Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City-Hotel Kurfürst Balduin This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hohenfelder Strasse 12, Altstadt, 56068 Koblenz, Germany

#26 of 57 hotels in Koblenz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1324 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cant fault them on anything.

    We booked this room as it was affordable and near the city, but when we arrived, it exceeded our expectation. The bed linen was extremely clean and fresh, the bathroom was immaculate. The customer service was amazing and I could not fault anything. We will most definitely return if the opportunity presents itself. The room was so comfortable and quiet. We had a short stay due to work, but it was a very enjoyable and stay. The staff allowed us a late checkout as we checked in very late (which most hotels refused to do) they also allowed us to leave our bags with them whilst we attended a meeting after we had checked out. 10/10 service. Thanks!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con so room was hot and stuffy. If you opened the windows you got all the traffic noise from the street and then all the late night revellers noise. It would be quiet when it wasn’t so hot.

    Great position. Parking was easy. Breakfast was good. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issues with the toilet and sink.... sometimes the toilet would keep running unless you fiddled with the flushing button and once or twice had to reach under the sink to release the sink drain.

    Just a few blocks from the Stattmitte train station and literally right across the street from the edge of the old part of Koblenz. Very helpful and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is by a busy road, so if you leave your window open it will be noisy. There is no air ventilation in the room or bathroom so you have to open the window if it's hot.

    Hotel is close to all the shops. The design of the hotel is a bit dated but everything was super clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really..

    Staff was very friendly and helpful! Location was good and convenient to everything. I stayed there for only one night, everything's good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel met our expectations.

    The location suited us perfectly as within walking distance from the train station and close to the old town centre and the confluence of the rivers. The room and ensuite were and adequate size and the wifi worked well. The buffet breakfast was reasonably priced and offered a good selection of hot and cold foods. The lift to the rooms and car park made handing our small groups luggage easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were not good.

    It is a simple hotel, delivering very good cost for money. Small, but clear an comfortable room with a good bed. Very good breakfast at this price range. Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was of good size, spotlessly clean and quiet. Breakfast extremely good (and available from 06.30) Location good for transport (5 minutes walk from Koblenz Stadtmitte station and 20 from the main station) , the commercial and historic centres

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were first given had a terrible smokers smell. However the staff was quick to remedy. The room was very bland and bed not the most comfy. But we were there to see what was around Koblenz, not in the hotel.

    The location near many restaurants, and the river many nice sites. Your staff was helpful for directions and getting a new room. Helped with a taxi and getting us to the train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given had the worse smoking room smell, yet it was supposed to be a non smoking. However the staff was quick to remedy the situation and gave us a different room that was just fine.

    The location was good for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was able to hear the neighbour's TV through the wall late at night, early in the morning.

    Large and varied breakfast, good loccation next to old town, friendly staff, very clean if somewhat old fashioned, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right on the main street, so if you travel in summer and keep the window open, the night life might be a little noisy for some.

    Location location location. Right next to Aldstadt and the parking was cheap and secure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was heavy street noise. We had to close the windows for that making it pretty warm even with the radiators off. Bathrooms are very small so when you are on the toilet, the door needs to be closed. Beds are pretty hard.

    The breakfast was worth it. The hostess was very nice and accommodating. Fast elevator. Quick access to many locations in Koblenz.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Just thought the floors in the rooms could need attention, actually dusty. All staff very polite and friendly, would definitely stay again

    Excellent optional breakfast, quick, efficient check-in and check-out, excellent hotel for the money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much - it's a good hotel for the price.

    Good value for money and well located. Friendly staff who were able to help witch storing my bike and showing me the best places top go. Quite a simple hotel, but that's reflected in the price too. Very clean room and shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel in modern style lacking character.Clean modern rooms functional but rather small.Not cheap for what you get.You pay for the location.

    Ideal location next to the old Town and the river.10 min walk to main Rail station,5 mins to old town restaurants and 15 mins to Deutches Eck. Staff efficient and one receptionist offered to post my cards for me when they ran out of stamps for sale.Room clean and bright.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opposite the local nightclub so super noisy all night long, hot stuffy rooms (couldn't have window open due to street noise), noisy drunk guests shouting in the corrridors at 2am,

    Proximity to old town, clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very small and no air conditioning ( it was very hot)

    Staff were super friendly and knew the area well. We could store the luggage after we checked out

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room

    Our room was only suited to 1 person. Location was good and otherwise okay but room was very cramped for 2 people. We didn't have breakfast and there was coffee in lobby area for 1EURO which was handy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to sleep no air conditioning - windows open so loud from the street outside , buses going by at 3am sounded like they were in our room - and still a good hike with luggage from train station

    Breakfast was great and friendly staff, clean safe hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we paid, breakfast should have been included.

    The staff were friendly. They agreed to keep our luggage for a full day so that we could take a sightseeing trip on the Rhein River.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms do not have air conditioning and you have to have a window open as the room becomes very stuffy. If you stay in this hotel make sure you have a room that is in the back of the hotel as it is very noisy all night from traffic and people acting in an antisocial way (mainly shouting) through out the night.

    Its location for the town. The restaurant, bars and shops are in walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am shocked and appalled that this hotel received the rating that it did. I have NEVER written a negative review of a property, restaurant, or anything else. I firmly believe that most people and places are doing the best they can to provide the best service they can. However, this lodging was so unsatisfactory, I can find VERY LITTLE positive to say about it. The first night we were put in a room on the noisy street. The hotel doesn't have air conditioning, so we had to have the windows open, but despite the fact that I sleep with earplugs, I was unable to sleep so we ended up giving up and closing the windows and suffering in the heat with very little sleep. We called down at one point to see if any other rooms were available to move into on the quieter backside of the hotel and were treated so very rudely and poorly by night receptionist. I dropped my key and it slid under the bed, when I went to retrieve it the amount of dust and dirt under there made me physically gag. The next morning we called the front desk to see if any rooms on the backside of the hotel had opened up and were treated MUCH better by the day receptionist. We were able to move to a room on the other side of the building and it was a bit better, but construction, trains and garbage trucks early in the morning meant we still ended up closing our windows again to try to get some sleep. It was hot and the hotel had no air conditioning, so this was not much better. In summary, the cleanliness of this hotel combined with the noise and poor treatment by some of the staff made it absolutely unacceptable. Although the location is great as far as proximity to old town and the train station, the main point and purpose of a hotel room is to have a place to SLEEP. This is just not possible in this hotel. It was unacceptable for this reason as well as the lack of cleanliness. So very very disappointed.

    The location to the train station, old town, and the boat dock was excellent. That's about it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. At the price it can't be bettered.

    It's fairly basic but comfortable bed, good shower, very clean and is located 2 minutes walk from the river and also the beautiful old town centre. Small cafe on site. Hotel has its own underground car park where you can leave the car overnight and all day. Excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a mini bar would have helped.

    Location was great just across the street from the Old Town and just a 10 minute walk from the main train station. Everything you would want to do is in walking distance. The front desk staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a lot of noise in the yard at the back of the hotel at night especially on the Friday night . This kept me awake most of the night .

    The breakfasts were excellent . The bed was very comfortable and the room was pleasant and clean . The bathroom was very nice too. The hotel was ideally situated for a walk along the rivers Mosel and Rhein and the Deutsches Eck is only about a 10 minute walk and the Alt Stadt starts opposite the hotel .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No airconditioning and located on a noisy street, so opening a window wasn't really an option. Receptionist was unfriendly. In general: too expensive for what you get.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were told the lifts get switched off at 23:00. Not sure this would save a lot of energy or reduce noise, but possibly a major inconvenience or restriction for a disabled/infirm guest who happens to need access to the hotel after 23:00.

    A primarily business hotel very close to the old town, dining and shopping outlets.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much

    Good position on edge of pedestrian area, 10 min walk to Deutches Eck. On main road but liitle noise. Secure underground carpark Great staff, good room standard breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Forgot to request non smoking rooms. A little bit smelly when we first stepped in.

    Location is perfect. Bus stop, supermarkets, River Rhine, restaurants, bars, shopping mall, all these are in walking distance. Private car park €9 per night or off street parking behind the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    noise all night long kept us awake. 10pm to 6pm no air conditioning so had to open window, more noise! called reception.. staff don't care

    nothing to say. average hotel. very close to centre.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room overlooking the road. Wanted to shut window to reduce traffic and reveller noise but couldn't as there was no air con in the room and it was stifling. This is reflected in my Facilities and Comfort ratings.

    Excellent secure underground parking facility

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy outside on weekend nights, but what can you do? They gave me some nice earplugs, and weekday nights were fine.

    Breakfast was great. Great bacon and eggs.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view from the room wasn't fantastic but we didn't spend that much time in the room, just some where to sleep. There was far too much to do outside.

    The breakfast, include the breakfast, it's well worth the money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is not very comfortable

    Clean, good location to old town, riverside, mall

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being on the highest floor. We had a view of the Cathedral. Very quiet and private.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    We were on the alley side but our daughter and husband were on the street side. It was very noisy and hot all night. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy at night

    Breakfast was awesome

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disturbing vehicle noise from the road through the window

    Good location. Decent parking facility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fronted onto busy road very noisy Hard to sleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel in perfect location on edge of old town. Fantastic selection for breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    High quality service . Breakfast is great .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy as close to the road and A bus route.

    Fantastic location near Altstadt. Very attentive staff at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities

    Easy to get to from the station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so clean, The bed sheet had dried blood strains on it!

    The location was close to the city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows, sheets

    Friendly staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very good and rich breakfast, nice location in the city center near the riverside

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff, room and location at an affordable price. Plus the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went to the xmas markets with my family. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very central, has on site parking at 10euro per night. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from outside. Also hallway noise.

    Location to what we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather sparse and simple.

    Parking onsite was easily accessible. The location was perfect for the Christmas Market.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None!!!

    Overall execellent!!! Location is Awesome Friendly and helpful staff. Clean room and the whole facility. Breakfast is Fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise made sleeping very difficult.Centrally located but on a major street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a very busy street. Not enough sound proofing between rooms, could hear snoring, talking, tv.

    Easy location to find.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could be cheaper!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy, pillows and mattresses were too uncomfortable for sleeping

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention

    Very good location, clean rooms, friendly staff and nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    terrible smoke smelling and terrible noise with open window caused by the hotel outside fan. other room booked was ok.

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking garage is designed for small cars. Difficult to get in and out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bar or restaurant facilities.

    Good breakfast. Great location close to Koblenz old town. Secure parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free wi-fi was disapointed,,,

    Breakfast was so great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need air conditioning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No airco or colling in the room.

    Nice hotel, good value for money. Very nice breakfast buffet (9.5 EUR).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and a nice room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park exit poorly designed Expensive damage to my car

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in the car park was very tight

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious rooms with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of noise from street below

    Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Liked the location and the friendly staff Great breakfast buffet All good Comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with a paint

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking was confusing ... more cars than spaces

    great location, good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: