Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel City Krone 4 stars

Schanzstraße 7, 88045 Friedrichshafen, Germany

#2 of 28 hotels in Friedrichshafen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1501 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely modern hotel with lots of quirky Art pieces , beautiful modern room , comfy bed and air conditioning ! Very good breakfast (as they all seem to have round the Bodensee )

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything

    Perfect position. Very close to the lake, and to the Zeppelin Museum. Staff was very nice and they speak excellent English. Swimming pool is romantic, clean, with water on proper temperature. Safe parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This does not happen often, but nothing. Everything really met our expectations.

    Excellent hotel. Staff very friendly, and helpful. Clean. Great breakfast. Outstanding location. Parking on site. Pool (long enough to swim in), sauna. Very nice, modern rooms. Just great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no light in the bathroom?! Also, the bathroom had weird sliding door that provide zero sound isolation.

    The location is great. The staff was very pleasant and professional. Pool, sauna and massage parlor were also nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is just fine. Keep up the good work.

    Staff is friendly and very helpfull. Parking is on site, hotel itself is located in great place, close to lake. Accross thw street there is great Italian restaurant and cool pub, but it is quiet 100%(my room was looking at the pub) Hotel facilities are great: sauna is very relaxing, water temperature in the pool is just right. This is my second time here, and I will visit again. 10/10

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the room , but then we did not come here to stay in the room all day !

    The location is in the centre , close to the lake . There many good restaurants and bars just footsteps away. Very easy access to the car park via seperate entrance and lift. Nice modern room , just large enough. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stylish and well furnished rooms. Friendly and very helpful staff . Some interesting extras, such as popcorn and gummy bears in the lobby :) Excellent breakfast and very good lobby BA.R with great cocktails :) I will definitely return here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room BELLE ETAGE
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was too hard and pillows were too soft so not very comfortable. Apart from one or two English speaking news channels there weren't any English speaking entertainment channels - very disappointing.

    Premium Double room was lovely. Very well appointed. Light and airy with view to Lake Constance. Great location. Loved the complimentary popcorn machine and apples. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit strange path to reach the room via fire escape stairs, buy one gets used to it...

    Super spacious rooms with all amenities, including large flat screen TV. Excellent location. In-house parking. Friendly supportive staff. Overall, a very comfortable stay - an highly recommended hotel in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel layout is fascinating and is a bit of a maze. It is interesting to walk through but it meant our room was some distance from the lobby. We had easy to carry backpacks so it was fine but might be a bit more tricky with heavy suitcases. However we had a man show us to our room and he offered to carry our bags so don't let it put you off, more just know you may have a bit of a walk to your room!

    Room was spacious and beautifully presented, we are able to store our bags there as we arrived early but our room wasn't ready, and they were very accommodating about it. Staff were all helpful and spoke great English. Breakfast was lovely and had plenty of options

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room BELLE ETAGE
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was definitely one of the best or the best hotel choice of our trip. The room was very spacious, bed comfy, great location,friendly staff and the breakfast was sensational! Great value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool is lovely and always very quiet. I had it all to myself several evenings even when the hotel was busy... It's quite deep though, approx 1,5m at the shallow end so not really for kids or nervous swimmers. Our room was very spacious with the bed upstairs and a separate living room downstairs. Well stocked minibar with very reasonable prices... Great location, 5min walk from the promenade and shopping streets.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel City Krone was an absolutely lovely hotel in the centre of Friedrichschafen, staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was large, modern and very comfortable, with air conditioning and a very nice bathroom. The hotel also has a very nice swimming pool, which also has a sauna, sunbed and massage room, which was very welcome as it was raining heavily the day we spent there, and there isn't much else to do in the town when it's raining. The breakfast service was excellent and there is also parking on-site at a charge of €8 a night (and the hotel provide a permit to drive on the pedestrian streets)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better directions on site to hotel and its parking. Access is down pedestrian street sat-nav tried to take us wrong way down one-way street parallel to street needed. Hotel could give directions and warn visitors on site perhaps

    Excellent location Pleasant clean and comfortable room Zepplin museum and town of Friedrichshaffen great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing to dislike about this hotel.

    Very modern, very clean & comfortable hotel in an excellent location for Lake Constance. Superb breakfast selection and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little on small size but had been well designed, a choice of pillows would have been perfect

    Fantastic secure bike shed, air conditioning finally block out lblinds, great breakfast plenty of healthy options

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -it was complicated to go up to the last floor. And not appropriate for people with reduced mobility -having only one key per room was generating dependencies. it was required to move out of the hotel building into an external staircase to move in again (but only with a key).

    -well located 4* hotel in the middle of the city -close to the lake

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    The location is perfect. The facilities are first rate. The staff was exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Finally, the breakfast is one of the best we've experienced.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since the hotel is situated in a pedestrian zone (but accessible by car to hotel guests) Waze and Google Maps will not bring you to the hotel.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Clean room, excellent mattress. Great breakfast. Good wi-fi.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room BELLE ETAGE
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating in the room is problematic as the room gets cold at night even when you turn the heating to its maximum. Also, one annoying thing about the room was the lighting. Except for the reading and the night lights all the other lights get turned on at the same time. So it was all or nothing. This was the only hotel where I came across such a thing.

    All the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful. The hotel and the rooms are extremely clean and well maintained. The hotel is absolutely centrally located.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking possibilities were not so good. Only a few places were available, we had to park in the park garage near the lake.

    The room was large and modern, nice colors. Bed war very comfortable. We really loved the pool! For us it was so important that we could bring our dogs! It was no problem at all! The location is great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no toiletries except shower gel, bath rob needs to be paid off. Indoor pool not very impressive.

    Location, very near to lake, in the centre of old city, variety at the breakfast, hotel and room decor.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It got really hot at hight. No air conditioning.. There was a small fan in my room but not so much help.

    Very friendly staff. I loved they left a small package of Haribo on my pillows after bed making :) I enjoyed swimming pool and sauna at night. It was really relaxing and peaceful as no one was using when I was there!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    can't think of a thing... oh yes... the frozen yogurt was not frozen one day... No problem though... that was fixed by your very friendly staff...

    All that... breakfasts are great... comfort is very good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room is quite crowded in the morning, but it is okay.

    Nice room, friendly staff, great location, good quality of the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room BELLE ETAGE
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect; location, people, the room, the spa and swimming pool, general convenience and amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room noisy with dog outside, external stairwell used late at night making banging noises and pillows awful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was really nice!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing two-storey room!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    did not have fitness center

    staff was very helpful to offer a different quiet room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was quite slow

    Comfortable, clean, excellent breakfast included and very affordable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the hall and the bar, the sauna and the pool was fine as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no mobile signal in my room, wi-fi could be better and I missed the gym.

    Excellent location, nice and clean hotel with helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Good breakfast. Nice clean rooms. Parking was tight as we had last spot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Around 8 minutes walk from the train station

    Many options for breakfast, it was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The location of the Hotel The Breakfast provide good choices

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kleine parkplatz

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right in the heart of town, parking, modern room, nice bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room BELLE ETAGE
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful breakfast, better than at many 5* hotels I have stayed at. Quiet rooms. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool not available in high season

    Location excellant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect

    Bread for breakfast was excellent. And coffee too. I love this hotel breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Fantastic location for Friedrichshafen lakefront

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I recommend room 353, though hard to get there, it is really pleasant, lots of light and airy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast , great pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing lacking

    Central and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    towels are so old and bathroom and interior design of hotel.

    location of hotel is wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room BELLE ETAGE
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Quirky layout to reach room.

    Very quiet rooms - very little sound travel. Modern clean rooms. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None.

    Very comfortable stay and value for the money. Breakfast was great and shower is very comfortable. Staff are very warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bath room !! , due bad water exaust of the shower . Extremli disapointed due such lovelely hotel .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location lovely hotel fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely large breakfast choice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator old

    SPA with swimming pool and relax area , nice bar. Good position. Rooms ok

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My booking for double room Thry gave me single room with same price There are a noise from the working

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and great price value

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room across 2 levels ... we went there to work on a specific project in quiet and undisturbed. Perfect location. Easy to reach by train.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough English speaking television.

    Walking Distance from the coast of Lake Constance. Nice environment amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room BELLE ETAGE
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor,location,breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs to make it clearer that you need to enter the pedestrianised area to park it is not at all clear how to get to the hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful jotel. Received upgrade which was soo lovely. Great location & friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rain :o)

    The huge breakfast The location The sun deck The view on the lake The spa

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hotel. I can only recommend it. The breakfast is awesome. Location perfect. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived the room had a window blind missing which meant we had the hassle of moving rooms halfway through the evening.

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfortable room, aircon, lift, good shower, very convenient location, good car park. Breakfast excellent. Good value.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was warmer than we would have liked.

    Professionally run Hotel and excellent breakfast spread. High standard throughout.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A/C not working on one night

    A well run business

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No real complaints but the shower cubicle could have been a bit larger.

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed, lake view, good breakfast, good location. Staff allowed us to leave the car in the hotel car park after check out so we could visit the Zeppelin Museum.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Family with older children

    too thin pillows unusuable, extra bed too hard, no aircondition, noise from guests from street hotel terace, insufficient number of parking prlaces, cream for coffee expired 3 months ago, too hot in bar with not enough place for all guests, garden terace is opening too late, you have to drink coffe infront of the hotel on the street, small elevator, it can't be 4*

    rich and tasty breakfast, location, cleaness, affable staff, big bathroom, wi-fi, flyer on breakfast table, nice small garden with pond

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Slightly confusing arriving as pedestrian area but maybe I didn't read the directions and relied on Sat Nav!

    the extra touches such as the free popcorn and apples delighted the children. The pool was lovely.Breakfast excellent.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This was by far the nicest place we stayed during our 16 day Europe trip. The rooms are very modern and the beds are very comfortable. It is in a great location and the breakfast was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived at the hotel on the afternoon of New Years Eve. One of the desk clerks worked very hard phoning around to restaurants in the area to get us a reservation for supper. She went above & beyond!

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we got was outside, connected to the building with a corridor and steep staircase exposed to the rain and wind, through which we had to carry our suitcases. It was overlooking the parking area. Very unpleasant location and access.

    Breakfast was very good, served by kind staff.

There are also 53 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: