room.

    good location near train station and bus stop directly towards city centre. Free Wifi with very good Connection, nice kitchen. Supermarkets and fast food nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    great value for money !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little bit noisy and uncomfortable Wifi signal was weak and could not access to whatsapp in my room The shower was either hot or cold... the between was a little bit hard to regulate

    Good connection to the rest of the city Bus stop next to the hotel Many shops and bakery next to the hotel Room very spacious and bright Staff are friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.3
    City Inn - Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Kitchen
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was not really clean. There was still some dust and hair in the floor. We found a cockroach one night and we were not able to kill it and find it again, so we quit and tried to sleep so we could kill it the next day... :( Some kitchen utensils were not healthy to use, for example the electric water boiler to make tea. It had plenty of rust in it. Also, the cleaning lady in the morning we left was not so nice with us. We left a little bit late and we said "Good morning" and "Sorry" and she did not even blink her eyes.

    We liked the kitchen inside the room. And the location and neighboorhood was really nice with the S-Bahn and Bus stop very close. One person from the staff at the reception was really nice and printed us the ticket planes and explained to us where we could buy some stuff to eat (it was easter holidays, so nothing was opened that couple of days...). That same person helped us when we were not able to get stable warm water in the shower.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    3.3
    Never Ever Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. we got completely different room then I booked via Booking.com A. not 30m2 but 18 m2 (for 3 persons) B. without kichten (and all related facilities) C. without dishwasher D. nearly 50% promised amenities were not present 2. staff required payment before he even showed us the room (cash) -I did not agree of course 3. I had to clean the shower for 15 min-it had dark dirt on the floor and dark hair after some past guests 4. night was too noisy to sleep (including my 6 year old son) - INSIDE the hotel: people slamming door , shouting at each other, loud music until 3 in the morning. I refused to stay there and I refused to pay -we left this hotel in the middle of first night and moved to another-informing about this situation the reception next day morning.

    Berlin -it was beautiful and Schoenberg as well Available parking place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    6.7
    Budget hotel, clean and basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception not open enough. When we checked out at 10.30am we had to go looking for a cleaner on the next floor and handed her our keys. Description of hotel did not say it was in a multi use building or that it was down an alley. Our door Room 405 looked like it had been smashed open at some point. Our confirmation said breakfast 6euro but this was not mentioned to us on arrival and we could not see where this would have been anyway.

    The room and bathroom was really clean. Fridge and kettle provided. Nice and warm. Everyone that we met in the building were very polite and friendly. For the price we paid it was ok for 3 nights stay. Towels and bedding were clean and room looked in good decorative order.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.2
    Good property. Totally worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn't had any courtain so on the bathroom's floor remained a lot of water...

    The beds were very comfy and the rooms were very spacious. The rooms were clean and identical with the pictures shown. Very close to the bus or underground station.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.1
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody is at the reception area for late check-ins. You'll have to contact them if in case you're gonna check-in late. Also, their elevator and the hallway looks kinda creepy. It looks too old and ill maintained.

    The location is perfect. It is near the bank, grocery/ market, restaurants, pubs, liquor place and pay phone (which you will use if you check-in late because there will be no one at the reception area at night). Also, it is near the bus stops going to the city and since the train stations so it is very easy to roam around the area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.5
    good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it was difficult to get on a reception in the evening. only 1 key on number for three((

    the good place, is convenient for given places. warmly, quietly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    5.8
    the room was big and clean, good parking, kind and helpful...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower head was completely broken and so was impossible to have a shower. there was also some community room close to mine where people were really loud. plus the neighbourhood is also somewhat loud but still within range. I somehow could not connect my pc to the wifi even though I had the right password

    the room was big and clean, good parking, kind and helpful stuff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    4.2
    Worst hotel ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    spare beds eventhough we asked specifically for a double one the smell of smoke owner not available for any question or even to pay for check out...

    Localisation

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    6.3
    The room had enough place.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows were not very good and because of this sometimes it was cold in the room. The internet was very slow.

    The room had enough place. There was a kitchen and the room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    6.3
    City Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little difficult to find the hotel and the room as the building had apartments and hotel rooms and they are numbered differently so there was multiple rooms doors with the same number, a bit confusing at first.

    There is a bakery across the street and a market with fruit on the first floor. It was also very close to a train station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    3.3
    An expensive dump
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a very dirty place to stay. The shower was very poor. I had to get washed with cold water. I was kept awake at 3 am because people were having sex in the next room. When I am paying 42 euros a night, I expect better than this.

    The location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    4.2
    it was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    i thought the hotel owned the whole building ,instead it was like rooms were rented to lots of different companies..The lift was smelly and the fire alarms on our floor 5th and on 3rd floor were broken???lots of wires hanging from the celings..Not impressed at all..

    it was clean...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    4.2
    Close to the city, lots of food outlets close to hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Couldnt find hotel, e trance down dark alley off street. 2. Lift not working and no light in stairwell. 3. Reception closed at 6pm so nobody to check you in. Keys left behind for you to collect. 4. Double bed actually means 3 single beds! 5. NO WIFI OR WORKING TV 6. Noisy as heavy traffic outside and bell rings constantly from church across road. 7. No clean towels, bed linen or bins emptied even after 5 days of staying at hotel!!

    Close to the city, lots of food outlets close to hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    6.3
    The staff was good and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was not confortable, the pillow flat and the street in the down of the hotel was over noisy (the windows isolation is bad, we can ear every car in the street !) On 3 nights I've slept only two. And it's a bit difficult to find the entrence.

    The staff was good and friendly. It's a good point, and the hotel is near the metro, that's usefull.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.3
    If you want to save money
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Kitchen
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location is good, train station, bus stop, super market..But the street noise is very loud . My bathroom was outside of the room.

    It's a simple accomodation, but very clean . Even inside of the fridge was super clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.3
    Good value, basic apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy - emergency services based next door so lots of sirens throughout night. Slightly run down area of town and outside of building unimpressive. However, clean and pleasant in the apartment.

    Very good value. 25 min bus ride from Berlin hauptbahnhof.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.9
    Friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were probably unlucky due to the temperature during our stay (which topped 30) Our room was very hot - not helped by the fact that we couldn't have the window open due to the noise outside (our room looked out onto a very busy junction which was like a race track).

    We received a warm and pleasant welcome. Our room and bathroom was clean and recently decorated. The kitchen was well-equipped and the building was secure.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.8
    very recommended for a short stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy even with the closed windows, but its a 2* hotel at the end.

    Wifi is free of charge and has a good coverege. Spacious bathroom. You are given a room key to keep and you are independent from the reception. its cool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    7.9
    Pretty nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was on a main road so there was a bit of noise, even though there was double glazing. Luckily I took ear plugs. But saying that, it isn't the property's fault.

    Was quite surprised after reading some of the previous reviews. If you want a luxury place to stay this isn't it. However saying that it wasn't what I was looking for, I just wanted somewhere to stay that was convenient to where I wanted to be, clean, private shower and quiet. which it majority was.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    2.9
    One of the worst hotel I've been.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness. The kitchen smell very bad. The toilet was outside the room and should pass through the shared kitchen. Internet didn't work in the room. The reception was close and I should wait to pay. No AC and the neighborhood too noisy

    Close to bus stop

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    5.4
    Not bad value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the neighbourhood was not very nice. The toilet and bathroom could have been cleaner, had sometimes bad sewage smell.

    The rooms and beds, were comfortable, the kitchen was OK.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.2
    Brilliant place to stay with friendly staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Kitchen
    • Stayed 7 nights

    ON GERMANY - TAKE EUROS WITH YOU - BERLIN EXCHANGE SHOPS and BANKS OFFER REALLY BAD LOW TOURIST RATES plus 3% COMMISSION : ( ON CITY INN: Nothing bad about I would change. ; ) Great experience!

    Reception staff are interesting people! Helpful and friendly. WiFi 100%. Hotel is in a great place near a good variety of attractive local small shops and a Turkish supermarket downstairs. Near the tram in an interesting area. Price is a lot better than other hotels. Really enjoyed the experience, would recommend the hotel and area plus I will visit again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    3.3
    Horrible airless, noisy hole that almost certainly violates fire regulations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in room 308 and there were four locks to be unlocked to get access to our room and bathroom. The room is small and lacks so much as a hook on the door and very hangers in the wardrobe. The place it next to some sort of emergency service headquarters as there were emergency service sirens all through the night. The building is on a main road and the windows are not double glazed so the noise is constant. There is no ventilation unless you open the window which increases the noise. The shower fluctuates between scalding hot and freezing cold and it is impossible to keep it to a constant temperature. I am pretty sure the multi lock combination to get into and out of the room must violate some kind of safety regulation. The lift is slow and lacks ventilation so it smells of body odour and takes forever. I would not recommend this to anyone.

    The staff were helpful and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    6.7
    A pretty cheap and good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is pretty close to the city center but the traffic outside is quite loud (slept like a baby with my earplugs though). They don't seem to have airconditioning but the fan and open windows do a pretty good job (thoguh the window let in some sound).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    2.5
    Dodgy guy, dodgy area, dodgy place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With a confirmed booking he sold our room, even knowing we were coming!

    Dodgy guy, dodgy area, dodgy place! Avoid it!! He sold our reserved room, even knowing we were coming!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Good accommodation in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Location, room, price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.4
    Good location handy to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud noises, uncomfortable single bed when I had booked a double bed.

    Good location handy to train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heat didn't work in room. Window seals poor. Lot of street noise.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    An excellent value for money accommodation in Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. It met all our requirements.

    The location is excellent and the cleanliness was impressive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.3
    Not bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in the corner of a very busy crossroads. Difficult to sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    No
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    No

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom not on en suite

    Good for the price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Great budget saving hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty good location with access to train and buses. There are plently of places in walking distance to eat. Im happy with the price that i paid.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    4.6
    This is more of a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is more of a hostel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was very noisy and traffic is loud, also you can't get more then one key.

    Great location, and decent view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.3
    Clean, near buss station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad reception hours

    Clean, near buss station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.0
    more hostel than hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is by no means a hotel. It is a floor in a commercial building, more like a hostel.

    Large spacious room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.3
    Simple, clean, perfect for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room openin from a common kitchen.

    Simple, clean, perfect for a short stay. Super frendly and helpful receptionist.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.8
    Value for money, clean, spacious, and comfortable for a couple of days when predominantly outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location wasn't in the best of neighbourhoods, but the value was good.

    Comfortable short stay in a clean room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.3
    A worthwhile stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower would randomly get super cold.

    Very cheap, good location. Very simple, worth the money for sure.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.1
    For the price, it is good.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy.

    People were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighborhood is quite loud.

    Good location. Big room. Turkish market downstairs.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    5.0
    Really Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality was bad, the WiFi was bad and, the staff was never in the reception, so whenever you needed something, no one was there to help!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    10
    Nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us a free water heater for beverages yay :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    6.7
    The place is basic, but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The place is basic, but comfortable. The location is rather good as it provides easy access to many interesting sights. Hood looks a bit dodgy, but we had no problems whatsoever. All in all better than it looks ;)

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    4.6
    the staff was able to communicate by phone when not in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very poor and simple equipment, weak Wi-Fi (actually not functioning), noise from the street

    the staff was able to communicate by phone when not in the place

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Location.
    • Solo traveller

    For some reason, internet access slows down after 22.00 hrs to the point that it is almost non-existent (for example, it took almost five minutes to open the e-mail to rate the stay). So, no catching up on e-mails or ending the day by watching an episode of your favourite series on Netflix :-), and no planning of your movements the next day. Very frustrating.

    Location. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    5.0
    The location and the price were O.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The place itself was very very basic. A bed a table and a shower. literally nothing else. the bed broke on our first night there, luckily we were two people in a room with three beds so we could move beds. the heating didnt work and even though we had someone come up and check it out they didnt really help. I got sick because of the cold in the room and spent the entire week there with the flu.

    The location and the price were O.K. The "hotel" was close to the underground and was in the middle of the schoneberg area.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    6.3
    Rooms and bathroom are quite new and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a set of 5 keys! The front door, the corridor, the room, the bathroom and another I don't know what for. The bathroom was across the corridor from the room which is not great.

    Rooms and bathroom are quite new and clean. Good to have use of a kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.1
    I have stayed at this hotel many times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My experience at check in on this occasion was appauling. The man on the reception desk seemed far more interested in whatever he was doing on his computer than giving me his full attention. He told me he had no time to answer any questions as he was busy doing something and seemed very agitated by my asking. Extremely rude. The wifi is free for 60 minutes per day, otherwise a fee is payable, though I was unable to connect to the free wifi service even though the man who had checked me in had given me an access code. One other thing... the hotel charged my credit card with one Euro cent upon making the reservation several months before my stay. I was told this was to prove my card was valid. It may only be one cent, and, frankly, I am not that bothered by the loss of it, but this is surely theft, especially when the cent is not deducted from your bill when paying it at the hotel.

    I have stayed at this hotel many times. It is based in an office block in which several offices have been converted into hotel rooms, though the building itself is shared with various other businesses. The reception is only open between the hours of 11:00 and 18:00. Outside of these hours, there are no staff at hand. The rooms are very basic, but the location is excellent for public transport access to all parts of Berlin, with several bus lines departing from outside the hotel door and S- & U-Bahn stations a short walk away. There are also several restaurants of various cuisines within a five minute walk including Chinese, Turkish, Indian and Italian.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    6.7
    Good central location, everything is easy to reach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were given (supposedly) a wrong room, and after we have left our stuff and went out someone moved all our things to another room and didn't leave a key from it. So we spent like 3 hours in the evening clarifying this. The new room was spacious and clean, but there were some issues with the bathroom - the water that was leaking while taking a shower outside the curtains could not go through and there was a smell from the pipes. If one is extremely careful it can be fine, but if you are not aware of it it can lead to trouble. Especially when four or five people need to take a shower in a row. Count that there is no internet - they give a piece of paper with a code which is valid for few hours or less and only for one device, and you get only one at a time at the reception, and the reception is closed most of the time. I don't understand this system and its terrible.

    Good central location, everything is easy to reach. Lot's of shops next door. The beds were very comfortable (4 singles in one room) and the sheets were good quality. There is a kettle in the kitchen, some dishes, cups etc. This varies from room to room - some have backing oven, large pans etc, but some don't.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    The manager, Hitte, was very kind and helped us have a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were some issues prior to our check in, concerning our arrival time (we landed in berlin only at the afternoon), but eventually it all worked out via management.

    The manager, Hitte, was very kind and helped us have a very pleasant stay in Berlin. We had a terrific experience.

There are also 42 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse City Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: